DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claims 8(second occurrence), 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14 been renumbered 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15, consecutively. Renumbered claim 12 now depends on claim 11 and renumbered claim 14 now depends on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Re-numbered claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re-numbered claims 13-15 are indefinite because claim 1 lacks antecedent basis for a wearable device. It appears re-numbered claims 13-15 are intended to depend from re-numbered claim 11. For examination purposes, the examiner is interpreting re-numbered claims 13 and 15 to depend from re-numbered claim 11.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,819,334. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims contain the same essential elements and features of monitoring body position over time and issuing an alert when time thresholds are met as claimed in claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,819,334.
Re-numbered claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,849,549. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present re-numbered claim 11 with the alert, supine, and threshold features is an obvious broadening of claims 12 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,849,549.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,918,673. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because present claim 6 is an obvious broadening of a system having a body orientation sensor to record a time series and an alert system as claimed in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,918,673.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21 and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 9,585,614. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because present claim 1 is directed to an obvious broadening with the claimed features of body position over time and issuing an alert compared to features of abdomen orientations and warnings as claimed in claims 21 and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 9,585,614.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klap (US 2014/0005502).
Regarding claim 1, Klap discloses a method of preventing supine sleep in patients in need thereof, comprising:
providing a device 10 that monitors body position;
monitoring patient body position over time, see paragraph [0107]; and
Klap teaches system 10 includes a posture change identification algorithm that identifies whether a patient has changed his position on a bed. The objective is to identify whether the patient moved between 1 of the 4 positions: supine, on stomach, on left side, or on right side, since such a change every 2-4 hours to prevent pressure ulcer formation in high risk patients, see paragraph [0150].
A supine alert is issued when the monitored patient body position is supine for more than about five minutes, see paragraph [0152].
Regarding claim 2, Klap discloses issuing a lateral alert when the monitored body position is lateral for more than about two hours, see paragraphs [0150] and [0152].
Regarding claim 4, Klap discloses providing a monitoring station 120.
Regarding claim 5, Klap discloses the monitoring station comprises an alarm configured to issue a supine alert when the monitored patient body position is supine for more than about five minutes, see paragraph [0199].
Regarding claim 6, Klap discloses system for monitoring patients, comprising:
a device 10 comprising a body orientation sensor configured to record a time series of body position data comprising position and time, see paragraph [0107].
Klap teaches system 10 includes a posture change identification algorithm that identifies whether a patient has changed his position on a bed. The objective is to identify whether the patient moved between 1 of the 4 positions: supine, on stomach, on left side, or on right side, since such a change every 2-4 hours to prevent pressure ulcer formation in high risk patients, see paragraph [0150].
Klap teaches setting a defined time threshold for generating alerts, see paragraph [0199]. In addition, system 10 displays a counter of time since the last time a clinician turned the patient and hen the time reaches the above threshold, the system alerts the clinician to turn the patient.
b) an alert system, wherein the alert system is configured to generate alerts when the time series of body position data exceeds a defined time threshold, see paragraph [0152].
Regarding claim 7, Klap discloses the alert system is configured to issue supine alerts and lateral alerts, see paragraphs [0150] and [0152].
Regarding claim 9, Klap discloses the supine alerts are issued after about five minutes and the lateral alerts are issued after about one hour, see paragraphs [0150] and [0152]. The examiner is interpreting an alert after two hours to meet the claim limitations of an alert after five minutes and after about one hour.
Regarding claim 11, Klap discloses wearable device 30, see paragraph [0122] to promote certain body positions in patients comprising an alert system configured to issue an alert if a recorded body position is supine and a time series of data exceeds a supine threshold, see paragraphs [0150], [0152] and [0199].
Regarding claim 12, the examiner is interpreting the patients having a condition selected from the group consisting of COVID-19, ARDS, asthma and lung cancer to be intended use limitations which are met by the device 10 and system disclosed in Klap.
Regarding claim 13, Klap discloses the wearable device 30 in combination with the device 10 is configured to detect coughing, see paragraph [0134].
Regarding claim 14, Klap discloses the device is further configured to analyze detected coughing for respiratory pathology, see paragraphs [0313].
Regarding claim 15, Klap discloses the device is configured to generate alerts to promote body position in respiratory patients, see paragraphs [0313].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Klap (US 2014/0005502).
Klap teaches system 10 displays a counter of time since the last time a clinician turned the patient and when the time reaches predetermined threshold, the system alerts the clinician to turn the patient, see paragraph [0152].
Regarding claim 3, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to alert the clinician using an alert with different parameters so the clinician can have additional assistance in turning the patient for the supine alert and without the additional assistance for the lateral alert because these two transitions require differing amounts of effort to turn the patient.
Regarding claim 8, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to differ numbers of vibrational pulses for the supine alerts and lateral alerts because hospital settings have quiet areas and times where noise and light are not permitted and it is common and well known to use vibrational pulses to indicate alarms in these areas and times.
Regarding claim 10, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to promote certain body positions in a user comprising an alert system, wherein the device is configured to issue an alert if the user has not shifted positions within a certain threshold time unless the user is in a prone position because this position is well known to include medical treatments where the patient should not be moved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Klap( US-2011/0046498) and Halperin (US-2013/0267791) disclose related medical orientation and activity prevention systems.
The examiner can normally be reached on regular business days.
/George Manuel/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 3792
2/3/2026