DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the following species
in the reply filed on 13 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that applicant alleges that there would be no undue burden in searching all of the species together. This is not found persuasive because Ying et al. (WO 2022/002040 A1), while being drawn to cationic lipids wherein at least one of Q1 and Q3 is an oxygen or NH group, does not appear to be drawn to the case wherein Q1 and Q3 are both carbon atoms and wherein the central phosphorus atom is bound to three carbon atoms but only one oxygen atom. See page 25 of Ying, relevant text reproduced below.
Therefore, as the entirety of the compounds are not found together in the same reference, this would appear to result in an undue burden in searching all of the species together.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 8 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Regarding claim 8, the requirement that Q3 be oxygen or NH would appear to render the structure of claim 8 different from the elected species. Regarding claim 10, in the elected species, Z4 is not the same as Z2 and Z3; as such, the subject matter of claim 10, which requires Z4 to be the same as Z2 and Z3, differs from that of the elected species. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 13 August 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) – Indefiniteness
Claims 1-7, 9, 11, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the recited lipid compound or a derivative thereof. The term “derivative” does not appear to have been defined by the instant specification. Consequently, it is unclear regarding what extent a compound can differ from the recited structure and remain a derivative of the recited compound. For example, claim 1 recites that Z1 is oxygen or sulfur. For example, it is unclear if a compound wherein Z1 is a nitrogen containing functional group would be a derivative of the structure of claim 1 or whether this would be outside the scope of claim 1. As such, the claim is indefinite because it is unclear how the term “derivative” further modifies the claim scope.
This rejection does not apply to claim 12 because claim 12 appears to define how the term “derivative” further modifies the claimed compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d) – Failure to Limit Parent Claim
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 11 appears to recite the same subject matter of claim 1, except drawn into a picture of the chemical formula. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 – Anticipation
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ying (WO 2022/002040 A1).
Ying is drawn to lipid compounds and lipid compositions for the delivery of nucleic acids, as of Ying, title and abstract. Ying teaches a large number of phosphorus containing ionizable cationic lipids, as of Ying, pages 36-42, Table 1. The examiner has reproduced below a sample of the lipids taught by Ying from page 37.
Regarding compound 8 of Ying, this lipid appears to read on the claimed invention in the following manner, as of the table composed by the examiner on the next page.
Variable
Teaching in Prior Art (i.e. Compound 8 of Ying)
Z1
Oxygen atom
Z2 and Z3
9-carbon alkyl group bound to oxygen
Q1
Oxygen
A1
C1 alkylene group
Q2
Single bond
A2
Single bond
X1
8-carbon alkyl group
Z4
-NH-CH2CH2CH2N(CH3)2
Q3
-NH
A3
Single Bond or C3 alkylene group
Q4
Single bond
A4
Single bond (if A3 is a C3 alkylene group) or C3 alkylene group (if A3 is a Single bond)
X2
-N(R7R8) wherein R7 and R8 are both methyl
As such, the subject matter of Ying is understood to be within the claim scope. The examiner notes that, although Compound 8 of Ying was analyzed in detail, this should not be construed as an admission that only Compound 8 of Ying reads on the claimed invention; other compounds taught by Ying would also appear to anticipate the claimed invention.
As to claim 3, according to the table above, Q2 is a single bond and Q1 is an oxygen atom.
As to claim 5, according to the table above, Q4 is a single bond and Q3 is NH.
As to claim 6, the prior art would appear to read on this in the case wherein A3 is a single bond and A4 is a C3 alkylene group.
As to claim 7, the prior art would appear to read on this in the case wherein A3 is a C3 alkylene group and A4 is a single bond.
As to claim 9, in the structure of Ying, Z4 and Z2 are different.
As to claim 11, the structure of Ying would appear to read on the top structure of claim 11.
As to claim 12, Ying teaches a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, as of Ying, pages 1-2, paragraph 0005.
As to claim 13, Ying teaches a pharmaceutical composition on pages 85-86, paragraph 00299. Ying teaches the following elements in the nanoparticle, as of page 118, bottom paragraph, relevant text reproduced below.
As to claim 14, Ying teaches cholesterol in the abstract.
As to claim 15, Ying teaches DSPC along with other phospholipids, as of page 4, paragraph 0016.
As to claim 18, Ying teaches mRNA on page 118, bottom paragraph.
Note Regarding Reference Date: The instant application appears to have an earliest effective filing date of 14 November 2022. Ying was published on 6 January 2022, which is less than a year earlier than the effective filing date of the instant application. Ying was also effectively filed prior to the effective filing date of the instant application. As such, Ying is understood to be prior art under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2). As best understood by the examiner, there does not appear to be a common inventor or assignee between Ying and the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Obviousness
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying (WO 2022/002040 A1).
Ying is drawn to lipid compounds and lipid compositions for the delivery of nucleic acids, as of Ying, title and abstract. Ying teaches a large number of phosphorus containing ionizable cationic lipids, as of Ying, pages 36-42, Table 1. The examiner has reproduced below a sample of the lipids taught by Ying from page 37.
Regarding compound 8 of Ying, this lipid appears to read on the claimed invention in the following manner, as of the table composed by the examiner below.
Variable
Teaching in Prior Art (i.e. Compound 8 of Ying)
Z1
Oxygen atom
Z2 and Z3
9-carbon alkyl group bound to oxygen
Q1
Oxygen
A1
C1 alkylene group
Q2
Single bond
A2
Single bond
X1
8-carbon alkyl group
Z4
-NH-CH2CH2CH2N(CH3)2
Q3
-NH
A3
Single Bond or C3 alkylene group
Q4
Single bond
A4
Single bond (if A3 is a C3 alkylene group) or C3 alkylene group (if A3 is a Single bond)
X2
-N(R7R8) wherein R7 and R8 are both methyl
As such, the subject matter of Ying is understood to be within the claim scope. The examiner notes that, although Compound 8 of Ying was analyzed in detail, this should not be construed as an admission that only Compound 8 of Ying reads on the claimed invention
As to claim 1, purely en arguendo and for the purposes of this ground of rejection only, the examiner understands Ying to teach all of the claimed requirements, but not in the same embodiment. As such, while the prior art teaches all of the claimed components, the prior art is not anticipatory insofar as these components must be selected from various lists/locations in the prior art reference. It would have been prima facie obvious; however, to have selected the recited components from various lists/locations in the prior art reference and to have combined them together. This is because such a modification would have represented nothing more than the predictable use of prior art components according to their established functions. Combining separate prior art components (from a single prior art reference) according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
As to claim 2, this claim does not appear to be anticipated by the above-reproduced structure of Compound 8 of Ying. Nevertheless, Ying teaches the following on page 25, relevant text reproduced below.
A case wherein Y is -X-G3-NR4R5, wherein X is CR10R11, wherein G3 is an alkylene group would appear to read on the claimed requirements.
As to claim 3, according to the table above, Q2 is a single bond and Q1 is an oxygen atom.
As to claim 4, this claim is rejected for essentially the same reason that claim 2 is rejected.
As to claim 5, according to the table above, Q4 is a single bond and Q3 is NH.
As to claim 6, the prior art would appear to read on this in the case wherein A3 is a single bond and A4 is a C3 alkylene group.
As to claim 7, the prior art would appear to read on this in the case wherein A3 is a C3 alkylene group and A4 is a single bond.
As to claim 9, in the structure of Ying, Z4 and Z2 are different.
As to claim 11, the structure of Ying would appear to read on the top structure of claim 11.
As to claim 12, Ying teaches a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, as of Ying, pages 1-2, paragraph 0005.
As to claim 13, Ying teaches a pharmaceutical composition on pages 85-86, paragraph 00299. Ying teaches the following elements in the nanoparticle, as of page 118, bottom paragraph, relevant text reproduced below.
As to claim 14, Ying teaches cholesterol in the abstract.
As to claim 15, Ying teaches DSPC along with other phospholipids, as of page 4, paragraph 0016.
As to claims 16-17, Ying teaches DMG-PEG as well as other PEGylated lipids on page 48, paragraph 00176.
As to claim 18, Ying teaches mRNA on page 118, bottom paragraph.
Allowable Subject Matter – Elected Specie Appears to be Allowable
Applicant elected the following specie.
The examiner takes the position that a claim narrowed to this species would appear to be in condition for allowance. As relevant prior art, the examiner cites Ying (WO 2022/002040 A1). Ying teaches the following on page 25, relevant text reproduced below.
The skilled artisan would not have been motivated to have formed the compound of the elected species in view of this teaching. This is at least because the compound of Ying comprises the central phosphorus atom bound to two oxygen atoms, whereas in the elected species, the central phosphorus atom is bound to one oxygen atom and three carbon atoms. As such, the elected species is not anticipated by Ying or obvious over Ying.
Conclusion
Although the examiner has identified the elected specie as allowable, it is nevertheless the case that no claim is currently in condition for allowance.
ISAAC . SHOMER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1612
/ISAAC SHOMER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612