Claim Interpretation
It is noted that the language of claim 1 is very broad for every filter that has a 3D shape, the filter would have many faces opposite one another and a cross directional plane can be formed at any angle especially when the angle is “substantially orthogonal.” As such, different art is applied that would read on the claims due their breadth. It is further noted that it is unclear what embodiment in the specification is attempting to be claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear the metes and bound of what would be considered substantially orthogonal as would a 85degree angle be considered substantially orthogonal while a 84 degree angle not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-9 and 13-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Reichter et al. (US 2009/0064646 in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Reichter teaches a filter element comprising: a filter media comprising: a first face, a second face opposite the first face, and at least one side extending between the first face and the second face; and a filter element border extending along the at least one side and around the filter media, the filter element border (826 829) having a first semi-arcuate shape (bumps projections) (826d) in a cross-sectional plane extending through the filter media and substantially orthogonally to the first face and the second face (Figs. 29-30 and [0208]-[0210]).
It is noted that the bumps/projections in Reichter appear to have some straight lines and thus could be considered to not be arcuate. However, slightly modifying the shape of the projections to be arcuate would have been an obvious matter to one skilled in the art (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Regarding claims 2-3, it is submitted that the sides of the filter with the border having the arcuate projections would be considered the first portion, the border that extends around a different side of the filter face would be considered a second portion, the third portion is the side opposite the first portion and the fourth portion is opposite the second portion (Fig. 30).
Regarding claim 4, as can be seen in Fig. 30, the border includes a space between the first face (top of filter) and the flat second and fourth portions.
Regarding claim 5, Figs. 27-29 show the border can include a gasket (829) capable of interacting with a housing as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, it is submitted that arcuate projections/bumps read on this limitation that are capable of interacting with unclaimed elements as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, while Reichter teaches that border projections being extended along the first or second face in Fig. 30, it is submitted that making the filter border slightly lower on the side of the filter would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts where the filter would still operate in the same manner (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Regarding claim 8, Reichter teaches that the filter media is a rectangular prism type shape (Fig. 30).
Regarding claim 9, Reichter teaches the filter element border being positioned between two housing sections (Figs. 29-30).
Regarding claims 13-14, it is submitted that Reichter teaches the inlet (814) and outlet (811) arrangement (openings in 801 and 802) as claimed (Figs. 29-30).
Regarding claims 15-16, see claims 2-3 above.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 20, see claim 7 above.
Claim 1-9 and 13-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Connor et al. (US 7,247,183 in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Connor teaches a filter element comprising: a filter media comprising: a first face, a second face opposite the first face, and at least one side extending between the first face and the second face (the first and second face could be any of the six sides of the rectangular prism filter element); and a filter element border extending along the at least one side and around the filter media, the filter element border having a first semi-arcuate shape (recesses and bumps shown in Fig. 1) in a cross-sectional plane extending through the filter media and substantially orthogonally to the first face and the second face (Figs. 1-2).
It is noted that the bumps/projections in Connor appear to have some straight lines and thus could be considered to not be arcuate. However, slightly modifying the shape of the projections to be arcuate would have been an obvious matter to one skilled in the art (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Regarding claims 2-3, it is submitted that the longer sides of the filter with the border having the arcuate projections extending away from the would be considered the first portion and third portion, the border that extends around a different side of the filter face would be considered a second portion, the third portion is the side opposite the first portion and the fourth portion is opposite the second portion (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, as can be seen in Figs. 1-2, the border includes a space between the first face (top of filter) and the flat second and fourth portions.
Regarding claim 5, Figs. 1-2 show the border can include a gasket (34) capable of interacting with a housing as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, it is submitted that arcuate projections/bumps read on this limitation that are capable of interacting with unclaimed elements as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, as can be seen in Figs. 2-3, the filter border does not extend along the first or second face.
Regarding claim 8, Connor teaches that the filter media is a rectangular prism type shape (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Connor teaches the filter element border being positioned between two housing sections (Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 13-14, it is submitted that Connor teaches the inlet (58) and outlet (60) arrangement claimed.
Regarding claims 15-16, see claims 2-3 above.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 20, see claim 7 above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,415,333. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 1, 9, 12-14 are present in claims 1 and 6 of `333. Claims 2-4, 7, and 15-18, and 20 overlap with scope of claim 1and 6 of `333 or would be an obvious rearrangement of parts or shape based on the same design and function. Claims 5-6 overlap with claims 1-2 of `333. Claims 8, 11, and 19 are directed to an obvious change of filter shape. Claim 10 would have been an obvious matter of making a single part gasket into two based on a different embodiment in `333.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 9,623,351. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 1, 9, 12-14 are present in claims 1 of `351. Claims 2-4, 7, and 15-18, and 20 overlap with scope of claim 1-4 of `351 or would be an obvious rearrangement of parts or shape based on the same design and function. Claims 5-6 overlap with claims 1-2 of `351. Claims 8, 11, and 19 are directed to an obvious change of filter shape. Claim 10 would have been an obvious matter of making a single part gasket into two based on a different embodiment in `351.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 9,782,708. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 1, 9, 12-14 are present in claims 1 of ``708. Claims 2-4, 7, and 15-18, and 20 overlap with scope of claim 1-4 and 8 of `708 or would be an obvious rearrangement of parts or shape based on the same design and function. Claims 5-6 overlap with claims 1-2 of `708. Claims 8 11, and 19 are directed to an obvious change of filter shape. Claim 10 would have been an obvious matter of making a single part gasket into two based on a different embodiment in `708.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,833,459. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 1, are present in claims 1 of `459. Claims 2-4, and 7 overlap with scope of claims 1-4 and 6 of `459 or would be an obvious rearrangement of parts or shape based on the same design and function. Claims 5-6 overlap with claims 1-2 of `708. Claims 8 is directed to an obvious change of filter shape.
Conclusion
/PETER KEYWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777