Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “heat exchangers comprises only the first plurality of spray ports or only the second plurality of spray ports.” However, base claim 9 only recites “a spray port of one or more of the first plurality of spray ports and the second plurality of spray ports.” If a heat exchanger contains only the first plurality of spray ports, it physically cannot satisfy the structural requirement of parent claim 9, lacking the dual-sided spray port requirement. This creates an irreconcilable structural contradiction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AZZOUZ et al. (WO 2021123554 A1, a machine translation is provided).
Regarding claim 1, AZZOUZ discloses:
a battery comprising a housing (27), a plurality of battery cells (3, 31) arranged within the housing and a plurality of heat exchangers (branching elements of circuit 43) positioned between the cells in which each heat exchanger comprises a plurality of spray ports (45) as seen in FIG. 6 (see annotated Figure below).
Regarding claim 2 which depends upon claim 1, AZZOUZ discloses:
the plurality of spray ports is a first plurality of spray ports arranged on a first side of the plurality of heat exchangers (FIG. 6), further comprising a second of plurality of spray ports arrange on a second side of the plurality of heat exchangers, the second opposite the first side (spray ports 45) (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 3 which depends upon claim 1, AZZOUZ discloses:
the battery, comprising an inlet manifold comprising a conduit fluidly coupled to a plurality of passages.
An inlet manifold (57) is mounted to the battery case, which comprises a main supply line that branches into smaller internal delivery passages. These sub-passages pierce the housing wall to establish an isolated fluid connection with each internal cooling core (FIG. 6., page 8; paragraph [2], page 11; paragraphs [4 and 5]).
Regarding claim 4 which depends upon claim 3, AZZOUZ discloses:
each of the plurality of the passages is fluidly coupled to one of the plurality of heat exchangers.
Each individual branch line or routing channel from the main distribution pipe (47)
splits off to directly feed the internal core volume of a corresponding cooling plate (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 5, which depends upon claim 3, AZZOUZ discloses:
an outlet conduit arranged in a wall of the housing different than a wall to which the inlet manifold is coupled.
An architecture where the intake manifold assembly (57) is attached to one front of the housing, while the primary fluid outlet (51) is arranged in a different wall of the housing (paragraph [0067]) to maximize structural separation and ensure cross flow fluid dynamics.
Regarding claim 8, AZZOUZ discloses:
a battery comprising a housing (27) (FIG. 2), a plurality of battery cells arranged within the housing (3, 31) (FIG. 1-2 and 6)
and a thermal management system comprising a plurality of heat exchangers arranged between the plurality of battery cells, wherein one or more of the plurality of heat exchangers comprises a first plurality of spray ports on a first side and a second plurality of spray ports on a second side opposite the first side.
A complete thermal control circuit (43) where fluid-ejecting plates with opposing,
dual-sided nozzle patterns (45) are packed between rows of cells (3,31) provide balanced cooling across the assembly (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 12, which depends upon claim 8, AZZOUZ discloses:
the plurality of heat exchangers is parallel to the plurality of battery cells.
Cooling plates oriented in a parallel, alternating stack directly alongside the flat faces of the battery cells. (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 13 which depends upon claim 8, AZZOUZ discloses:
the first plurality of spray ports and the second plurality of spray ports are positioned vertically above the plurality of battery cells.
The fluid headers of the cooling plates extend upward past the top edge of the cell
stack, positioning the spray holes vertically higher than the cells so that the coolant is discharged downward to coat the components via gravity (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 14, which depends upon claim 8, AZZOUZ discloses:
the thermal management system is an immersion thermal management system.
The module is flooded, liquid-submerged battery pack, classifying the entire setup a dielectric liquid immersion thermal management system (paragraphs [0010] – [0012], FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 15, which depends upon claim 8, AZZOUZ discloses:
an inlet manifold configured to flow fluid into an interior volume of the housing and a conduit is configured to flow fluid out of the interior volume.
An inlet manifold (57) that floods fluid into the internal volume (200) and an evacuation pipe (51) that continuously draw fluid out of the housing (27) (paragraphs [0067], [0095]-[0096], FIG. 2 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KENNEY et al. (US 20220255163 A1) in view of PERRIN et al. (US 20230017975 A1).
Regarding claim 16, KENNEY teaches a battery system with cells and heat exchangers but relies on fluid conduction plates, while also omitting the explicit mounting layout of bus bars. However, PERRIN teaches an open spray-port array built into fluid lines [paragraph [0023], FIG. 5) to wet heat generated surfaces. PERRIN also teaches a retention unit (79) to connect the cells to an interior housing wall (paragraph [0101]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to integrate the open spray ports of PERRIN into the heat exchanger structures of KENNEY to provide rapid surface wetting and evaporate cooling. Also, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate PERRIN’s retention unit for mechanical stability and vibration management, anchoring electrical bus bars directly to a housing wall to protect cells terminals from mechanical stress, yielding a vibration-resistant electrical assembly.
Regarding dependent claim 17, which depends upon claim 16, KENNEY further discloses:
each of the plurality of battery cells is in face-sharing contact along at least a face of a battery cell with a heat exchanger of the plurality of heat exchangers.
KENNEY describes that when the battery is assembled, the cells are pressed flat against the outer skins of the heat exchangers, ensuring a tight, face-sharing contact to allow conductive cooling (paragraph [0089], FIG. 20-22).
Regarding dependent claim 20, which depends upon claim 16, KENNEY further discloses:
the battery system, wherein two or more of the plurality of heat exchangers are sandwiched by of the plurality of battery cells.
Showing a multiplate cooling layout. Rather than using a single cooling plate between cell groups, the internal architecture features pairs of independent, discrete cooling plates placed back-to-back, forming a dual plate sandwich positioned between a single pair of adjacent battery cells (paragraph [0005], FIG. 20 and 21).
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KENNEY et al. (US 20220255163 A1) in view of AZZOUZ et al. (WO 2021123554 A1, a machine translation is provided).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, KENNEY teaches a battery pack comprising a housing, a plurality of battery cells arranged within the housing and a plurality of heat exchangers positioned between the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 23, ¶ 0092-0093). KENNEY teaches that the heat exchangers include fluid passages to circulate a heat transfer medium, but does not explicitly teach the use of spray ports. Instead KENNEY utilizes conduction cooling in which each heat exchanger can cool the cells on either side.
In a similar field of endeavor regarding cooling means for a battery housing, AZZOUZ discloses a battery comprising a housing (27), a plurality of battery cells (3, 31) arranged within the housing and a plurality of heat exchangers (branching elements of circuit 43) positioned between the cells in which each heat exchanger comprises a plurality of spray ports (45) as seen in FIG. 6 (see annotated Figure below). Rather than conduction, AZZOUZ demonstrates that it is known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilizes direct spraying of the cooling medium onto the battery cells in the alternative.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize spray ports to distribute the cooling medium onto the surfaces of the cells in KENNEY as an alternative cooling arrangement as both KENNEY and AZZOUZ relate to arrangements for cooling of battery packs utilizing a circulated cooling medium presenting a reasonable expectation of success, and doing so presents a simple substitution of one known prior art cooling arrangement for another yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, AZZOUZ teaches the plurality of spray ports is a first plurality of spray ports arranged on a first side of the plurality of heat exchangers (FIG. 6), further comprising a second of plurality of spray ports arrange on a second side of the plurality of heat exchangers, the second opposite the first side (spray ports 45) (FIG. 6). This is in line with the desired in KENNEY to have each heat exchange element act upon opposing battery cell units.
Regarding claim 3, both AZZOUZ (Fig. 6) and KENNEY (Fig. 23) teach an inlet manifold comprising a conduit fluidly coupled to a plurality of passages.
Regarding claim 4, AZZOUZ (Fig. 6) and KENNEY (Fig. 23) show each of the fluid passages are fluidly coupled to one of the plurality of heat exchangers.
Regarding claim 5, both AZZOUZ (Fig. 6) and KENNEY (Fig. 23) teach an outlet different than the inlet.
Regarding claim 7, which depends upon claim 1, KENNEY teaches the plurality of heat exchangers supports the plurality of battery cells in the housing (FIG. 20-21 and 23) but does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of heat exchangers comprises a plurality of spray ports. However, AZZOUZ as discussed above discloses a thermal management system utilizing heat exchangers (43) that comprise a plurality of spray ports to distribute fluid (45, FIG. 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the supporting heat exchangers of KENNEY by incorporating the spray ports of AZZOUZ to optimize localized thermal management and improve heat dissipation efficiency within the battery housing. Utilizing AZZOUZ’s spray ports would allow for targeted coolant delivery directly to high-temperature regions of the battery cells, thereby mitigating thermal runway risks.
Regarding claim 9, which depends upon claim 8, KENNEY teaches internal plate passages shaped by internal ribs (FIG. 3-5) but does not explicitly show the passages lead to spray ports. AZZOUZ teaches using internal structural track passages extending from an inlet zone that flow directly into the respective spray holes (FIG. 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to be motivated to integrate the internal ribs and defined passages of the plates of KENNEY with the spray ports of AZZOUZ. The rationale is structural integrity and fluid control. The internal ribs act as mechanical internal pillars that prevent flat plates from swelling under pressure, while simultaneously ensuring fluid is directed evenly to all spray ports.
Regarding claim 10, which depends upon claim 9, KENNEY teaches a height of the plurality of heat exchanger passages (ribs) is non-uniform. The internal fluid tracks have a changing cross-sectional depth (FIG. 5). KENNEY fails to explicitly teach a heat exchanger inlet region fluidly coupled to a spray port. However, AZZOUZ teaches heat exchangers fluidly coupled to spray ports (FIG. 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the heat exchanger of KENNEY by including the inlet region and fluidly coupled spray port configuration taught by AZZOUZ. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification to optimize fluid distribution and improve cooling efficiency within the passages of variable height.
Regarding claim 11, which depends upon claim 9, KENNEY discloses a battery system comprising a plurality of heat exchangers equipped with internal fluid passages that terminate in fluid discharge apertures optimized for mitigating thermal runway (FIG. 7). KENNEY lacks the precise structural restriction wherein individual heat exchangers exclusively feature either the first for second plurality of spray ports. However, AZZOUZ teaches an advanced thermal management architecture within a battery enclosure that leverages arrays of spray ports to execute localized, targeted spray cooling (FIG. 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the fluid emission of KENNEY by integrating the spray port distribution configuration taught by AZZOUZ. Isolating a single heat exchanger to utilize sole the first or second plurality of spray ports represent a predictable fluidic division. Implementing this configuration to stream-line fluid dynamic tailor flow rate.
Regarding claim 12, KENNEY and AZZOUZ teach the heat exchangers parallel to the battery cells as applied to claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 13, KENNEY teaches that the heat exchanger extends above the size of the cell, and as shown in AZZOUZ the spray device can extend above the height of the cell. While specific nozzles are not shown to be positioned vertically above the cell it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have provided nozzles above the cell through mere duplication of spray ports to increase coverage of the heat exchange fluid within the pack.
Regarding claim 14, AZZOUZ demonstrates that it was known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate immersion in the bottom of the pack along with the outlet for fluid (Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize the immersion component along with the spraying as such is a known cooling means in the art as discussed in AZZOUZ presenting use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way.
Regarding claim 15, AZZOUZ and KENNEY teach an inlet manifold configured to flow fluid into an interior volume of the housing and a conduit configured to flow fluid out of the housing as applied to claim 8 above.
Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KENNEY et al. (US 20220255163 A1) in view of AZZOUZ et al. (WO 2021123554 A1, a machine translation is provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of PERRIN et al. (US 20230017975 A1).
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 1, KENNEY teaches a battery pack comprising a housing, multiple battery cells, and heat exchanging plates arranged between the cells. KENNEY further teaches that these heat exchangers feature fluid passages that lead to fluid openings (36) to distribute coolant over the battery cells to mitigate thermal runaway. KENNEY does not explicitly teach spray ports that directly target the cells, lead lines, or bus bars. However, PERRIN teaches a liquid-cooled battery pack utilizing localized spray nozzles specifically aimed at electrical high-current distribution elements including bus bars (retention unit, 79) and the battery cells (paragraph [0079]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the heat exchangers of KENNEY to integrate spray ports of PERRIN to directly spray coolant fluid to the electrical components within the battery pack. The motivation to combine these elements would be to achieve the predictable result of simultaneously mitigating cell-level thermal runaway and protecting critical electrical pathways from high-current thermal degradation.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KENNEY et al. (US 20220255163 A1) in view of AZZOUZ et al. (WO 2021123554 A1, a machine translation is provided) and PERRIN et al. (US 20230017975 A1).
Regarding claim 16, KENNEY teaches a battery pack comprising a housing, a plurality of battery cells arranged within the housing and a plurality of heat exchangers positioned between the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 23, ¶ 0092-0093). KENNEY teaches that the heat exchangers include fluid passages to circulate a heat transfer medium, but does not explicitly teach the use of spray ports. Instead KENNEY utilizes conduction cooling in which each heat exchanger can cool the cells on either side.
In a similar field of endeavor regarding cooling means for a battery housing, AZZOUZ discloses a battery comprising a housing (27), a plurality of battery cells (3, 31) arranged within the housing and a plurality of heat exchangers (branching elements of circuit 43) positioned between the cells in which each heat exchanger comprises a plurality of spray ports (45) as seen in FIG. 6 (see annotated Figure below). Rather than conduction, AZZOUZ demonstrates that it is known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilizes direct spraying of the cooling medium onto the battery cells in the alternative.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize spray ports to distribute the cooling medium onto the surfaces of the cells in KENNEY as an alternative cooling arrangement as both KENNEY and AZZOUZ relate to arrangements for cooling of battery packs utilizing a circulated cooling medium presenting a reasonable expectation of success, and doing so presents a simple substitution of one known prior art cooling arrangement for another yielding predictable results.
KENNEY teaches a battery system with cells and heat exchangers but relies on fluid conduction plates, while also omitting the explicit mounting layout of bus bars. However, PERRIN teaches an open spray-port array built into fluid lines [paragraph [0023], FIG. 5) to wet heat generated surfaces. PERRIN also teaches a retention unit (79) to connect the cells to an interior housing wall (paragraph [0101]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to integrate the open spray ports of PERRIN into the heat exchanger structures of KENNEY to provide rapid surface wetting and evaporate cooling. Also, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate PERRIN’s retention unit for mechanical stability and vibration management, anchoring electrical bus bars directly to a housing wall to protect cells terminals from mechanical stress, yielding a vibration-resistant electrical assembly.
Regarding dependent claim 17, which depends upon claim 16, KENNEY further discloses:
each of the plurality of battery cells is in face-sharing contact along at least a face of a battery cell with a heat exchanger of the plurality of heat exchangers.
KENNEY describes that when the battery is assembled, the cells are pressed flat against the outer skins of the heat exchangers, ensuring a tight, face-sharing contact to allow conductive cooling (paragraph [0089], FIG. 20-22).
Regarding claim 18, which depends upon claim 16, KENNEY discloses a battery system enclosing an array of battery cells and interleaved heat exchangers (paragraphs [0053] and [0054]). KENNEY does not explicitly define a structural form factor wherein the vertical profile or each heat exchanger surpasses the perimeter walls of the housing, nor does it position spray ports overhead. However, AZZOUZ establishes the geometric efficacy of positioning spray nozzles in a superior orientation relative to the cells terminals to facilitate top-down fluid delivery (FIG.6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to re-engineer the aspect of ratio of KENNY’s heat exchangers to project vertically beyond the housing margins, thereby establishing an elevated point to locate spray ports directly above the battery cells. This structural modification exploits gravitational forces to ensure uniform flowing fluid down the longitudinal axes of the cells, maximizing the heat transfer coefficient. Further, as shown in AZZOUZ the housing can comprise two portions coupled together in a lid structure and a sidewall/bottom structure. The relative dimensions of how much of the sidewall is on the lid component compared to the bottom component presents a case of prima facie obviousness barring a showing of unexpected results as mere changes in shape/dimension present a case of prima facie obviousness as discussed in MPEP 2144.04.IV.B. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to adjust the shape of the container to allow ease of assembly or maintenance within the tank portion with lower sidewalls such as seen in Figure 7 of PERRIN.
Regarding claim 19, which depends upon claim 16, KENNEY discloses heat exchangers embedding fluid passages (ribs, FIG. 5) for thermal dissipation (paragraph [0008], FIG. 3-5). KENNEY does not detail a fluid distribution network comprising an inlet manifold, delivery conduit, distinct multi-passage branching’s fluidly coupled to an inlet that terminate directly at spray ports. Though, AZZOUZ teaches a thermal management system utilizing an assembly that incorporates fluidic inlet headers (57), manifold routing networks, and parallel fluid distribution channels (47) to meter fluid uniformly through spray ports (FIG. 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to join the manifold distribution infrastructure and internal routing architecture directly into spray ports of AZZOUZ into the heat exchanger matrix of KENNEY. The rationale is fluid pressure management. Linking a structural distribution network to distinct internal channels ensures fluid does not pool inside the heat exchanger, and driven directly to spray ports under high velocity.
Regarding dependent claim 20, which depends upon claim 16, KENNEY further discloses:
the battery system, wherein two or more of the plurality of heat exchangers are sandwiched by of the plurality of battery cells.
Showing a multiplate cooling layout. Rather than using a single cooling plate between cell groups, the internal architecture features pairs of independent, discrete cooling plates placed back-to-back, forming a dual plate sandwich positioned between a single pair of adjacent battery cells (paragraph [0005], FIG. 20 and 21).
Claims 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AZZOUZ et al. (WO 2021123554 A1, a machine translation is provided) in view of PERRIN et al. (US 20230017975 A1).
Regarding claim 16, AZZOUZ discloses:
a battery comprising a housing (27), a plurality of battery cells (3, 31) arranged within the housing and a plurality of heat exchangers (branching elements of circuit 43) positioned between the cells in which each heat exchanger comprises a plurality of spray ports (45) as seen in FIG. 6 (see annotated Figure below).
AZZOUZ does not teach the explicit mounting layout of bus bars. However, PERRIN teaches an open spray-port array built into fluid lines [paragraph [0023], FIG. 5) to wet heat generated surfaces. PERRIN also teaches a retention unit (79) to connect the cells to an interior housing wall (paragraph [0101]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to integrate the open spray ports of PERRIN into the heat exchanger structures of AZZOUZ to provide rapid surface wetting and evaporate cooling. Also, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate PERRIN’s retention unit for mechanical stability and vibration management, anchoring electrical bus bars directly to a housing wall to protect cells terminals from mechanical stress, yielding a vibration-resistant electrical assembly.
Regarding claim 19, AZZOUZ teaches a thermal management system utilizing an assembly that incorporates fluidic inlet headers (57), manifold routing networks, and parallel fluid distribution channels (47) to meter fluid uniformly through spray ports (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 20, AZZOUZ teaches as shown in FIG. 6 two or more of the plurality of heat exchangers are sandwiched by two of the plurality of battery cells.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. MORT et al. (US 5943211 A), WITZENHAUSEN et al. (DE 102022000247 A1, machine translation provided), and DHUCHAKALLAYA et al. (“Enhancing the cooling efficiency of the air cooling system for electric vehicle battery modules through liquid spray integration”, article provided) have been carefully considered but are not applied against the currently claims. These references are cited further illustrate the general state of the art regarding battery thermal management systems. Specifically, MORT, WITZENHAUSEN, and DHUCHAKALLAYA each teach thermal management configurations utilizing fluid delivery networks where spray ports are positioned directly between individual battery cells to provide targeted, localized cooling to high-heat zones within a housing.
/KENDRA DAWN CORONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743