Restriction
In view of applicant’s remarks made on 02/23/2025, the restriction requirement dated 12/15/2025 is made final. Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 12-14 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 2/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 12-14 are withdrawn. Claim 15 is cancelled. Applicant’s amendment to the claims have overcome 112 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action notified on 12/15/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
3D modeling unit, recited in claims 1, 4; and comparison unit, recited in claims 6, 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Popovic (US 20170172663).
Regarding claim 1, Popovic discloses a cavity modeling system (FIG. 1) for an intraoperative creation of a 3D model of a cavity created by resection of tissue in a patient during a surgical intervention, the cavity modeling system comprising:
a visual displaying device;
a visualization unit (an imaging device 105; FIG.1; para [0026]) with a distal imaging head, which is adapted to be inserted intracorporeally into the patient and to create and to digitally provide an intracorporeal image of at least a partial region of the cavity of the patient via the distal imaging head (FIG.1);
a 3D modeling unit (The operative images 135 are employed to build a three-dimensional model 136; Para [0029]) adapted to create a digital 3D model of an inner surface of the cavity and to augment and adapt the digital 3D model by a first image in a first image pose and by at least one second image in a second image pose (The images from the imaging device are stitched to form a composite image and registered with a digital three dimensional model; Para [0011]; The composite endoscope image 206 is registered with the 3D renderings, 3D model with the internal camera images; Para [0044]),
the 3D modeling unit being further adapted to output a view of the digital 3D model of the cavity via a visual displaying device to provide a user with a real-time intraoperative visualization of the cavity (Real-time 3D model is displayed. Realtime images are used for generating the image; FIG. 1; Para [0011]- [0013]);
a storage unit (Memory 116; FIG.1) that stores preoperative three-dimensional images (Preoperative or intraoperative images taken using an imaging device 110; FIG.1; para [0028], [0029]) comprising at least an intervention region with a tissue to be resected (Anatomical target 131 can be resected and can include an intervention region. FIG.1); and
a comparison unit adapted to compare the digital 3D model of the inner surface of the cavity with a pre-operative 3D image of the tissue to be resected (Overlay is generated by comparing the 3D model of IMA (preoperative image) and internal view of the IMA using the camera of the endoscope, the endoscope image; Overlay 107; Para [0034]; Also see FIG. 1; System 100; para [0028]-[0029], [0032], [0030], [0039]) and output a comparison, via the visual displaying device (See the panoramic composite image 206, FIG. 1), superimposing the 3D model of the inner surface of the cavity and the pre-operative 3D image of the tissue to be resected (Panoramic stitching of 3D model of Internal Mammary Artery (IMA) images and the internal view of the IMA by the endoscope is performed (see, e.g., FIG. 2, image 206). Para [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Popovic discloses wherein the 3D modeling unit is adapted to calculate a three-dimensional inner surface of a region of the cavity (A three-dimensional model 136 including virtual internal cross-section or internal view images along the anatomical target 131. Para [0029]) or of an entirety of the cavity via a picture analysis based on the first image in the first image pose and the at least one second image in the second image pose (FIG. 2; Para [0033]).
Regarding claim 9, Popovic discloses a robot with a robot arm (robotic 108; FIG. 1) to which the visualization unit is connected as an end effector (imaging device 105; FIG. 1; Para [0026]), and a control unit of the cavity modeling system is adapted to control the robot and thus a position of the distal imaging head of the visualization unit (FIG. 1; para [0026]).
Regarding claim 11, Popovic discloses wherein the visualization unit (an imaging device 105) is configured as an endoscope and has a camera (device 102; FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popovic (US 20170172663) in view of Shmayahu (US 20210386491).
Regarding claim 2, Popovic does not expressly disclose a tracking system adapted to track a position and an orientation of the distal imaging head of the visualization unit in space in order to determine an image pose of the intracorporeal image.
Shmayahu is directed to a system for endoscopic surgery (abstract) and teaches a tracking system adapted to track a position and an orientation of the distal imaging head of the visualization unit in space in order to determine an image pose of the intracorporeal image (At least one controller is configured to track the pose of the endoscopic camera and the pose of the surgical end effector; 3D navigational coordinate system 505; Para [0025], [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Popovic to include a tracking system in accordance with the teaching of Shmayahu so that distal portion of the endoscope could be tracked during surgery.
Regarding claim 3, Popovic as modified teaches wherein the tracking system comprises at least a navigation unit (3D navigational coordinate system 505) with an external navigation camera (endoscopic camera 40; para [0099], [0102]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popovic (US 20170172663) in view of Hiereth (US 20190099612).
Regarding claim 5, Popovic does not expressly disclose wherein the visualization unit comprises a fluorescence imaging unit with a spotlight of a predefined wavelength for excitation and an image sensor for detection of a particular fluorescence.
Hiereth is directed to an endoscope (abstract) and teaches wherein the visualization unit comprises a fluorescence imaging unit (Endoscope 2; Sensitizer molecules are made to fluoresce; Para [0054]) with a spotlight of a predefined wavelength (A spotlight can be generated by light of certain wavelengths, e.g. light for Narrow Band Imaging (NBI) and/or light for the excitation of a photosensitizer for Photodynamic Diagnostics (PDD). Para [0015]) for excitation and an image sensor for detection of a particular fluorescence (An image sensor picks up the radiation reflected by the tissue; abstract; Para [0058]; The illumination light such as Narrow Band Imaging (NBI) is used for imaging. Fluorescence is generated. Para [0054], [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Popovic to include a fluorescence imaging unit/sensor in accordance with the teaching of Hiereth so that a florescence could be detected during surgery.
Claim(s) 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popovic (US 20170172663) in view of Nagata (US 20200243184).
Regarding claim 6, Popovic discloses wherein the comparison unit is further adapted to compare the digital 3D model of the inner surface of the cavity with a pre-operative three-dimensional outer- surface model of a tissue to be resected of the preoperative image (Overlay is generated by comparing the 3D model of IMA (preoperative image) and internal view of the IMA using the camera of the endoscope, the endoscope image; Overlay 107; Para [0034]; Also see FIG. 1; System 100; para [0028]-[0029], [0032], [0030], [0039]; Panoramic stitching of 3D model of Internal Mammary Artery (IMA) images and the internal view of the IMA by the endoscope is performed (see, e.g., FIG. 2, image 206). Para [0034]).
Popovic does not expressly disclose outputting a comparison via the visual displaying device, so that regions of under or over-resection are indicated to the user.
Nagata is directed to medical image processing apparatus for visualizing a tissue and teaches outputting a comparison via the visual displaying device, so that regions of under or over-resection are indicated to the user (Generate a rendering image including the tissue cut along the cut surface; Para [0065] and displaying on a display unit display information including the rendering image in which a contour line of the tissue on the cut surface is highlighted. A surface rendering image GZ3 including a bronchus 31, a pulmonary artery 32, and a pulmonary vein 33; Abstract; Para [0065], [0093]; Display of highlighted cut surfaces F3 of an organ Z1 to be cut. Para [0068], FIG. 10, annotated below.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Popovic in accordance with the teaching of Nagata so that cut surface is displayed during surgery and could be compared with the original image.
Regarding claim 7, Popovic disclose wherein the comparison unit is adapted to compare a three-dimensional shape of the digital 3D model of the inner surface of the cavity and of the preoperative three-dimensional outer-surface model (The composite image 124 can be used to register the endoscope image (134) and preoperative or intraoperative 3D imaging (3D model 136). Para [0038]) in order to illustrate a resection via a shape comparison in a cavity changing due to soft tissue (Popovic: When the preoperative or intraoperative 3D images are compared, they will automatically compare a resection in the area. Nagata: Cut area is shown in the image; FIG. 10) as a superimposed representation of the digital 3D model of the inner surface of the cavity and of the pre-operative three-dimensional outer-surface model.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popovic (US 20170172663) in view of Jafari (US 20230060639).
Regarding claim 10, Popovic does not expressly disclose wherein the control unit is adapted to control the position of the distal imaging head via three position parameters and an orientation of the distal imaging head via three orientation parameters, wherein a first subset of the three position parameters and the three orientation parameters is assigned to an automatic control and is automatically executed by the control unit and a second subset of the three position parameters and the three orientation parameters is assigned to a manual control and is controllable by the user via an input unit.
Jafari is directed to robotic systems and apparatuses (abstract) and teaches wherein the control unit is adapted to control the position of the distal imaging head via three position parameters (The systems provide advanced three-dimensional micro robotic navigation with artificial intelligence support and real-time endoluminal imaging to decrease the need for fluoroscopy; para [0030]) and an orientation of the distal imaging head via three orientation parameters, wherein a first subset of the three position parameters and the three orientation parameters is assigned to an automatic control and is automatically executed by the control unit and a second subset of the three position parameters and the three orientation parameters is assigned to a manual control and is controllable by the user via an input unit (3D coordinates are controlled; AI incorporation will allow the operator to switch between AI-guided navigation mode and a manual control mode for surgery interventions. Para [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Popovic to include artificial intelligence (AI) in accordance with the teaching of Popovic so that AI could be used during surgery to assist with surgical procedure.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popovic (US 20170172663) in view of Wang (US 20160163091).
Regarding claim 8, Popovic discloses wherein the visual displaying device displays a view of the digital 3D model of the inner surface of the cavity with detected regions with intraoperative images via the visual displaying device in real time and with remaining regions that have not yet been detected (When composite image and real time image are displayed, detected and undetected images are displayed. A three-dimensional model 136 including virtual internal cross-section or internal view images along the anatomical target 131 are provided. FIGS. 1-3; Para [0029]).
Popovic does not expressly disclose providing the user with instructions for detecting regions still to be detected, in order to provide the user with an intuitive, complete detection of the cavity.
Wang is directed to electronic apparatus and a method for incremental pose estimation and photographing (abstract) and teaches providing the user with instructions for detecting regions still to be detected, in order to provide the user with an intuitive, complete detection of the cavity (Projection module 752 re-projects the images captured by the electronic apparatus onto the new surface to identify the covered regions and the uncovered regions on the new surface, so as to implement the subsequent prompting; para [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Popovic to provide user assistance with an intuitive detection of new regions in accordance with the teaching of Wang so the new area could be detected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments submitted on 02/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons stated below.
On page 8 of the remarks, the applicant states – “Popovic does not appear to further describe creating a 3D model of a cavity created by resection of tissue in a patient during a surgical intervention.” However, the claim 1 does not recite the feature - “creating a 3D model of a cavity created by resection of tissue.” Claim 1 recites features with reference to the “tissue to be resected.” The claim recites – “a comparison unit adapted to compare the digital 3D model of the inner surface of the cavity with a pre-operative 3D image of the tissue to be resected, and to output a comparison, via the visual displaying device, superimposing the 3D model of the inner surface of the cavity and the pre- operative 3D image of the tissue to be resected.” Therefore, the applicant’s argument in regards to the above features are not persuasive because the feature is not yet recited in claim 1.
Popovic discloses a storage unit (memory 116) that stores preoperative three-dimensional images comprising at least an intervention region with a tissue to be resected (Overlay is generated by using the 3D model of the Internal Mammary Artery (IMA) (Preoperative 3D image) and internal view of the IMA using the camera of the endoscope (3D model of inner surface of the cavity); See overlay 107; Para [0034]; Also see FIG. 1; System 100; para [0028]- [0029], [0032], [0030], [0039]; and a comparison unit (image processing 148, overlay 107; FIG.1) adapted to compare the digital 3D model of the inner surface of the cavity with a pre-operative 3D image of the tissue to be resected (When the overlay is generated, the images are compared.).
Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected. See 102 rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANKAR RAJ GHIMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795 3/16/26