DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banjo et al. (US Pub. No.: 2013/0000785 A1) (hereinafter Banjo) and further in view of Neuer (US Pub. No.: 2019/0344468 A1) (hereinafter Neuer).
Regarding claim 1, Banjo disclose a lot splitter, comprising: a housing (105); a support arm extending between a first end and a second end (Notice the depiction below); a rack coupled to at least a portion of the support arm, the rack configured to move along the support arm in a forward direction to an extended position adjacent the first end of the support arm and a reverse direction to a starting position adjacent the second end of the support arm (Notice the depiction below).
Banjo discloses the use of actuation assembly to move the anvil (102) toward the wedge (104) (¶0023). Banjo discloses the power is supplied by combustion engine. Banjo is silent about the use of battery as the power source and motor driven by battery.
Neuer also discloses a log splitter. Neuer discloses the drive assembly a drive assembly 18 is configured to supply a rotational force to rotate the gear shaft 16. The drive assembly 18 includes a motor 60 having an output shaft 62, a first flywheel 64, a second flywheel 66, and a drive belt 68. The motor 60, such as an internal combustion engine or an electric motor, outputs a rotational force to the output shaft 62 (¶0022). Thus, Neuer discloses the combustion engine and electric motor are interchangeable. The benefit of using electric motor would be to reduce carbon footprint.
Given the wealth of knowledge, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize electric motor instead of combustion engine as taught by Neuer within the log splitter as taught by Banjo. The benefit of doing so would have been to reduce carbon footprint.
Regarding claim 2, Banjo discloses the actuation assembly comprises: a safety lever actuatable between a locked state and an unlocked state; and a trigger lever actuatable from a normal position to a forward position when the safety lever is in the unlocked state, wherein the trigger lever engages the rack with a pinion for movement of the rack in the forward direction in the unlocked state (¶0019-¶0028).
Regarding claim 3, Banjo discloses wherein rotation of the pinion is driven by the motor to move the rack in the forward direction (¶0032).
Regarding claim 4, Banjo discloses a biasing member (558) coupled to the rack, wherein the biasing member moves the rack in the reverse direction from the extended position to the starting position (Fig. 5A; ¶0043).
Regarding claim 7, Banjo discloses a wedge (104) adjacent the first end of the support arm, the wedge extending perpendicular to a length of the support arm; wherein the wedge includes a tip extending toward the rack, the tip including an angled edge for splitting a log into two or more pieces (Fig. 4A -notice the depicted figure in claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Banjo discloses an end of the rack adjacent the first end of the support arm comprises a back plate (102), the back plate configured to drive a log positioned on the support arm into the wedge; and the tip of the wedge is configured to split the log into two or more pieces (Fig. 4A).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banjo and Neuer as applied to claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7 and 8 above, and further in view of Coolbaugh. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0234242 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the limitations of claim 1 are taught by the combined teaching of Banjo and Neuer. They are both silent about limitations of claims 5 and 6.
Coolbaugh disclose a battery powered portable log splitter. The log splitter is operated via battery (114). The battery is disposed within housing (1140). The battery would naturally be removable so it can be replaced with new battery after current battery’s end of life cycle.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the battery removable as taught by Coolbaugh within the log splitter as taught by the combined teaching of Banjo and Neuer. The benefit of doing so would have been allow the battery to be replaced with a new battery when the current battery approaches it’s end of life cycle.
Conclusion
/VISHAL I PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746