DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending herein.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention A (Claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner has not shown that maintaining the inventions in the application would be a burden or how searching would be burdensome (Applicant should take note that “Unity of Invention” and “Special Technical Feature” arguments presented are not relevant under US Restriction practice and instead pertain to PCT Restriction standards).
This is not found persuasive because Applicant has not provided evidence or identified such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants nor clearly admitted on the record that this is the case, the conclusion is made that Applicant considers the inventions to be patentably distinct. Thus, in addition to reading and understanding all of the various features of the inventions presented it would, indeed, be a serious burden upon the examiner to search for the added features and apply any found additional relevant prior art to each of the inventions presented. Furthermore, the examiner disagrees with Applicant's allegation that the search for each invention would be substantially the same. Clearly, in the examiner's view, the inventions carry substantially more features that could be claimed, and which therefore would require being individually searched and individually addressed in the written Office Action, thus prima facie a serious burden.
Consequently, Applicant s arguments in traverse notwithstanding, the examiner maintains the restriction requirement to be proper and hereby makes the restriction final.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/15/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2023, was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “vehicle” (Claim 1) and “are provided around the mounting hole of the front cross member to induce deformation” (Claim 5 - see below 35 USC 112b rejection) and “are configured as openings, at least a part of which is open toward” (Claim 6) and “wherein multiple mounting pipes are provided around the mounting hole of the front cross member and elongated in a forward/backward direction of the vehicle so as to mount the mounting bush… fixed to the front cross member by multiple mounting bolts fastened to the multiple mounting pipe” (Claim 7/8– see below 35 USC 112b rejection) and “wherein an alignment protrusion is integrally formed on the front end of the mounting block so as to protrude forwards such that, when the drive unit is moved downwards for alignment with the mounting bush, the alignment protrusion engages with an upper surface of the mounting bush” (Claim 9 – see below 35 USC 112b rejection) must be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 3/4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “the front end” (line 3 & 4) should be rewritten as “the front end of the drive unit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2, 7, and 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 2/7, the claim recites the limitation: "a forward/backward direction”, which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation: "configured to form the front end, and the mounting block is shaped to have a section expanded from the front end toward a rear side" (emphasis added), which is unclear, and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 4, the claim recites the limitation: "formed to have a section expanded from the front end toward the rear side" (emphasis added), which is unclear, and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 5, the claim recites the limitation: " wherein multiple local reduced-strength portions are provided around the mounting hole of the front cross member to induce deformation" (emphasis added), and claim 6: “are configured as openings, at least a part of which is open toward” (emphasis added) which are unclear, and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 7/8, the claim recites the limitation: "wherein multiple mounting pipes are provided around the mounting hole of the front cross member and elongated in a forward/backward direction of the vehicle so as to mount the mounting bush…fixed to the front cross member by multiple mounting bolts fastened to the multiple mounting pipe" (emphasis added), which is currently unclear from the claims in line with disclosure and figures how the mounting pipes and bolts mount the mounting bush, and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 9, the claim recites the limitation: "so as to protrude forwards such that, when the drive unit is moved downwards for alignment with the mounting bush " (emphasis added), which is unclear, and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Viereck et al. (US 11,673,607 B2).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Viereck discloses: A drive unit mounting structure of a vehicle (See, e.g., Fig.1-7), comprising:
a front cross member (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, Q2) disposed on a front side of a drive unit (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 101) and elongated in a transverse direction of the vehicle (See, e.g., Fig.1-7);
a mounting hole (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 30+130) formed in the front cross member such that a front end of the drive unit is configured to insert into the mounting hole (See, e.g., Fig.1-7); and
a mounting bush (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 30+130) mounted in the mounting hole and configured to support the front end of the drive unit (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 2, Viereck discloses: wherein both ends of the front cross member are fixed to side members (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, L1+L2) disposed on both sides of the vehicle and elongated in a forward/backward direction of the vehicle (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 3] Regarding Claim 3, Viereck discloses: wherein the drive unit has a mounting block (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 101+30+31) configured to form the front end (See, e.g., Fig.1-7), and the mounting block is shaped to have a section expanded from the front end toward a rear side (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 101+30+31).
[Claim 4] Regarding Claim 4, Viereck discloses: wherein the mounting block is formed to have a section expanded from the front end toward the rear side and having a size greater than a size of the mounting hole (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 101+30+31).
[Claim 9] Regarding Claim 9, Viereck discloses: wherein an alignment protrusion (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 101+30+31) is integrally formed on the front end of the mounting block so as to protrude forwards such that, when the drive unit is moved downwards for alignment with the mounting bush, the alignment protrusion engages with an upper surface of the mounting bush (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viereck and further in view of Mitsui et al. (US 7,393,016 B2).
[Claim 10] Regarding Claim 10, Viereck fails to explicitly teach: wherein the front end of the mounting block of the drive unit is coupled to the mounting bush by a fastening bolt fastened through the mounting bush mounted on the front cross member.
However, Mitsui teaches a similar vehicle drive unit mounting structure (See, e.g., Mitsui: Fig.1-12) wherein a mounting block (See, e.g., Mitsui: Fig.1-12, 63+33+34+etc.) of the drive unit (See, e.g., Mitsui: Fig.1-12, 15) is coupled to a mounting bush (See, e.g., Mitsui: Fig.1-12, 63+33+34+etc.) by a fastening bolt (See, e.g., Mitsui: Fig.1-12, unlabeled+64+65+etc.).
Mitsui teaches that it is well known in the art of vehicles to provide the drive unit mounted via a fastening bolt. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by Viereck modified with a fastening bolt such as taught by Mitsui, for the purpose of conveniently maintaining the drive unit in a mounted configuration when in use, beneficially allowing a user to dismount the drive unit easily for service/replacement (e.g., by unfastening the bolt), and additionally presenting a neat and concise visual appearance when stored on the vehicle. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record when taken alone or in combination with another does not teach or fairly suggest at this time at least, among other limitations: wherein multiple local reduced-strength portions are provided around the mounting hole of the front cross member to induce deformation, as claimed in Claim 5 and similarly provided in Claim 7: wherein multiple mounting pipes are provided around the mounting hole of the front cross member and elongated in a forward/backward direction of the vehicle so as to mount the mounting bush (emphasis added to allowable limitations not suggested or taught by the prior art).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613