DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention Group I (Claims 1-11) in the reply filed on January 15th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 15th, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (US 20190262849 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tang discloses a showerhead (100, Figs. 1-2) for controlling a flow of water from a water source into an active shower area (170, shown in Fig. 13, Paragraph 0008), the showerhead (100, Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a water inlet assembly (92, Fig. 1) coupling the showerhead (100, Figs. 1-2) to the water source (not explicitly shown, but water 90 enters the showerhead 100 through inlet pipe 92 from a source of water, Paragraph 0037);
a housing (101, 102, Figs. 1-4);
a plurality of nozzles (110, Figs. 1-2, 5) for directing the water exiting the showerhead toward the active shower area (170, water exits through nozzles/openings 110 and forms a parabolic water stream 180, shown in Fig. 13, Paragraphs 0037, 0049);
a sensor (108, Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 13) directed at the active shower area (170, shown in Fig. 13) to detect the presence of a user in the active shower area (170, sensor 108 emits a IR beam 150 and detects reflected beam signals under the showerhead 100, which turns the water on when a certain threshold of reflected IR energy is met or exceeded, detecting a user or object, Fig. 13, Paragraphs 0037, 0043); and
a valve (120, Figs. 6-7) configurable between open and closed positions in which the open position allows for the flow of water through the showerhead toward the active shower area and the closed position inhibits the flow of water through the showerhead (valve 120 receives electrical signals from sensor 108 to turn on the valve to open, letting the flow of water 90 flow through, or turn off to close the valve, preventing flow of water 90 to flow through, Paragraph 0038); and
a controller (not explicitly shown, but valve 120 can be electronically controlled using a solenoid, Paragraph 0038) to receive a signal from the sensor (108, Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 13) and move the valve (120, Figs. 6-7) to and between the open and closed positions in response to the signal to thereby conserve water when the user is absent from the active shower area (solenoid of valve 120 receives an electrical signal from the sensor 108 and to turn on or off the flow of water 90, and when a user or object steps away from the showerhead device 100, the IR beam reverts to an uninterrupted state and the sensor 108 sends a signal to the solenoid to turn the flow of water off, to prevent auto-triggering or unintended persistence of sensor 108 in the on position and a continuous flow of water, Paragraphs 0038, 0043).
In regards to claim 10, Tang discloses the showerhead of claim 1. Tang further discloses a battery (130, Figs. 6-7) for storing electrical power for operation of the showerhead (battery pack 130 includes batteries that provide power to showerhead 100, Paragraph 0038).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 20190262849 A1), embodiment of Figs. 1-13, in view of Tang et al. (US 20190262849 A1), embodiment of Figs. 14-23.
Regarding claim 2, Tang discloses the showerhead of claim 1. However, Tang does not disclose the controller further comprises a printed circuit board in one embodiment. In the embodiment of Figs. 14-23, Tang teaches a showerhead (200, Figs. 14-15) comprising the controller (250, Fig. 15) further comprises a printed circuit board (238, Fig. 15).
Tang is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of smart showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the controller taught in the embodiment of Figs. 14-23 of Tang to the embodiment of Figs. 1-13 of Tang, to have the controller further comprises a printed circuit board. Doing so allows for various sensors to be assembled on to a single microcontroller and printed circuit board unit (Paragraph 0007).
In regards to claim 9, Tang discloses the showerhead of claim 1. However, Tang does not disclose a generator to produce electrical power for operation of the showerhead in one embodiment. In the embodiment of Figs. 14-23, Tang teaches a showerhead (200, Figs. 14-15) comprising a generator (240, Fig. 15) to produce electrical power for operation of the showerhead (200, generator 240 provides ample power to enable showerhead device operation, Figs. 14-15, Paragraph 0059).
Tang is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of smart showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the generator taught in the embodiment of Figs. 14-23 of Tang to the embodiment of Figs. 1-13 of Tang, to have a generator to produce electrical power for operation of the showerhead. Doing so eliminates the need to replace batteries, making it convenient and more eco-friendly (Paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 11, Tang discloses the showerhead of claim 1. However, Tang does not disclose a turbine to produce electrical power for operation of the showerhead in one embodiment. In the embodiment of Figs. 14-23, Tang teaches a showerhead (200, Figs. 14-15) comprising a turbine (240, generator can be a turbine system, Fig. 15, Paragraph 0059) to produce electrical power for operation of the showerhead (200, generator 240 provides ample power to enable showerhead device operation, Figs. 14-15, Paragraph 0059).
Tang is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of smart showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the turbine taught in the embodiment of Figs. 14-23 of Tang to the embodiment of Figs. 1-13 of Tang, to have a turbine to produce electrical power for operation of the showerhead. Doing so eliminates the need to replace batteries, making it convenient and more eco-friendly (Paragraph 0059).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 20190262849 A1), in view of Leonhard et al. (US 20220250098 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Tang discloses the showerhead of claim 1. Tang further discloses the sensor (108, Figs. 1-3, 5-7, 13) positioned on a face (front face of showerhead 100, shown in Figs. 1-2, 5, 13) of the showerhead (100, Figs. 1-2) confronting the active shower area (170, shown in Fig. 13). However, Tang does not disclose the sensor further comprises a motion sensor positioned on a face of the showerhead confronting the active shower area. Leonhard teaches a showerhead (106, Figs. 4-5) comprising the sensor (412, Fig. 4) further comprises a motion sensor (412 is a motion-sensing sensor, Paragraph 0047) positioned on a face (front face of showerhead 106, shown in Figs. 4-5) of the showerhead (106, Figs. 4-5) confronting the active shower area (area where water is spraying, shown in Fig. 5).
Tang and Leonhard are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of smart showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the motion sensor taught in Leonhard’s showerhead to Tang’s showerhead, to have the sensor further comprises a motion sensor positioned on a face of the showerhead confronting the active shower area. Doing so provides easier touchless user control of the showerhead (Leonhard, Paragraph 0018).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 20190262849 A1), in view of Strushensky et al. (US 20190234054 A1).
With respect to claim 4, Tang discloses the showerhead of claim 1. However, Tang does not disclose a temperature sensor to detect a temperature of the water, and a temperature indicator to display the temperature of the water to the user. Strushensky teaches a showerhead (22, Fig. 1) comprising a temperature sensor (36, Fig. 6) to detect a temperature of the water (Paragraph 0022); and
a temperature indicator (38, Fig. 1) to display the temperature of the water to the user (Paragraph 0022).
Tang and Strushensky are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of smart showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the temperature sensor and the temperature indicator taught in Strushensky’s showerhead to Tang’s showerhead, to have a temperature sensor to detect a temperature of the water, and a temperature indicator to display the temperature of the water to the user. Doing so provides the user remote control and indication of the temperature of the water (Strushensky, Paragraph 0020, 0022).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 20190262849 A1), in view of Strushensky et al. (US 20190234054 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Weaver et al. (US 20180306430 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Tang, as modified by Strushensky, discloses the showerhead of claim 4. However, Tang and Strushensky do not teach the temperature indicator further comprises at least one color changing light emitting diode to indicate the temperature of the water to the user. Weaver teaches a spray head (100, Fig. 1) comprising the temperature indicator (174, Fig. 3) further comprises at least one color changing light emitting diode to indicate the temperature of the water to the user (light emitters 174 comprise a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) that emit visible light of different colors and generate a first color for a first temperature detected by the temperature sensor and a second color for a second temperature detected by temperature sensor, Paragraphs 0031, 0036-0037).
Tang, Strushensky, and Weaver are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of smart spray heads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the temperature indicator taught in Weaver’s spray head to Tang’s showerhead, as modified by Strushensky above, to have the temperature indicator further comprises at least one color changing light emitting diode to indicate the temperature of the water to the user. Doing so provides a visual indication of a status or condition of the fluid coming out of the showerhead (Weaver, Paragraph 0003).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 20190262849 A1) in view of Klicpera (US 20110031331 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Tang discloses the showerhead of claim 1. Tang further discloses the valve (120, Figs. 6-7) is electrically activated (not explicitly shown, but valve 120 can be electronically controlled using a solenoid, Paragraph 0038). However, Tang does not disclose the valve further comprises an electrically activated ball valve. Klicpera teaches a showerhead (10, Fig. 1) comprising the valve further comprises an electrically activated ball valve (not explicitly shown, but the water shut off means can comprise a typical ball valve that is electrically connected to a CPU or microprocessor, Paragraph 0043).
Tang and Klicpera are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of smart showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the valve taught in Klicpera’s showerhead to Tang’s showerhead, to have the valve further comprises an electrically activated ball valve. Doing so prevents water from exiting the showerhead (Klicpera, Paragraph 0043).
With respect to claim 7, Tang, as modified by Klicpera, discloses the showerhead of claim 6. Tang further discloses a solenoid to actuate the electrically activated valve for movement to and between the open and closed positions (solenoid of valve 120 receives an electrical signal from the sensor 108 and to turn on or off the flow of water 90, Paragraphs 0038, 0043), and as modified by Klicpera above regarding claim 7, would result in a solenoid to actuate the electrically activated ball valve for movement to and between the open and closed positions.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 20190262849 A1) in view of Beckman (US 20230173121 A1).
In regards to claim 8, Tang discloses the showerhead of claim 1. However, Tang does not disclose an antennae operably coupled to the controller for receiving communications from a user device. Beckman teaches a showerhead (401, Fig. 1) comprising an antennae (483, Fig. 4) operably coupled to the controller (433, shown in Fig. 4) for receiving communications from a user device (not explicitly shown, but control system may be wirelessly connected with a network capable of delivering a GUI to a user, such as a smartphone or PDA, via a wireless antenna 483, Paragraph 0041).
Tang and Beckman are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of smart showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the antenna taught in Beckman’s showerhead to Tang’s showerhead, to have an antennae operably coupled to the controller for receiving communications from a user device. Doing so provides the user easier control over various commands of the showerhead (Beckman, Paragraphs 0040-0041).
Conclusion
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/ARTHUR O. HALL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3752