DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10, 14-15, 18, 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YI et al (US 2014/0347985) in view of DONG et a (US 2020/0322039)
Regarding claim 1, 10, 18, YI et al (US 2014/0347985) discloses system, comprising: a circuitry, configured to:
transmit a first probe request to discover a first access point of a first channel (YI: Fig. 9, ¶159, probe request is sent by a STA to a first AP, AP1); transmit one or more additional probe requests to discover one or more other access points of one or more other channels, instead of waiting for a response to the first probe request (YI: Fig. 9, ¶159-160, probe request is sent by a STA to second AP, AP2, a third, AP3, and so on, on respective channels); responsive to transmission of the one or more additional probe requests, check for the response to the first probe request on the first channel (YI: ¶160, Fig. 9, switching to a channel for receiving (checking for) a probe response responsive to completing transmission of all probe requests); and receive the response to the first probe request (YI: ¶160, receiving response to the first probe request).
YI remains silent regarding wherein the response identifies the first access point
However, DONG discloses the response identifying the first access point (DONG: ¶34, the probe response includes identifying information for the AP for use by the STA).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of YI would have been motivated to use the teachings of DONG as it provides an efficient way of mobile device, that is roaming withing a network area. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of YI with teachings of DONG in order to improve mobility and flexibility (¶32)
Regarding claim 5, 14, 20, YI modified by DONG system of claim 1/14, wherein the circuity is further configured to: responsive to receipt of the response to the first probe request, check for one or more responses to the one or more additional probe requests on the one or more other channels; and receive the one or more responses to the one or more additional probe requests, wherein the one or more responses identify one or more second access points (YI: Fig. 9, ¶159-160, one or more additional APs response to the one or more additional probe requests and the STA switches at respective times, to the channel, in order to check for responses; DONG: ¶34, the probe response includes identifying information for the AP for use by the STA).
Regarding claim 6, 15, YI modified by DONG system of claim 1/14, wherein the one or more additional probe requests include a second probe request and a third probe request, wherein one or more other access points include a second access point and a third access point, and wherein the circuity is further configured to: transmit the second probe request and the third probe request subsequent to the first probe request and prior to a time period that the circuity is configured to check for the response to the first probe request (YI: ¶160, the second and subsequent requests are transmitted prior to a ResDelay1, for example. After this delay, the ProbeResponse is checked by the STA by switching to a channel for reception of the ProbeResponse).
Claim(s) 8-9, 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YI modified by DONG as applied to claim 1/14, further in view of MONTEMURRO et al (US 2017/0311142)
Regarding claim 8, 17, YI modified by DONG discloses system of claim 1/14, wherein the first channel and the one or more other channels correspond to a first set of frequencies, and wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit one or more third probe requests across first frequency different than first frequency to discover one or more third access points on the second band (YI: ¶167, ¶159, Fig,. 5, different channels are different frequencies are used for each probe request for discovering respective APs).
YI modified by DONG remains silent regarding first and second frequencies being the first band and the second band respectively.
However, MONTEMURRO et al (US 2017/0311142) discloses first and second frequencies being the first band and the second band respectively (MONTEMURRO: ¶23, ¶20, different bands are used to transmit probe requests including different frequency bands)
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of YI modified by DONG would have been motivated to use the teachings of MONTEMURRO as it provides a higher throughput by establishing communication with multiple network devices through multiple paths (¶27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of YI modified by DONG with teachings of MONTEMURRO in order to improve interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 9, YI modified by DONG modified by MONTEMURRO discloses system of claim 8, wherein the first band includes a first plurality of frequencies, and wherein the second band includes a second plurality of frequencies different from the first plurality of frequencies (MONTEMURRO: ¶23, ¶20, different bands are used to transmit probe requests including different frequency bands with respective different frequencies).
Claim(s) 2-4, 11-13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YI modified by DONG as applied to claim 1/10/18, further in view of ASTERJADHI et al (US 2020/0068486).
Regarding claim 2, 11, 19, YI modified by DONG discloses system of claim 1/10/18, but remain silent regarding the one or more other channels are selected based at least on a difference between one or more first frequencies of the first channel and one or more second frequencies of the one or more other channels.
However, ASTERJADHI et al (US 2020/0068486) discloses the one or more other channels are selected based at least on a difference between one or more first frequencies of the first channel and one or more second frequencies of the one or more other channels (ASTERJADHI: ¶79, ¶66, the selection of the channel frequencies for probing is based on the difference between (space) between the channel frequencies).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of YI modified by DONG would have been motivated to use the teachings of ASTERJADHI as it provides a way to reduce channel pollution/interference due to unnecessary probing all channels (¶129) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify invention of YI modified by DONG with teachings of ASTERJADHI in order to improve efficiency of scanning
Regarding claim 3, 12, YI modified by DONG modified by ASTERJADHI discloses system of claim 2/11, wherein the one or more other channels include a second channel and a third channel, wherein the difference between one or more first frequencies of the first channel and one or more second frequencies of the third channel is different than the difference between the one or more first frequencies of the first channel and one or more second frequencies of the second channel (ASTERJADHI: ¶66, the frequency difference of channel 1 and 5 are different than channels 1 and 9 or channel 1 and 13).
Regarding claim 4, 13, YI modified by DONG modified by ASTERJADHI discloses system of claim 2/11, wherein the circuitry is further configured to establish a connection via a network with the first access point of the first channel (FUJIKAMI: ¶2, ¶41, LAN local area network).
Claim(s) 7, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YI modified by DONG as applied to claim 1/10, further in view of NEELISETTY et al (US 20170064619).
Regarding claim 7, 16, YI modified by DONG discloses system of claim 1/10 by remains silent regarding determining, responsive to connection to a network, a first location of a device comprising the circuitry; and transmit, responsive to determination that the device has moved from the first location to a second location, one or more third signals to discover one or more third access points.
However, NEELISETTY et al (US 20170064619) discloses determining, responsive to connection to a network, a first location of a device comprising the circuitry; and transmitting, responsive to determination that the device has moved from the first location to a second location, one or more third signals to discover one or more third access points (NEELISETTY: ¶58, the change of location initiates the probe request transmissions again (third signals) to newer/closer APs).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of FUJIKAMI modified by DONG would have been motivated to use the teachings of NEELISETTY as it provides a way to constantly update for the best available APs (¶58) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify invention of FUJIKAMI modified by DONG with teachings of NEELISETTY in order to improve quality of communication and reduce errors and drop calls.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See PTO-892.
Document U discloses a technique for estimating the number of mobile devices present at a certain place and time, through analysis of WiFi probe requests from smart devices. The goal is to address the problem through a solution that is immune to Media Access Control (MAC) address randomization strategies. The idea is to make use of information propagated in the environment, without the need to know the real MAC addresses of the devices. A state machine was modeled to detect the arrival, presence, and departure of devices in proximity to the sensors. A hardware prototype was developed for device detection, and its efficiency was evaluated in experiments that involved comparing the results of the proposed method with the manual measurements made by researchers. The proposed method provided very accurate correlations between the number of mobile devices detected and the real number of people in the environment.
Document V discloses analysis of the performance of the Active Probing mechanism of the 802.11 protocol. The analysis shows that the current implementations of the Active Probing mechanism are inefficient and lead to decreased capacity. We identify two main factors contributing to this negative effect on the capacity. These factors are observed with cards from different manufacturers and lead to increasing the probing cycle time and unnecessary retransmission. We propose different techniques to enhance the efficiency of the Active Probing mechanism. The proposed techniques require no or minimal changes to the wireless cards' drivers and hence allow incremental deployment.
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/OMER S MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461