DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, and 34-39 were amended and claims 3, 6, and 18-33 were canceled in the response filed 10/22/2026. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 34-39 are pending. It is noted that the text of the canceled claims should be canceled. See MPEP 714(I)(C): “A claim being canceled must be indicated as "canceled;" the text of the claim must not be presented. Providing an instruction to cancel is optional. Canceled and not entered claims must be listed by only the claim number and status identifier, without presenting the text of the claims. When applicant submits the text of canceled or not-entered claims in the amendment, the Office may accept such an amendment, if the amendment otherwise complies with 37 CFR 1.121, instead of sending out a notice of non-compliant amendment to reduce the processing time.”
Drawings/Specification
Amended Fig. 3 and newly introduced Figs 4 and 5 were filed on 10/22/2026. These amendments are persuasive to overcome the objection of record on p. 2-3 of the OA dated 5/6/2026; therefore, the objection is withdrawn. Newly introduced Figures 4-5 appear to be almost, but not fully, supported by the specification as filed. See p. 9-10 of the response filed 10/22/2026 and [0066-0079 and 00105-00121] of the specification as filed.
Therefore, the amendment filed 10/22/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: in Fig. 4: the “Spent Clay (450)” and “Chemical Additive (422)” and in Fig. 5 the “Water + Contaminants (548)”. Reference characters (450) and (548) are absent from the specification as filed and constitute new matter. Though reference character (422) is present in [0071] of the specification as filed, it is limited to a “Chelating Substance” and not any “Chemical Additive”. Therefore, the term “Chemical Additive” with respect to reference character (422) also constitutes new matter.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Figures 3-5 are additionally objected to for the reasons set forth below.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: in Fig. 3 (300) and in Fig. 4 (400).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: in Fig. 3 “Spent Clay (350)”.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because, in Fig. 3, reference characters "340" and "440" have both been used to describe the same vacuum system in the specification. See [0059-0060]. Fig. 3 only depicts the character (340). In Fig. 5, reference characters "546" and "246" have both been used to describe the same DI water line. See [0059-0060]. Fig. 3 only depicts the character (340).
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 34-39 are product-by-process claims. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). See MPEP 2113.
The specification as filed does not teach any specific examples, only general examples tied to the figures. However, paragraphs [0020-0023] of the specification teach that the lipid containing compounds (LCCs) comprise triglycerides and free fatty acid molecules, phosphorus containing phospholipid “gums”, including non-hydratable phosphatides (NHP) [0043-0047], and metals including phosphorus containing compounds, iron, magnesium, sodium, and calcium (either as compounds or elements). The specification also provides the following table of raw feedstock qualities in [0039]:
This table shows that vegetable oils and rendered fats (the LLC of the claims) comprise the same components, albeit in different amounts. The table shows that the rendered fats tend to have higher levels of free fatty acids (FFA). Independent claim 1 was amended in the response filed on 10/22/2026 to further require that the starting LCC is “an inedible rendered fat composed of more than 5% free fatty acid and over 50 parts per million phosphorus”. Claims 8-10 further require specific structural characteristics for the LCC starting material (a moisture plus insolubles plus unsaponifiables (MIU) above 1%, a melting temperature of above 30°C, and more than 100 ppm of phosphorus).
Independent claim 1 was further amended to indicate that the product comprises “a degummed lipid containing compound (LCC)… for fuel feedstock…that contains less than 10 ppm phosphorus, less than 20 ppm total metals, and where the total FFA content is between 80-100% of the FFA content in the LCC fed to the process”. Paragraph [0041] of the specification as filed indicate that the intended use of “fuel feedstock” means that the final product can have higher than 2% FFA content, but that is it not required. This indicates that degummed LCC products having less than 2% FFA content would also meet the requirements of the intended use. Also see MPEP 2111.02. Therefore, claim 1 now explicitly recites several objective structural characteristics that the claimed product must possess. Claims 3, 5, and 7, further limit the structural characteristics of the claimed product (FFA content of more than 2 or more than 4%, phosphorous content below 3 ppm, and total metal content below 10 ppm). However, there does not appear to be any specific structural requirements attributed to the relative degree of degumming (substantially or further substantially degummed LCC) as recited in claims 4 and 34-39. It is noted that the phosphorus, total metals and FFA concentrations recited for the degummed LCC product in claim 34 (depending from claim 1) are identical to those already recited in claim 1.
Therefore, based on the newly introduced structural limitations of claim 1 and the available evidence in the specification as filed, the claimed product is an at least partially degummed product derived from a rendered fat containing triglycerides and free fatty acids, especially those meeting the limitations regarding the FFA content, phosphorus content, and total metal content of the claimed products, regardless of how the product is prepared.
The process of the product-by-process describes a process for purifying (degumming) an LCC product, therefore the impurity levels and physical limitations of the starting LCC, such as those in claims 2 and 8-10 do not appear to impart any new structural features to the claimed product.
Claim Objections
The amendments filed on 10/22/2026 are persuasive to overcome the objections of record on p. 5 of the OA dated 5/6/2026. Therefore, the objections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)-New Matter
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 34-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In the response filed on 10/22/2026, the Applicant amended independent claim 1 to include the following newly introduced limitations:
That the LCC starting material in the process used in the product-by-process is limited to “an inedible rendered fat”; and
“wherein the total free fatty acid content is between 80-100% of the free fatty acid content in the LCC fed to the process”.
Neither of these limitations appear to be supported by or discussed in the disclosure as filed.
The Applicant addresses the amendments on p. 10-11 of the response but does provide specific citations to the originally filed disclosure to show where any of the newly introduced claim limitations of claim 1 (including the FFA, phosphorus, and metals concentrations) are supported. “When an amendment is filed in reply to an objection or rejection based on 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, a study of the entire application is often necessary to determine whether or not "new matter" is involved. Applicant should therefore specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.” See MPEP 2163.06(I). While the Examiner found support for the other claim amendments, none was found for the two above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The amendments filed on 10/22/2026 are persuasive to overcome the rejections of record on p. 5-6 of the OA dated 5/6/2026; therefore, the rejections are withdrawn. However, the amendments have also introduced new indefiniteness issues to the claims which are addressed below.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 34-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 was amended to introduce the new limitations:
that the LCC starting material in the process used in the product-by-process is limited to “an inedible rendered fat”; and
“wherein the total free fatty acid content is between 80-100% of the free fatty acid content in the LCC fed to the process”.
The scope of these limitations is not clear. The specification discusses feedstocks in [0039] and teaches edible rendered and unrendered fats. However, the word “inedible” does not appear. Nor is it clear to the skilled artisan which properties would be required to distinguish an “edible” rendered fat from an “inedible” rendered fat. All of the exemplary feedstocks in [0039] share the same components, though in differing yields.
The specification appears to be silent regarding “the total free fatty acid content is between 80-100% of the free fatty acid content in the LCC fed to the process”. It is not clear how this limitation limits the claimed degummed lipid LCC product. Does this mean that 80-100% of the “more than 5% free fatty acid” in the LCC staring material is recovered in the degummed LCC, such that it is defining the concentration of FFAs in the degummed product? Or does it mean that 80-100% of the unrecited total FFA content in the degummed product is obtained from the LCC starting material? The same issue occurs with respect to the last two lines in claim 34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
The Applicant canceled claims 18 and 26, therefore the rejection of record on p. 6-7 of the OA dated 5/6/2026 is withdrawn. However, the 10/22/2026 amendments introduced new issues into the claims which are addressed below.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 appears to fail to further limit claim 1. Claim 1 recites that the “rendered fat is inedible”. However, all of the options recited in claim 2 appear to be edible. Further, only the options “beef tallow” and “poultry fat” appear to be considered “rendered fat” according to [0039] of the specification. Nor does the claim recite that the rendered fat “further comprises” the components. Therefore, the claim appears to fail further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. The rejections of record are on p. 7-15 of the OA dated 5/6/2026.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 34-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Abhari (US2022/0033731A1, published on 2/3/2022, of record).
Abhari teaches the following degummed LLC mixtures in example 3 in [0109-0111]:
. The Raw FOG (fats, oils, and greases) is a commercially-sourced used cooking oil having a fatty acid (FFA) content of greater than 5 wt% and containing triglycerides [0089, 0105], NHPs [0027, 0094], a total metals content of 54.6 wppm (total of polyvalent and monovalent metals), and a phosphorus content of 22.8 wppm. The Raw FOG appears to meet the limitations of the claimed LCC starting material of claim 1. Abhari teaches that the raw FOG is treated with one of the chelating agents above (citric acid and/or a salt of EDTA) followed by separation of the aqueous gum containing phase via centrifuge and treatment with an adsorbent media according to examples 1 and 2 in [0105-0108] to provide the lipid containing products above (columns 3-6 of Table IV). The products all contain a FFA content of more than 5 wt%, a phosphorus content of 1 ppm, and a total metals content below 10 ppm, which appears to meet the limitations of the degummed LCC in claims 1, 5, 7, and 34.
Abhari also teaches that the pH of the FOG feeds and aqueous chelate feeds are preferably in the range of 4 to 6 and that the pH of any aqueous mixture can be adjusted (claims 13, 14, and 34-39). See [0032, 0091, and 0099]. Abhari is silent regarding the presence of emulsions, but teaches that the mixtures comprise sodium and chloride ions (NaCl-claims 15 and 16). Abhari further teaches that the method [0031-0061, 0089-0104] can be widely applied to reduce the phosphorus and metal contaminants in any feedstock acids [0062-0077] of fats, oils, and/or greases with 5 wt% or more of free fatty to produce lipid containing phases with reduced amounts of phosphorus and metals [0078-0088]. Also see claims. Abhari teaches that products possessing these properties are desirable as a fuel feedstock for the production of renewable diesel. See [0031]. Abhari also teaches that the process may comprise multiple degumming phases using different reagents, including acids and bases. See [0074-0076].
Regarding the rejection as applied under 35 USC 102(a)(1):
The inventive degummed lipid phase products of Abhari meet all of the explicitly recited structural limitations for the lipid containing phase and isolated degummed LCC claims 1, 5, 7, 14-16, and 34-39. Though the patentability of the product is based on the product itself, the process of Abhari also appears to explicitly teach the process and starting LCC limitations of claims 1-2, 4, 12-14, and 17. As discussed in the claim interpretation section above, the limitations regarding the composition of the starting LCC and the specific process steps, such as those in claims 1-2, 4, 8-13, and 34-39 do not appear to further limit the structure of the claimed product. Therefore, the products of Abhari appear to anticipate the claimed products. Also see MPEP 2113 and MPEP 2131.
Regarding the rejection as applied under 35 USC 103:
It would have been prima facie obvious to arrive at the instantly claimed products with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on the teachings of Abhari. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to arrive at the claimed products based on the teachings of Abhari because Abhari teaches products possessing all of the explicitly claimed structural requirements and teaches a method for their preparation which is analogous to that claimed for reducing phosphorus and metal levels in feedstocks possessing higher levels of FFA. Therefore, if the products produced from Abhari do not meet all of the limitations of the claimed products, then Abhari teaches how to modify the process in detail to further optimize the process for any feedstock to produce an intermediate suitable for biodiesel production. See [0031-0104], which teaches all of the parts of the process which can be optimized to produce products having the same structural limitations of those claimed which are derived from the same sources. Abhari teaches that the process can include other degumming steps, including acid and/or base degumming, which would predictably further lower the degree of gumming and concentration of phosphorus and metals in the product and involves pH changes (claims 13, 14, 29, 30, and 34-39). See [0074-0076]. Therefore, optimizing the known and predictable reaction of Abhari using the explicit teachings of Abhari to arrive at the claimed products, which are valuable as precursors to biodiesel, is prima facie obvious. Also see MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 34-39is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Pasini (WO2022/214993A1, published on 10/13/2022, of record).
Pasini teaches the following degummed LCC mixtures in example 4 on p. 41-44:
and in example 5 on p. 44-46:
.
The mixture of example 4 is derived from rendered animal fat and the mixture of example 5 is derived from purified husk oil. Also see p. 18, which defines both and p. 31-32 which defines terms in examples. Both comprise triglycerides and free fatty acids. See p. 17, lines 2-6 and p. 29, lines 2-9. The degummed lipid phase mixture of example 4 comprises about 54% FFA “FFA (TAN)”, 1.6 ppm phosphorus, and about 20 ppm total metal contaminants. The degummed lipid phase mixture of example 5 comprises about 18% FFA, 2.6 ppm of phosphorus, and 2.5 ppm of total metal contaminants.
Pasini teaches that the process for obtaining the degummed lipid phase mixtures includes mixing the crude bio-feedstock with water to form an aqueous emulsion which constitutes a liquid phase and subjecting the emulsion to heat treatment in a coil or tube and subjecting said effluent to at least one non-adsorbent physical separation to separate said bio-feedstock from said metal contaminants and phosphorus. Pasini teaches that the intent of the process is to obtain a bio-feedstock with low levels of metal and phosphorus contaminants for use in the production of biofuels. See abstract and claims.
The pH of the mixtures does not appear to be explicitly recited (claims 13, 14, and 34-39); however, the Pasini teaches that acids may be added to the aqueous streams/mixtures in the process which can further promote the removal of phospholipids and metals, which would also necessarily affect the pH. Pasini also teaches that the acids include ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA). See p. 20, line 17-p. 21, line 22. Pasini further teaches that a demulsifying additive may be added to the product (p. 25, lines 12-16) and that the product contains Na and Cl ions (NaCl, claims 15 and 16-see tables in examples). Pasini does not teach an adsorbent system/step, however, the product obtained in Pasini appears to meet all of the claimed structural limitations. Therefore, example 4 appears to explicitly teach all of the structural limitations of the product of claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-17, and 34-39 and example 5 appears to explicitly teach all of the structural limitations of the products of claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 34-39.
Regarding the rejection as applied under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2):
The inventive degummed lipid phase products of Pasini meet all of the explicitly recited structural limitations for the lipid containing phase in the claims for the reasons discussed above. Therefore, the products of Pasini appear to anticipate the claimed products. Also see MPEP 2113 and MPEP 2131.
Regarding the rejection as applied under 35 USC 103:
It would have been prima facie obvious to arrive at the instantly claimed products with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on the teachings of Pasini. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to arrive at the claimed products based on the teachings of Pasini because Pasini teaches products possessing all of the explicitly claimed structural requirements and teaches a method for their preparation which is analogous to that recite in the claims for reducing phosphorus and metal levels in feedstocks possessing higher levels of FFA. Therefore, if the products produced from Pasini do not meet all of the limitations of the claimed products, then Pasini teaches how to modify the process in detail to further optimize the process for any feedstock to obtain a bio-feedstock with low levels of metal and phosphorus contaminants for use in the production of biofuels. See p. 19-31, which teaches all of the parts of the process which can be optimized to produce products having the same structural limitations of those claimed which are derived from the same sources, including pH changes through acid addition. Pasini additionally teaches that the degumming step can be repeated if required to further predictably decrease the concentration of phosphorus and metals in the product. See p. 25, lines 7-11. Therefore, optimizing the known and predictable reaction of Pasini using the explicit teachings of Pasini to arrive at the claimed products, which are valuable as precursors to biofuel, is prima facie obvious. Also see MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments on p. 11-14 of the response filed on 10/22/2026
Applicant argues that the starting LCC and processes of producing the claimed degummed LCC products in Abhari and Pasini are different from those claimed, such that the teachings of Abhari and Pasini cannot anticipate or render obvious the claimed product.
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. As addressed in the rejection and in the claim interpretation section above, the instant claims are product-by-process claims. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). See MPEP 2113.
As discussed in the rejections, Abhari and Pasini explicitly teach all of the structural limitations of the claimed degummed LCC of claims 1, 5, 7, 14-16, and 34-39. The process steps and structural characteristics of the starting LCC do not appear to change the composition of the degummed LCC products of Abhari and Pasini. Therefore, the references do not have to use the claimed starting LCC or the same process to produce the degummed LCC for the degummed LCC prior art products to anticipate the claimed products. Since all structural limitations of the claimed degummed LCC product are explicitly met by the products of Abhari and Pasini, the references anticipate the claimed products. Also see MPEP 2131.
Double Patenting
The rejections of record are on p. 15-18 of the OA dated 5/6/2026.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 34-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of co-pending Application No. 18/507902 (‘902).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘902 recite a genus of product which appears to overlap with that claimed. The product of ‘902 is also defined using product-by-process limitations and teaches substantially the same process conditions as those in the instant claims, wherein claim 12 of ‘902 explicitly recites EDTA as the chelate. Further, the claims of ‘902 also recite the same structural limitations as the claimed product and the LCC starting material, including purity levels and physical characteristics. Also see MPEP 2112.01.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 34-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5-10,and 13-29 of co-pending Application No. 18/507722 (‘722).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘722 recite a genus of product which appears to overlap with that claimed. The product of ‘722 is also defined using product-by-process limitations and teaches substantially the same process conditions as those in the instant claims, wherein claims 17 and 28 of ‘722 explicitly recite the use of EDTA as a chelate. Further, the claims of ‘722 also recite the same structural limitations as the claimed product and the LCC starting material, including purity levels and physical characteristics. Also see MPEP 2112.01.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 34-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of co-pending Application No. 18/368454 (‘454).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘454 recite the process limitations of the claimed product-by-process claims. Therefore, the claimed product must be produced in the process of the claims of ‘454. Also see MPEP 2112.01.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 34-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-23 of co-pending Application No. 18/368435 (‘435).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘435 recite the process limitations of the claimed product-by-process claims. In particular see claims 11 and 22. Therefore, the claimed product, or a product that is substantially similar, must be produced in the process of the claims of ‘435. Also see MPEP 2112.01 and MPEP 2144.09.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-17, and 34-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of co-pending Application No. 18/368409 (‘409).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘409 recite the process limitations of the claimed product-by-process claims. In particular see claim 7. Therefore, the claimed product, or a product that is substantially similar, must be produced in the process of the claims of ‘435. Also see MPEP 2112.01 and MPEP 2144.09.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The Applicant has requested that the non-statutory double patenting rejections be held in abeyance until one or more of the claims of this application are allowable. See p. 14 of the response filed 10/22/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY C BONAPARTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692