Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/07/2026 with respect Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect of the prior art of Xiang, the Applicant argued that “As is clear from the image, the flow of material through the agitator mill does not pass through the free front surface of the basket (or first separation turbine 1, at the left- hand side of the image), because the slits (or first separation hole 111, where arrows A and AB lead) do not lead into that free front surface of the basket”.
In response to this argument, the Applicant used the fig.19 of the prior art of Xiang to support this argument, however fig.3 the prior art of clearly showing the elements (111); the prior art of Xiang discloses wherein the slits (111) lead into a free front surface of the basket, the free front surface faces away from the grinding chamber.
Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that “Xiang does not disclose "on an outlet side, the agitator shaft has a basket" but instead (as depicted in the above figure) features a basket (first separation turbine 1) opposite both the inlet (or feed pipe 260) and outlet (or material outlet channel 510) side of the agitator mill”.
In response to this argument, claim 1 is required “on an outlet side, the agitator shaft has a basket”; and
The prior art of Xiang discloses on an outlet side (see fig.10 below: the outlet side where the material exit throws the output channel (510)), the agitator shaft has a basket (fig.1: (1))
Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that “Xiang does not appear to disclose the claimed "expansion and/or shape of each of the slits is changed at least regionally", as each of the figures of Xiang (and the written description) fail to depict or describe a slit with varied geometry”.
In response to this argument, claim 1 is required “whereby expansion and/or shape of each of the slits is changed at least regionally”; and
Fig.4 of the prior art of Xiang showing the elements (111 “corresponding to slits”) having incline side which meet the limitation of “shape of each of the slits is changed at least regionally”
Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that “While the flow pattern of Canepa appears to be more similar to that of Applicant's claimed invention, the slits (or slot-like recesses 46) clearly do not "lead into a free front surface of the basket" but instead are literal slots (or slot- like recesses 42) cut into the body of the basket (or cavity 40) as shown in FIG. 2 - the element has a defined continuous perimeter which does not breach the end portion 38”.
In response to this argument, claim 1 is required “wherein the slits lead into a free front surface of the basket”; and
Fig.2 of the prior art of Canepa showing the elements (46 “corresponding to slits”) lead into a free front surface of the basket (the right front surface of the element (38))”
Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that “Ganepa also fails to disclose the claimed "expansion and/or shape of each of the slits is changed at least regionally", as the figures of Ganepa (and the specification) fail to depict or describe a slit with varied geometry”.
In response to this argument, claim 1 is required “whereby expansion and/or shape of each of the slits is changed at least regionally”; and
Fig.3 of the prior art of Ganepa showing the elements (46 “corresponding to slits”) having expansion and/or shape of each of the slits is changed at least regionally.
Accordingly, this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiang (CN113908934A attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Xiang discloses an agitator mill (paragraphs 0067-0115) comprising a grinding chamber (fig.10: (212)) including grinding bodies and an agitator shaft (fig.10: (500)), the agitator shaft revolves therein about a horizontal agitator shaft axis, the agitator shaft supports several grinding members (fig.10: (600)), the grinding members are connected to the agitator shaft in a rotationally fixed manner and, the grinding members are spaced apart from one another in a direction of the horizontal agitator shaft axis to form a shape of grinding disks (figs.10 and 15) to move the grinding bodies,
whereby, on an outlet side (see fig.10 above), the agitator shaft has a basket (figs.3 and 10: (1)), the basket is studded with grinding members (fig.10: (112)) on an outer circumference of the basket, and the outer circumference overlaps a split tube-supporting outlet (fig.10: (3)),
whereby a separation chamber (fig.10: the chamber between elements (1) and (3)) is formed between the inner surface of the basket and the split tube-supporting outlet (fig.10: (3)), wherein the basket has slits (fig.3: (111)) for returning the grinding bodies from the separation chamber into the grinding chamber,
wherein the slits lead into a free front surface of the basket, the free front surface faces away from the grinding chamber, whereby expansion and/or shape of each of the slits changed at least regionally (figs.3-4).
Regarding claim 2, Xiang discloses wherein the slits also pass through the wheel disk (fig.3: (12)), the wheel disk connects the basket to the agitator shaft, so that a respective slit of the slits is connected to the grinding chamber via the wheel disk.
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Xiang discloses wherein the basket having a stabilization ring (fig.1: the front ring of the element (1)) formed on a side or in a region of a free end of the basket, and wherein the slits tunnel under the stabilization ring
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Xiang discloses wherein each of the slits having a main axis extend parallel to the horizontal agitator shaft axis (fig.3).
Regarding claim 5, Xiang discloses wherein the flanks of the slits, which advance in the working direction of rotation, have an angle of attack of 0° to 45° with respect to the imaginary radial through their main axis (fig.4: the flanks of the element (111)).
Regarding claim 6, Xiang discloses a basket (figs.3 and 10: (1)) is studded with grinding members (fig.10: (112)) on an outer circumference of the basket, and the outer circumference overlaps a split tube-supporting outlet (fig.10: (3)), wherein the basket comprising: slits (fig.3: (111)) lead into a free front surface of the basket, the free front surface faces away from a grinding chamber (fig.10: the chamber between elements (1) and (2)), whereby expansion and/or shape of each of the slits changed at least regionally.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Canepa (US4620673A).
Regarding claim 1, Canepa discloses an agitator mill (abstract ) comprising a grinding chamber (fig.1: (18)) including grinding bodies and an agitator shaft (fig.1:(22)), the agitator shaft revolves therein about a horizontal agitator shaft axis, the agitator shaft supports several grinding members (fig.1: (24)), the grinding members are connected to the agitator shaft in a rotationally fixed manner, the grinding members are spaced apart from one another in a direction of the horizontal agitator shaft axis, to form a shape of grinding disks (fig.3) to move the grinding bodies,
whereby, on an outlet side, the agitator shaft has a basket (fig.2: (38)), the basket is studded with the grinding members (fig.2: 24)) on an outer circumference basket, and the outer circumference overlaps a split tube-supporting outlet (fig.2: (42)), whereby a separation chamber (fig.1: the chamber between elements (38) and (42)) is formed between the inner surface of the basket and the split tube-supporting outlet (fig.2: (42)),
wherein the basket has slits (fig.3: (46)) for returning the grinding bodies from the separation chamber into the grinding chamber, wherein the slits lead into a free front surface of the basket, the free front surface faces away from the grinding chamber, whereby expansion and/or shape of each of the slits changed at least regionally (figs.2-4).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725