DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dunn (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2005/0000929).
As to claim 1, Dunn teaches a skid system (abstract) comprising: a first outer frame rail (figure 1, middle-left element 102 being the ‘first outer frame rail,’ see below; paragraph 23); a second outer frame rail (figure 1, middle-right element 102 being the ‘second outer frame rail,’ see below; paragraph 23); a first lower inner frame rail (figure 1, far-left element 102 being the ‘first lower inner frame rail’; paragraph 23); a second lower inner frame rail (figure 1, far-right element 102 being the ‘second lower inner frame rail; paragraph 23).
Dunn further teaches a plurality of lateral support rails perpendicular to and connecting the first outer frame rail, the second outer frame rail, the first lower inner frame rail, and the second lower inner frame rail (figure 1, see below); wherein the plurality of lateral support rails are permanently rotationally fixed relative to each of the first outer frame rail, the second outer frame rail, the first lower inner frame rail, and the second lower inner frame rail (figure 1, see below).
Dunn further teaches that the first outer frame rail, the second outer frame rail, the first lower inner frame rail, and the second lower inner frame rail are fixed in parallel to one another (figure 1, elements 102, see above; paragraph 23).
As to claim 2, Dunn further teaches a plurality of mounting brackets (figure 1, elements 109 being the ‘mounting brackets’; paragraph 24). It is the position of the Examiner that the mounting brackets of Dunn are configured to be used to mount an aircraft to the skid system.
As to claim 3, Dunn further teaches a plurality of lockout-block clamps (figure 1, upper elements 115 being the ‘lockout-block clamps’; paragraphs 24 and 26). Examiner notes that the ‘receptacles’ (upper elements 115) of Dunn may reasonably be considered to be a ‘lockout-block clamp’ because the ‘receptacles’ are blocks which act to clamp to and around posts 103a – 103d (figure 1, upper elements 115 and elements 103a – 103d; paragraphs 24 and 26).
As to claim 4, Dunn further teaches a first upper inner frame rail fixed in parallel to and directly above the first lower inner frame rail (figure 1, left element 105 being the ‘first upper inner frame rail’, see below; paragraphs 23 and 26); and a second upper inner frame rail fixed in parallel to and directly above the second lower inner frame rail (figure 1, right element 105 being the ‘second upper inner frame rail,’ see below; paragraphs 23 and 26); wherein each of the plurality of lockout-block clamps are coupled to one of the first upper inner frame rail and the second upper inner frame rail (figure 1, upper elements 115 and elements 105; paragraph 26).
As to claim 5, Dunn teaches that each of the plurality of lockout-block clamps are positionable (figure 1, upper elements 115; paragraph 26). This can be found because Dunn teaches that the lockout-block clamps are positioned over posts 103a – 103d (figure 1, upper elements 115 and elements 103a – 103d; paragraph 26).
As to claim 6, Dunn further teaches a plurality of ground handling mechanism mounting brackets (figure 1, lower elements 115 being the ‘ground handling mechanism mounting brackets’; paragraph 24). The ‘receptacles’ of Dunn may reasonably be considered to be ‘ground handling mechanism mounting brackets’ because Dunn teaches the ‘receptacles’ (lower elements 115) being mounting brackets for a ‘base’ (elements 111) which is in contact with the ground (figure 1, lower elements 115 and elements 111; paragraph 24).
As to claim 7, Dunn teaches that each of the plurality of ground handling mechanism mounting brackets are mounted to the first outer frame rail and the second outer frame rail (figure 1, lower elements 115 and inner elements 102, see above). This can be found because Dunn teaches that each of the plurality of ground handling mechanism mounting brackets are mounted to the first outer frame rail and the second outer frame rail, through the plurality of lateral support rails (figure 1, lower elements 115 and inner elements 102, see above).
As to claim 8, the discussion of claim 2 is incorporate herein.
As to claim 9, Dunn teaches that each of the plurality of aircraft mounting brackets are connected to the first upper inner frame rail and the second upper inner frame rail (figure 1, elements 109 and 105). This can be found because Dunn teaches that each of the plurality of aircraft mounting brackets are connected to the first upper inner frame rail and the second upper inner frame rail, through the first outer frame rail, the second outer frame rail, the plurality of lateral support rails, and the ‘intermediate portions’ (elements 103a – 103d; paragraph 23) (figure 1, elements 109, 102, 103a – 103d, and 105).
As to claim 10, Dunn further teaches a nose gear mounting assembly adapted to mount to an aircraft in place of a nose gear of the aircraft that has been removed from the aircraft, the nose gear mounting assembly comprising a horizontal cylindrical member arranged at a front end of the skid system (paragraph 109, wherein the ‘bolts’ are the ‘nose gear mounting assembly’). This can be found because Dunn teaches ‘bolts,’ which are known to be horizontal cylindrical members, that are configured to attach the skid system to straps to holding the given cargo, which may include an aircraft, to the skid system (figure 1; paragraph 109). Examiner further notes that the claims do not set forth a general orientation of the skid system. Therefore, Examiner is reasonably interpreting the Dunn such that the lower portion of the skid system is the ‘front end.’
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 - 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J. BESLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726