DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (US 10,678,012 B1). Wu teaches:
1. A shuffle cable (190, Fig. 8) comprising:
a cable having N number of ribbonized groups of optical fibers (204) with each of the N number of groups having M number of optical fibers (twelve),
wherein each of the N number of groups is color-coded with a distinct color to distinguish it from all others of the N number of groups (C13 L18-23).
2. The shuffle cable of claim 1, wherein the N number of groups (204) are color-coded according to a pre-determined sequence (each group has a color, that is the pre-determined sequence).
4. The shuffle cable of claim 1, wherein the shuffle cable (190) has a first end (192) and a second end (191) and wherein each of the N number of ribbonized groups (204) of optical fibers of at least one of the first and second ends is pre-terminated to a respective connector (C13 L3-10, 47-53).
5. The shuffle cable of claim 1, wherein the shuffle cable (190) has a first end (192) and a second end (191) and wherein each of the N number of ribbonized groups (204) of optical fibers at the first end is pre- terminated to a respective connector and wherein each of the N number of ribbonized groups (203) of optical fibers at the second end is connector-free (C13 L3-10, 47-53; either end can be connectorized or not).
6. The shuffle cable of claim 1, wherein at least one of the optical fibers of each of the N number of groups includes an indicator of a numerical sequence of the at least one optical fiber within its respective group (see Fig 9, the first and last having “indicators” based on ribbon position).
7. The shuffle cable of claim 1, wherein the M number optical fibers within each group are marked with at least a first fiber indicator and a last fiber indicator, the first and last fiber indicators indicating a numerical sequence of the M number of fibers in the group (see Fig 9, the first and last having “indicators” based on ribbon position – see “FIRST” and “LAST”).
20. The shuffle cable of claim 1, wherein N is equal to M (twelve).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu.
Wu does not state the color-code sequence is the TIA-598(c) standard. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try using an industry standard sequence for color coding fiber cables, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Industry standards are by definition identified and predictable and one of ordinary skill in art would expect using the TIA-598 standard to succeed in Wu since Wu has a number of groupings that could adhere to this standard.
Claims 1-7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes et al (US 8,873,967 B2) and Robinson et al (US 6,464,404 B1).
Barnes teaches:
1. A shuffle cable (60, Fig. 9) comprising:
a cable having N number of groups (60A, B) of optical fibers (65) with each of the N number of groups having M number of optical fibers (twelve),
wherein each of the N number of groups is color-coded with a distinct color to distinguish it from all others of the N number of groups (one group is primed, one unprimed; C5 L32-46).
2. The shuffle cable of claim 1, wherein the N number of groups (60A, B) are color-coded according to a pre-determined sequence (transmitter group is unprimed and receiver group is primed, C5 L32-46).
4. The shuffle cable of claim 1, wherein the shuffle cable (60) has a first end (70A/B1) and a second end (70A/B2) and wherein each of the N number of groups (204) of optical fibers of at least one of the first and second ends is pre-terminated to a respective connector (C6 L57 – C7 L6).
5. The shuffle cable of claim 1, wherein the shuffle cable (190) has a first end (192) and a second end (191) and wherein each of the N number of groups (204) of optical fibers at the first end is pre- terminated to a respective connector (C6 L57 – C7 L6).
20. The shuffle cable of claim 1, wherein N is equal to M (twelve).
Barnes does not teach expressly the cable being ribbonized or a second end of the cable being connector free or wherein at least one of the optical fibers of each of the N number of groups includes an indicator of a numerical sequence of the at least one optical fiber within its respective group.
Robinson teaches a shuffle cable (10, Fig. 2) wherein the fibers are ribbonized (C2 L33-46) wherein at least one of the optical fibers of each of the N number of groups includes an indicator of a numerical sequence of the at least one optical fiber within its respective group (see Fig 3, the first and last having “indicators” based on ribbon position) and similarly wherein the M number optical fibers within each group are marked with at least a first fiber indicator and a last fiber indicator, the first and last fiber indicators indicating a numerical sequence of the M number of fibers in the group (see Fig 3, the first and last having “indicators” based on ribbon position – see “a” and “d” fibers).
Barnes and Robinson are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, shuffle cables.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cable of Barnes to use ribbonized fibers as taught by Robinson.
The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce cost and complexity by using widely used and known types of cable, such as ribbon cables to secure groups of fibers.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try having a free end of the cable without a cable, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. It is predictable to have a free end of a shuffle cable so a user can select particular fibers for particular routing.
Regarding claim 3: Barnes and Robinson do not state the color-code sequence is the TIA-598(c) standard. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try using an industry standard sequence for color coding fiber cables, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Industry standards are by definition identified and predictable and one of ordinary skill in art would expect using the TIA-598 standard to succeed in Barnes and Robinson since Barnes and Robinson has a number of groupings that could adhere to this standard.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
These claims would be allowable over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the latter, either alone or in combination, does not disclose nor render obvious a cable having N number of ribbonized groups of optical fibers with each of the N number of groups having M number of optical fibers, wherein each of the N number of groups is color-coded with a distinct color to distinguish it from all others of the N number of groups,
wherein the cable has a first end and a second end; wherein each of the N number of ribbonized groups of optical fibers of the first end is pre-terminated to a respective first connector; wherein at the second end of the cable, an N number of multi-color groups have one optical fiber from each of the N number of color-coded groups of M number of ribbonized optical fibers; wherein each of the N number of multi-color groups of optical fibers of the second end is pre-terminated to a respective second connector; wherein the first end includes first furcation tubes extending from the respective first connectors to a first transition housing; wherein the second end includes second furcation tubes extending from the respective second connectors to a second transition housing; wherein a main cable with an outer jacket extends between the first transition housing and the second transition housing; wherein each of the N number of ribbonized groups of optical fibers is positioned inside the outer jacket of the main cable,
in combination with the rest of the claimed limitations.
Contact Information
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874