DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 11/08/2024 and 1/17/2025 have been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, claim states the limitation “a first position-limiting structure on a surface that is of the movable part and that is away from the first position-limiting part” in lines 2-3 of the claim. This limitation is unclear for two reasons – the first is that the first position-limiting structure is “on a surface that is of the movable part” and the second is that the first position-limiting structure is “away from the first position-limiting part”. For the first reason, what is the surface “of the movable part”? Is the first position-limiting structure on the movable part, is it above, below, on the side of, or somewhere else regarding the movable part? As to the second reason, what amount of distance constitutes “away from the first position-limiting part”? Is this any time that the first position-limiting structure does not directly contact the first position-limiting part (i.e., during movement of the movable part), or is this structure in such a position that it will not contact the first position-limiting part at all regardless of motion? Is there a certain amount of distance necessary to be considered “away from” the part? Based on the current limitation, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised as to the scope of the invention (MPEP §2173.05(b)). For purposes of compact prosecution, so long as the first position-limiting structure may not contact the first position-limiting part at any time, this limitation will be considered met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Man US 20210302717 (hereinafter “Man”) with evidence by Asada et. al US Patent 5,606,447 (hereinafter “Asada”).
Examiner’s note: Man incorporates by reference Asada (Man para. 0003-0004 - U.S. Pat. No. 5,606,447 “Planar type mirror galvanometer and method of manufacture,” by Asada et. al., which is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 1, Man teaches a micromirror assembly (Man fig. 6a-11d) comprising:
a micromirror chip (Man fig. 6 - 911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) comprising a fastening frame (Man fig. 6a - 911), a movable part (Man fig. 6a - MS1), and a first cantilever (Man fig. 6a - 914a-b), wherein the first cantilever (914a-b) connects the movable part (MS1) to the fastening frame (Man para. 0063);
a first position-limiting part (Man fig. 9a - 901) comprising a collision part (Man fig. 8b - bottom side of 901 facing MS1) and a first hollow area (Man fig. 6a – 903, 904), wherein a first projection (Man fig. 8b-d - 916a) of the collision part (bottom part of 901 facing MS1) on the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b) intersects with a central axis of the first cantilever (Man fig. 8b-d – shows 916a in relation to 914a, when viewed along the optical axis 916a would intersect with the central axis of 914a); and
a second position-limiting part (Man fig. 6a - 921) comprising a second hollow area (Man fig. 6a – 923, 924), wherein the first position-limiting part (901) and the second position-limiting part (921) are separately connected to the fastening frame (Man para. 0065-0066) and configured to absorb shock from a collision with the micromirror chip (Man fig. 8c - 901 absorbing shock, fig. 8d - 921 absorbing shock), wherein the first hollow area (903, 904) and the second hollow area (923, 924) are opposite to the movable part (Man fig. 6a-b, 7b-d, 8b-d), wherein the first position-limiting part (901) is stacked on the micromirror chip (Man fig. 6a), and wherein the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) is stacked on the second position-limiting part (Man fig. 6a).
Regarding claim 2, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 1, and Man further teaches wherein the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) further comprises a device layer (Asada fig. 10 – insulating layer disposed above 7B, see also col. 10 lines 44-46 and Man para. 0003-0004 which incorporates Asada by reference), a substrate layer (Asada fig. 10 – 7B, see also col. 10 lines 44-46 and Man para. 0003-0004 which incorporates Asada by reference), and a protruding position-limiting structure (Man fig. 9c-d – 917c-d disposed on the bottom of MS1, see also para. 0084, 0122, and 0125), wherein a first distance between the second position-limiting part (Man 921) and the device layer (Asada insulation layer) is greater than a second distance between the second position-limiting part (Man 921) and the substrate layer (921 is disposed below MS1 in Man fig. 6a, and Asada fig. 10 shows 7B and discloses an insulation layer disposed on 7B, since the insulation layer is disposed above 7B in Asada, 921 of Man would be further from the insulation layer than 7B) and wherein the protruding first position-limiting structure (917c-d) is configured to absorb the shock from the collision with the second position-limiting part (Man para. 0083-0084).
Regarding claim 3, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 2, and Man further teaches wherein a second projection (917d), of a part of the protruding position-limiting structure (917c-d) that collides with the second position-limiting part (921) on the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) intersects with the central axis of the first cantilever (Man fig. 9c-d – shows 917c-d in relation to 914a-b, when viewed along the optical axis 917d would intersect with the central axis of 914b).
Regarding claim 4, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 1, and Man further teaches wherein the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) further comprises a device layer (Asada fig. 10 – insulating layer disposed above 7B, see also col. 10 lines 44-46 and Man para. 0003-0004 which incorporates Asada by reference), a substrate layer (Asada fig. 10 – 7B, see also col. 10 lines 44-46 and Man para. 0003-0004 which incorporates Asada by reference), wherein the first position-limiting part (Man 901) further comprises a protrusion (Man fig. 8b-d – 916a-b) configured to absorb the shock (Man para. 0080 and 0084), and wherein a first distance between the first position-limiting part (Man 901) and the device layer (Asada insulation layer) is less than a second distance between the first position-limiting part (Man 901) and the substrate layer (901 is disposed above MS1 in Man fig. 6a, and Asada fig. 10 shows 7B and discloses an insulation layer disposed on 7B, since the insulation layer is disposed above 7B in Asada, 901 of Man would be closer to the insulation layer than 7B).
Regarding claim 5, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 4, and Man further teaches wherein a second projection (Man fig. 8b-d – 916b) of the protrusion (916a-b) on the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) intersects with the central axis of the first cantilever (Man fig. 8b-d – shows 916b in relation to 915b, when viewed along the optical axis 916b would intersect with the central axis of 914b).
Regarding claim 6, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 1, and Man further teaches wherein the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) further comprises a first stopper part (Man fig. 8b-9d – 915a-b) located between the first cantilever (914a-b) and the movable part (MS1), and wherein the first position-limiting part (901) is configured to absorb the shock from the collision with the first stopper part (Man para. 0080).
Regarding claim 7, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 6, and Man further teaches wherein a first width of the first stopper part (915a-b) is greater than a second width of the first cantilever (Man fig. 6b-9d – 915a-b width is greater than 914a-b width, see also para. 0064).
Regarding claim 8, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 5, and Man further teaches wherein the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) further comprises a first stopper part (Man fig. 6a-9d - 915a-b) located between the first cantilever (914a-b) and the movable part (Man fig. 6a-9d – shows 915a-b between 914a-b and MS1), wherein the first position-limiting part (901) further comprises a first avoidance groove (Man fig. 6a - 903, 904, see also para. 0065), comprising the protrusion (916a-b) and an opening (902), wherein the opening is opposite the first stopper part (Man fig. 6a), wherein a first width of the first stopper part (915a-b) is greater than a second width of the first cantilever (Man fig. 6b-9d – 915a-b width is greater than 914a-b width, see also para. 0064), and wherein the first stopper part (915a-b) is configured to absorb the shock from the collision with the protrusion (Man para. 0080 – 916a-b rests on 915a-b when exposed to shock).
Regarding claim 9, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 5, wherein the protrusion (916a-b) is located in the first hollow area (Man fig. 8c-d), wherein the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) further comprises a first stopper part (Man fig. 6a-9d – 915a-b) located between the first cantilever (914a-b) and the movable part (MS1), wherein a first width of the first stopper part (915a-b) is greater than a second width of the first cantilever (Man fig. 6b-9d – 915a-b width is greater than 914a-b width, see also para. 0064), and wherein the first stopper part (915a-b) is configured to absorb the shock from the collision with the protrusion (Man para. para. 0080 – 916a-b rests on 915a-b when exposed to shock).
Regarding claim 10, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 1, and Man further teaches wherein the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) further comprises a protruding position-limiting structure (Man fig. 8b-d – 916a-b), and wherein the first position-limiting part (901) is configured to absorb the shock from the collision with the protruding position-limiting structure (Man para. 0080 and 0084).
Regarding claim 11, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 10, and Man further teaches wherein a projection (Man fig. 8b-d – 916b) of the protruding position-limiting structure (916a-b) on the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) intersects with the central axis of the first cantilever (Man fig. 8b-d – shows 916b in relation to 915b, when viewed along the optical axis 916b would intersect with the central axis of 914b).
Regarding claim 12, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 1, and Man further teaches wherein the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) further comprises a position-limiting structure (Man fig. 6a-9d – 915a-b) located at a position at which the first cantilever (914a-b) and the movable part (MS1) are connected (Man fig. 6a-9d).
Regarding claim 13, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 12, and Man further teaches wherein the second position-limiting part (921) is of a flat plate structure (Man fig. 6a).
Regarding claim 14, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 1, and Man further teaches wherein the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) further comprises a first position-limiting structure (Man fig. 9c-d – 917c-d disposed on the bottom of MS1, see also para. 0084, 0122, and 0125) on a surface that is of the movable part (MS1) and that is away from the first position-limiting part (Man fig. 9b-d – 917a-b are attached to the bottom surface of MS1 and are away from 901).
Regarding claim 15, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 12, and Man further teaches wherein the second position-limiting part (921) further comprises an avoidance groove (Man fig. 6a - 923, 924, see also para. 0066) comprising a protrusion (Man fig. 8b-d – 916c-d), and wherein an opening of the avoidance groove (923, 924) is opposite the position-limiting structure (Man fig. 8b-8d).
Regarding claim 16, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 12, and Man further teaches wherein the second hollow area (923, 924) comprises a (Man fig. 8b-d – 916c-d), and wherein an opening of the avoidance groove (923, 924) is opposite the position-limiting structure (Man fig. 8b-8d).
Regarding claim 17, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 15, and Man further teaches wherein a projection (Man fig. 8b-d – 916c) of the protrusion (Man fig. 8b-d – 916c-d) on the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) intersects with the central axis of the first cantilever (Man fig. 8b-d – shows 916c in relation to 915a, when viewed along the optical axis 916c would intersect with the central axis of 914a).
Regarding claim 18, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 1, and Man further teaches wherein the movable part (MS1) comprises a micromirror (Man fig. 6a – 912 and 913, see also para. 0062) connected to the fastening frame (911) by the first cantilever (Man fig. 6a).
Regarding claim 19, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 1, and Man further teaches wherein the movable part (MS1) comprises a movable frame (Man fig. 6a - 912) is disposed around a micromirror (Man fig. 6a - 913), wherein the fastening frame (911) is disposed around the movable frame (Man fig. 6a), wherein the movable frame (912) is connected to the micromirror (913) by a second cantilever, and wherein the movable frame (912) is further connected to the fastening frame (911) by the first cantilever (see annotated Man fig. 5 below, where the micromirror, second cantilever, movable frame, first cantilever, and fastening frame are labeled and relationships are shown as claimed).
Regarding claim 20, Man teaches the micromirror assembly of claim 1, and Man further teaches wherein the first position-limiting part (901) is connected to the fastening frame (911) by a first adhesive layer (Man fig. 11b-d - 932), and wherein a height of a gap between the first position-limiting part (901) and the micromirror chip (911, MS1, 914a-b, 915a-b) is equal to a thickness of the first adhesive layer (Man fig. 11b-d – the gap between the top of MS1 and 901 is the same thickness as 932).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Man US Patent 11,668,925, patent of Man US 20210302717;
Roth et. al US 20100028810, teaches a similar micromirror chip to the instant application;
Bita et. al US 20130328943, teaches a similar device to the instant application.
/ELIZABETH M HALL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/RICKY L MACK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872