DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The reply filed on 6/24/2026 amended claims 1-10. Claims 1-19 are pending herein, however Claims 11-19 were withdrawn in response to a restriction requirement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments not rendered moot by the claim amendments have been addressed below.
On pages 7-10 of the response, regarding Claim 1, Applicant states: “With respect to claim 1, Applicants respectfully submit that Viereck fails to disclose or suggest "a front cross member disposed on a front side of the drive unit," as recited in claim 1. The Office Action maps the claimed front cross member 3 to a cross member Q2 of Viereck. However, as shown in Viereck, the cross member Q2 is disposed on a rear side of drive unit 101 rather than on a front side thereof. Claim 1 expressly requires a front cross member 3 that is disposed on the front side of the drive unit 1 and includes a mounting hole 5 into which a front end of the drive unit is inserted. Viereck does not disclose such an arrangement. Accordingly, the cross member Q2 cannot reasonably correspond to the claimed front cross member. Claim 1 further recites "a mounting bush mounted in the mounting hole and configured to support the front end of the drive unit." The Office Action appears to equate this limitation with a bearing 30 and a bearing seat 130 of Viereck. Applicants respectfully disagree. In Viereck, the bearing 30 is press-fitted into the bearing seat 130 and functions as a bearing assembly for supporting rotational components. By contrast, the claimed mounting bush 7 is mounted in the mounting hole 5 of the front cross member and supports the front end of the drive unit inserted through the mounting hole. Thus, the claimed mounting bush and the bearing 30/bearing seat 130 arrangement of Viereck differ both structurally and functionally. Because Viereck fails to disclose at least (i) a front cross member disposed on a front side of the drive unit and (ii) a mounting bush mounted in a mounting hole of the front cross member and configured to support the front end of the drive unit, Viereck does not disclose or suggest each and every element of claim 1. Accordingly, Viereck does not anticipate claim 1 and any claim that depends from claim 1.”
Regarding these contentions, the Examiner maintains that the Viereck reference as provided above provides for the disputed claim limitations based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims. Specifically, while the Viereck reference does not specifically recite that the cited components are a “front cross member” and “mounting bush” it is clear from the disclosure and cited figures that the cited components as annotated above and recited below are assembled in this manner (See, e.g., Viereck: Fig.1-7). One of ordinary skill in the art would not necessarily interpret the disputed limitations to be fixed from pivoting as the Applicant argues. Moreover, the element 130 is referred to as a mounting “bush”: “the bearing seats 110, 120, 130 can be of sleeve-shaped configuration, for example, as bearing bushes” (See, e.g., Viereck: Fig.1-7; Col.6, Ln.54-59) Applicants are reminded, that [t]he invention disclosed in [a] written description may be outstanding in its field, but the name of the game is the claim. In re Hiniker Co., 47 USPQ 1523, 1529 (Fed. Cir. 1998). Specifically, if Applicants believe that an invention has differences over the prior art, particularly regarding pivotable connections of the elements, Applicants must find a way to convey this argument in the claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See, e.g., In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, these arguments are not persuasive.
On pages 7-10 of the response, regarding Claim 10, Applicant states: “The Office Action appears to rely on elements 63, 33, and 34 of Mitsui as corresponding to the claimed mounting block and on bolts 64 and 65 as corresponding to the claimed mounting bolts. Applicants respectfully disagree. Claim 10 requires mounting bolts that pass through the mounting bush and couple a front end of the mounting block to the mounting bush. In Mitsui, however, the bolts 64 and 65 are not used to secure the identified mounting-block structure to a mounting bush in the claimed manner. Rather, the bolts 64 and 65 perform a different fastening function within a different structural arrangement. Mitsui does not disclose mounting bolts extending through a mounting bush and fastening a front end of a mounting block thereto, as expressly required by claim 10.”
In brief, regarding the Applicant's conclusory statements/arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Specifically, all of the references provide for the invention as claimed in Claim 10, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims. Furthermore, Applicant's arguments amount to a mere conclusory statements regarding the prior art and therefore it is unclear what specifically Applicant sees as the differences between the claims and the teachings of the prior art. Therefore, these arguments are not persuasive. Applicant’s contention fails to fairly evaluate the actual level of ordinary skill and knowledge possessed by those skilled in the art. Specifically, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have the ability to recognize that the fastening bolts of Mitsui reference could readily be modified such that they could be incorporated into the drive unit mounting structures of Viereck as provided below. In the recent KSR case, the Supreme Court made two relevant statements that are applicable. First, the Court stated that "[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.398, 421 (2007). Secondly, in regards to the same field as that present in the current invention, the Court further noted that those of ordinary skill in the art of vehicle design realized that "[t]he interaction of multiple components means that changing one component often requires the others to be modified as well." KSR, 550 U.S. at 424. Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art here would have the required ability and creativity to modify one vehicle drive unit mounting system such that it was capable of being used on another similar vehicle drive unit mounting system. Therefore, these arguments are not persuasive
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention A (Claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner has not shown that maintaining the inventions in the application would be a burden or how searching would be burdensome (Applicant should take note that “Unity of Invention” and “Special Technical Feature” arguments presented are not relevant under US Restriction practice and instead pertain to PCT Restriction standards).
This is not found persuasive because Applicant has not provided evidence or identified such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants nor clearly admitted on the record that this is the case, the conclusion is made that Applicant considers the inventions to be patentably distinct. Thus, in addition to reading and understanding all of the various features of the inventions presented it would, indeed, be a serious burden upon the examiner to search for the added features and apply any found additional relevant prior art to each of the inventions presented. Furthermore, the examiner disagrees with Applicant's allegation that the search for each invention would be substantially the same. Clearly, in the examiner's view, the inventions carry substantially more features that could be claimed, and which therefore would require being individually searched and individually addressed in the written Office Action, thus prima facie a serious burden.
Consequently, Applicants arguments in traverse notwithstanding, the examiner maintains the restriction requirement to be proper and hereby makes the restriction final.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/15/2025.
Drawings
The previous objections to the drawings are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the objections that remain are detailed below.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “transverse direction” (Claim 1; See below 35 USC 112 rejection) and “a rear side” (Claim 3; See below 35 USC 112 rejection) and “wherein the alignment protrusion rests on an upper surface of the mounting bush to align the mounting block with the mounting bush” (Claim 9 – Figure 7 is the only figure providing for an alignment protrusion element 23 as indicated in the disclosure but the claimed subject matter is not shown) must all be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The previous objections to the claims are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the objections that remain are detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections to the claims are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the objections that remain are detailed below.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation: "a transverse direction”, which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. The previous removed limitation provided that the direction was relative to the vehicle. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation: "toward a rear side”, which is unclear as to what specific element’s rear side this limitation refers, and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Viereck et al. (US 11,673,607 B2).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Viereck discloses: A mounting structure for a drive unit (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 101+G+M), comprising:
a front cross member (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, Q2) disposed on a front side of the drive unit (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 101+G+M) and elongated in a transverse direction (See, e.g., Fig.1-7);
a mounting hole (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 30+130) formed in the front cross member such that a front end of the drive unit is configured to insert into the mounting hole (See, e.g., Fig.1-7); and
a mounting bush (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 30+130) mounted in the mounting hole and configured to support the front end of the drive unit (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 2, Viereck discloses: wherein both ends of the front cross member are fixed to side members (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, L1+L2) respectively coupled to opposite ends of the front cross member and extending in a longitudinal (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 3] Regarding Claim 3, Viereck discloses: wherein the drive unit has a mounting block (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 101+G+M+30+31) configured to form the front end of the drive unit (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, tapered from 30+31 back from G through M), and the mounting block has a cross-sectional size that increases from the front end of the drive unit toward a rear side (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 4] Regarding Claim 4, Viereck discloses: wherein a rear portion of the mounting block has a cross-sectional size greater than a size of the mounting hole (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, tapered from 30+31 back from G through M at rear side).
[Claim 9] Regarding Claim 9, Viereck discloses: wherein the mounting block comprises an alignment protrusion (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 101+G+30+31) protruding forward from the front end, and wherein the alignment protrusion rests on an upper surface of the mounting bush to align the mounting block with the mounting bush (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viereck and further in view of Mitsui et al. (US 7,393,016 B2).
[Claim 10] Regarding Claim 10, Viereck fails to explicitly teach: wherein the front end of the mounting block of the drive unit is coupled to the mounting bush by a fastening bolt fastened through the mounting bush mounted on the front cross member.
However, Mitsui teaches a similar vehicle drive unit mounting structure (See, e.g., Mitsui: Fig.1-12) wherein a mounting block (See, e.g., Mitsui: Fig.1-12, 63+33+34+etc.) of the drive unit (See, e.g., Mitsui: Fig.1-12, 15) is coupled to a mounting bush (See, e.g., Mitsui: Fig.1-12, 63+33+34+etc.) by a fastening bolt (See, e.g., Mitsui: Fig.1-12, unlabeled+64+65+etc.).
Mitsui teaches that it is well known in the art of vehicles to provide the drive unit mounted via a fastening bolt. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by Viereck modified with a fastening bolt such as taught by Mitsui, for the purpose of conveniently maintaining the drive unit in a mounted configuration when in use, beneficially allowing a user to dismount the drive unit easily for service/replacement (e.g., by unfastening the bolt), and additionally presenting a neat and concise visual appearance when stored on the vehicle. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record when taken alone or in combination with another does not teach or fairly suggest at this time at least, among other limitations: wherein the front cross member comprises multiple local reduced-strength portions are provided adjacent to the mounting hole, as claimed in Claim 5 and similarly provided in Claim 7: wherein multiple mounting pipes are provided around the mounting hole of the front cross member and extend in a longitudinal direction through the front cross member (emphasis added to allowable limitations not suggested or taught by the prior art).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613