DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Application
This non-final action on the merits is in response to the remarks and amendments received by the office 20 January 2026. Claims 1-8 are pending. Claims 1, 3, 5 and 6 are amended. No claims have been cancelled or added.
Response to Amendment
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “material supply unit” in claims 1 and 6, described in paragraph 0034 as a hopper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Independent claims 1 and 6 recite the limitation “wherein the control unit is configured to control at least one of the . . . heating units . . . to (i) reduce a difference between a first temperature corresponding to a temperature of the barrel and a second temperature corresponding to a temperature of the nozzle when the modeling material contains the non-crystalline resin, and (ii) increase the difference between the first temperature and the second temperature when the modeling material stored in the material supply unit contains the crystalline resin.” The control scheme claimed is opposite to the scheme described in the original disclosure (see at least Figs. 4 and 6). That is, the original disclosure describes increasing the temperature difference between nozzle and barrel for amorphous resins and decreasing the temperature difference between the nozzle and barrel
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0213419 to Skubic et al. (‘419 hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, ‘419 teaches a plasticizing device comprising: a nozzle configured to extrude a modeling material (Fig 9 item 104), the modeling material being stored in a material supply unit, the modeling material in the material supply unit containing either a crystalline resin or a non-crystalline resin (Fig 1A items 14 and 20); a drive motor (Fig 1 item 18); a screw configured to be rotated by the drive motor and including a groove formation surface in which a groove is formed (Fig 9 item 94); a barrel including a facing surface facing the groove formation surface and provided with a heater and a communication hole (Fig 9 items 86 and 88); a first heating unit configured to heat the modeling material supplied between the groove formed in the groove formation surface and the barrel at a first region of the barrel (Fig 9 item 110); a second heating unit configured to heat the modeling material supplied to the nozzle (Fig 9 item 132); a third heating unit configured to heat the modeling material supplied between the groove formed in the groove formation surface and the barrel at a second region of the barrel (Fig 9 item 130); and a control unit configured to control the drive motor, the first heating unit, and the second heating unit, and the third heating unit, wherein the control unit is configured to control at least one of the first heating units and the second heating unit, and the third heating unit to(i) reduce a difference between a first temperature corresponding to a temperature of the barrel and a second temperature corresponding to a temperature of the nozzle when the modeling material contains the non-crystalline resin, and4(ii) is capable of increasing the difference between the first temperature and the second temperature when the modeling material stored in the material supply unit contains the crystalline resin based upon a desired temperature profile which may be the result of a resin being a crystalline resin or a non- crystalline resin (paragraphs 0050 and 0061-0063) as the device of Skubic provides a controller with independently controlled heating zones to achieve a heating profile previously determined similar to applicant’s controller which receives external material data and adjusts the heating profile accordingly (see paragraph 0065 of the instantly filed specification). If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235. The limitations regarding the particular material worked upon do not structurally distinguish the prior art device from the claimed device. Examiner notes that the cited paragraph does not explicitly state that the difference is reduced from some greater temperature difference. However, the prior art as cited does recognize the need to maintain the resin in a melted state throughout the extrusion apparatus and that the heaters are independently controllable. Since this limitation is regarded as an intended use of the claimed apparatus and the cited prior art teaches all of the claimed structural limitations, this limitation is regarded as being met by the prior art. The resin is regarded as a material worked upon by the claimed apparatus and not accorded patentable weight.
Regarding claim 2, ‘419 teaches the plasticizing device wherein the first temperature is a temperature of the barrel, and the second temperature is a temperature of the nozzle (paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 3, ‘419 teaches the plasticizing device according wherein the facing surface has the first region and the second region farther from the communication hole than is the first region, and the temperature of the barrel is a temperature in the first region (Fig 9 items 86, 88, 110, 130 132).
Regarding claim 4, ‘419 teaches the plasticizing device according wherein the first temperature is a temperature of the first heating unit, and the second temperature is a temperature of the second heating unit (paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 5, ‘419 teaches the plasticizing device wherein the facing surface has the first region and the second region farther from the communication hole than is the first region, and the first heating unit is disposed in the first region (Fig 9 items 90 and 110).
Regarding claim 6, ‘419 teaches a three-dimensional modeling device comprising: a plasticizing device comprising: a nozzle configured to extrude a modeling material (Fig 9 item 104), the modeling material being stored in a material supply unit, the modeling material in the material supply unit containing either a crystalline resin or a non-crystalline resin (Fig 1A items 14 and 20); a drive motor (Fig 1 item 18); a screw configured to be rotated by the drive motor and including a groove formation surface in which a groove is formed (Fig 9 item 94); a barrel including a facing surface facing the groove formation surface and provided with a heater and a communication hole (Fig 9 items 86 and 88); a first heating unit configured to heat the modeling material supplied between the groove formed in the groove formation surface and the barrel at a first region of the barrel (Fig 9 item 110); a second heating unit configured to heat the modeling material supplied to the nozzle (Fig 9 item 132); a third heating unit configured to heat the modeling material supplied between the groove formed in the groove formation surface and the barrel at a second region of the barrel (Fig 9 item 130); and a control unit configured to control the drive motor, the first heating unit, and the second heating unit, and the third heating unit, wherein the control unit is configured to control at least one of the first heating units and the second heating unit, and the third heating unit to(i) reduce a difference between a first temperature corresponding to a temperature of the barrel and a second temperature corresponding to a temperature of the nozzle when the modeling material contains the non-crystalline resin, and4(ii) increase the difference between the first temperature and the second temperature when the modeling material stored in the material supply unit contains the crystalline resin based upon a resin being a crystalline resin or a non- crystalline resin (paragraph 0061). Examiner notes that the cited paragraph does not explicitly state that the difference is reduced from some greater temperature difference. However, the prior art as cited does recognize the need to maintain the resin in a melted state throughout the extrusion apparatus and that the heaters are independently controllable. Since this limitation is regarded as an intended use of the claimed apparatus and the cited prior art teaches all of the claimed structural limitations, this limitations is regarded as being met by the prior art. The resin is regarded as a material worked upon by the claimed apparatus and not accorded patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘419 as applied to claim 1 and 6, respectively, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0118467 to Neboian et al. (‘467 hereafter).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, ‘419 does not teach receiving information regarding the degree of crystallinity of the modelling material to be used.
In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, ‘203 teaches a plasticizing device wherein the control unit is configured to receive modeling material information indicating if the modeling material contains a crystalline resin or a non-crystalline resin (paragraph 0077) for the benefit of specifying optimum operating conditions for the apparatus to apply when using a supplied material. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘419 with those of ‘467 for the benefit of operating an extrusion-based additive manufacturing apparatus at optimum conditions for a supplied material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has argued that the previously applied prior art does not teach the newly amended limitation of control of heating units based on the crystallinity of the resin. Examiner is not persuaded as this limitation is a recitation of an intended use of the claimed apparatus and the prior art apparatus is capable of being used in this manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. Patent 5,764521 to John S. Batchelder teaches that pellet feeding hoppers and filament feed creels are known equivalents.
/JPR/Examiner, Art Unit 1743 /GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743