Applicant’s Submission of a Response
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 6/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-9 and 13-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Reichter et al. (US 2009/0064646 in IDS) in view of Mertens et al. (US 2008/0029453) and Ng et al. (US 2007/0240392).
Regarding claim 1, Reichter teaches a filter element comprising: a filter media comprising: a first face, a second face opposite the first face, and a plurality of sides extending between the first face and the second face; and a filter element border extending along the plurality of sides and around the filter media, the filter element border (826 829) having a first semi-arcuate shape (bumps projections) (826d) in a cross-sectional plane extending through the filter media and orthogonally to the first face and the second face (Figs. 29-30 and [0208]-[0210]).
Reichter fails to teach the filter element having a first arc extending continuously along an entire length a first side of the plurality of sides. It is noted that modifications to the shape would have been an obvious matter unless some sort of criticality or unexpected results were associated with said change (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). Further filters are known to come in a variety of shapes (see Mertens Fig. 2 and [0005]; and Ng Figs. 1-3). Additionally, Mertens teaches that changing the filter shape will allow for better use of space and larger filtering areas if desired ([0005]). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide the arc shape along the entire first side of the plurality sides as such shapes are known in the art and would allow for space saving according to the filter housing shape while maximizing filtration area if desired.
Regarding claims 2-3, as discussed above, modifying the shape to have combination of straight and arc sides would have been an obvious matter to one skilled in the art as it is merely an obvious change of shape that would allow for space saving according to the filter housing shape while maximizing filtration area if desired.
Regarding claims 4 and 17, as can be seen in Fig. 30, the border includes a space between the first face (top of filter) and the flat second and fourth portions. See also Ng Figures 1-3.
Regarding claim 5, Figs. 27-29 show the border can include a gasket (829) capable of interacting with a housing as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, it is submitted that arcuate projections/bumps read on this limitation that are capable of interacting with unclaimed elements as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, while Reichter teaches that border projections being extended along the first or second face in Fig. 30, it is submitted that making the filter border slightly lower on the side of the filter would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts where the filter would still operate in the same manner (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Regarding claim 8, Reichter teaches that the filter media is a rectangular prism type shape (Fig. 30).
Regarding claim 9, Reichter teaches the filter element border being positioned between two housing sections (Figs. 29-30).
Regarding claims 13-14, it is submitted that Reichter teaches the inlet (814) and outlet (811) arrangement (openings in 801 and 802) as claimed (Figs. 29-30).
Regarding claims 15, as can be seen in the figures of Reichter and Ng, the filter element border can join the second side of the plurality of sides in a straight line.
Regarding claim 16, see claims 2-3 above.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 4 and 7 above.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 20, see claim 7 above.
Claim 1-9 and 13-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Connor et al. (US 7,247,183 in IDS) in view of Mertens et al. (US 2008/0029453) and Ng et al. (US 2007/0240392).
Regarding claim 1, Connor teaches a filter element comprising: a filter media comprising: a first face, a second face opposite the first face, and at least one side extending between the first face and the second face (the first and second face could be any of the six sides of the rectangular prism filter element); and a filter element border extending along the at least one side and around the filter media, the filter element border having a first semi-arcuate shape (recesses and bumps shown in Fig. 1) in a cross-sectional plane extending through the filter media and substantially orthogonally to the first face and the second face (Figs. 1-2).
Connor fails to teach the filter element having a first arc extending continuously along an entire length a first side of the plurality of sides. It is noted that modifications to the shape would have been an obvious matter unless some sort of criticality or unexpected results were associated with said change (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). Further filters are known to come in a variety of shapes (see Mertens Fig. 2 and [0005]; and Ng Figs. 1-3). Additionally, Mertens teaches that changing the filter shape will allow for better use of space and larger filtering areas if desired ([0005]). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide the arc shape along the entire first side of the plurality sides as such shapes are known in the art and would allow for space saving according to the filter housing shape while maximizing filtration area if desired.
Regarding claims 2-3, as discussed above, modifying the shape to have combination of straight and arc sides would have been an obvious matter to one skilled in the art as it is merely an obvious change of shape that would allow for space saving according to the filter housing shape while maximizing filtration area if desired.
Regarding claims 4 and 17, as can be seen in Figs. 1-2, the border includes a space between the first face (top of filter) and the flat second and fourth portions. See also Ng Figures 1-3.
Regarding claim 5, Figs. 1-2 show the border can include a gasket (34) capable of interacting with a housing as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, it is submitted that arcuate projections/bumps read on this limitation that are capable of interacting with unclaimed elements as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, as can be seen in Figs. 2-3, the filter border does not extend along the first or second face.
Regarding claim 8, Connor teaches that the filter media is a rectangular prism type shape (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Connor teaches the filter element border being positioned between two housing sections (Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 13-14, it is submitted that Connor teaches the inlet (58) and outlet (60) arrangement claimed.
Regarding claim 15, as can be seen in the figures of Connor and Ng, the filter element border can join the second side of the plurality of sides in a straight line.
Regarding claim 16, see claims 2-3 above.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 4 and 7 above.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 20, see claim 7 above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,415,333. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 1, 9, 12-14 are present in claims 1 and 6 of `333. Claims 2-4, 7, and 15-18, and 20 overlap with scope of claim 1and 6 of `333 or would be an obvious rearrangement of parts or shape based on the same design and function. Claims 5-6 overlap with claims 1-2 of `333. Claims 8, 11, and 19 are directed to an obvious change of filter shape. Claim 10 would have been an obvious matter of making a single part gasket into two based on a different embodiment in `333.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 9,623,351. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 1, 9, 12-14 are present in claims 1 of `351. Claims 2-4, 7, and 15-18, and 20 overlap with scope of claim 1-4 of `351 or would be an obvious rearrangement of parts or shape based on the same design and function. Claims 5-6 overlap with claims 1-2 of `351. Claims 8, 11, and 19 are directed to an obvious change of filter shape. Claim 10 would have been an obvious matter of making a single part gasket into two based on a different embodiment in `351.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 9,782,708. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 1, 9, 12-14 are present in claims 1 of ``708. Claims 2-4, 7, and 15-18, and 20 overlap with scope of claim 1-4 and 8 of `708 or would be an obvious rearrangement of parts or shape based on the same design and function. Claims 5-6 overlap with claims 1-2 of `708. Claims 8 11, and 19 are directed to an obvious change of filter shape. Claim 10 would have been an obvious matter of making a single part gasket into two based on a different embodiment in `708.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,833,459. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 1, are present in claims 1 of `459. Claims 2-4, and 7 overlap with scope of claims 1-4 and 6 of `459 or would be an obvious rearrangement of parts or shape based on the same design and function. Claims 5-6 overlap with claims 1-2 of `708. Claims 8 is directed to an obvious change of filter shape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. It is noted that the above rejection has been modified to address the added claim limitations regarding the change in shape.
It is further noted that the arguments stated a terminal disclaimer was submitted by no terminal disclaimer was found. As such, the double patenting rejections are still applicable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER KEYWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776