DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10 and 15-20) in the reply filed on 04/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Examiner notes that new claims 21-24 are substantially identical in scope to now-cancelled claimed 11-14, and as such, for the purposes of restriction, will be treated in the same manner as claims 11-14.
Newly submitted claims 21-24 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Inventions I and II are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product, such as making a kitchen utensil.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 21-24 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Amendment and Status of Claims
Applicant’s response and amendment filed 04/06/2026 has been entered.
Pending: claims 1-10 and 15-24
New: claims 21-24
Cancelled: claims 11-14
Withdrawn: claims 21-24
Under examination: claims 1-10 and 15-20
Rejected: claims 1-10 and 15-20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanki et al. (US 20250236939 A1; available as prior art under 102(a)(2)).
Regarding claim 1, Kanki teaches a stainless steel material which has the following composition which overlaps with the claimed ranges:
Element
Instant claim 1(wt. %)
Kanki(wt. %)
Location in reference
Fe
Balance
Balance
[0013]-[0036]
Ni
3.5-4.5
2.00-7.50
[0013]-[0036]
Cr
12-13.5
10.00-14.00
[0013]-[0036]
Mn
0.5-1.5
0-1.50
[0013]-[0036]
Mo
0-0.7
0.01-4.50
[0013]-[0036]
Cu
0-0.5
0-3.50
[0013]-[0036]
Ti
0.005-0.05
0-0.300
[0013]-[0036]
Co
0.04-0.2
0.010-0.500
[0013]-[0036]
V
0.03-0.2
0.01-1.00
[0013]-[0036]
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Regarding claims 2-9, Kanki teaches overlapping ranges [0013]-[0036]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Claims 10 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayyouk et al. (WO 2022125792A1) in view of Kanki et al. (US 20250236939 A1; available as prior art under 102(a)(2)).
Regarding claim 10, Bayyouk teaches steel pump components such as a fluid end assembly of a hydraulic fracturing pump (page 1, lines 5-10).
Bayyouk further teaches that despite being expensive, stainless steel is an advantageous material for hydraulic pump components such as a fluid end assembly of a hydraulic pump (page 2, lines 1-9). As such, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use stainless steel as a pump material, because stainless steel has a longer lifespan compared to other materials/steels.
However, Bayyouk is silent regarding the composition of the stainless steel.
Kanki teaches a stainless steel material which has the following composition which overlaps with the claimed ranges:
Element
Instant claim 10(wt. %)
Kanki(wt. %)
Location in reference
Fe
Balance
Balance
[0013]-[0036]
Ni
3.5-4.5
2.00-7.50
[0013]-[0036]
Cr
12-13.5
10.00-14.00
[0013]-[0036]
Mn
0.5-1.5
0-1.50
[0013]-[0036]
Mo
0-0.7
0.01-4.50
[0013]-[0036]
Cu
0-0.5
0-3.50
[0013]-[0036]
Ti
0.005-0.05
0-0.300
[0013]-[0036]
Co
0.04-0.2
0.010-0.500
[0013]-[0036]
V
0.03-0.2
0.01-1.00
[0013]-[0036]
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute material of Bayyouk with the stainless steel of Kanki, as doing so would result in an improved lifespan for a hydraulic pump/pump fluid end assembly with high strength and high corrosion resistance (Kanki, [0010]).
Regarding claim 15, Bayyouk teaches steel pump components such as a fluid end assembly of a hydraulic fracturing pump (page 1, lines 5-10).
Bayyouk further teaches that despite being expensive, stainless steel is an advantageous material for hydraulic pump components such as a fluid end assembly of a hydraulic pump (page 2, lines 1-9). As such, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use stainless steel as a pump material, because stainless steel has a longer lifespan compared to other materials/steels.
However, Bayyouk is silent regarding the composition of the stainless steel.
Kanki teaches a stainless steel material which has the following composition which overlaps with the claimed ranges:
Element
Instant claim 15(wt. %)
Kanki(wt. %)
Location in reference
Fe
-
Balance
[0013]-[0036]
Ni
3.5-4.5
2.00-7.50
[0013]-[0036]
Cr
12-13.5
10.00-14.00
[0013]-[0036]
Ti
0.005-0.05
0-0.300
[0013]-[0036]
Co
0.04-0.2
0.010-0.500
[0013]-[0036]
V
0.03-0.2
0.01-1.00
[0013]-[0036]
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute material of Bayyouk with the stainless steel of Kanki, as doing so would result in an improved lifespan for a hydraulic pump/pump fluid end assembly with high strength and high corrosion resistance (Kanki, [0010]).
Regarding claim 16, Bayyouk teaches that the component in some embodiments, the present disclosure relates to a hydraulic fracturing pump comprising a fluid end assembly, the fluid end assembly including a cylinder body configured to receive a respective plunger from a power end assembly; a suction 10 bore configured to house a valve body, a valve seat, and a spring; and a spring retainer.
Regarding claims 17-19, Bayyouk and Kanki teach the fluid end of claim 15 above, but Bayyouk is silent regarding the compositional ranges.
However, Kanki teaches overlapping ranges and/or close, but not overlapping ranges [0013]-[0036]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Regarding claim 20, Bayyouk teaches that J factor is less than about 300 (page 6, lines 20-25), which is within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.). The J-factor formula is based on the Mn, Si, and P and Sn contents, which all overlap. As such, in the alternative, the J-factor overlaps due to the overlapping Mn, Si, and P contents of Kanki.
Conclusion
/ADIL A. SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735