DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-3, 5-26 and 28-31 are pending. Claims 1-3, 5-26 and 28-31 are under examination. Claims 1-3, 5-26 and 28-31 are rejected. No claims allowed.
Filing Receipt
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 09/14/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below in original or modified form is herein withdrawn.
Withdrawn/Modified Rejections
The 101 rejection of claims 1-31 in the non-final mailed 06/16/2026 has been withdrawn. The claim amendments have overcome the rejection.
The 112(b) rejection of claims 1-31 in the non-final mailed 06/16/2026 has been withdrawn. The claim amendments have overcome the rejection.
The 102 rejection of claims 1, 3-31 as being anticipated by Pham et al. in the non-final mailed 06/16/2026 has been withdrawn. The claim amendments have overcome the rejection.
The 102 rejection of claims 1, and 4-31 as being anticipated by Hamden et al. in the non-final mailed 06/16/2026 has been withdrawn. The claim amendments have overcome the rejection.
The 102 rejection of claims 1, 4-8 and 10-31 as being anticipated by Deffense in the non-final mailed 06/16/2026 has been withdrawn. The claim amendments have overcome the rejection.
The 102 rejection of claims 1, 4-8 and 10-31 as being anticipated by Abhari et al. in the non-final mailed 06/16/2026 has been modified to address the claim amendments.
The two 103 rejections of claims 1-31 over Deffense and Saint John’s in the non-final mailed 06/16/2026 has been withdrawn. The claim amendments have overcome the rejection.
The 103 rejections utilizing Abhari et al. in the non-final mailed 06/16/2026 have been modified to address the claim amendments. The claim amendments have overcome the rejection.
Examiner’s Note: Both Deffense and Abhari et al. teach the addition of a salt of ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA). See Deffense column 3, lines 23-35 and Abhari et al. paragraphs 109-110. However, Abhari et al. teach the benefits of certain chelators that do not produce soapstocks (par, 106 and 111). Abhari et al. paragraphs 105 specifically reference Deffense as making soapstocks which are not the claimed free fatty acids due to the fatty acid being a salt, for example a sodium salt (par. 105-106).
The following newly applied claim objections, 101, 112(a), 112(b) rejections and the modified 102 and 103 rejections and the modified double patenting rejections constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Section 102 Anticipation Rejections
Applicant states the oils disclosed by Deffense are edible oils.
Examiner’s response
Deffense does not implicitly or explicitly recite the oils are edible and invites the applicant to cite wherein Deffense supplies evidence of the edible/inedible quality. Moreover, Deffense teach very low amounts of metals in the product which more accurately hints at an intended use of energy generation rather than an edible/inedible quality. See specification page 14 top. Moreover, both Deffense column 3 line 35ish and the claims (claim 3) recite the use of fish oil. There would be no reason to speculate the fish oil in Deffense is not the claimed fish oil nor if fish oil is edible or not.
Applicant states Deffense discloses adding the acid and ethylenediaminetetraacetate (EDTA) sequentially, but not performing separation of an aqueous gum containing phase before addition of EDTA.
Examiner’s response
The claims are directed to a product and not a method.
Applicant states, thus, the processes are distinct. In applicant's claimed process, much of the metals associated with the gums have been removed before a chelate is added. This is an important distinction, because it leads to substantially less uncomplexed metals than in the LCC, and thus requires less EDTA to form complexes to remove the metals in the degummed LCC.
Examiner’s response
The applicant may be correct that less EDTA is needed. However, the claims are directed to a product and not directed to a method requiring an amount of EDTA. Concerning less uncomplexed metals in the LCC, the claims are only directed to a product having less than 10 ppm phosphorous. Moreover, the prior art lists low levels of phosphorous and metals are achieved. See example 1 Deffense and Table IV Abhari et al.
Applicant states
Claim 1 has been amended to include language where the initial phosphorus
composition of the LCC is above 50 parts per million, which is substantially higher than
the claimed "about" 10 ppm in Abhari, or the 22.8 ppm in the examples.
Examiner’s response
Applicant fails to disclose that Abhari claims “about 8 wppm or more phosphorus” in claim 1. “or more” allows overlap of the current over 50 ppm phosphorous.
Section 103 Obviousness Rejections
Applicant states
First, the disclosed process is materially different than either Deffense or Abhari, as discussed above. Applicant's claims describe a process where an LCC is first degummed with an acid, and is then further degummed with a chelate. Abhari and Deffense both disclose adding the acid and chelate to the same mixture, with Deffense
adding the acid to aid in complexation, and Abhari adding the acid to lower pH so that the sodium in the sodium salts of EDTA do not end up in the final product
Examiner’s response
The claims are directed to a product and not directed to a process. Applicant’s arguments do not distinguish the prior art product from the current product.
Concerning the purported easily purified feedstocks of the prior art, Abhari teach the following.
The above feed stocks overlap those being claimed.
Applicant states
Abhari demonstrates difficulty in removing the sodium introduced by sodium salts of EDTA when the chelate is added without an acid, because the sodium forms soaps with free fatty acid. The claimed invention does not require the addition of acid in the chelating step to be successful, because the majority of the metals have been removed before the chelating step by the partial degumming with an acid.
Examiner’s response The Following is Important
The majority of the metals being removed prior to the chelating step in the current product-by-process does not affect the amount of soaps (FFA-Na) being formed. The amount of sodium EDTA that is required to chelate the remaining metals is dictated by the amount of FAA and remaining metals due to the free fatty acids (FFA) first reacting with the sodium of the sodium EDTA.
See Deffense column 3, lines 20-40.
Concerning the claimed invention not requiring an acid, the claims are directed to a product.
Concerning Deffense teaching away from the process, once again the claims are directed to a product.
Concerning the sediment making high shear mixing difficult and expensive… these are not limitations in the claims and are process steps. As a reminder, the claims are directed to a product.
Concerning the double patenting rejections, these were modified to address the claim amendments.
For the reasons stated above the obviousness rejection is maintained/modified as set forth below.
Claim Interpretation
The following modifications to the claim interpretations were necessitated by amendments. The claims are directed to a product. The process steps are interpreted to be product by process limitations and are not given patentable weight, MPEP 2113.
The claimed product is further defined as follows. “Where the
degummed LLC is inedible and contains less than 10 parts per million phosphorus,
while retaining the majority of the free fatty acids in the LCC”.
The inedible nature of the claimed composition is a negative proviso of an intended use without further structural characteristics that define inedible. The claims do not signify what structural characteristics render the product inedible. Nor does the original disclosure.
Moreover, using the current product for energy use requires much deeper level of contaminant removal than do the edible oil (top of page 14 specification). Herein, the less pure can be used for consumption. This does not imply a more highly pure product is less suitable for consumption but rather more suitable for energy use.
A description of the structural characteristics that render the starting material and the product inedible are missing in the original disclosure. Therefore, structural characteristics that define this limitation are as well missing.
Finally the claimed product must be obtainable from a specific starting material. For example, a product found only in fish oil cannot be obtained from beef tallow.
Newly Applied Rejections/Objections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, in line 1 and line three from the bottom recites the limitation “LLC”. This should be spelled “LCC”. Appropriate correction is required. Additionally, the first use of “LLC” should be in parentheses and written as “LCC” and preceded with the phrase “lipid-containing compound”. The second use of “LCC” in line 2 of claim 1 does not need the parentheses nor the preceding phrase “lipid-containing compound”.
Claims 4 and 27 are canceled. However, the claim language is still present. There is no reason to keep the limitations of a canceled claim. The wording/limitations of the claims should be deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-26 and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to natural phenomenon without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) “a degummed LCC where the degummed LLC (spelling) is inedible and contains less than 10 parts per million phosphorus, while retaining the majority of the free fatty acids in the LCC”. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claimed subject matter does not contain markedly different characteristics compared to what occurs in nature. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In the instant case the claims are directed to a purified/degummed lipid-containing compound (LCC). The current degummed LCC does not contain markedly different characteristics over the unpurified form found in nature. Abhari et al. (US PGPub 2022/0033731, Published 02-2022)
The current specification recites in paragraph 67 that the purified LCC may be used as a renewable fuel. However, this does not constitute markedly different characteristics over the unpurified form found in nature. Degumming/purifying the lipids with free fatty acid (FFA) found in nature does not alter the lipids nor the free fatty acids. There is just an isolation thereof. MPEP 2106.04(c) II. C. 2. not all changes in characteristics will rise to the level of a marked difference.
The claimed degummed LCC has free fatty acid (FFA). However, so does the impure non-degummed LCC. Removing phosphorous, metals and other impurities from the lipids with FFA found in nature dose not bestow the purified/degummed lipids with any markedly different characteristics.
The specification does not identify any markedly different characteristics of the
purified/degummed LCC with FFA over the LCC with FFA found in nature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-3, 5-26 and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a new matter rejection.
Limitations of “inedible oil”, “more than 50% triglycerides”, “over 50 parts per million phosphorous”, “contains less than 10 parts per million phosphorous” are not found in the original disclosure.
Concerning the inedible limitation of the degummed LCC product, optimized
products for energy use rather than human consumption is contemplated in paragraph [0004]. However, this statement does not suggest the optimized products are inedible. Energy use and human consumption is an intended use. Edible products are contemplated throughout the disclosure. However, the word “inedible” cannot be found. Nor are specific structural characteristics of the virgin/degummed LCC’s of product LCC that qualify the current starting materials and current product inedible or that can be utilized to distinguish virgin/degummed and/pr the product LCC’s from those in the prior art.
Concerning inedible oil derived from animal or plants. This limitation is not recited nor contemplated in the original disclosure.
Plant- and animal-derived oil feedstocks are cited in paragraph [0031] of the specification. However, these derived oil feedstocks are not stated to be inedible or edible.
Concerning the limitation of more than 50% triglycerides, this limitation is not
implicitly or explicitly recited in the original disclosure. 50 and/or 50% in conjunction with triglycerides is not found in the original disclosure. A percent range of triglycerides in the LCC or degummed product that contain 50% is not found in the original disclosure.
The limitation of over 50 parts per million phosphorous is not contemplated in the
original disclosure. This range includes 10,000 ppm or 1 percent and/or higher. This
range is not found in the original disclosure.
Concerning the less than 10 parts per million phosphorous, claim 7 recites “total metal content below 10 ppm”. The specification paragraph 22 recites “Metals, including phosphorus containing compounds, iron, magnesium, sodium, and calcium (either as
Compounds or elements), are naturally occurring in both plant and animal-derived lipid
feedstocks. These metals can cause rapid fouling of the catalyst, even when found in trace volumes (e.g., as low as 1-10 parts per million)”.
Herein “phosphorous containing compounds” are contemplated as “naturally occurring”. However, metals are contemplated as low as 1-10 parts per million. Phosphorous is not.
Applicants remarks filed 09/14/2026 do not point to support for the above new matter.
Examiner’s Note: The following support for the remainder of the amendments are as follows.
The LCC has more than 2% free fatty acid product par. [0007]
Majority of free fatty acid [0079].
Claims 1-3, 5-26 and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a chelator that does not produce a fatty acid salt, does not reasonably provide enablement for all chelators. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure meets the enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, have been described in In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988). Among these factors are: 1) scope or breadth of the claims; 2) nature of the invention; 3) relative level of skill possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art; 4) state of, or the amount of knowledge in, the prior art; 5) level or degree of predictability, or a lack thereof, in the art; 6) amount of guidance or direction provided by the inventor; 7) presence or absence of working examples; and 8) quantity of experimentation required to make and use the claimed invention based upon the content of the supporting disclosure. When the above factors are weighed, it is the Examiner’s position that one skilled in the art could not practice the invention without undue experimentation.
1) Scope or breadth of the claims
Claim 1 is directed to any chelator being used while retaining the majority of the free fatty acids in the LCC.
2) Nature of the invention
The nature of the invention is directed to a process to degum a lipid containing compound (LCC) using at least one chelate while retaining the majority of the free fatty acid.
3) Relative level of skill possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art
MPEP 2141.03 states (in part), “A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 167 LEd2d 705, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). “[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle.” Id. Office personnel may also take into account “the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” Id. At 1396, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. The “hypothetical person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988) (The Board disagreed with the examiner’s definition of one of ordinary skill in the art (a doctorate level engineer or scientist working at least 40 hours per week in semiconductor research or development), finding that the hypothetical person is not definable by way of credentials, and that the evidence in the application did not support the conclusion that such a person would require a doctorate or equivalent knowledge in science or engineering.).
4) State of, or the amount of knowledge in, the prior art
The art teach “there must be taken into account the fact that the free carboxylic acids will react first with the tetrasodium EDTA salt to provide the corresponding salt and tri-sodium EDTA. The latter will then complex the metals bound to the phospholipids.
See Derrense (US Patent 6,407,271, Patent date 06-2002) column 3, lines 30-35.
Thus, free fatty acids (FFA) will not exist but will exist as carboxylates no matter the amount of metals being treated with sodium EDTA.
5) Level or degree of predictability, or a lack thereof, in the art
The state of the art fails to support the proposition that any chelator will remove
unwanted metals and allow for the retention of the majority of the free fatty acids in the
LCC. For example, Derrense teach the formation of the salt of the free fatty acid when using the salt of EDTA chelator.
Upon producing the salt of the free fatty acid, a soapstock is formed and the free fatty acids do not remain in the LCC. See paragraph 26 of the specification. [0026] “centrifuging to generate a clean oil and a waste stream including soapstock (free fatty acids in a form complexed with an alkali metal, typically sodium)”. Note: Derrense teach the free carboxylic acids will react first with the tetrasodium EDTA salt to provide the corresponding salt. Thus, one can reasonably conclude the carboxylic acid salts taught by Derrense will be made from the salt of EDTA (chelator).
Moreover, any separation of the aqueous will remove the carboxylates. See paragraph 26 of the specification. [0026] “centrifuging to generate a clean oil and a waste stream including soapstock (free fatty acids in a form complexed with an alkali metal, typically sodium)”. Note: the current process removes water from the oil phase post chelation. [0056] In a second Centrifugation state 324 (Centrifuge 2) the chelate-mixed oil is centrifuged to remove the water phase 326. The removed water may contain the majority of the remaining gums.
Alternatively of the soaps are not separated, carboxylates will exist and not the claimed FFA.
Additionally, see Abhari et al. (US PGPub 2022/0033731, Published 02-2022).
Abhari et al. goes on to teach a high alkalinity when using a carboxylate forming chelator.
From the above, the predictability of the use of any chelator to retain FFA is low.
6) Amount of guidance or direction provided by the inventor
Applicant was required to provide in the specification additional guidance and
direction with respect to how to use the claimed subject matter in order for the application to be enabled with respect to the full scope of the claimed invention.
Applicant teaches how to retain a majority of the free fatty acid on paragraph 79 of the specification.
“This partial neutralization ensures a majority of free fatty acid in the mixture is not converted into soapstock”.
The partial neutralization is as follows (See paragraph 79 of the specification).
“In some embodiments, the pH of the mixture may be increased above the pKa
of phosphaditic acid (PA), but below that of full neutralization. The pH of the mixture
may be increased to the range of 2.5 pH to 7 pH. The pH of the mixture may be
increased to the range of 4 pH to 6 pH”. Herein, presumably the free carboxylic acids remain as free carboxylic acids.
As a reminder, chelation is post partial neutralization. See current specification paragraphs [0079] to [0082]. Additionally, Abhari et al. teach elevated alkalinity when utilizing Na4EDTA.
Examples of chelators in the specification are as follows. The specification discloses sodium salts of Ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA); potassium salts of EDTA; EDTA; polymers containing carboxylic acids; sodium chloride; paragraph 7 and sodium sulfate EDTA chelating compound is paragraphs 70, Na or K salts of EDTA paragraph 82, polycarboxylic acids and polymers containing such acids paragraph 83, citric, oxalic, tartaric, or other organic acids in paragraph 76.
7) Presence or absence of working examples
The specification fails to provide scientific data and working embodiments with
respect to working examples of chelators being responsible for retaining the majority of the free fatty acids in the LCC.
Working examples of adding the chelate without forming soapstocks is not present.
8) Quantity of experimentation required to make and use the claimed invention based upon the content of the supporting disclosure
MPEP 2164.03 [R-2] states: The amount of guidance or direction needed to enable the invention is inversely related to the amount of knowledge in the state of the art as well as the predictability in the art. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). The “amount of guidance or direction” refers to that information in the application, as originally filed, that teaches exactly how to make or use the invention. The more that is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention, how to make, and how to use the invention, and the more predictable the art is, the less information needs to be explicitly stated in the specification. In contrast, if little is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention and the art is unpredictable, the specification would need more detail as to how to make and use the invention in order to be enabling. >See, e.g., Chiron Corp. v. Genentech Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1254, 70 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have to conduct a myriad number of experiments with any and all chelators to ensure the free carboxylic acids remain and are not turned into salts and/or are not removed from the LCC. This is especially difficult when the art teaches that free carboxylic acids are turned into salts when using a salt of a chelator. The breadth of the claims includes all chelators.
As a result of Applicant’s lack of disclosure of working examples of useful chelators and the unpredictable nature of the art, one of ordinary skill in the art would be required to conduct an undue amount of experimentation to figure out which chelators might work in the method.
Genetech, 108 F.3d at 1366 states that “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion” and “patent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable.” (Genentech, Inc. v. Novo Nordisk, A/S, 108 F.3d 1361, 1365, 42 USPQ2d 1001, 1004 (Fed. Cir. 1997)).
Claims 1-3, 5-26 and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “majority ” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “majority” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 1, second line from the bottom recites “the majority of the free fatty acid in the LCC”. Claim 1 recites the LCC contains more than 2% free fatty acid. Thus a majority of the original 2% free fatty acid appears to remain in the degummed LCC. However, a majority may be 90% or 95% or 99%. Without clarity or a definition of “majority” the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 10-26 and 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abhari et al. (USPGPub 2022/0033731, Published 02-2022).
Abhari et al. disclose the following chelated fats oil and grease (FOG). Wherein metals and phosphorous are substantially removed.
Abhari et al. disclose the chelated FOG is utilized for biodiesel production (inedible) via hydrodeoxygenation (par. 24). With phosphorous below the currently claimed concentrations and the metals at low concentrations and the utility of the chelated FOG being identical to the current utility. Therefore, the product of the prior art is interpreted to be the product of the current invention.
Concerning the retention of the majority of the free fatty acids, the NH4H2EDTA is disclosed by Abhari et al. not to produce soaps (Na-Fatty Acid) (par. 110).
To ensure the amount of retained FFA is equivalent or more to the majority being claimed, FFA must be in the starting material. See paragraphs 105 and 109 of Abhari et al. wherein FFA was approx. 9.5 wt.%. The initial phosphorous content was disclosed to be 22.8 wppm (Abhari et al. par. 105-106 Table 1). However, without evidence to the contrary the concentration of phosphorus in the starting material is not interpreted to affect the final product of the prior art. This is because Abhari et al. processing FOG with above 20 wppm phosphorous. See Abhari et al. paragraph 24.
This anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-26 and 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abhari et al. (USPGPub 2022/0033731, Published 02-2022), Saint John’s (How to Render Beef Tallow, pp. 1-11, Published 11-2020) and Appropedia (pp. 1-2, Published 04-2006).
Scope of the Prior Art
The teachings of Abhari et al. are in the above 102 rejection and are incorporated by reference.
Additional teachings are as follows. Abhari et al. teach sources of animal fats utilized in the processes are from edible tallow (page 9, par. 62).
Ascertain the Differences
Abhari et al. does not teach the use of rendered fat.
Secondary References
Saint John’s teach tallow is rendered beef fat (p. 1). Appropedia teach Beef Tallow melts above 30C (p. 2).
Obviousness
It would have been prima facie obvious for an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the rendered beef fat/beef tallow taught by Appropedia and Saint John’s as a source of an animal fats in the processes taught by Abhari et al. to arrive at the current invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have done so to satisfy a source of animal fats. A reasonable expectation of success stemming from the fact that animal fats can be utilized in the processes of Abhari et al. and Beef Tallow melts above 30C see Appropedia page 2.
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 10-26 and 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abhari et al. (USPGPub 2022/0033731, Published 02-2022) and Taipabu et al. (Production of renewable fuels and chemicals from fats, oils, and grease (FOG) using homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysts: Design, validation, and optimization, Chemical Engineering Journal, 424, 130198, pp. 1-19 Published 05-2021).
Scope of the Prior Art
The teachings of Abhari et al. are in the above 102 and 103 rejections and are
incorporated by reference.
Additional teachings are as follows. Abhari et al. teach compositions utilized in the processes can contain higher than 5 wt.% free fatty acids (page 9, par. 68).
Ascertain the Differences
Abhari et al. does not teach the oleic acid being higher than 5 wt.%.
Secondary References
Taipabu et al. teach yellow and brown grease having over 5 wt.% oleic acid.
Obviousness
It would have been prima facie obvious for an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the yellow and brown grease tallow taught by Taipabu et al. as a source of LCC having greater than 2% oleic acid in the processes taught by Abhari et al. to arrive at the current invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have done so to satisfy a source of FOGs having high free fatty acid (FFA) content. The expectation of success stemming from the fact that FOGs having high FFA can be utilized in the processes of Abhari et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-26 and 28-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 18/368,409. 18/368,409 was allowed 09/30/2026, in view of Abhari et al. (USPGPub 2022/0033731, Published 02-2022), Saint John’s (How to Render Beef Tallow, pp. 1-11, Published 11-2020), Appropedia (pp. 1-2, Published 04-2006) and Taipabu et al. (Production of renewable fuels and chemicals from fats, oils, and grease (FOG) using homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysts: Design, validation, and optimization, Chemical Engineering Journal, 424, 130198, pp. 1-19 Published 05-2021).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instantly claimed subject matter embraces or is embraced by the copending subject matter. For example, 18/368,409 claims the following.
18/368,409 does not claim the current product having the FFA. However, the prior art teach using LCC containing greater than 5% weight FFA. The teachings of the prior art cited in the rejection and in the above 102 and 103 rejections are incorporated by reference.
The methods of the copending application and those currently claimed are substantially identical. Substantially identical methods yield substantially identical products. See MPEP 2112.01 I. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Concerning current claims 6 and 7, these limitations are encompassed by claim 5 of 18/368,409. Current limitations of a FFA above 4% overlaps with the range above 2% as claimed in 18/368,409.
Concerning the phosphorous content below 10ppm, this range overlaps 3ppm in 18/368,409.
Concerning the claimed oleic acid, this is addressed using the prior art.
MPEP 2144.05 I.: “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).”
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the copending subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the
patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 5-26 and 28-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-39 of copending Application No. 18/507,845 in view of Abhari et al. (USPGPub 2022/0033731, Published 02-2022), Saint John’s (How to Render Beef Tallow, pp. 1-11, Published 11-2020), Appropedia (pp. 1-2, Published 04-2006) and Taipabu et al. (Production of renewable fuels and chemicals from fats, oils, and grease (FOG) using homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysts: Design, validation, and optimization, Chemical Engineering Journal, 424, 130198, pp. 1-19 Published 05-2021)
18/507,845 claims the following.
18/507,845 does not claim the FFA in the claimed product.
However, the prior art of record teach the claimed product. The teachings of the prior art cited in the above double patenting rejection and in the above 102 and 103 rejections are incorporated by reference.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the copending subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-26 and 28-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of copending Application No. 18/507,722 in view of Abhari et al. (USPGPub 2022/0033731, Published 02-2022), Saint John’s (How to Render Beef Tallow, pp. 1-11, Published 11-2020), Appropedia (pp. 1-2, Published 04-2006) and Taipabu et al. (Production of renewable fuels and chemicals from fats, oils, and grease (FOG) using homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysts: Design, validation, and optimization, Chemical Engineering Journal, 424, 130198, pp. 1-19 Published 05-2021).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instantly claimed subject matter embraces or is embraced by the copending subject matter.
18/507,722 claims the following.
18/507,722 does not claim the addition of the chelate in claim 1. However, 18/507,722 claims the following.
18/507,722 does not claim the FFA in the claimed product.
However, the prior art of record teach the claimed product. The teachings of the prior art cited in the above double patenting rejection and in the above 102 and 103 rejections are incorporated by reference.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the copending subject matter.
Claims 1-3, 5-26 and 28-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18/368,435 (notice of allowance mailed 09/30/2026) in view of Abhari et al. (USPGPub 2022/0033731, Published 02-2022), Saint John’s (How to Render Beef Tallow, pp. 1-11, Published 11-2020), Appropedia (pp. 1-2, Published 04-2006) and Taipabu et al. (Production of renewable fuels and chemicals from fats, oils, and grease (FOG) using homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysts: Design, validation, and optimization, Chemical Engineering Journal, 424, 130198, pp. 1-19 Published 05-2021).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instantly claimed subject matter embraces or is embraced by the copending subject matter.
18/368,435 claims the following.
18/368,435 does not claim the addition of the chelate in claim 1. However, 18/368,435 claims the following.
18/368,435 does not claim the FFA in the claimed product.
However, the prior art of record teach the claimed product. The teachings of the prior art cited in the above double patenting rejection and in the above 102 and 103 rejections are incorporated by reference.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the copending subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-26 and 28-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of copending Application No. 18/368,454 in view of Abhari et al. (USPGPub 2022/0033731, Published 02-2022), Saint John’s (How to Render Beef Tallow, pp. 1-11, Published 11-2020), Appropedia (pp. 1-2, Published 04-2006) and Taipabu et al. (Production of renewable fuels and chemicals from fats, oils, and grease (FOG) using homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysts: Design, validation, and optimization, Chemical Engineering Journal, 424, 130198, pp. 1-19 Published 05-2021).
18/368,454 claims the following.
18/368,454 does not claim the FFA in the claimed product.
However, the prior art of record teach the claimed product. The teachings of the prior art cited in the above double patenting rejection and in the above 102 and 103 rejections are incorporated by reference.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the copending subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.G.D/Examiner, Art Unit 1692 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625