DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Status of the Claims
Receipt of Applicant’s response, filed 19 Aug 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 2, 8-12, and 14-45 remain pending in the application.
Claims 1, 2, 8-12, 14-16, 35-37, and 40 are amended.
Claim 3-7, 13 was cancelled.
Claims 43-45 are new
Claims 17-34 and 42 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention / species. Claims 17-24 are part of the elected group but require alternative species from the elected species. For example, the claims require canola oil instead of sesame oil and guar gum instead of cetearyl glucoside.
Claims 1, 2, 8-12, 14-16, 35-41, and 43-45 are under consideration to the extent of the elected species, i.e., that the adjuvant is silicone polyether, the organic emulsifier is cetearyl glucoside, and the carrier oil is sesame oil.
Objections Withdrawn
Objections to the Claims
The claim objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 19 Mar 2026 are hereby partially withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments of the claims.
Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections Pursuant to 35 USC § 112
The rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 19 Mar 2026 are hereby partially withdrawn in light of applicants amendment of the claims.
The rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(d) set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 19 Mar 2026 are hereby withdrawn in light of applicants amendment of the claims.
Rejections Pursuant to 35 USC § 101
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 19 Mar 2026 is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendment of the claims.
Rejections Pursuant to 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 1-13, 16, and 35-41 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiasson (US 2003/0091657, published 15 May 2003) in view of Pavela (CZ34439U1, published 06 Oct 2020), DeWolff (US 2008/0193387, published 14 Aug 2008), Singh et al. (Exp Appl Acarol (2017) 71:303–317), In (KR20200072777A, published 23 Jun 2020), Wang et al. (CN101692822A, published 14 Apr 2010), Mech et al. (International Journal of Science and Research (IJSR), Volume 4 Issue 5, May 2015), Shah et al. US 8,137,725, published 20 Mar 2012), Eltaly et al. (International Journal of Veterinary Science 12(2): 255-259, published 10 Jul 2023), Nwanade et al. (Parasites Vectors (2021) 14:330), Samaniego (US 2021/0400989, published 30 Dec 2021), Kemal et al. (Journal of Parasitology Research Volume 2020, Article ID 7834026, 10 pages), and Quadros et al. (Insects 2020, 11, 490; doi:10.3390/insects11080490) as evidenced by the instant specification and evidenced by G-biosciences (What’s the Difference Between Tween 20 and Tween 80? is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendment of the claims, and the art is reapplied in the new grounds of rejection set forth below.
Objections/Rejections Maintained
Claim Objections
Claims 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 unnecessarily capitalized “Claim.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 is indefinite in reciting “(sapindus mukorassi)” as it is unclear if the limitation in the parenthesis is intended be required or if it is merely exemplary.
Regarding claim 37, use of the phrases “more preferably” and "such as," renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
New Grounds of Objections/Rejections
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 36 Table 2 item 13 contains illegible text in the active ingredient column.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line xxvii, “an” should be “a.”
Claim 8 would be improved with a transition such as “wherein” before “the adjuvant.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “the carrier oils.” The plural “oils” is renders the claim indefinite as claim 1 recites “a carrier oil” which is singular it is unclear if the “carrier oils” is intended to refer to the singular “oil” of claim 1 or if it is intended to now require that multiple oils are present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 44 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 14 and 45 recite that the particle size is in the range of 1-100 nanometer. Claims 14 and 45 depend from claim 1 which recites that the size is from 10-1000 nanometer. Claims 14 and 45 thus fails to further limit claim 1 but instead broadens the lower limit for acceptable particle sizes to below 10 nanometers.
Claim 44 recites that the particle size is in the range of 10-1000 nanometers. Claim 44 depends from claim 1 which recites that the size is from 10-1000 nanometer. Claim 44 thus fails to further limit claim 1 as it has the same limitation (10-1000 nanometer particle size) as in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 8-12, 14-16, 35-41, and 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The amendment filed 19 Aug 2026 has introduced new matter into the claims. Amended claims 1 and 2 recite the unit “w/w” for the percentages. The response did not point out where support for newly added limitation “w/w” could be found in the originally filed disclosure. Although the PTO has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasons why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims, when filing an amendment an applicant should show support in the original disclosure for new or amended claims. See MPEP 714.02 and 2163.06 (“Applicant should therefore specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.”). Instant claim 1 and 2 now recites limitations, which were not clearly disclosed in the specification as filed, and now change the scope of the instant disclosure as filed. Such limitations recited in newly amended claim 1 and 2, which did not appear in the specification, as filed, introduce new concepts and violate the description requirement of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C 112. Applicant is required to provide sufficient written support for the limitations recited in present claim 1 and 2 in the specification or claims, as-filed, or remove these limitations from the claims in response to this Office Action. Claims 8-12, 14-16, 35-41, and 43-45 are included in this rejection as they depend directly, indirectly, or include all the limitations of independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Interpretation
The instant claims recite a synergistic botanical based bio-stimulant, bioacaricidal composition. Applicant has amended the claims to require the composition to comprise “two or more” components selected from i-xxviii to be present.
Claims 1, 2, 8-12, 14-16, 35-41, and 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiasson (US 2003/0091657, published 15 May 2003) in view of Pavela (CZ34439U1, published 06 Oct 2020), DeWolff (US 2008/0193387, published 14 Aug 2008), Singh et al. (Exp Appl Acarol (2017) 71:303–317), In (KR20200072777A, published 23 Jun 2020), Wang et al. (CN101692822A, published 14 Apr 2010), Mech et al. (International Journal of Science and Research (IJSR), Volume 4 Issue 5, May 2015), Shah et al. US 8,137,725, published 20 Mar 2012), Eltaly et al. (International Journal of Veterinary Science 12(2): 255-259, published 10 Jul 2023), Nwanade et al. (Parasites Vectors (2021) 14:330), Samaniego (US 2021/0400989, published 30 Dec 2021), Kemal et al. (Journal of Parasitology Research Volume 2020, Article ID 7834026, 10 pages), Quadros et al. (Insects 2020, 11, 490; doi:10.3390/insects11080490), and Jordan et al. (US 2020/0022364, 23 Jan 2020) as evidenced by the instant specification and evidenced by G-biosciences (What’s the Difference Between Tween 20 and Tween 80?.
Chiasson teaches botanical acaricides (abstract). Chiasson teaches that botanical pesticides offer the advantage of being naturally derived compounds that are safe to both humans and the environment ([0007]). Chiasson teaches an essential oil extract derived from plant material and comprising components including limonene (rendering obvious component viii), α-terpinene (rendering obvious component ix), ρ-cymene (a component of Acorus calamus as evidenced by the instant specification Table 2 line 13 rendering obvious component xviii), and carvacrol (rendering obvious component xix) ([0054]). Chiasson teaches the composition has insecticidal activity ([0055]) and is for use in controlling plant pests ([0060]) such as acari ([0066]) including mites such as spider mite Tetranychus urticae ([0067]), rendering obvious claims 35, 38 and 39 as the removal of unwanted pests renders obvious a use for improved plant growth. Chiasson teaches that the essential oil extracts are from plant material ([0069]) and are partially purified but can be further purified using routine and well known methods ([0071]), rendering obvious claims 15 and 16 and the combination of enriched botanical extracts and purified phyto ingredients. Chiasson teaches the compositions with a suitable carrier ([0057]). Chiasson teaches forms of emulsions, aerosols, sprays or other liquid preparations ([0102]), rendering obvious claims 37, 40 and 41. Chiasson teaches that the choice of dispersing and emulsifying agents and the amount combined is determined by the nature of the formulation and the ability of the agent to facilitate the dispersion of the essential oil extract of the present invention while not significantly diminishing the acaricidal, insecticidal, and/or fungicidal activity of the essential oil extract ([0102]). Chiasson teaches emulsifying agents include blends of non-ionic and anionic emulsifiers ([0104], [0105]). Chiasson teaches non-ionic emulsifiers such as Tween™ 80 and Tween™ 20 ([0105]), rendering obvious the polysorbate 20 and 80 of claim 11, as evidenced by G-biosciences Tween is polysorbate (page 1 What is Tween®?).
Chiasson teaches that the formulation can contain a final concentration of 0.125% to 10% by volume of essential oil extract and the formulation may be a concentrate that is diluted before use and that a person skilled in the art will understand that the concentration can be modified in accordance with particular needs so that the formulation is acaricidal, insecticidal, and/or fungicidal, but not phytotoxic ([0109]). Chiasson similarly teaches that the dosage of the essential oil extract is dependent upon factors such as the type of pest, carrier used, the method of application and climate conditions for application and the type of formulation and that the effective dosage can be readily determined by persons of skill in the art ([0115]).
Chiasson does not teach the inclusion of components i-vii, x-xvii, xx-xxiv or the inclusion sesame oil (elected species of carrier oil), silicone polyether (elected species of adjuvant) and cetearyl glucoside (elected species of organic emulsifier) and the amount of emulsifier and carrier oil, and does not teach a particle size in the range of 10-1000 (or 1-100 nm) nanometers. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Pavela, DeWolff, Singh, In, Wang, Mech, Shah, Eltaly, Nwanade, Samaniego, Kemal, Quadros, and Jordan.
Pavela teaches a plant protection product against pests and diseases and teaches that insecticidal or acaricidal plant protection products are usually synthetically produced but Pavela teaches a composition comprising Pongamia pinnata fruit seed oil from 20-90% (page 1), rendering obvious component vi of claim 1. Pavela teaches the composition against insect pests and diseases such as spider mites and fungal diseases (page 2 middle). Pavela teaches the inclusion of nonionic or ionic emulsifiers (page 2 paragraph 4) from 0.5 to 20% by weight (claims 1-4).
DeWolff teaches compositions comprising Lippia javanica essential oil with other essential oils for killing or repelling ectoparasites or pests such as lice, ticks, mosquitoes, mites, ants and fleas (abstract). DeWolff teaches that essential oils for the compositions include α-terpineol and linalool (rendering obvious component x of claim 1) and eugenol (rendering obvious component iii of claim 1) and cumin aldehyde (rendering obvious component xxiv of claim 1) ([0066]). DeWolff also teaches Rosmarinum officinalis oil ([0099]), rendering obvious component xv of claim 1. DeWolff teaches that the compositions comprise a carrier ([0120]) such as sesame oil ([0131]) and that the carrier is present from 0-70% ([0124]). DeWolff teaches the inclusion of non-ionic and/or anionic emulsifiers to aid in the dispersion of the essential oils into the carrier fluid ([0154]) and teaches emulsifiers such as cetearyl glucoside and polysorbate 20 ([0137]). DeWolff teaches that the compositions comprise a silicone to impart lubrication qualities or viscosity and teaches silicones such as dimethicone copolyol (which is a polymer of dimethyl-siloxane with polyoxyethylene and/or polyoxypropylene, thereby rendering obvious a silicone polyether as in the instant claims) ([0144]) and teaches that silicone is present from 0-20% ([0151]).
Singh teaches that Piper longum and Piper nigrum extracts can be used to effectively control ticks and have potential for development of eco-friendly acaricides to counter-act problems associated with chemical acaricides (abstract, page 315 last paragraph). P. longum and P. nigrum render obvious components xxi and ii of claim 1.
In teaches a natural plant-derived red mite acaricide composition comprising components including clove extract and neem (Azadirachta indica) oil (title, abstract). The clove extract is from 10-20 parts by weight and the neem oil is 25-50 parts by weight ([0018]). The clove extract renders obvious component iii and Azadirachta indica oil renders obvious component xxiii of claim 1.
Wang teaches applications of lupeol (title) for the preparation of plant acaricides (page 1 lines 14-15) where lupeol is from 20-50% (page 1 line 4). Lupeol renders obvious components xii, xvi and xvii of claim 1.
Mech teaches Parthenium hysterophorus has good acaricidal activity (page 903 conclusion) and that Lantana camara has adulticidal effects on red spider mites (page 903 left column). Parthenium hysterophorus and Lantana camara render obvious components xiv and xx of claim 1.
Shah teaches dill (Anethum graveolens) oil as a potentiator for a pesticide such as an insecticide (abstract, col 2 line 8) and useful in control of arthropods such as acarines (col 10 lines 19-21). Shah teaches the inclusion of UV screening agents such as β-carotene from about 0.005-50% w/w which provides protection of UV-sensitive agrochemicals from UV-light (col 9 lines 15-32). Dill and β-carotene render obvious components vii and xiii and claim 43.
Eltaly teaches Zingiber officinale extract as a highly effective eco-friendly acaricide (abstract). Zingiber officinale extract renders obvious component v.
Nwande teaches acaricidal activity of Cinnamomum cassia extract and the extract as a botanical based larvicidal and nymphicidal agent for tick control (abstract, page 10 conclusions). Cinnamomum cassia extract renders obvious component i.
Samaniego teaches that garlic extract Allium sativuum has an effect on the nervous system of mites and insects in general (abstract). Samaniego teaches acaricidal compositions that include Alllium sativuum ([0013]). Allium sativuum renders obvious component iv.
Kemal teaches Ricinus communis as an acaricidal and demonstrating tick mortality (abstract, page 4 left column, page 8 left column). Ricinus communis renders obvious component xi.
Quadros teaches that Annona squamosa exhibits acaricidal activity (page 9 lines 7-12). Annona squamosa renders obvious component xxii of claim 1.
Jordan teaches compositions for modifying plant growth ([0007]) and teaches the compositions may comprise agricultural chemicals such as acaricides ([0034], [0060], [0096]). Jordan teaches that the composition may be a nano-emulsion ([0009]) and that nano-emulsions provide very desirable qualities of agricultural chemicals, namely greater solubility and stability, higher bioavailability and a higher dissolution rate and a smaller particle size ([0081]). Jordan teaches that the nano-emulsions have a micelle diameter greater than zero microns but not more than about 0.95 microns (i.e. 950 nm) ([0083]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included components that meet the limitations of components i-vii, x-xvii and xx-xxiv of instant claim 1 and to further include 0-70% sesame oil, 0-20% dimethicone copolyol and 0.5 to 20% cetearyl glucoside in the form of a nano-emulsion with micelle diameter from 0-0.95 microns (i.e. 0-950 nm) as part of the acaricidal composition rendered obvious by Chiasson. Botanical acaricide compositions comprising components such as limonene, α-terpinene, ρ-cymene and carvacrol (meeting the limitations of components viii, ix, xviii, and xix of claim 1) as well as a carrier and non-ionic and anionic emulsifying agents are known from Chiasson. Various extract components that meet the limitations of components i-vii, x-xvii, and xx-xxiv of claim 1 are taught by Pavela, DeWolff, Singh, In, Wang, Mech, Shah, Eltaly, Nwanade, Samaniego, Kemal, and Quadros as possessing acaricidal properties, as described above. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the separate components into a composition for the purpose of using as an acaricidal composition. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Each of the components described above are known as possessing acaricidal type properties and thus it would be obvious to combine them for the same use of an acaricidal composition. Acaricidal compositions comprising 0.5 to 20% by weight nonionic or ionic emulsifiers are known from Pavela, rendering this an obvious amount to include the emulsifying agents in the composition of Chiasson as the compositions are for similar use as an acaricidal. Similarly, 0-70% sesame oil is a suitable carrier, cetearyl glucoside as an emulsifier and 0-20% dimethicone copolyol as a silicone component are known from DeWolff for compositions for treating mites and ticks, rendering it obvious to include them for similar acaricidal compositions taught by Chiasson as they merely represent known prior art elements for use for their known purpose as ingredients of compositions for treating acari such as mites and ticks. Regarding the particle size, it is known from Jordan that plant growth compositions that may have acaricides may be structured as nano-emulsions with micelle diameters from 0-0.95 microns, which has very desirable qualities of agricultural chemicals, namely greater solubility and stability, higher bioavailability and a higher dissolution rate and a smaller particle size, rendering this an obvious particle size for the emulsion compositions and providing a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill.
Regarding the concentration of the individual components i-xxiv and the concentration of 0.5 to 2.0 mL/L of claim 36, the examiner notes that, as described above, the formulation of Chiasson may be a concentrate that is diluted before use and a person skilled in the art will understand that the concentration can be modified in accordance with particular needs so that the formulation is acaricidal, insecticidal, and/or fungicidal, but not phytotoxic the dosage of the essential oil extract is dependent upon factors such as the type of pest, carrier used, the method of application and climate conditions for application and the type of formulation and the effective dosage can be readily determined by persons of skill in the art. Thus, based on the teachings of Chiasson, the concentration and dosing of the essential oil is an art-recognized result effective variable such that determining the amount of each individual botanical component and that the concentration of the composition is between 0.5 to 2.0 mL/L would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is evident that one of ordinary skill would determine the optimal concentration for the components of the composition in order to achieve a composition that is acaricidal, insecticidal and fungicidal while remaining non phytotoxic.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 Aug 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that the rejection relies on the combination of a large number of references and that the cited references fail to provide teaching to combine the two or more botanical components into a single composition and that the rejection relies on impermissible hindsight reconstruction (pages 18-19 of remarks). Applicant argues that “bioactive substances can exert variable and unpredictable properties that differ from the properties of the individual components” and that there is “no reasonable expectation of success” in arriving at the claimed composition (page 19 of remarks).
In response the examiner notes that reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991). In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). As noted in the rejection, the prior art is directed to components with known acaricidal type properties and it would be obvious to combine them for the same use of an acaricidal composition. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). The broad statement made by the applicant that there is a lack of reasonable expectation of success as combining substances can exert variable properties is not persuasive. As noted, the components are known for similar uses and it is prima facie obvious to combine them for the same use and the applicant has not provided any specific evidence to that would overcome the obviousness.
Applicant argues that the references do not disclose a composition that simultaneously provides both acaricidal activity and biostimulant effects as the claimed compositions not only control pests but also improve plant growth (page 19 of remarks). This argument is not persuasive as it does not distinguish the actual composition that is obvious from what is claimed. Noting that the composition has both acaricidal and biostimulant effects merely describes an intended us of the composition and applicant is reminded that the intended use of a product claim carries no patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.02. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation"). The combination of components as claimed is obvious over the prior art for the reasons given in the rejection above. While the applicant may have noted a particular benefit from the claimed composition, this does not distinguish the claimed composition from the prior art. "The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious." Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). The combination of claimed components is obvious, thus rendering the claimed composition as obvious.
Applicant argues that the Jadhav 1.132 declaration indicates that BioAcaricide compositions 1-4 resulted in significantly higher corrected mortalities over individual botanical extracts. The examiner does not find this data presented to be sufficient as unexpected to overcome the prima facie case of obviousness. The examiner notes that the exact compositions of Bioacaricides 1-4 are presented on pages 37-45 of the instant specification. These compositions are composed of 8-10 components with specific botanical and additive components at specific percentages. This is not commensurate in scope with the claims which require selection two or more components from a much larger array of botanical components, emulsifiers and oils and a much wider range of percentages. There is no evidence that the other combination of components encompassed by the claims would perform in a similar manner as those demonstrated. Further, the results should demonstrate a difference in kind, rather than degree. See In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 139 (Fed.Cir.1996) (holding that claimed ranges must “produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from results of the prior art”). The Court explained that a “32—43% increase in stress-rupture life, however, does not represent a ‘difference in kind' that is required to show unexpected results.” Harris, 409 F.3d at 1344. Here, the evidence shows the combined phytochemicals have a mortality ~90-97.5% whereas the individual components have a mortaility of ~22-60% but it is not clear why this percentage change is unexpected. To the contrary, it seems expected that combining multiple components known to have an acaricidal effect may have an increased effect from combining.
Applicant argues that one would not combine the teachings of Jordan with the acaricidal references as Jordan is directed to bioactive compoisition for modifying plant growth under water-limited conditions and does not address multi-component botanical acaricidal formulations (page 20 of remarks). This is not persuasive and the examiner notes that Jordan teaches the compositions may comprise agricultural chemicals such as acaricides ([0034], [0060], [0096]), providing a similar context as the other references. Jordan is not relied upon for teaching combination of botanical components and it is not necessary for Jordan to teach this to render obvious the particle size. It is known form Chiasson that the compositions may be emulsions and it is known from Jordan that nano-emulsions provide very desirable qualities of agricultural chemicals, namely greater solubility and stability, higher bioavailability and a higher dissolution rate and a smaller particle size ([0081]) and Jordan teaches that the nano-emulsions have a micelle diameter greater than zero microns but not more than about 0.95 microns (i.e. 950 nm). It thus is obvious from Jordan to from the compositions as nano-emulsions with micelle diameters from 0-0.95 microns which provides greater solubility and stability, higher bioavailability and a higher dissolution rate and a smaller particle size.
Applicant argues that the claimed references do not identify the claimed parameters regarding the concentrations of the components as affecting acaricidal or biostimulant efficacy and that there is no basis for routine optimization (page 20 of remarks). The examiner disagrees and notes that Chiasson teaches a concentrate that is diluted before use and teaches that a person skilled in the art will understand that the concentration can be modified in accordance with particular needs so that the formulation is acaricidal, insecticidal, and/or fungicidal, but not phytotoxic the dosage of the essential oil extract is dependent upon factors such as the type of pest, carrier used, the method of application and climate conditions for application and the type of formulation and the effective dosage can be readily determined by persons of skill in the art. Thus, there is an understanding in Chiasson that the concentration may vary depending on the intended application and it is evident that one of ordinary skill would determine the optimal concentration for the components of the composition in order to achieve a composition that is acaricidal, insecticidal and fungicidal while remaining non phytotoxic.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 8-12, 14-16, 35-41, and 43-45 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10-16, 28-30, and 32 of copending Application No. 18/495,111 (reference application) in view of Chiasson (US 2003/0091657, published 15 May 2003), DeWolff (US 2008/0193387, published 14 Aug 2008), and Shah et al. US 8,137,725, published 20 Mar 2012).
The reference application recites a synergistic botanical based bio-insecticidal, bio-stimulant composition for controlling pests, comprising two or more botanical components such as (ii) Cinnamomum cassia extract from 0.001-35% w/w and (x) Cinnamomum camphora extract from 0.001-45% w/w, which renders obvious the claimed botanical components (i) and (x). The reference application recites 0.001-20% w/w organic emulsifier (such as cetearyl glucoside, claim 6), 0.001-7% w/w ionic emulsifier (such as sodium stearoyl lactylate, claim 7), 0.001-10% non-ionic emulsifier (such as polysorbate 20, claim 7) and 0.001-90% carrier oil (such as sesame oil, claim 8) and particle sizes from 10-900 nm in claim 1. The composition is in forms such as liquid (claim 28, 29) and is applied by sprayer (claim 30) and is effective against pests such as spider mites (claim 32).
The reference application does not recite the adjuvant silicone polyether (elected species of adjuvant) or Beta-carotene or the concentration between 0.5 to 2.0 mL/L. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Chiasson, DeWolff, and Shah.
The teachings of Chiasson, DeWolff and Shah are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a silicone adjuvant and Beta-carotene in the composition. It is known from Shah that Beta-carotene is a UV screening agent that provides protection of UV sensitive agrochemicals from UV-light, rendering it obvious to include in an agrochemical formula in order to protect chemicals from UV radiation. It is known from DeWolf that essential oil compositions used in killing ectoparasites comprise a silicone to impart lubrication qualities or viscosity and that dimethicone (which is a silicon polyether) is a suitable silicone, rendering it obvious to include dimethicone for improved lubrication and viscosity properties. It is further known from Chiasson that such compositions have insecticidal activity and are for use in controlling plant pests such as acari including mites such as spider mite Tetranychus urticae, rendering obvious claims 35, 38 and 39 as the removal of unwanted pests renders obvious a use for improved plant growth. Regarding the concentration of individual components and the concentration of 0.5 to 2.0 mL/L of claim 36, the examiner notes that, as described above, it is known from Chiasson to form formulations as a concentrate that is diluted before use and that a person skilled in the art will understand that the concentration can be modified in accordance with particular needs so that the formulation is acaricidal, insecticidal, and/or fungicidal, but not phytotoxic the dosage of the essential oil extract is dependent upon factors such as the type of pest, carrier used, the method of application and climate conditions for application and the type of formulation and the effective dosage can be readily determined by persons of skill in the art. Thus, based on the teachings of Chiasson, the concentration and dosing of the essential oil is an art-recognized result effective variable such that determining the amount of each individual botanical component and that the concentration of the composition is between 0.5 to 2.0 mL/L would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is evident that one of ordinary skill would determine the optimal concentration for the components of the composition in order to achieve a composition that is acaricidal, insecticidal and fungicidal while remaining non phytotoxic.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 8-12, 14-16, 35-41, and 43-45 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 21-26 of copending Application No. 19/182,874 (reference application) in view of Chiasson (US 2003/0091657, published 15 May 2003), DeWolff (US 2008/0193387, published 14 Aug 2008), and Shah et al. US 8,137,725, published 20 Mar 2012).
The reference application recites a biopesticidal and biostimulant composition comprising two of more phytochemicals such as (i) camphor from 0.001-7.0% and (ii) eugenol from 0.001-10.0%, which renders obvious components from items (iii) and (x) of the instant claims. The reference application recites including surfactants such as polysorbate 80 and guar gum from 0.1-13% (claim 2), and a particle size from 10-1000 nm (claim 4). The application recites sprayer application (claim 23) and emulsion forms (claim 26), rendering obvious a liquid form. The application recites treating plant pests such as mites (claim 24).
The reference application does not recite the adjuvant silicone polyether (elected species of adjuvant) or Beta-carotene or the concentration between 0.5 to 2.0 mL/L or an anionic emulsifier or sesame oil or cetearyl glucoside. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Chiasson, DeWolff, and Shah.
The teachings of Chiasson, DeWolff and Shah are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a silicone adjuvant and Beta-carotene in the composition. It is known from Shah that Beta-carotene is a UV screening agent that provides protection of UV sensitive agrochemicals from UV-light, rendering it obvious to include in an agrochemical formula in order to protect chemicals from UV radiation. It is known from DeWolf that essential oil compositions used in killing ectoparasites comprise a silicone to impart lubrication qualities or viscosity and that dimethicone (which is a silicon polyether) is a suitable silicone, rendering it obvious to include dimethicone for improved lubrication and viscosity properties. It is further known from DeWolff to include a carrier such as sesame oil and that the carrier is present from 0-70% and to include non-ionic and/or anionic emulsifiers, such as cetearyl glucoside, to aid in the dispersion of the essential oils into the carrier fluid, rendering these obvious components for plant compositions. It is further known from Chiasson that such compositions have insecticidal activity and are for use in controlling plant pests such as acari including mites such as spider mite Tetranychus urticae, rendering obvious claims 35, 38 and 39 as the removal of unwanted pests renders obvious a use for improved plant growth. Regarding the concentration of individual components and the concentration of 0.5 to 2.0 mL/L of claim 36, the examiner notes that, as described above, it is known from Chiasson to form formulations as a concentrate that is diluted before use and that a person skilled in the art will understand that the concentration can be modified in accordance with particular needs so that the formulation is acaricidal, insecticidal, and/or fungicidal, but not phytotoxic the dosage of the essential oil extract is dependent upon factors such as the type of pest, carrier used, the method of application and climate conditions for application and the type of formulation and the effective dosage can be readily determined by persons of skill in the art. Thus, based on the teachings of Chiasson, the concentration and dosing of the essential oil is an art-recognized result effective variable such that determining the amount of each individual botanical component and that the concentration of the composition is between 0.5 to 2.0 mL/L would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is evident that one of ordinary skill would determine the optimal concentration for the components of the composition in order to achieve a composition that is acaricidal, insecticidal and fungicidal while remaining non phytotoxic.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/ANNA R FALKOWITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600