DETAILED ACTION
EXAMINER’S AMENDMENT
An examiner’s amendment to the record appears below. Should the changes and/or additions be unacceptable to applicant, an amendment may be filed as provided by 37 CFR 1.312. To ensure consideration of such an amendment, it MUST be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee.
Authorization for this examiner’s amendment was given in an interview with Srini Chakravarthi on February 13, 2026.
The following claims have been amended as a Preliminary Amendment in response to a potential Restriction/Election Requirements consisting of multiple groups: Group I: Claims 1-9, 16-20, classified in CPC: H04W76/14, H04W8/12
Group II, classified in CPC: H04L67/01, 02, 025, H0W48/20.
1. A network sharing method comprising: receiving, by a first device, network connection capability information sent by a second device, wherein the network connection capability information indicates whether the second device connects to a network; establishing, by the first device, a first communication connection to the second device based on the network connection capability information; and communicating, by the first device, with the internet through the second device based on the first communication connection, wherein the first communication connection comprises any one of the following: a wireless fidelity peer-to-peer (Wi-Fi P2P) connection, a Bluetooth connection, a near field communication (NFC) connection, a wired connection, or a remote connection, and the Wi-Fi P2P connection between the first device and the second device is established by the first device by using a Wi-Fi network interface controller.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein communicating with the internet through the second device further comprises one or more of the following: connecting, by the first device, to a wireless access point (AP) in a communication system, and accessing the internet by using a wireless local area network (WLAN) created by the AP; connecting, by the first device, to a network device in the communication system, accessing a cellular network through the network device, and accessing the internet by using the cellular network; or accessing, by the first device, the internet in a wired manner.
3. The method according to claim1, wherein the Wi-Fi P2P connection between the first device and the second device and the connection between the first device and the AP are established by the first device by using a wireless fidelity Wi-Fi network interface controller.
4. The method according to claim 1, wherein before the establishing of the first communication connection to the second device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first device, network connection capability information sent by a third device, wherein the network connection capability information sent by the third device indicates whether the third device connects to a network; and selecting, by the first device, the second device from a network-connected device.
5. The method according to claim 3, wherein the selecting of the second device comprises any one or more of the following: displaying, by the first device, a device option corresponding to the network-connected device; and receiving, by the first device, a first operation performed on the device option, and selecting an electronic device corresponding to the device option on which the first operation is performed as the second device; selecting, by the first device, a trusted device as the second device from the network-connected device, wherein the trusted device comprises a device that logs in to a same system account as the first device, a device bound to the first device, a device that joins a same group as the first device, or a device that is set by a user; selecting, by the first device, a control device of the first device as the second device from the network-connected device; selecting from a plurality of electronic devices, by the first device, an electronic device with higher network quality as the second device from the network-connected device, wherein the network connection capability information further indicates network quality of a device; or determining, by the first device, a most recently selected device as the second device.
6. The method according to claim 1, wherein before communicating with the internet through the second device, the method further comprises: displaying, by the first device, a network connection manner options corresponding to a network connection manner, and the network connection manner comprises one or more of the following: connecting to a network by using a cellular network or a WLAN, or in a wired manner; and receiving, by the first device, a second operation performed on the network connection manner option; and the communicating, by the first device, with the internet through the second device comprises: communicating, by the first device, with the internet in a first network connection manner between the second device and the internet, wherein the first network connection manner comprises a network connection manner corresponding to the network connection manner option on which the second operation is performed.
7. The method according to claim 1, wherein the network connection capability information sent by the second device further indicates a network to which the second device connects and that accesses the internet, and before communicating with the internet through the second device, the method further comprises: displaying, by the first device, a network option corresponding to the network to which the second device connects and that accesses the internet, and the second device connects to one or more networks that access the internet; and receiving, by the first device, a third operation performed on the network option; and the communicating, by the first device, with the internet through the second device comprises: communicating, by the first device, with the internet by using a first network to which the second device connects, wherein the first network comprises a network corresponding to the network option on which the third operation is performed.
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the communicating with the internet through the second device comprises: communicating, by the first device, with the internet by using a first network to which the second device connects, wherein the first network comprises any one or more of the following: a network with best network quality, a most recently selected network, or any network in a network to which the second device connects and that accesses the internet.
9. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the first device, an activation instruction from the second device based on the first communication connection; sending, by the first device, an activation request to an operator server through the second device based on the first communication connection in response to the activation instruction, wherein the activation request is used to request to download a profile from the operator server; receiving, by the first device, the profile from the operator server through the second device based on the first communication connection; and performing, by the first device, activation by using the profile, wherein the activated first device has a network connection capability.
10. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim [[8]] 9, wherein before receiving the activation instruction, the method further comprises: sending, by the first device, management interface data to the second device based on the first communication connection, wherein the management interface data is used to generate a management interface, the management interface is used to enter an activation code and/or setting information, the activation code corresponds to the profile, and the setting information is used to configure a parameter of the first device.16. A first device comprising: a memory configured to store program instructions; a processor configured to execute the program instructions, to cause the device to perform: receiving network connection capability information sent by a second device, wherein the network connection capability information indicates whether the second device connects to a network; establishing a first communication connection to the second device based on the network connection capability information; and communicating, by the first device, with the internet through the second device based on the first communication connection, wherein the first communication connection comprises any one of the following: a wireless fidelity peer-to-peer (Wi-Fi P2P) connection, a Bluetooth connection, a near field communication (NFC) connection, a wired connection, or a remote connection, and the Wi-Fi P2P connection between the first device and the second device is established by the first device by using a Wi-Fi network interface controller.
17. The first device according to claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program instruction, to cause the device to perform one or more of the following: connecting to a wireless access point (AP) in a communication system, and accessing the internet by using a wireless local area network (WLAN) created by the AP; connecting to a network device in the communication system, accessing a cellular network through the network device, and accessing the internet by using the cellular network; or accessing the internet in a wired manner.
18. The first device according to claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program instruction, to cause the device to perform one or more of the following: receiving network connection capability information sent by a third device, wherein the network connection capability information sent by the third device indicates whether the third device connects to a network; and selecting the second device from a network-connected device.
19. The first device according to claim 16, wherein the program instruction cause the processor to perform any one or more of the following: displaying a device option corresponding to a network-connected device; and receiving a first operation performed on the device option, and selecting an electronic device corresponding to the device option on which the first operation is performed as the second device; selecting a trusted device as the second device from the network-connected device, wherein the trusted device comprises a device that logs in to a same system account as the first device, a device bound to the first device, a device that joins a same group as the first device, or a device that is set by a user; selecting a control device of the first device as the second device from the network-connected device; selecting, from a plurality of electronic devices, an electronic device with a higher network quality as the second device from the network-connected device, wherein the network connection capability information further indicates network quality of a device; or determining a most recently selected device as the second device.
20. The first device according to claim 16, wherein the network connection capability information sent by the second device further indicates a network to which the second device connects and that accesses the internet, and the processor is further configured to execute the program instruction, to cause the device to perform: displaying a network option corresponding to the network to which the second device connects and that accesses the internet, and the second device connects to one or more networks that access the internet; and receiving a third operation performed on the network option; and the processor being configured to execute the program instruction, to cause the device to perform: communicating with the internet by using a first network to which the second device connects, wherein the first network comprises a network corresponding to the network option on which the third operation is performed.
21. A communication system, wherein the communication system comprises a first device and a second device;
the second device is configured to send network connection capability information to the first device, wherein the network connection capability information indicates whether the second device connects to a network; and
the first device is configured to: establish a first communication connection to the second device based on the network connection capability information, and communicate with the internet through the second device based on the first communication connection, wherein
the first communication connection comprises any one of the following: a wireless fidelity peer-to-peer Wi-Fi P2P connection, a Bluetooth connection, a near field communication NFC connection, a wired connection, or a remote connection.
22. The communication system according to claim 21, wherein the first device is further configured to perform one or more of the following in a process of communicating with the internet through the second device:
connecting to a wireless access point AP in the communication system, and accessing the internet by using a wireless local area network WLAN created by the AP;
connecting to a network device in the communication system, accessing a cellular network through the network device, and accessing the internet by using the cellular network; or
accessing the internet in a wired manner.
23. The method according to claim 1, wherein the communication system further comprises a third device; and
the first device is further configured to: receive network connection capability information sent by the third device, wherein the network connection capability information sent by the third device indicates whether the third device connects to a network; and select the second device from a network-connected device.
24. The communication system according to claim 21, wherein
the second device is further configured to send an activation instruction to the first device based on the first communication connection; and
the first device is further configured to: send an activation request to an operator server through the second device based on the first communication connection in response to the activation instruction, wherein the activation request is used to request to download a profile from the operator server; receive the profile from the operator server through the second device; and perform activation by using the profile, wherein the activated first device has a network connection capability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 16-19, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al (US 2020/0092926 A1) in view of Ko et al (US 2015/0351004 A1).
Regarding claim 1, LI et al (US 2020/0092926 A1) discloses a network sharing method (see, broadcasting of device information, capability information, establishing of connection based on the information, section 0008-0010) comprising: receiving (see, the first terminal negotiates, with the second terminal by using the first wireless connection information, the first terminal receives using the first wireless connection, section 0014), by a first device (see, the first terminal obtains capability information of the second terminal, section 0010-0012), network connection capability information (see, the second terminal broadcast the capability information to the first terminal, and the first terminal determines based on the capability information, the second terminal supports the first wireless connection, section 0087-0088), sent by a second device (see, the first terminal obtains capability information of the second terminal, section 0010-0012), wherein the network connection capability information indicates whether the second device connects to a network (see, WLAN network which the first terminal and second terminal are communicatively coupled to, section 0028-0029, see, the capability information of the second terminal, the capability information is related to whether the second terminals supports the to-be established wireless connection/first wireless connection, section 0010, 0022-0024, 0097); establishing, by the first device (see, the first terminal performs discovery with the second terminal, obtains capability information, information requires for establishing the first wireless connection, section 0097), a first communication connection to the second device based on the network connection capability information (section 0012, 0097, the first terminal establishes first wireless connection based on information, capability information of the second terminal); and communicating, by the first device,[[with the internet ]]through the second device based on the first communication connection (see, the processor of the terminal establishes the first wireless connection based on the information (i.e., capability information) broadcast by the second terminal, section 0088), wherein the first communication connection comprises any one of the following: a wireless fidelity peer-to-peer (Wi-Fi P2P) connection (see, the first wireless connection as Wi-Fi P2P connection, section 0096), a Bluetooth connection (see, the first wireless connection may be a Bluetooth connection, section 0096), a near field communication (NFC) connection (see, first connection as NFC connection, section 0096), a wired connection, or a remote connection, and the Wi-Fi P2P connection (see, Wi-Fi P2P connection between the two terminals, section 0061-0062, 0068) between the first device and the second device is established by the first device by using a Wi-Fi network interface controller (fig. 3, processor module 410 which may be a processor or a controllers which is further integrated as Wi-Fi module, section 0167-0169, 0084).
LI ‘926 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: communicating, by the first device, with the internet through the second device based on the first communication connection.
However, Ko et al (US 2015/0351004 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: communicating, by the first device (see, the client device 100 and tethering device performs one ore or more operations to acquire pairing information, device information, the pairing information via the network 304/the internet, section 0053, 0023-the client accesses the network using the tethering device access to share the access via the internet), with the internet through the second device based on the first communication connection (see, section 0053, 0080-0081, 0096-the forwarding communications from device on the network to client device).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the tethering device that enables client devices to access the internet and sharing the tethering device’s access with client devices as taught by Ko ‘004 into the wireless connection switching method based on the obtained capability information of LI ‘926 . The motivation would have been to provide tethering service based on a request message from the client device.
Regarding claim 2, LI ‘926 as modified by Ko ‘004 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein communicating with the internet through the second device further comprises one or more of the following: connecting, by the first device, to a wireless access point (AP) in a communication system (Ko ‘004, see, the client device that searches for electronic devices that provided tethering service, identify networks that are provided nearby access points, section 0065), and accessing the internet by using a wireless local area network (WLAN) created by the AP; connecting, by the first device, to a network device in the communication system, accessing a cellular network through the network device, and accessing the internet by using the cellular network; or accessing, by the first device, the internet in a wired manner.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the tethering device that enables client devices to access the internet and sharing the tethering device’s access with client devices as taught by Ko ‘004 into the wireless connection switching method based on the obtained capability information of LI ‘926 . The motivation would have been to provide tethering service based on a request message from the client device.
Regarding claim 3 (New), LI ‘926 discloses, the method according to claim1, wherein the Wi-Fi P2P connection between the first device and the second device (see, rejection above) but fails to explicitly disclose: and the connection between the first device and the AP are established by the first device by using a wireless fidelity Wi-Fi network interface controller.
However, Ko et al (US 2015/0351004 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claim 3 (New), the method according to claim 1, wherein the Wi-Fi P2P connection between the first device and the second device (see, section 0053, 0080-0081, 0096-the forwarding communications from device on the network to client device, noted: the connection between the client device and other electronic devices are implicitly based on Wi-Fi confguration, section 0023) and the connection between the first device and the AP are established by the first device (see, the tethering device which can function as WLAN access point, provides a WLAN as Wi-Fi network, the client device and the other electronic devise can join the wireless network by sharing the tethering device connection to the cellular network, section 0050-051) by using a wireless fidelity Wi-Fi network interface controller (section 0050, 0065, 0080, noted: the controllers/processors are Wi-Fi configured, section 0029, 0038, 0047-the use of the Wi-Fi network interface).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the tethering device that enables client devices to access the internet and sharing the tethering device’s access with client devices as taught by Ko ‘004 into the wireless connection switching method based on the obtained capability information of LI ‘926 . The motivation would have been to provide tethering service based on a request message from the client device.
LI ‘926 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4, the method according to claim 1, wherein before the establishing of the first communication connection to the second device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first device, network connection capability information sent by a third device, wherein the network connection capability information sent by the third device indicates whether the third device connects to a network; and selecting, by the first device, the second device from a network-connected device.
However, Ko et al (US 2015/0351004 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claim 4, the method according to claim 1, wherein before the establishing of the first communication connection to the second device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first device, network connection capability information sent by a third device (see, third device network connection sharing capabilities wherein the first device displays representation of third device, section 0122), wherein the network connection capability information sent by the third device indicates whether the third device connects to a network (noted: the connection sharing capabilities of the third device with respect to a plurality of connection options, section 0122-0123); and selecting, by the first device, the second device from a network-connected device (see, the first device selects representation of the second device from the plurality of connection options, establishes connection sharing with the second device, section 0122-0124).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the tethering device that enables client devices to access the internet and sharing the tethering device’s access with client devices as taught by Ko ‘004 into the wireless connection switching method based on the obtained capability information of LI ‘926 . The motivation would have been to provide tethering service based on a request message from the client device.
Regarding claim 5, LI ‘926 as modified by Ko ‘004 discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the selecting of the second device (Ko ‘004, see, connection options that are available to the first device including connection options of the second device, section 0107-0108) comprises any one or more of the following: displaying, by the first device (see, connectivity options that are optionally displayed in response to the first network device receiving a request to display connections options, section 0107), a device option corresponding to the network-connected device (noted: representation of the second device that is optionally selectable to cause the first device to establish a connection sharing session, displays by the first device, section 0107-0110); and receiving, by the first device, a first operation performed on the device option, and selecting an electronic device corresponding to the device option on which the first operation is performed as the second device; selecting, by the first device, a trusted device as the second device from the network-connected device, wherein the trusted device comprises a device that logs in to a same system account as the first device, a device bound to the first device, a device that joins a same group as the first device, or a device that is set by a user; selecting, by the first device, a control device of the first device as the second device from the network-connected device; selecting from a plurality of electronic devices, by the first device, an electronic device with higher network quality as the second device from the network-connected device, wherein the network connection capability information further indicates network quality of a device; or determining, by the first device, a most recently selected device as the second device.
Regarding claim 6, LI ‘926 as modified by Ko ‘004 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein before communicating with the internet through the second device, the method further comprises: displaying, by the first device (see, connectivity options that are optionally displayed in response to the first network device receiving a request to display connections options, section 0107), a network connection manner options corresponding to a network connection manner (Ko ‘004, see, connection options that are available to the first device including connection options of the second device, section 0107-0108), and the network connection manner comprises one or more of the following: connecting to a network by using a cellular network (Koo ‘004, see, connection to a cellular network based on signal strength, section 0107-0110, 0111-signal strength of the network connection that is displayed on the first device) or a WLAN, or in a wired manner; and receiving, by the first device, a second operation performed on the network connection manner option; and the communicating, by the first device, with the internet through the second device comprises: communicating, by the first device, with the internet in a first network connection manner between the second device and the internet, wherein the first network connection manner comprises a network connection manner corresponding to the network connection manner option on which the second operation is performed.
Regarding claim 7, LI ‘926 as modified by Ko ‘004 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the network connection capability information sent by the second device further indicates a network to which the second device connects and that accesses the internet, and before communicating with the internet through the second device, the method further comprises: displaying, by the first device (Koo, see, connectivity options that are optionally displayed in response to the first network device receiving a request to display connections options, section 0107), a network option corresponding to the network to which the second device connects and that accesses the internet (noted: the connectivity options are associated with the second device, section 0106-108), and the second device connects to one or more networks that access the internet (see, network type as 3G, 4G and LTE, section 0106, 0108); and receiving, by the first device, a third operation performed on the network option (see, network connection options (e.g., 2WIRE989”, airport1150, linkys1150) available to first fist device, section 0106-0107); and the communicating, by the first device, with the internet (see, network connection options (e.g., 2WIRE989”, airport1150, linkys1150) available to first fist device, section 0106-0107) through the second device (see, connection between the first device and the second device, section 0109) comprises: communicating, by the first device, with the internet by using a first network to which the second device connects (noted: other devise that are capable of tethering with the first device, section 0117), wherein the first network comprises a network corresponding to the network option on which the third operation is performed (noted: the third of the connectivity options can be implicitly be used for connection via the tethering device to network/internet, section 0106-0108).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the tethering device that enables client devices to access the internet and sharing the tethering device’s access with client devices as taught by Ko ‘004 into the wireless connection switching method based on the obtained capability information of LI ‘926 . The motivation would have been to provide tethering service based on a request message from the client device.
Regarding claim 8, LI ‘926 as modified by Ko ‘004 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the communicating with the internet through the second device comprises: communicating (see, forwarding of communications between client device, tethering device and one or more device on the network, section 0103) by the first device, with the internet by using a first network to which the second device connects (see, forwarding of communications between client device, tethering device and one or more device on the network, section 0103), wherein the first network comprises any one or more of the following: a network with best network quality, a most recently selected network, or any network in a network to which the second device connects and that accesses the internet (noted: connection sharing session (e.g., type of network connection such a s 3G, 4G, LTE) by the first device with the second device, section 0113-0114, see, signal strength of the second device’s connection to a cellular network, connection established via wireless networks 306 and 308, section 0108).
Regarding claim 16, LI ‘926 discloses a first device (fig. 3, terminal 11, see, the first terminal negotiates, with the second terminal by using the first wireless connection information, the first terminal receives using the first wireless connection, section 0014, see, broadcasting of device information, capability information, establishing of connection based on the information, section 0008-0010) comprising: a memory (fig. 3, terminal 11/first terminal which a memory 22 coupled to a processor 21, section 0073-0086, the first terminal which obtains the capability of the second terminal, section 0024, 0050) configured to store program instructions (fig. 3, processor 21 which controls execution of software program stored in the memory, section 0073-0079); a processor configured to execute the program instructions (fig. 3, processor 21 which controls execution of software program stored in the memory, section 0073-0079);, to cause the device to perform: receiving network connection capability information (see, the first obtains the capability information, information required to establishing the first wireless connection based on implicitly on broadcast information that is sent by the second terminal, section 0088) sent by a second device (see, the first terminal obtains capability information of the second terminal, section 0010-0012, 0088), wherein the network connection capability information indicates whether the second device connects to a network (see, WLAN network which the first terminal and second terminal are communicatively coupled to, section 0028-0029, see, the capability information of the second terminal, the capability information is related to whether the second terminals supports the to-be established second wireless connection, section 0010, 0022-0024); establishing a first communication connection to the second device (see, the first terminal performs discovery with the second terminal, obtains capability information, information requires for establishing the first wireless connection, section 0097) based on the network connection capability information (section 0012, 0097, the first terminal establishes first wireless connection based on information, capability information of the second terminal); and communicating, by the first device, with the internet through the second device based on the first communication connection (see, the processor of the terminal establishes the first wireless connection based on the information (i.e., capability information) broadcast by the second terminal, section 0088) wherein the first communication connection comprises any one of the following: a wireless fidelity peer-to-peer (Wi-Fi P2P) connection (see, the first wireless connection as Wi-Fi P2P connection, section 0096), a Bluetooth connection (see, the first wireless connection may be a Bluetooth connection, section 0096), a near field communication (NFC) connection (see, first connection as NFC connection, section 0096), a wired connection, or a remote connection, and the Wi-Fi P2P connection (see, Wi-Fi P2P connection between the two terminals, section 0061-0062, 0068) between the first device and the second device is established by the first device by using a Wi-Fi network interface controller (fig. 3, processor module 410 which may be a processor or a controllers which is further integrated as Wi-Fi module, section 0167-0169, 0084).
LI ‘926 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: communicating, by the first device, with the internet through the second based on the first communication connection.
However, Ko et al (US 2015/0351004 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: communicating, by the first device (see, the client device 100 and tethering device performs one ore or more operations to acquire pairing information, device information, the pairing information via the network 304/the internet, section 0053, 0023-the client accesses the network using the tethering device access to share the access via the internet), with the internet through the second device based on the first communication connection (see, section 0053, 0080-0081, 0096-the forwarding communications from device on the network to client device).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the tethering device that enables client devices to access the internet and sharing the tethering device’s access with client devices as taught by Ko ‘004 into the wireless connection switching method based on the obtained capability information of LI ‘926 . The motivation would have been to provide tethering service based on a request message from the client device.
Regarding claim 17, LI ‘926 as modified by Ko ‘004 discloses the first device according to claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program instruction, to cause the device to perform one or more of the following: connecting to a wireless access point (AP) in a communication system (Ko ‘004, see, the client device that searches for electronic devices that provided tethering service, identify networks that are provided nearby access points, section 0065), and accessing the internet by using a wireless local area network (WLAN) created by the AP (Koo, see, the tethering device which can function as WLAN access point, provides a WLAN as Wi-Fi network, the client device and the other electronic devise can join the wireless network by sharing the tethering device connection to the cellular network, section 0050-051); connecting to a network device in the communication system, accessing a cellular network through the network device, and accessing the internet by using the cellular network (Koo, see, the tethering device which can function as WLAN access point, provides a WLAN as Wi-Fi network, the client device and the other electronic devise can join the wireless network by sharing the tethering device connection to the cellular network, section 0050-051; or accessing the internet in a wired manner.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the tethering device that enables client devices to access the internet and sharing the tethering device’s access with client devices as taught by Ko ‘004 into the wireless connection switching method based on the obtained capability information of LI ‘926 . The motivation would have been to provide tethering service based on a request message from the client device.
LI ‘926 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 18, the first device according to claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program instruction, to cause the device to perform one or more of the following: receiving network connection capability information sent by a third device, wherein the network connection capability information sent by the third device indicates whether the third device connects to a network; and selecting the second device from a network-connected device.
However, Ko et al (US 2015/0351004 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claim 18, the first device according to claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program instruction, to cause the device to perform one or more of the following: receiving network connection capability information sent by a third device (see, third device network connection sharing capabilities wherein the first device displays representation of third device, section 0122), wherein the network connection capability information sent by the third device indicates whether the third device connects to a network (noted: the connection sharing capabilities of the third device with respect to a plurality of connection options, section 0122-0123; and selecting the second device from a network-connected device (see, the first device selects representation of the second device from the plurality of connection options, establishes connection sharing with the second device, section 0122-0124).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the tethering device that enables client devices to access the internet and sharing the tethering device’s access with client devices as taught by Ko ‘004 into the wireless connection switching method based on the obtained capability information of LI ‘926 . The motivation would have been to provide tethering service based on a request message from the client device.
Regarding claim 19, LI ‘926 as modified by Ko ‘004 discloses the first device according to claim 16, wherein the program instruction cause the processor to perform any one or more of the following: displaying a device option corresponding to a network-connected device (Koo, see, connectivity options that are optionally displayed in response to the first network device receiving a request to display connections options, section 0107); and receiving a first operation performed on the device option, and selecting an electronic device corresponding to the device option on which the first operation is performed as the second device (Koo, see, the first device selects representation of the second device from the plurality of connection options, establishes connection sharing with the second device, section 0122-0124); selecting a trusted device as the second device from the network-connected device, wherein the trusted device comprises a device that logs in to a same system account as the first device, a device bound to the first device, a device that joins a same group as the first device, or a device that is set by a user; selecting a control device of the first device as the second device from the network-connected device; selecting, from a plurality of electronic devices, an electronic device with a higher network quality as the second device from the network-connected device, wherein the network connection capability information further indicates network quality of a device; or determining a most recently selected device as the second device.
Regarding claim 20, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7 because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations.
Regarding claim 21 (New) LI ‘926 discloses a communication system (fig. 2, system architecture that includes terminal 11, terminal 12 that are communicatively coupled to network access device 13, section 0071-0073), wherein the communication system comprises a first device and a second device (see, the first terminal establishes connection with second terminal or each other based on obtained information, section 0008-0010, 0012, fig. 12, section 0071-0072, 0084);
the second device is configured to send network connection capability information to the first device (see, the second terminal broadcast the capability information to the first terminal, and the first terminal determines based on the capability information, the second terminal supports the first wireless connection, section 0087-0088), wherein the network connection capability information indicates whether the second device connects to a network (noted: by virtue of receiving the capability information of the second terminal implies that the second terminal has existing connection to a network/WLAN, section 0088, 0093); and
the first device is configured to: establish a first communication connection to the second device based on the network connection capability information (see, the first terminal establishes the first wireless connection based on the capability information of the second terminal, section 0088, 0097), and communicate (see, transmission of data using the first wireless connection, section 0122, 0134) with the [[internet]] through the second device based on the first communication connection (section 0088, 0097, 0160, the first terminal establishes first wireless connection to the second terminal), wherein the first communication connection comprises any one of the following: a wireless fidelity peer-to-peer (Wi-Fi P2P) connection (see, the first wireless connection as Wi-Fi P2P connection, section 0096), a Bluetooth connection (see, the first wireless connection may be a Bluetooth connection, section 0096), a near field communication (NFC) connection (see, first connection as NFC connection, section 0096), a wired connection, or a remote connection.
LI ‘926 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: communicate, with the internet through the second based on the first communication connection.
However, Ko et al (US 2015/0351004 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: communicate (see, the client device 100 and tethering device performs one ore or more operations to acquire pairing information, device information, the pairing information via the network 304/the internet, section 0053, 0023-the client accesses the network using the tethering device access to share the access via the internet), with the internet through the second device based on the first communication connection (see, section 0053, 0080-0081, 0096-the forwarding communications from device on the network to client device).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the tethering device that enables client devices to access the internet and sharing the tethering device’s access with client devices as taught by Ko ‘004 into the wireless connection switching method based on the obtained capability information of LI ‘926 . The motivation would have been to provide tethering service based on a request message from the client device.
LI ‘926 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 22 (New), the communication system according to claim 21, wherein the first device is further configured to perform one or more of the following in a process of communicating with the internet through the second device: connecting to a wireless access point AP in the communication system, and accessing the internet by using a wireless local area network WLAN created by the AP; connecting to a network device in the communication system, accessing a cellular network through the network device, and accessing the internet by using the cellular network; or accessing the internet in a wired manner.
However, Ko et al (US 2015/0351004 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claim 22 (New), the communication system according to claim 21, wherein the first device is further configured to perform one or more of the following in a process of communicating with the internet through the second device: connecting to a wireless access point AP in the communication system (Ko ‘004, see, the client device that searches for electronic devices that provided tethering service, identify networks that are provided nearby access points, section 0065),, and accessing the internet by using a wireless local area network WLAN created by the AP (see, the tethering device which can function as WLAN access point, provides a WLAN as Wi-Fi network, the client device and the other electronic devise can join the wireless network by sharing the tethering device connection to the cellular network, section 0050-051); connecting to a network device in the communication system, accessing a cellular network through the network device, and accessing the internet by using the cellular network; or accessing the internet in a wired manner.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the tethering device that enables client devices to access the internet and sharing the tethering device’s access with client devices as taught by Ko ‘004 into the wireless connection switching method based on the obtained capability information of LI ‘926 . The motivation would have been to provide tethering service based on a request message from the client device.
LI ‘926 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 23 (New) the method according to claim 1, wherein the communication system further comprises a third device; and the first device is further configured to: receive network connection capability information sent by the third device, wherein the network connection capability information sent by the third device indicates whether the third device connects to a network; and select the second device from a network-connected device.
However, Ko et al (US 2015/0351004 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claim 23 (New) the method according to claim 1, wherein the communication system further comprises a third device (see, third device network connection sharing capabilities wherein the first device displays representation of third device, section 0122); and the first device is further configured to: receive network connection capability information sent by the third device (see, third device network connection sharing capabilities wherein the first device displays representation of third device, section 0122), wherein the network connection capability information sent by the third device indicates whether the third device connects to a network (noted: the connection sharing capabilities of the third device with respect to a plurality of connection options, section 0122-0123);; and select the second device from a network-connected device (see, the first device selects representation of the second device form the plurality of connection options, establishes connection sharing with the second device, section 0122-0124).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the tethering device that enables client devices to access the internet and sharing the tethering device’s access with client devices as taught by Ko ‘004 into the wireless connection switching method based on the obtained capability information of LI ‘926 . The motivation would have been to provide tethering service based on a request message from the client device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10, 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fails to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “further comprising: receiving, by the first device, an activation instruction from the second device based on the first communication connection; sending, by the first device, an activation request to an operator server through the second device based on the first communication connection in response to the activation instruction, wherein the activation request is used to request to download a profile from the operator server; receiving, by the first device, the profile from the operator server through the second device based on the first communication connection; and performing, by the first device, activation by using the profile, wherein the activated first device has a network connection capability” recited in claim 9.
The closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fails to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “the second device is further configured to send an activation instruction to the first device based on the first communication connection; and the first device is further configured to: send an activation request to an operator server through the second device based on the first communication connection in response to the activation instruction, wherein the activation request is used to request to download a profile from the operator server; receive the profile from the operator server through the second device; and perform activation by using the profile, wherein the activated first device has a network connection capability” recited in claim 24.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LEE et al (US 2018/0242135 A1) discloses discovery of neighboring devices, exchanging of connection capability information by using probe request and probe response in WLAN system (section 0017-0018, 0064-0068, 0072-0080, 0096-0098, 0116-0134).
LEE further discloses forming P2P GO with series of P2P devices (section 0071-0080).
JEONG et al (US 2020/0213557 A1) discloses WFD source and WFD sink which can discover the service capability of each other before WFD connection setup using a service discovery request frames where the WDF capability includes information element (section 0072, 0118, 0189-0192, 0199).
Gu et al (US 2023/0021994 A1) discloses cross device/screen projection between devices based on connection status information , communication capability (section 0015-0059, 0145, 0190-0259).
Park et al (US 2019/0141786 A1).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473