DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 13 November 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7-14, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie et al. (US 2023/0132353 A1; hereinafter Xie).
In regards to claim 1, Xie teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a support member (103/105/107/109) including a substrate insulation layer (103) and a power wire (109), the substrate insulating layer including a plurality of separating insulators (fig. 16: portions of (103) horizontally between elements (107/109)) [0024-0027], the power wire being at a space between the plurality of separating insulators (fig. 16);
an active region (119) [0029] on the power wire (figs. 8 and 16: (119) is over and on (109));
source and drain regions (123) [0031] adjacent to the active region; and
a gate electrode (131) on the active region (fig. 8) [0029].
In regards to claim 2, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Xie further teaches the limitations wherein a lateral side between a corresponding one of the separating insulators and the power wire includes a slope side or an inclined surface so that a width of the corresponding one of the separating insulators narrows, and a width of the power wire widens, when approaching a rear side of the support member from a front side of the support member (figs. 16-18) [0058].
In regards to claim 5, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Xie further teaches the limitations wherein the support member (103/105/107/109) includes the substrate insulation layer (103) and the power wire (109) and does not include a semiconductor substrate (101).
In regards to claim 7, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Xie further teaches the limitations further comprising:
an insulating portion including an insulating material (115) [0024-0027] and being on the power wire (109) [0024-0027], and
a penetration connector (139) [0033] penetrating the insulating portion to connect at least one of source and drain electrodes connected to the source and drain regions and the power wire (figs. 14-16).
In regards to claim 8, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 7. Xie further teaches the limitations wherein a lateral side of the penetration connector includes a slope side or an inclined surface so that a width of the penetration connector narrows when approaching a rear side from a front side (figs. 16-18).
In regards to claim 9, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 7. Xie further teaches the limitations further comprising: a rear insulation layer (111) between the power wire (109) and the active region (119) and between the power wire and the source and drain regions (123) [0024-0029].
In regards to claim 10, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 7. Xie further teaches the limitations wherein at least one of the source and drain electrodes (123) [0031] includes a main body portion and an extending portion, the main body on the substrate insulation layer with an insulation layer interposed therebetween, the extending portion penetrating the insulation layer and connecting the main body portion and the penetration connector [0034].
In regards to claim 11, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 10. Xie further teaches the limitations further comprising: an insulator (ILD) separating the source and drain electrodes (143), wherein a lower side of the insulator is below a lower side of the extending portion (figs. 16-18).
In regards to claim 12, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Xie further teaches the limitations wherein the power wire (109) [0024-0027] further includes a connector (139) connected to a rear side of at least one of the source and drain regions (123) (figs. 16-18).
In regards to claim 13, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 12. Xie further teaches the limitations further comprising:
a rear insulation layer (111) between the active region (119) and the power wire (109),
wherein the power wire includes a main body and the connector, the main body being at a space between the plurality of separating insulators, the connector protruding from a front side of the main body, penetrating the rear insulation layer, and connected to at least one of the source and drain regions (figs. 16-19).
In regards to claim 14, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Xie further teaches the limitations further comprising:
a rear wire portion (105/107/109) disposed on a rear side of the support member (103/105/107/109) [0024-0027],
wherein the rear wire portion includes the power wire (109) [0024-0027].
In regards to claim 16, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Xie further teaches the limitations further comprising:
a signal wire [0035] on the active region (119) [0029], the source and drain regions (123) [0031], and the gate electrode (131) on a front side of the support member (103/105/107/109) (fig. 8) [0029],
wherein the signal wire is at a center region of a standard cell to overlap the insulating separators when viewed in a plan view (figs. 16-18).
In regards to claim 17, Xie teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a support member (103/105/107/109) including a substrate insulation layer (103), the substrate insulation layer including a plurality of separating insulators (fig. 16: portions of (103) horizontally between elements (107/109)) [0024-0027];
a rear wire portion (105/107/109) including a power wire (109) and a rear wire layer (103), the power wire being at a space between the plurality of separating insulators (fig. 16: (103) is placed in a horizontal space between elements (109) in a plan view and also in a vertical space between upper (103) and lower (103)), the rear wire layer being on a rear side (bottom side) of the power wire [0024-0027];
a rear insulation layer (111) on a front side (upper side) of the power wire [0024-0027];
a plurality of channel layers (119) [0029] on a front side of the rear insulation layer and spaced apart from each other (figs. 8 and 16: elements (119) are spaced apart from one another by elements (123));
source and drain regions (123) [0031] adjacent to the plurality of channel layers (fig. 8); and
a gate electrode (131) on the plurality of channel layers (fig. 8) [0029].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie.
In regards to claim 3, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Xie appears to be silent as to, but does not preclude, the limitations wherein each of the separating insulators corresponds to a center region of a corresponding standard cell. Xie teaches the limitations of varying the placement of separating insulators to affect conductivities and conductive paths of elements within a semiconductor device (figs. 16-18) ([0027], [0073]). Absent persuasive evidence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to find that the configuration of an element is a matter of choice. In re Dailey, 357 F. 2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
In regards to claim 4, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 3. Xie appears to be silent as to, but does not preclude, the limitations wherein the power wire includes a first power wire shared by the standard cell and a first adjacent cell adjacent to one side of the standard cell, and a second power wire shared by the standard cell and a second adjacent cell adjacent to another side of the standard cell. Xie teaches the limitations of varying the placement of separating insulators to affect conductivities and conductive paths of elements within a semiconductor device (figs. 16-18) ([0027], [0073]). Absent persuasive evidence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to find that the configuration of an element is a matter of choice. In re Dailey, 357 F. 2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
In regards to claim 6, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 5. Xie appears to be silent as to, but does not preclude, the limitations wherein a thickness of the power wire is substantially equivalent to a depth of a corresponding one of the separating insulators, or an entire portion of a lateral side of the power wire contacts an entire portion of a lateral side of the corresponding one of the separating insulators. Xie teaches the limitations of varying the placement of separating insulators to affect conductivities and conductive paths of elements within a semiconductor device (figs. 16-18) ([0027], [0073]). Absent persuasive evidence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to find that the configuration of an element is a matter of choice. In re Dailey, 357 F. 2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
In regards to claim 15, Xie teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 5. Xie appears to be silent as to, but does not preclude, the limitations wherein a thickness of the power wire is less than a height to a front side of the active region from the front side of the power wire. Xie teaches the limitations of varying the placement of separating insulators to affect conductivities and conductive paths of elements within a semiconductor device (figs. 16-18) ([0027], [0073]). Absent persuasive evidence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to find that the configuration of an element is a matter of choice. In re Dailey, 357 F. 2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: independent claim 1 is allowable because the closest prior art does not appear to disclose, alone or in combination, the limitations of a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising: providing a support structure including a substrate; forming a substrate insulation layer including a separating insulator and an upper insulator, by forming a plurality of first separators and a second separator and filling the first separators and the second separator with an insulating material, a rear side of the second separator being higher than the first separators in the support structure; forming source and drain regions and a gate electrode on the support structure; forming a space portion by removing at least a part of the substrate disposed between the first separators; and forming a power wire by filling a conductive material in the space portion.
The claims of the application at hand that depend from allowable claims are allowable because they respectively depend, directly or indirectly, from the allowable claims of the application at hand. Therefore, the dependent claims in question incorporate the allowable limitations of the claims from which they depend.
Conclusion
CALVIN CHOI
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2812
/CALVIN Y CHOI/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812