DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement [configuration] of the primary-side and secondary-side traces intended by “the primary-side traces and the secondary-side traces are configured in a specific stacked structure to maintain the first direction magnetic flux and the second direction magnetic flux within a specific range formed by a magnetic flux origin and a first predetermined offset and a second predetermined offset, so that a magnetomotive force of the planar transformer remains balanced.” The phrase “specific range formed by a magnetic flux origin and a first predetermined offset and a second predetermined offset” is unclear to what applicant is trying to claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al. [US 2020/0211756 A1] or Zhu et al. [Research on a Hight-Efficiency Half-Turn Matrix Planar Transformer Structure of LLC Resonant Converter] or Yan et al. [Optimized Design of Integrated Planar Matrix Transformer for LLC Convert in Consumer Electronics].
Regarding claim 1, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, Wu et al. discloses a planar transformer [figures 1-5B] arranged on a circuit board of a resonant converter, the resonant converter comprising a primary-side circuit and a secondary-side circuit, the planar transformer comprising:
a plurality of primary-side traces respectively formed on a plurality of primary-side layers on the circuit board; the primary-side traces serve as a primary-side coil coupled to the primary-side circuit, so that when the primary-side circuit operates, the primary-side traces respectively generate a first direction magnetic flux [figure 5B, para 61, R1 is a primary side coil with L1 and L2 layers],
a plurality of secondary-side traces respectively formed on a plurality of secondary-side layers on the circuit board; the secondary-side traces serve as a secondary-side coil coupled to the secondary-side circuit, so that when the secondary-side circuit operates, the secondary-side traces respectively generate a second direction magnetic flux [figure 5B, para 61, R2 is a secondary side coil with four layers], and
an iron core comprising a first core pillar and a second core pillar [figures 1A-1B and 4], the first core pillar and the second core pillar respectively penetrating a first through hole and a second through hole of the circuit board, and the primary-side traces and the secondary-side traces surrounding the first core pillar and the second core pillar [figures 1A-5B], wherein the primary-side traces and the secondary-side traces are configured in a specific stacked structure [figures 5A-5B] to maintain the first direction magnetic flux and the second direction magnetic flux within a specific range formed by a magnetic flux origin and a first predetermined offset and a second predetermined offset, so that a magnetomotive force of the planar transformer remains balanced.
Regarding claim 2, Wu et al. discloses when one of the primary-side traces generates the first direction magnetic flux from the magnetic flux origin to the first predetermined offset or the second predetermined offset, the second direction magnetic flux is generated by the operation of the secondary-side trace adjacent to the primary-side trace to adjust the magnetomotive force to the magnetic flux origin [figure 5B].
Regarding claim 3, Wu et al. discloses when one of the secondary-side traces generates the second direction magnetic flux from the magnetic flux origin to the first predetermined offset or the second predetermined offset, the first direction magnetic flux is generated by the operation of the primary-side trace adjacent to the secondary-side trace to adjust the magnetomotive force to the magnetic flux origin [figure 5B].
Regarding claim 4, Wu et al. discloses the number of times the magnetomotive force reaches the first predetermined offset is equal to the number of times the magnetomotive force reaches the second predetermined offset [figure 5B].
Regarding claim 5, Wu et al. discloses the number of first waveforms formed by the magnetomotive force between the magnetic flux origin and the first predetermined offset is equal to the number of second waveforms formed by the magnetomotive force between the magnetic flux origin and the second predetermined offset [figures 1-5B].
Regarding claim 1, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, Zhu et al. discloses a planar transformer [figure 5] arranged on a circuit board of a resonant converter [figure 1], the resonant converter comprising a primary-side circuit and a secondary-side circuit, the planar transformer comprising:
a plurality of primary-side traces respectively formed on a plurality of primary-side layers on the circuit board; the primary-side traces serve as a primary-side coil coupled to the primary-side circuit, so that when the primary-side circuit operates, the primary-side traces respectively generate a first direction magnetic flux [figure 5, 2 layers for primary-side coil]
a plurality of secondary-side traces respectively formed on a plurality of secondary-side layers on the circuit board; the secondary-side traces serve as a secondary-side coil coupled to the secondary-side circuit, so that when the secondary-side circuit operates, the secondary-side traces respectively generate a second direction magnetic flux [figure 5, a secondary side coil with 2 layers], and
an iron core comprising a first core pillar and a second core pillar [figure 5] the first core pillar and the second core pillar respectively penetrating a first through hole and a second through hole of the circuit board, and the primary-side traces and the secondary-side traces surrounding the first core pillar and the second core pillar [figure 5], wherein the primary-side traces and the secondary-side traces are configured in a specific stacked structure [figure 5] to maintain the first direction magnetic flux and the second direction magnetic flux within a specific range formed by a magnetic flux origin and a first predetermined offset and a second predetermined offset, so that a magnetomotive force of the planar transformer remains balanced [figure 5c, page 3, left column].
Regarding claim 2, Zhu et al. discloses when one of the primary-side traces generates the first direction magnetic flux from the magnetic flux origin to the first predetermined offset or the second predetermined offset, the second direction magnetic flux is generated by the operation of the secondary-side trace adjacent to the primary-side trace to adjust the magnetomotive force to the magnetic flux origin [figure 6].
Regarding claim 3, Zhu et al. discloses when one of the secondary-side traces generates the second direction magnetic flux from the magnetic flux origin to the first predetermined offset or the second predetermined offset, the first direction magnetic flux is generated by the operation of the primary-side trace adjacent to the secondary-side trace to adjust the magnetomotive force to the magnetic flux origin [figure 6].
Regarding claim 4, Zhu et al. discloses the number of times the magnetomotive force reaches the first predetermined offset is equal to the number of times the magnetomotive force reaches the second predetermined offset [figure 5c].
Regarding claim 5, Zhu et al. discloses the number of first waveforms formed by the magnetomotive force between the magnetic flux origin and the first predetermined offset is equal to the number of second waveforms formed by the magnetomotive force between the magnetic flux origin and the second predetermined offset [figure 5].
Regarding claim 1, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, Yan et al. discloses a planar transformer [figures 5-6] arranged on a circuit board of a resonant converter [figure 2], the resonant converter comprising a primary-side circuit and a secondary-side circuit, the planar transformer comprising:
a plurality of primary-side traces respectively formed on a plurality of primary-side layers on the circuit board; the primary-side traces serve as a primary-side coil coupled to the primary-side circuit, so that when the primary-side circuit operates, the primary-side traces respectively generate a first direction magnetic flux [figure 6]
a plurality of secondary-side traces respectively formed on a plurality of secondary-side layers on the circuit board; the secondary-side traces serve as a secondary-side coil coupled to the secondary-side circuit, so that when the secondary-side circuit operates, the secondary-side traces respectively generate a second direction magnetic flux [figure 5], and
an iron core comprising a first core pillar and a second core pillar, the first core pillar and the second core pillar respectively penetrating a first through hole and a second through hole of the circuit board [figure 4], and the primary-side traces and the secondary-side traces surrounding the first core pillar and the second core pillar [figures 5-6], wherein the primary-side traces and the secondary-side traces are configured in a specific stacked structure [figures 5A-5B] to maintain the first direction magnetic flux and the second direction magnetic flux within a specific range formed by a magnetic flux origin and a first predetermined offset and a second predetermined offset, so that a magnetomotive force of the planar transformer remains balanced [figure 6].
Regarding claim 2, Yan et al. discloses when one of the primary-side traces generates the first direction magnetic flux from the magnetic flux origin to the first predetermined offset or the second predetermined offset, the second direction magnetic flux is generated by the operation of the secondary-side trace adjacent to the primary-side trace to adjust the magnetomotive force to the magnetic flux origin [figure 6].
Regarding claim 3, Yan et al. discloses when one of the secondary-side traces generates the second direction magnetic flux from the magnetic flux origin to the first predetermined offset or the second predetermined offset, the first direction magnetic flux is generated by the operation of the primary-side trace adjacent to the secondary-side trace to adjust the magnetomotive force to the magnetic flux origin [figure 6].
Regarding claim 4, Yan et al. discloses the number of times the magnetomotive force reaches the first predetermined offset is equal to the number of times the magnetomotive force reaches the second predetermined offset [figure 6].
Regarding claim 5, Yan et al. discloses the number of first waveforms formed by the magnetomotive force between the magnetic flux origin and the first predetermined offset is equal to the number of second waveforms formed by the magnetomotive force between the magnetic flux origin and the second predetermined offset [figure 6].
Regarding claim 6, both Zhu et al. [figure 1] and Yan et al. [figure 2] discloses a secondary with a center-tapped coil, when energized, the coils will form a first and second magnetomotive force curve. The coil structure and the magnetomotive force curve would exhibit the functional, as claimed.
Regarding claims 7-8, both Zhu et al. and Yan et al. discloses when one first half second coil is energized [in the positive current cycle], the second other half is not energized and thus does not generate a MMF. On the contrary, during the negative current cycle, the first half is not energized and the second half generates a MMF. This is explicit to be seen of figure 5a of Zhu et al. Both Zhu et al. and Yan et al. discloses LLC converter that would exhibit the functional, as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. or Yan et al. in view of Ahmed et al. [US 2020/0395164 A1].
Regarding claims 9-10, Zhu et al. or Yan et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific arrangement of the stacked structure.
Ahmed et al. discloses an LLC resonant converter with center-tapped second coils with both primary and secondary coils formed/arranged on 12 layers [figures 1-18E] in a symmetric manner so that MMF is balanced, wherein the coils arranged in sequentially.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the coils sequentially arrangement of Ahmed et al. in Zhu et al. or Yan et al. for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing/connecting and/or assembling.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/507,694 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both claiming the same subject matter of a planar transformer having a primary-side trace and a secondary-side trace.
The specific width of the traces would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating different desired inductances.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837