DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 30th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 10-15, 17-22, and 25-27 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
“the mounting flange” in ln. 12 should be revised to “the flange” for clarity and consistency of claimed terminology.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a mounting portion in claim 1, ln. 5, claim 13, ln. 5, and claim 19, ln. 5.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted that the mounting portion is a flange as described in Paragraphs 0036, 0043, 0048, 0053, and 0058.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-15, 18-19, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Umeki et al. (US 20200132184 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Umeki discloses a fluid sprayer (70, Fig. 3) for a powertrain (12, 24, 62, 64, Figs. 1-2, Paragraph 0005), the fluid sprayer (70, Fig. 3) comprising:
a unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5) including an elongated sidewall (side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Figs. 3-5), the elongated sidewall (side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Figs. 3-5) including an inner surface (internal surface of side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Figs. 3-5) that defines a fluid passage (100, 108, 104, Figs. 3-5) in the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5), the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5) extending between a first end (bottom end of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 3) and an opposite second end (top end of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 3);
a mounting portion (72, Figs. 3-4) at the first end (bottom end of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 3) of the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5); and
a nozzle (76, Figs. 3-5) proximate to the second end (top end of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 3) of the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5), the fluid passage (100, 108, 104, Figs. 3-5) extending from the mounting portion (72, shown in Figs. 3-4) to the nozzle (76, shown in Figs. 3-5), wherein the nozzle (76, Figs. 3-5) includes a first orifice (passage within nozzle 76, shown in Figs. 3-5) defined by:
a depression (troughed surface located at the point that fluid passage 104 flows into nozzle 76, annotated in Fig. 5) in the inner surface of the sidewall (internal surface of side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Figs. 3-5); and
an elongated opening (opening of second pipe portion 106 connecting to nozzle 76, shown in Fig. 5) in the sidewall (side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Figs. 3-5) in fluid communication with the depression (annotated and shown in Fig. 5),
wherein the depression (troughed surface located at the point that fluid passage 104 flows into nozzle 76, annotated in Fig. 5) forms a semi-spherical transition from the fluid passage (100, 108, 104, shown in Fig. 5) to the elongated opening (opening of second pipe portion 106 connecting to nozzle 76, shown in Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 14, Umeki discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 13. Umeki further discloses the nozzle (76, Figs. 3-5) includes an elongated protrusion (shown in Fig. 5) extending laterally outwardly from sidewall (side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 5) of the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5).
With respect to claim 15, Umeki discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 14. Umeki further discloses the elongated opening (opening of second pipe portion 106 connecting to nozzle 76, shown in Fig. 5) is a slot that extends lengthwise along the elongated protrusion (shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 18, Umeki discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 13. Umeki further discloses the fluid passage (100, 108, 104, Figs. 3-5) is closed by the second end (top end of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 5) of the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5).
With respect to claim 19, Umeki discloses a fluid sprayer (70, Fig. 3) for a powertrain (12, 24, 62, 64, Figs. 1-2, Paragraph 0005), the fluid sprayer (70, Fig. 3) comprising:
a unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5) including an elongated sidewall (side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Figs. 3-5), the elongated sidewall (side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Figs. 3-5) defining a fluid passage (100, 108, 104, Figs. 3-5) in the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5), the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5) extending between a first end (bottom end of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 3) and an opposite second end (top end of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 3);
a mounting portion (72, Figs. 3-4) at the first end (bottom end of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 3) of the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5), and a nozzle (76, Figs. 3-5) proximate to the second end (top end of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 3) of the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5), the fluid passage (100, 108, 104, Figs. 3-5) extending from the mounting portion (72, shown in Figs. 3-4) to the nozzle (76, shown in Figs. 3-5), wherein the nozzle (76, Figs. 3-5) includes at least a first orifice and a second orifice (annotated in Fig. 5), and the first orifice (annotated in Fig. 5) is configured to produce a first fluid output (shown in Fig. 5) and the second orifice (annotated in Fig. 5) is configured to produce a second fluid output (shown in Fig. 5) that differs from the first fluid output (first fluid output and second fluid output are produced at different locations from the first orifice and the second orifice, shown in Fig. 5), wherein the first orifice (passage within nozzle 76, shown in Figs. 3-5) is defined by:
a depression (troughed surface located at the point that fluid passage 104 flows into nozzle 76, annotated in Fig. 5) in the inner surface of the sidewall (internal surface of side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Figs. 3-5); and
an elongated opening (opening of second pipe portion 106 connecting to nozzle 76, shown in Fig. 5) in the sidewall (side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Figs. 3-5) in fluid communication with the depression (annotated and shown in Fig. 5),
wherein the depression (troughed surface located at the point that fluid passage 104 flows into nozzle 76, annotated in Fig. 5) forms a semi-spherical transition from the fluid passage (100, 108, 104, shown in Fig. 5) to the elongated opening (opening of second pipe portion 106 connecting to nozzle 76, shown in Fig. 5).
In regards to claim 25, Umeki discloses the fluid spray of claim 19. Umeki further discloses the nozzle (76, Figs. 3-5) includes a protrusion (shown in Fig. 5) extending from the sidewall (side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 5), the elongated opening (opening of nozzles 76 that connect to second pipe portion 106, shown in Figs. 3-5) extends along the protrusion (shown in Fig. 5), and the first orifice (passage within nozzle 76, shown in Figs. 3-5) is formed at the intersection of the depression (annotated in Fig. 5) in the inner surface (internal surface of side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Figs. 3-5) of the sidewall (side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 5) and the elongated opening (opening of nozzles 76 that connect to second pipe portion 106, shown in Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 26, Umeki discloses the fluid spray of claim 13, wherein the nozzle (76, Figs. 3-5) includes a protrusion (shown in Fig. 5) extending from the sidewall (side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 5), the elongated opening (opening of nozzles 76 that connect to second pipe portion 106, shown in Figs. 3-5) extends along the protrusion (shown in Fig. 5), and the first orifice (passage within nozzle 76, shown in Figs. 3-5) is formed at the intersection of the depression (annotated in Fig. 5) in the inner surface (internal surface of side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Figs. 3-5) of the sidewall (side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 5) and the elongated opening (opening of nozzles 76 that connect to second pipe portion 106, shown in Figs. 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeki et al. (US 20200132184 A1) in view of Sethi (US 20210086006 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Umeki discloses a fluid sprayer (70, Fig. 3) for a powertrain (12, 24, 62, 64, Figs. 1-2, Paragraph 0005), the fluid sprayer (70, Fig. 3) comprising:
a unitary body (interpreting as forming a single or uniform entity, Oxford Dictionary, entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5), the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5) including a fluid passage (100, 108, 104, Figs. 3-5) therein that extends from an inlet (112, Fig. 3) at a first end (bottom end of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 3) of the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly, 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5) to a nozzle (76, Figs. 3-5) at or near (interpreting as adjacent to) a second end (top end of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 3) of the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5) that is opposite the first end (bottom end of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 3) of the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5); and
a mounting portion (72, Figs. 3-4) at the first end (bottom end of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 3) of the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5), the mounting portion (72, Figs. 3-4) being configured to connect the fluid sprayer (70, Fig. 3) to a fluid system (40, Fig. 2) of the powertrain (12, 24, 62, 64, fixing portions 72 are fixed to an inner wall of the surface of the casing 14 of transaxle 12 or an outer surface of a housing of the first oil pump P1, shown in Figs. 1-2, Paragraph 0044),
wherein the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5) includes a number of bends (interpreting as a surface that shapes or forces (something straight) into a curve or angle, Oxford Dictionary, shown in Figs. 3-4) between the nozzle (76, shown in Figs. 3-4) and the mounting portion (72, shown in Figs. 3-4),
wherein the mounting portion (72, Figs. 3-4) includes a flange (interpreting as a flat rim, collar, or rib on an object, Oxford Dictionary, fixing portions 72 has a collar, shown in Figs. 3-4) extending laterally outwardly from the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, shown in Figs. 3-5), the flange (72, Figs. 3-4) including a mounting surface (surface of fixing portions 72, shown in Figs. 3-4) configured to be mounted to the powertrain (12, 24, 62, 64, fixing portions 72 are fixed to an inner wall of the surface of the casing 14 of transaxle 12 or an outer surface of a housing of the first oil pump P1, shown in Figs. 1-2, Paragraph 0044) and a through-hole (hole within fixing portions 72, shown in Figs. 3-4) configured to receive a fastener (74, shown in Fig. 3).
However, Umeki discloses all aspects of the present invention except for disclosing a fillet that connects the mounting flange to the unitary body for better rigidity of the fluid sprayer when assembled to the powertrain. Sethi teaches a fluid sprayer (700, Fig. 27) comprising a fillet (713, Fig. 27).
Umeki and Sethi are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of high efficiency fluid sprayers. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the fillet taught in Sethi to Umeki’s fluid sprayer, to reduce manufacturing costs, prevent impact with the flow of the fluid through the sprayer, and increase safety measures for the operator because it reduces stress concentration and prevents cracking in the sprayer (Sethi, Paragraph 0176). The fillet taught in Sethi would be added to Umeki’s mounting flange (72) to allow the mounting flange to connect to Umeki’s unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly, 70, 102, 110, 106) for better rigidity of the fluid sprayer when assembled to the powertrain.
Regarding claim 2, Umeki, as modified by Sethi, discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 1. Umeki further discloses the unitary body (entire external surface of piping assembly 70, 102, 110, 106, Figs. 3-5) comprises:
first (102, Figs. 4-5), second (110, Figs. 4-5), and third body portions (106, Figs. 4-5);
the first body portion (102, Figs. 4-5) extends from the mounting portion (72, Figs. 3-4) to a first bend (shown in Figs. 3-5);
the second body portion (110, Figs. 4-5) extends from the first bend (shown in Figs. 3-5) to a second bend (shown in Figs. 3-5); and
the third body portion (106, Figs. 4-5) extending from the second bend (shown in Figs. 3-5) to the second end (top end of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 3, Umeki, as modified by Sethi, discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 2. Umeki further discloses the first body portion (102, Figs. 4-5) extends in a first direction (annotated in Fig. 3), the second body portion (110, Figs. 4-5) extends in a second direction (annotated in Fig. 3), and first direction (annotated in Fig. 3) is orthogonal to the second direction (annotated and shown in Fig. 3); and
the third body portion (106, Figs. 4-5) extends in a third direction (annotated in Fig. 3) that is orthogonal to each of the first direction (annotated and shown in Fig. 3) and the second direction (annotated and shown in Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 4, Umeki, as modified by Sethi, discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 2. Umeki further discloses the nozzle (76, Figs. 3-5) is formed by an elongated opening (opening of nozzles 76 that connect to second pipe portion 106, shown in Figs. 3-5) that extends along the third body portion (106, shown in Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 27, Umeki, as modified by Sethi, discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 1. Umeki further discloses the nozzle (76, Figs. 3-5) includes:
a protrusion (shown in Fig. 5) extending from the sidewall (side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 5),
an elongated opening (opening of nozzles 76 that connect to second pipe portion 106, shown in Figs. 3-5) extending along the protrusion (shown in Fig. 5);
a depression (troughed surface located at the point that fluid passage 104 flows into nozzle 76, annotated in Fig. 5) in the inner surface of the sidewall (internal surface of side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Figs. 3-5), wherein the depression (troughed surface located at the point that fluid passage 104 flows into nozzle 76, annotated in Fig. 5) forms a semi-spherical transition from the fluid passage (100, 108, 104, shown in Fig. 5) to the elongated opening (opening of second pipe portion 106 connecting to nozzle 76, shown in Fig. 5) to form an orifice (passage within nozzle 76, shown in Figs. 3-5) extending through the sidewall (side surface of piping assembly 70, shown in Fig. 5) and the protrusion (shown in Fig. 5) of the nozzle (76, Figs. 3-5).
Claims 5 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeki et al. (US 20200132184 A1) in view of Sethi (US 20210086006 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuhn et al. (EP 3486443 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Umeki, as modified by Sethi, discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 1. Umeki further discloses the fluid passage (100, 108, 104, Figs. 3-5) is configured to supply fluid from the fluid system (40, Fig. 2) to the nozzle (76, Figs. 3-5, Paragraphs 0044-0045).
However, Umeki and Sethi do not teach the nozzle is configured to produce a fanned shaped spray of fluid. Kuhn teaches the nozzle (450, Fig. 7C) is configured to produce a fanned shaped spray of fluid (Paragraph 0030).
Umeki, Sethi, and Kuhn are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of high efficiency fluid sprayers. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the nozzle disclosed in Umeki, as modified by Sethi, with the nozzle taught in Kuhn, to provide a desired flow characteristic for the nozzle (Kuhn, Paragraphs 0030-0031).
Regarding claim 11, Umeki, as modified by Sethi, discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 1. However, Umeki and Sethi do not teach the unitary body includes an outer diameter that varies between the first and the second end. Kuhn teaches the unitary body (450, Fig. 7C) includes an outer diameter (diameter of nozzle 450, shown in Fig. 7C) that varies between the first (upstream or top end of nozzle 450, shown in Fig. 7C) and the second end (downstream or bottom end of nozzle 450, shown in Fig. 7C).
Umeki, Sethi, and Kuhn are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of high efficiency fluid sprayers. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the unitary body disclosed in Umeki, as modified by Sethi, with the unitary body taught in Kuhn, to provide a desired flow characteristic for the nozzle (Kuhn, Paragraphs 0030-0031).
With respect to claim 12, Umeki, as modified by Sethi and Kuhn, discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 11. Kuhn further teaches the outer diameter (diameter of nozzle 450, shown in Fig. 7C) tapers in a direction from the first end (upstream or top end of nozzle 450, shown in Fig. 7C) toward the second end (downstream or bottom end of nozzle 450, shown in Fig. 7C) along a portion of a length of the unitary body (450, shown in Fig. 7C, Paragraph 0030).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeki et al. (US 20200132184 A1) in view of Sethi (US 20210086006 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shelby et al. (US Patent 4,126,058).
In regards to claim 10, Umeki, as modified by Sethi, discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 1. However, Umeki and Sethi do not teach the mounting portion includes a circumferential groove extending around a circumference of the mounting portion that is configured to receive a sealing ring. Shelby teaches a circumferential groove (29, Fig. 3) extending around a circumference of the mounting portion (25, shown in Fig. 3) that is configured to receive a sealing ring (30, shown in Fig. 3, Col. 2, Ln. 29-32).
Umeki, Sethi, and Shelby are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of high efficiency fluid sprayers. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the circumferential groove and the sealing ring disclosed in Shelby to Umeki’s fluid sprayer, as modified by Sethi, to secure the connection better (Shelby, Col. 1, Ln. 29-43).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeki et al. (US 20200132184 A1) in view of Colom et al. (WO 2017186701 A1).
With respect to claim 17, Umeki discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 13. However, Umeki does not disclose the unitary body is straight from the first end to the second end. Colom teaches a fluid sprayer (6, Fig. 2) comprising the unitary body (7, Fig. 2) is straight from the first end (bottom end of pipe body 7, shown in Fig. 2) to the second end (top end of pipe body 7, shown in Fig. 2).
Umeki and Colom are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fluid sprayers for engine and transmission components. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the unitary body disclosed in Umeki with the unitary body taught in Colom, to provide a unitary body that is less prone to wear and cheaper to produce (Colom, Pg. 3, Third Paragraph).
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeki et al. (US 20200132184 A1) in view of Kuhn et al. (EP 3486443 A1).
With respect to claim 20, Umeki discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 19. However, Umeki does not disclose the first fluid output and the second fluid output are spray patterns selected from: a fan spray pattern, a jet spray pattern, and a drip spray pattern. Kuhn teaches the first fluid output and the second fluid output (452, Fig. 7C) are spray patterns selected from a fan spray pattern (Paragraph 0030).
Umeki and Kuhn are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fluid sprayers for engine and transmission components. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first fluid output and the second fluid output disclosed in Umeki with the first fluid output and the second fluid output taught in Kuhn, to provide a desired flow characteristic for the nozzle (Kuhn, Paragraphs 0030-0031).
Regarding claim 21, Umeki discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 19. However, Umeki does not disclose the first fluid output and the second fluid output are different fluid flow rates from the first orifice and the second orifice. Kuhn teaches a fluid output (452, Fig. 7C) is a different flow rate from the orifice (path within nozzle 450 upstream, a nozzle can include outlets having different shapes to effect different spray patterns or directions, Paragraphs 0030-0031, shown in Fig. 7C).
Umeki and Kuhn are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fluid sprayers for engine and transmission components. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the fluid output and the orifice taught in Kuhn to Umeki’s first fluid output, second fluid output, first orifice, and second orifice, to provide a desired flow characteristic for the nozzle (Kuhn, Paragraphs 0030-0031).
Regarding claim 22, Umeki discloses the fluid sprayer of claim 19. However, Umeki does not disclose the first fluid output and the second fluid output are different fluid flow velocities from the first orifice and the second orifice. Kuhn teaches a fluid output (452, Fig. 7C) is a different fluid flow velocity from the orifice (path within nozzle 450 upstream, a nozzle can include outlets having different shapes to effect different spray patterns or directions, Paragraphs 0030-0031, shown in Fig. 7C).
Umeki and Kuhn are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fluid sprayers for engine and transmission components. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the fluid output and the orifice taught in Kuhn to Umeki’s first fluid output, second fluid output, first orifice, and second orifice, to provide a desired flow characteristic for the nozzle (Kuhn, Paragraphs 0030-0031).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 30th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Umeki does not disclose a fillet, see Remarks, pg. 7, this argument is a conclusory statement and applicant does not provide a reason how Umeki does not disclose a fillet.
In response to applicant’s argument that Umeki does not disclose the amended features of claims 13 and 19, Umeki does disclose the amended features. Specifically, Umeki discloses there is a depression that forms a semi-spherical transition from the fluid passage to the elongated opening. The semi-spherical transition is best shown below in the annotated Fig. 5.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752