CTNF 18/507,850 CTNF 83834 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0408496 A1~hereinafter “Choi”) . Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 14-19) a display device comprising: a substrate (PI1, PI2; [0095]) comprising a non-display area and a display area (see at least fig. 1), the display area including an optical area (CA; see at least fig. 15) including a light-emitting area (best seen in at least fig. 15) and a transmissive area (see figs. 14 and 15), and a general area that is adjacent to the optical area (see figs. 14 and 15); a planarization layer (PLN2; [0105]; [0107]) disposed on the substrate in the display area; a plurality of light-emitting elements (see fig. 3) disposed on the planarization layer (see figs. 14 and 15), each including an anode (AND; see fig. 14; [0108]), a light-emitting layer (EL; [0109]), and a cathode (Cat; [0109]); a bank (BNK; [0108]-[0109]) disposed on the planarization layer (PNL2) and covering an end of the anode; and a deposition-suppressing layer (PCL) disposed on the light-emitting layer in the transmissive area between the light-emitting area and the transmissive area of the optical area (CA; see fig. 15), wherein the bank (BNK) is disposed in the light-emitting area and between the light-emitting area and the transmissive area of the optical area (see at least fig. 15). Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 14-19) an optical-electronic device (400) disposed on a lower portion of the substrate in the optical area (CA; see fig. 15). Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 14-19) the deposition-suppressing layer (PCL) is disposed on a flat surface in the transmissive area of the optical area (see figs. 14 and 15). Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 14-19) a bottom surface of the light-emitting layer (EL) adjoins the planarization layer (PLN2) in the transmissive area of the optical area. Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 14-19) a side surface of the cathode (CAT) disposed in the light-emitting area of the optical area (CA) adjoins a side surface of the deposition-suppressing layer (PCL) disposed in the transmissive area of the optical area (CA). Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 14-19) at least a part of the deposition-suppressing layer (PCL) has a constant thickness. Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 14-19) the deposition-suppressing layer (PCL) comprises: a first part having the constant thickness (see fig. 15); and a second part that surrounds the first part, the second part having a smaller thickness than the first part (see fig. 15). Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 14-19) the thickness of the second part decreases as a distance from the first part increases. Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 14-19) the first part and the second part are integral to each other and made of a same material (see at least fig. 15) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0408496 A1~hereinafter “Choi”) in view of Han et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0193754 A1~hereinafter “Han”) . Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 14-19) a display device comprising: a substrate (PI1, PI2) comprising a non-display area and a display area (see at least fig. 1), the display area including an optical area (CA) including a light-emitting area and a transmissive area (best seen in at least fig. 15), and a general area that is adjacent to the optical area (see fig. 15); a planarization layer (PLN2) disposed on the substrate in the display area; a plurality of light-emitting elements (best seen in at least figs. 3 and 15) disposed on the planarization layer (PLN2), each including an anode (AND; [0108]), a light-emitting layer (EL; [0109]) and a cathode (CAT); a deposition-suppressing layer (PCL) disposed on the light-emitting layer in the transmissive area, and an optical-electronic device (400) disposed on a lower portion of the substrate in the optical area (see fig. 15), wherein the optical-electronic device (400) overlaps the deposition-suppressing layer. Han discloses (in at least figs. 4 and 5) a display device comprised of, in part, a deposition-suppressing layer (144) does not overlap the cathode (136) in the transmissive area (see figs. 4 and 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the deposition-suppressing layer of Choi as taught by Han, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 14-19) a bank (BNK) disposed on the planarization layer (PLN2) and covering an end of the anode (AND), wherein the bank (BNK) is disposed in the light-emitting area. Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 14-19) the deposition-suppressing layer (PCL) is disposed on a flat surface in the transmissive area. Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 14-19) the deposition-suppressing layer (PCL) and the bank (BNK). Choi does not expressly disclose the deposition-suppressing layer and the bank do not overlap each other in the optical area. Han discloses (in at least figs. 4 and 5) a deposition-suppressing layer (144) and a bank (138) that do not overlap each other in the optical area. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Choi with the deposition arrangement of Han, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ELMITO BREVAL whose telephone number is (571)270-3099. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th~ 7:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, James R. Greece can be reached at 571-272-3711. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. ELMITO BREVAL Primary Examiner Art Unit 2875 /ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/507,850 Page 2 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/507,850 Page 3 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/507,850 Page 4 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/507,850 Page 5 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/507,850 Page 6 Art Unit: 2875