DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Calvert et al. (US 9,774,696 B1, hereinafter “Calvert”) in view of Lanes et al. (US 2008/0097731 A1, hereinafter “Lanes”), and Li et al. (US 20140162692 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding Claim 1, Calvert discloses: one or more non-transitory media having instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause performance of a plurality of operations, the operations comprising: [Col. 2, lines 57-61], “The invention can be implemented in numerous ways, including as a process; an apparatus; a system; a composition of matter; a computer program product embodied on a computer readable storage medium; and/or a processor, such as a processor configured to execute instructions”
receiving location information corresponding to each of a plurality of GPS-enabled devices, [Col.5, lines 43-45], “receive location event information …such as the GPS coordinates”, and further [Col. 10, lines 27-29], “location information is received from a stream of device updates received from various mobile devices”
determining a polygon-shaped geographical region based on the location information corresponding to each of the plurality of GPS-enabled devices, [Col. 8, lines 15-17], “convert a latitude/longitude …into a set of polygon boundaries”, and [Col. 5, lines 56-57], “custom polygons can also be designed or used to define a region of interest”
wherein a target device is located within the polygon-shaped geographical region, [Col. 40, lines 6-7], “devices that were located within a geographical region inside the determined polygon”
defining a location, of the target device, as a function of the polygon-shaped geographical region, [Col. 9, lines 47-51], “a list of polygon identifiers (e.g., names, numeric identifiers, keys, etc. of polygon boundaries) corresponding to the determined polygons are returned”. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the target device is the device whose polygon membership is determined, and Calvert defines the location of that device by returning a polygon identifier corresponding to the polygon in which the device is located [Col. 9, lines 47-51].
However, Calvert does not teach determining the polygon perimeter based on device locations.
In the same field endeavor, Lanes discloses: the polygon-shaped geographical region being determined such that each of the plurality of GPS-enabled devices is located along a perimeter of the polygon-shaped geographical region, [0077], “draws line segments around the perimeter of points that create a polygon”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert by specially proving the polygon-shaped geographical region being determined such that each of the plurality of GPS-enabled devices is located along a perimeter of the polygon-shaped geographical region, as taught by Lanes, in order to define the perimeter of the polygon using device location points.
The combination of Calvert and Lanes do
In the same field endeavor, Li discloses: transmitting the location to a configuration server, [0022], “The mobile device transmits current location data (message 204) to the geofencing server 20”, and further, [0053], “The geofence API …communicates the registered data …via the Internet …to the geofence server 20 for monitoring of the geofences”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Calvert and Lanes by specially providing transmitting the location to a configuration server, as taught by Li, in order to manage geographic regions.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Calvert, Lanes and Li discloses the limitations of Claim 2 as recited above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Calvert further discloses:
wherein defining the location, of the target device, as a function of the polygon-shaped geographical region comprises: defining the location, of the target device, as the polygon-shaped geographical region, [Col.5 lines 53-54], “polygons represent descriptive boundaries of locations”, and [Col. 9, lines 47-51], “a list of polygon identifiers (e.g., names, numeric identifiers, keys, etc. of polygon boundaries) corresponding to the determined polygons are returned”
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Calvert, Lanes and Li discloses the limitations of Claim 3 as recited above in the rejection of claim 1, Calvert teaches determining polygonal region corresponding to device location information, but Calvert and Li do not teach computing polygon vertices corresponding to device locations.
In the same field endeavor, Lanes discloses: wherein the polygon-shaped geographical region is computed such that each of the plurality of GPS-enabled devices are located at respective vertices of the polygon-shaped geographical region, [0077], “draws line segments around the perimeter of points that create a polygon”, and further, [0068], “finding the external points as exemplified by elements 401, 402 and 403”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Calvert and Li as specially providing computing polygon vertices corresponding to device locations, as taught by Lanes in order to compute the polygon-shaped geographical region such that device location points correspond to vertices of the polygon.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Calvert, Lanes and Li discloses the limitations of Claim 4 as recited above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Calvert discloses: wherein: the polygon-shaped geographical region corresponds to a footprint of a building floor that includes the target device, [Col. 5, lines 56-57], “custom polygons can also be designed or used to define a region of interest”, and [Col.5 lines 53-54], “polygons represent descriptive boundaries of locations”
However, the combination of Calvert and Li does not teach devices disposed along a building floor perimeter.
In the same field endeavor, Lanes discloses that a plurality of GPS-enabled devices are disposed along a perimeter wherein, [0077], “draws line segments around the perimeter of points that create a polygon”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Calvert and Li as specially providing devices disposed along a building floor perimeter, as taught by Lanes, in order to dispose the devices around perimeter of the building floor footprint.
The combination of Calvert and Lanes does not teach receiving broadcast messages from the plurality of GPS-enabled devices, each of the broadcast messages comprising at least a portion of the location information; receiving unicast messages from the plurality of GPS-enabled devices responsive to the target device transmitting a broadcast message for the location information.
In the same field endeavor, Li discloses: receiving broadcast messages from the plurality of GPS-enabled devices, each of the broadcast messages comprising at least a portion of the location information, [0022], “The mobile device transmits current location data (message 204) to the geofencing server 20”, and [0053], “The geofence API 540 communicates the registered data for regions, users, events, actions, etc. via the Internet 40 to the geofence server 20 for monitoring of the geofences”
receiving unicast messages from the plurality of GPS-enabled devices responsive to the target device transmitting a broadcast message for the location information, [0054], “The geofence daemon 550 retrieves nearby regions, …by receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence backend server 20 when a geofence condition is met”, and [0054], “ In other words, the geofence daemon 550 is configured to trigger a geofencing action in response to receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence server 20”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert and Lanes as specially providing receiving broadcast messages from the plurality of GPS-enabled devices, each of the broadcast messages comprising at least a portion of the location information; receiving unicast messages from the plurality of GPS-enabled devices responsive to the target device transmitting a broadcast message for the location information, as taught by Li, in order to exchange location information using broadcast messaging techniques and responsive unicast messages to return location-related information following an initial communication in the combined system.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Calvert, Lanes and Li discloses the limitations of Claim 5 as recited above in the rejection of claim 1. Calvert and Lanes do not teach receiving, from the configuration server, configuration data based on the location, and configuring the target device based on the configuration data.
In the same field endeavor, Li discloses: receiving, from the configuration server, configuration data based on the location, [0054], “The geofence daemon 550 retrieves nearby regions, users, events, actions, etc. by receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence backend server 20 when a geofence condition is met”
configuring the target device based on the configuration data, 0054], “ In other words, the geofence daemon 550 is configured to trigger a geofencing action in response to receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence server 20”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert and Lanes as specially providing receiving, from the configuration server, configuration data based on the location, and configuring the target device based on the configuration data, as taught by Li, in order to support location-based behavior and configure the target device based on server-provided configuration data to implement location-based functionality in the combined system.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Calvert, Lanes and Li discloses the of Claim 6 as recited above in the rejection of claim 5, Calvert and Lanes do not teach wherein the target device includes an access point; the configuration data comprises …a radio transmit power level range by the configuration server for use by the access point; the configuration data comprises … one or more frequencies to be used for communication by the access point; the configuration data comprises … a security policy associated with a building floor …and an access policy associated with the building floor.
In the same field endeavor, Li discloses: wherein the target device includes an access point, networked devise participating in geofencing systems and interacting with geofencing server to implement location-based behavior (Li [0022], [0053], [0054])
the configuration data comprises …a radio transmit power level range by the configuration server for use by the access point, [0054], “ the geofence daemon 550 is configured to trigger a geofencing action in response to receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence server 20”
the configuration data comprises … a security policy … [0054], “The geofence daemon 550 retrieves nearby regions, users, events, actions, etc. by receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence backend server 20 when a geofence condition is met”
…and an access policy …, [0054], “The geofence daemon 550 retrieves nearby regions, users, events, actions, etc.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert and Lanes as specially providing the target device includes an access point; the configuration data comprises …a radio transmit power level range by the configuration server for use by the access point; the configuration data comprises … one or more frequencies to be used for communication by the access point; the configuration data comprises … a security policy associated with a building floor …and an access policy associated with the building floor, as taught by Li, in order to configure transmit power levels of an access point based on server-provided configuration data to manage wireless operation within geographic region, communication frequencies of the access point based on server-provided configuration data and apply security and access policies to an access point based on server-provided configuration data associated with a building floor region.
Regarding Claim 8, Calvert discloses a method comprising: receiving location information from a plurality of GPS-enable devices, determining a polygon-shaped geographical region, defining a location of a target device as a function of the polygon-shaped geographical region, transmitting the location to a configuration server, and receiving configuration data. Calvert discloses: receiving location information corresponding to each of a plurality of GPS-enabled devices, [Col.5, lines 43-45], “receive location event information (e.g., from device updates received by device update listening engine 202), such as the GPS coordinates”, and [Col. 10, lines 27-29], “location information is received from a stream of device updates received from various mobile devices”
wherein a target device is located within the polygon-shaped geographical region, [Col. 40, lines 6-7], “devices that were located within a geographical region inside the determined polygon”
defining a location, of the target device, as a function of the polygon-shaped geographical region, [Col. 9, lines 47-51], “a list of polygon identifiers …corresponding to the determined polygons are returned”
determining a polygon-shaped geographical region based on the location information …such that each of the plurality of GPS-enabled devices is located along a perimeter, [Col. 8, lines 15-17], “convert a latitude/longitude …into a set of polygon boundaries”, and [Col. 5, lines 56-57], “custom polygons can also be designed or used to define a region of interest”
However, Calvert does not teach forming the perimeter from device locations.
In the same field endeavor, Lanes discloses: forming polygon boundaries from perimeter points, [0077], “draws line segments around the perimeter of points that create a polygon”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert as specially providing forming the perimeter from device locations, as taught by Lanes, in order to define the polygon perimeter using device location.
The combination of Calvert and Lanes does not teach transmitting the location to a configuration server; receiving, from the configuration server, configuration data based on the location; and configuring the target device based on the configuration data.
In the same field endeavor, Li discloses: transmitting the location to a configuration server, [0022], “The mobile device transmits current location data (message 204) to the geofencing server 20”
receiving, from the configuration server, configuration data based on the location, [0054], “The geofence daemon 550 retrieves nearby regions, …by receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence backend server 20 when a geofence condition is met”
configuring the target device based on the configuration data, [0054], “ the geofence daemon 550 is configured to trigger a geofencing action in response to receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence server 20”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert and Lanes as specially providing transmitting the location to a configuration server; receiving, from the configuration server, configuration data based on the location; and configuring the target device based on the configuration data, as taught by Li, in order to support server-based management of geographic regions, receive configuration data from the server based on the determined location.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Calvert, Lanes, and Li discloses the limitations of Claim 9 as recited above in the rejection of claim 8. In addition, Calvert further discloses: defining the location, of the target device, as a function of the polygon-shaped geographical region comprises: defining the location, of the target device, as the polygon-shaped geographical region, [Col.5 lines 53-54], “polygons represent descriptive boundaries of locations”, and [Col. 9, lines 47-51], “a list of polygon identifiers …corresponding to the determined polygons are returned”
However, the combination of Calvert and Li does not teach computing a polygon vertices from device location.
In the same field endeavor, Lanes discloses: the polygon-shaped geographical region is computed such that each of the plurality of GPS- enabled devices are located at respective vertices of the polygon-shaped geographical region, [0068], “finding the external points as exemplified by elements 401, 402 and 403”, and [0077], “draws line segments around the perimeter of points that create a polygon”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Calvert and Li as specially providing computing a polygon vertices from device location, as taught by Lanes, in order to compute polygon vertices from device location.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Calvert, Lanes, and Li discloses the limitations of Claim 10 as recited above in the rejection of claim 8. In addition, Calvert discloses: wherein receiving broadcast messages from the plurality of GPS-enabled devices, each of the broadcast messages comprising at least a portion of the location information, [Col.5, lines 43-45], “receive location event information …such as the GPS coordinates”, and [Col. 10, lines 27-29], “location information is received from a stream of device updates received from various mobile devices”
However, Calvert and Lanes do not teach specify broadcast messaging; receiving unicast messages from the plurality of GPS-enabled devices responsive to the target device transmitting a broadcast message for the location information.
In the same field endeavor, Li discloses: [0022], “The mobile device transmits current location data (message 204) to the geofencing server 20”
receiving unicast messages from the plurality of GPS-enabled devices responsive to the target device transmitting a broadcast message for the location information, [0054], “The geofence daemon 550 retrieves nearby regions, …by receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence backend server 20 when a geofence condition is met”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert and Lanes as specially providing specify broadcast messaging; receiving unicast messages from the plurality of GPS-enabled devices responsive to the target device transmitting a broadcast message for the location information, as taught by Li, in order to efficiently collect location data from multiple devices in the combined system and use responsive uncast messages to convey location information following a broadcast request, as this represents a predictable use of known wireless message technique.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Calvert, Lanes, and Li discloses the limitations of Claim 11 as recited above in the rejection of claim 8. Calvert and Lanes do not teach wherein the target device includes an access point; the configuration data comprises …a radio transmit power level range approved by the configuration server for use by the access point; the configuration data comprises …one or more frequencies approved by the configuration server for use by the target device; the configuration data comprises …a security policy and an access policy associated with the building floor.
In the same field endeavor, Li discloses: wherein the target device includes an access point, [0022], “The mobile device transmits current location data (message 204) to the geofencing server 20”
the configuration data comprises …a radio transmit power level range approved by the configuration server for use by the access point, [0054], “ the geofence daemon 550 is configured to trigger a geofencing action in response to receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence server 20”
the configuration data comprises …one or more frequencies approved by the configuration server for use by the target device, [0053], “The geofence API 540 communicates the registered data for regions, users, events, actions, etc.”
the configuration data comprises …a security policy and an access policy associated with the building floor, [0053], “The geofence API 540 communicates the registered data for regions, users, events, actions, etc.”, and [0054], “ the geofence daemon 550 is configured to trigger a geofencing action in response to receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence server 20”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert and Lanes as specially providing wherein the target device includes an access point; the configuration data comprises …a radio transmit power level range approved by the configuration server for use by the access point; the configuration data comprises …one or more frequencies approved by the configuration server for use by the target device; the configuration data comprises …a security policy and an access policy associated with the building floor, as taught by Li, in order to control wireless communications based on location and manage wireless operation within a geographic region, manage wireless communications within the region, and apply security and access policies to the target device based on server provided configuration data associated with the building floor.
Regarding Claim 13, with respect to Claim 13, the combination of Calvert and Lanes teaches the limitations of Claim 13; Li is relied upon only for the dependent claims discussed below. Calvert discloses: a system comprising a target device, the target device having one or more processors, [Col. 2, lines 57-61], “The invention can be implemented in numerous ways, including as a process; an apparatus; a system; a composition of matter; a computer program product embodied on a computer readable storage medium; and/or a processor, such as a processor configured to execute instructions”
receiving location information corresponding to each of a plurality of GPS-enabled devices, [Col.5, lines 43-45], “receive location event information …such as the GPS coordinates”, and [Col. 10, lines 27-29], “location information is received from a stream of device updates received from various mobile devices”
wherein the target device is located within the polygon-shaped geographical region, [Col. 40, lines 6-7], “devices that were located within a geographical region inside the determined polygon”
defining a location, of the target device, as a function of the polygon-shaped geographical region, [Col.5 lines 53-54], “polygons represent descriptive boundaries of locations”, and [Col. 9, lines 47-51], “a list of polygon identifiers …corresponding to the determined polygons are returned”
determining a polygon-shaped geographical region based on the location information …such that each of the plurality of GPS-enabled devices is located along a perimeter, [Col. 8, lines 15-17], “convert a latitude/longitude …into a set of polygon boundaries”, and [Col. 5, lines 56-57], “custom polygons can also be designed or used to define a region of interest”
However, Calvert does not teach determining the polygon perimeter from device location.
In the same field endeavor, Lanes discloses: [0068], “finding the external points as exemplified by elements 401, 402 and 403”, and [0077], “draws line segments around the perimeter of points that create a polygon”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert as specially providing determining the polygon perimeter from device location, as taught by Lanes, in order to define the polygon perimeter using device location.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Calvert and Lanes discloses limitations of Claim 14 as recited above in the rejection of claim 13. Calvert and Lanes do not teach wherein the target device includes a first access point; perform a first transmission of the location to a configuration server, wherein the location is identified …as a location of the first access point; receive, from the configuration server, first configuration data …that includes one or more frequencies as first operation frequencies approved for use by the first access point during a first interval of time; configure the first access point based on the first configuration data.
In the same field endeavor, Li discloses: wherein the target device includes a first access point, [0022], “The mobile device transmits current location data (message 204) to the geofencing server 20”
perform a first transmission of the location to a configuration server, wherein the location is identified …as a location of the first access point, [0022], “The mobile device transmits current location data (message 204) to the geofencing server 20”
receive, from the configuration server, first configuration data …that includes one or more frequencies as first operation frequencies approved for use by the first access point during a first interval of time, [0053], “The geofence API 540 communicates the registered data for regions, users, events, actions, etc.”, and [0054], “the geofence daemon 550 is configured to trigger a geofencing action in response to receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence server 20”
configure the first access point based on the first configuration data, [0054], “the geofence daemon 550 is configured to trigger a geofencing action in response to receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence server 20”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert and Lanes as specially providing the target device includes a first access point; perform a first transmission of the location to a configuration server, wherein the location is identified …as a location of the first access point; receive, from the configuration server, first configuration data …that includes one or more frequencies as first operation frequencies approved for use by the first access point during a first interval of time; configure the first access point based on the first configuration data, as taught by Li, in order to enable location-based configuration of wireless communications, server-based management, and manage wireless operation of the access point during a defined time interval.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Calvert and Lanes discloses limitations of Claim 15 as recited above in the rejection of claim 14, Calvert and Lanes do not teach wherein the first configuration data comprises a radio transmit power level range approved by the configuration server for use by at least one of the target device and the first access point.
In the same field endeavor, Li discloses: the first configuration data comprises a radio transmit power level range approved by the configuration server for use by at least one of the target device and the first access point, [0053], “The geofence API 540 communicates the registered data for regions, users, events, actions, etc.”, and [0054], “the geofence daemon 550 is configured to trigger a geofencing action in response to receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence server 20”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert and Lanes as specially providing the first configuration data comprises a radio transmit power level range approved by the configuration server for use by at least one of the target device and the first access point, as taught by Li, in order to control wireless operation within the geographic region.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Calvert and Lanes discloses limitations of Claim 16 as recited above in the rejection of claim 15. Calvert and Lanes do not teach security policies or access policies associated with a building floor, wherein the first configuration data comprises one or both of (a) a security policy associated with a building floor that is included within the polygon-shaped geographical region and (b) an access policy associated with the building floor.
In the same field endeavor, Li discloses: the first configuration data comprises one or both of (a) a security policy associated with a building floor that is included within the polygon-shaped geographical region and (b) an access policy associated with the building floor, [0053], “The geofence API 540 communicates the registered data for regions, users, events, actions, etc. via the Internet 40 to the geofence server 20 for monitoring of the geofences”, and [0054], “ the geofence daemon 550 is configured to trigger a geofencing action in response to receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence server 20”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert and Lanes as specially providing the first configuration data comprises one or both of (a) a security policy associated with a building floor that is included within the polygon-shaped geographical region and (b) an access policy associated with the building floor, as taught by Li, in order to control access and operation within the geographic region.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Calvert and Lanes discloses additional limitations of Claim 17 as recited above in the rejection of claim 14. Calvert and Lanes do not teach further comprising a second access point; perform a second transmission of the location to the configuration server, wherein the location is identified …as a location of the second access point; receive, from the configuration server, second configuration data that is based on the second transmission and that includes one or more frequencies as second operation frequencies approved for use by the second access point during a second interval of time; configure the second access point based on the second configuration data.
In the same field endeavor, Li discloses: further comprising a second access point, [0053], “The geofence API 540 communicates the registered data for regions, users, events, actions, etc. via the Internet 40 to the geofence server 20 for monitoring of the geofences”
perform a second transmission of the location to the configuration server, wherein the location is identified …as a location of the second access point, [0022], “The mobile device transmits current location data (message 204) to the geofencing server 20”
receive, from the configuration server, second configuration data that is based on the second transmission and that includes one or more frequencies as second operation frequencies approved for use by the second access point during a second interval of time, [0053], “The geofence API 540 communicates the registered data for regions, users, events, actions, etc.”, and [0054], “the geofence daemon 550 is configured to trigger a geofencing action in response to receiving a geofence condition notification”
configure the second access point based on the second configuration data, [0054], “the geofence daemon 550 is configured to trigger a geofencing action in response to receiving a geofence condition notification”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert and Lanes as specially providing a second access point; perform a second transmission of the location to the configuration server, wherein the location is identified …as a location of the second access point; receive, from the configuration server, second configuration data that is based on the second transmission and that includes one or more frequencies as second operation frequencies approved for use by the second access point during a second interval of time; configure the second access point based on the second configuration data, as taught by Li, in order to manage wireless operation across different locations within the geographic region, configuration server in the same manner as the first access point to receive approved operating frequencies for the second access point from the configuration server during a defined time interval.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Calvert and Lanes discloses additional limitations of Claim 18 as recited above in the rejection of claim 17. Calvert and Lanes do not teach server-approved radio transmit power level ranges, wherein the second configuration data comprises a radio transmit power level range approved by the configuration server for use by the second access point.
In the same field endeavor, Li discloses: wherein the second configuration data comprises a radio transmit power level range approved by the configuration server for use by the second access point, [0053], “The geofence API 540 communicates the registered data for regions, users, events, actions, etc. via the Internet 40 to the geofence server 20 for monitoring of the geofences”, and [0054], “the geofence daemon 550 is configured to trigger a geofencing action in response to receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence server 20”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert and Lanes as specially providing the second configuration data comprises a radio transmit power level range approved by the configuration server for use by the second access point, as taught by Li, in order to manage wireless operation within the geographic region.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Calvert and Lanes discloses additional limitations of Claim 19 as recited above in the rejection of claim 17. Calvert and Lanes do not teach configuration intervals that overlap in time, wherein the first interval of time and the second interval of time at least partially overlap.
In the same field endeavor, Li discloses: wherein the first interval of time and the second interval of time at least partially overlap, [0053], “The geofence API 540 communicates the registered data for regions, users, events, actions, etc.”, and [0054], “the geofence daemon 550 is configured to trigger a geofencing action in response to receiving a geofence condition notification”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert and Lanes as specially providing the first interval of time and the second interval of time at least partially overlap, as taught by Li, in order to manage wireless operation concurrently within the geographic region.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Calvert and Lanes discloses additional limitations of Claim 20 as recited above in the rejection of claim 13. In addition, Calvert discloses: wherein: the target device includes a first access point configured to determine the polygon-shaped geographical region, [Col. 8, lines 15-17], “convert a latitude/longitude …into a set of polygon boundaries”, and [Col. 5, lines 56-57], “custom polygons can also be designed or used to define a region of interest”
the system comprises a second access point configured to receive GPS data defining the polygon- shaped geographical region, [Col.5, lines 43-45], “receive location event information …such as the GPS coordinates”, and [Col. 10, lines 27-29], “location information is received from a stream of device updates received from various mobile devices”
The combination of Calvert and Lanes do not teach indicate to a configuration server that the first access point is located within the polygon-shaped geographical region; and to indicate to the configuration server that the second access point is located within the polygon-shaped geographical region.
In the same field endeavor, Li discloses: indicate to a configuration server that the first access point is located within the polygon-shaped geographical region, [0022], “The mobile device transmits current location data (message 204) to the geofencing server 20”, and [0054], “The geofence daemon 550 retrieves nearby regions, …by receiving a geofence condition notification from the geofence backend server 20 when a geofence condition is met”
and to indicate to the configuration server that the second access point is located within the polygon-shaped geographical region, [0022], “The mobile device transmits current location data …to the geofencing server”, and [0054], “The geofence daemon 550 …receiv[es] a geofence condition …when a geofence condition is met”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert and Lanes as specially providing teach indicate to a configuration server that the first access point is located within the polygon-shaped geographical region; and to indicate to the configuration server that the second access point is located within the polygon-shaped geographical region, as taught by Li, in order to enable server-based management, indicate their respective locations to a configuration server to support coordinated, region-based configuration.
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Calvert et al. (US 9,774,696 B1, hereinafter “Calvert”) in view of Lanes et al. (US 2008/0097731 A1, hereinafter “Lanes”), and Li et al. (US 20140162692 A1, hereinafter “Li”), and further in view of Reed et al. (US 10509100 B1, hereinafter “Reed”).
Regarding Claim 7, which depends from Claim 1, the combination of Calvert, Lanes, and Li does not teach receiving, by the target device, additional location information corresponding to a particular GPS- enabled device that is not included in the plurality of GPS-enabled devices, the additional location information comprising (a) a particular location of the particular GPS-enabled device and (b) an accuracy level corresponding to the particular location; determining whether the accuracy level meets an accuracy level threshold; responsive to determining that the accuracy level does not meet the accuracy level threshold, refraining from using the particular location …to compute the polygon-shaped geographical region.
In the same field endeavor, Reed discloses: receiving, by the target device, additional location information corresponding to a particular GPS- enabled device that is not included in the plurality of GPS-enabled devices, the additional location information comprising (a) a particular location of the particular GPS-enabled device and (b) an accuracy level corresponding to the particular location, [Col. 2, lines 7-11], “This GPS data may include at least a GPS location and an accuracy of that GPS location, …that indicates a maximum error of the reported GPS location”, and [Col. 12, lines 6-7], “GPS data 120 that includes a GPS location and an accuracy of the GPS location”, and further [Col. 12, lines 30-31], “ the accuracy of the GPS location may be expressed as a distance”
determining whether the accuracy level meets an accuracy level threshold, [Col. 2, lines 26-29], ”the asset tracking system may determine whether the accuracy of the GPS location included in the received asset tracking data satisfies an accuracy threshold”, and [Col. 2, lines 27-29], “determine whether the accuracy of the GPS location included in the received asset tracking data satisfies an accuracy threshold”, and further [Col. 9, lines 34-37], “ if the accuracy threshold is set to 200 meters, and the accuracy of the GPS location specified in the accuracy data 126 is 150 meters, the accuracy threshold is satisfied”
responsive to determining that the accuracy level does not meet the accuracy level threshold, refraining from using the particular location …to compute the polygon-shaped geographical region, [Col. 9, lines 40-42], “In the latter case (where the accuracy threshold is not satisfied), the asset tracking system 108 may refrain from associating the beacon 104 with a site 112 altogether”, and [Col. 18, lines 13-20], “If the accuracy threshold is not satisfied …the asset tracking system 108 refrains from dissociating the detected beacon 104 from the site 112 …due to the accuracy threshold not being satisfied”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Calvert, Lanes, and Li as specially providing receiving, by the target device, additional location information corresponding to a particular GPS- enabled device that is not included in the plurality of GPS-enabled devices, the additional location information comprising (a) a particular location of the particular GPS-enabled device and (b) an accuracy level corresponding to the particular location; determining whether the accuracy level meets an accuracy level threshold; responsive to determining that the accuracy level does not meet the accuracy level threshold, refraining from using the particular location …to compute the polygon-shaped geographical region, as taught by Reed, in order to access the reliability of the received location and improve reliability of the region determination.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Calvert, Lanes and LI teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 8 above, but the combination does not teach receiving, by the target device, additional location information corresponding to a particular GPS- enabled device that is not included in the plurality of GPS-enabled devices, the additional location information comprising (a) a particular location …and (b) an accuracy level corresponding to the particular location; determining whether the accuracy level meets an accuracy level threshold; and responsive to determining that the accuracy level does not meet the accuracy level threshold, refraining from using the particular location …to compute the polygon-shaped geographical region.
In the same field endeavor, Reed discloses: receiving, by the target device, additional location information corresponding to a particular GPS- enabled device that is not included in the plurality of GPS-enabled devices, the additional location information comprising (a) a particular location …and (b) an accuracy level corresponding to the particular location [Col. 2, lines 7-11], “This GPS data may include at least a GPS location and an accuracy of that GPS location,…that indicates a maximum error of the reported GPS location”, and [Col. 12, lines 6-7], “GPS data 120 that includes a GPS location and an accuracy of the GPS location”
determining whether the accuracy level meets an accuracy level threshold, [Col. 2, lines 26-29], ”determine whether the accuracy of the GPS location included in the received asset tracking data satisfies an accuracy threshold”, and further explains [Col. 9, lines 34-37], “ if the accuracy threshold is set to 200 meters, and the accuracy of the GPS location specified in the accuracy data 126 is 150 meters, the accuracy threshold is satisfied”
refraining from using the location when the accuracy threshold is not met, [Col. 9, lines 40-42], “In the latter case (where the accuracy threshold is not satisfied), the asset tracking system 108 may refrain from associating the beacon 104 with a site 112 altogether”
responsive to determining that the accuracy level does not meet the accuracy level threshold, refraining from using the particular location …to compute the polygon-shaped geographical region, [Col. 9, lines 40-42], “In the latter case (where the accuracy threshold is not satisfied), the asset tracking system 108 may refrain from associating the beacon 104 with a site 112 altogether”, and [Col. 18, lines 13-20], “If the accuracy threshold is not satisfied …the asset tracking system 108 refrains from dissociating the detected beacon 104 from the site 112 …due to the accuracy threshold not being satisfied”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Calvert, Lanes and Li as specially providing receiving, by the target device, additional location information corresponding to a particular GPS- enabled device that is not included in the plurality of GPS-enabled devices, the additional location information comprising (a) a particular location …and (b) an accuracy level corresponding to the particular location; determining whether the accuracy level meets an accuracy level threshold; and responsive to determining that the accuracy level does not meet the accuracy level threshold, refraining from using the particular location …to compute the polygon-shaped geographical region, as taught by Reed, in order to assess reliability of the received location and improve reliability of the geographic region determination.
Conclusion
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Steiner (US 2015/0281886 A1, hereinafter “Steiner”) This reference is made of record to show the state of the art relating to location-based systems, polygon-shaped geographical regions, and configuration of devices based on location information.
Steiner describes techniques for associating components or devices with predefined geographic regions and communicating location-based information to a central system for configuration and management. However, the reference is not relied upon for the rejections of Claims 1-20 because the applied primary, and secondary references more clearly teach the claimed limitations in the context relied upon by the Office, and reliance on this reference is not necessary to establish unpatentability of the claims.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
SANG PHUOC. LE
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/S.P.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641