DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-7 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 18, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Claims 8-15 in the reply filed on August 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldstein (US6192168B1, Published 2001) in view of Block (US10119622B2, Published 2018) and further in view of Coppeta (US20180142196A1, Published 2018).
Regarding claim 8, Feldstein discloses:
A parallel flow multichannel pathogen sensing system comprising (Feldstein; Col. 4 line 6 - 23; The totality of the pathogen sensing system is described in the aforementioned lines as well as can be seen in figure 9 below; the pathogen sensing is read on by the analyte sensing since pathogens are biological analytes):
a multichannel peristaltic pump comprising (Feldstein; Fig. 9, Col. 4 line 65 - Col. 5 line 12; can be found on Col. 5 line 3)
wherein a buffer solution is moved by the pump (Feldstein; Fig. 9, Col. 4 line 65 - Col. 5 line 12; See annotated figure 9 below; The buffer is not said to exclusively flow through the channel tubes alone and without contaminants, therefore since there will be buffer within the waste mixture the limitation is shown.);
an injection valve (Feldstein; See annotated figure 9; automated switching valve (ASV)) comprising;
a buffer solution injection port (Feldstein; The buffer solution injection port would be the fluidics quick connecter (QC) which is where the fluid is received from the automated switching valve (ASV); See annotated figure 9 below.) for receiving the buffer solution (Feldstein; See annotated figure below; Col. 4 line 65 - Col. 5 line 12; The buffer solution (B) is said to be received be the automated switching valve (ASV) and sent to the fluidics quick connecter (QC) as can be seen in figure 9) and
a sensing channel connection port (Feldstein; See annotated figure 9 below; Col. 4 line 65 - Col. 5 line 12; Col. 11 lines 24-34; The sensing channel connection port is the press-in fitting (304) which is connected to the sample vials (SV) held by the sample reagent manifold (SRM) on one end and connects to the inlets (306) on the other end) connected to a sensing channel input port (Feldstein; See annotated figure 9 below; Col. 4 line 65 - Col. 5 line 12; Col. 11 lines 24-34; The sensing channel input port is where the press-in fittings (304) from the sample reagent manifold (SRM) connect to the inlets (306)) on a waveguide fluidics assembly (Feldstein; See annotated figures 9 & 10; Col. 4 line 65 - Col. 5 line 12; Col. 11 lines 24-34; The wave guide fluidics assembly is combination of the wave guide (WG), multi-channel flow cell/chamber (FC, 300), ; The sensing channel input port is read on by the inlets (306) which are on the multi-channel flow cell (FC, 300) when connected and in use.); and
the waveguide fluidics assembly (Feldstein; See annotated figure 9; Col. 4 line 65 - Col. 5 line 12; Col. 11 lines 24-34; The wave guide fluidics assembly is combination of the wave guide (WG), the multi-channel flow cell (FC)) comprising a parallel flow micro-fluidic cover (Feldstein; See annotated figure 9 below; Col. 4 line 65 - Col. 5 line 12; Col. 11 lines 24-34; The parallel flow micro-fluidic cover is read on by the multi-channel flow cell (FC)) defining a plurality of sensing channel input ports (Feldstein; See annotated figure 9 below; Col. 4 line 65 - Col. 5 line 12; Col. 11 lines 24-34; The multi-channel flow cell (FC) can be seen in figure 9 to have a 6 parallel microchannels, which each have their own inlets (306))
Feldstein fails to disclose wherein the parallel multichannel pathogen sensing system further comprises
the multichannel peristaltic pump comprising a plurality of pump flow channel tubes, wherein a buffer solution flows through the plurality of pump flow channel tubes;
an injection valve array comprising a plurality of injection valves, wherein each of the plurality of injection valves comprises
a buffer solution injection port for receiving the buffer solution and
a sensing channel connection port connected to a sensing channel input port on a waveguide fluidics assembly.
Block discloses a rotary planar peristaltic micropump for the use of within microfluidics systems such as those involving biological components (Block; Abstract; Col. 2 lines 25-30).The peristaltic pump in Block is disclosed to have a pump flow channel tube (Block; Abstract; the pump tube is the fluidic path of Block).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the peristaltic pump of Feldstein by having pump flow channel tubes within the peristaltic pump as taught by Block in order to provide: a pump flow channel tube. Both Feldstein and Block are directed to microfluidic systems involving the movement of biological fluids. Block teaches that including a pump flow channel tube within a peristaltic pump allow for a path for the fluid to travel along allowing the pump to satisfy its intended function. This involves applying a known technique (a tube within a peristaltic pump) to a similar device (a peristaltic pump) to yield predictable results (a tube within a peristaltic pump allowing for a flow path for the substance the pump is intended to move).
Modified Feldstein is silent wherein the parallel multichannel pathogen sensing system further comprises
the multichannel peristaltic pump comprising a plurality of pump flow channel tubes, wherein a buffer solution flows through the plurality of pump flow channel tubes;
an injection valve array comprising a plurality of injection valves, wherein each of the plurality of injection valves comprises
a buffer solution injection port for receiving the buffer solution and
a sensing channel connection port connected to a sensing channel input port on a waveguide fluidics assembly.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a plurality of pump flow channel tubes equal to the channels present in the multichannel peristaltic pump with each of the plurality delivering buffer solution, to provide a plurality of pump flow channel tubes, wherein a buffer solution flows through the plurality of pump flow channel tubes, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Feldstein further fails to disclose wherein the parallel multichannel pathogen sensing system further comprises
an injection valve array comprising a plurality of injection valves, wherein each of the plurality of injection valves comprises
a buffer solution injection port for receiving the buffer solution and
a sensing channel connection port connected to a sensing channel input port on a waveguide fluidics assembly.
Coppeta discloses a bilayer multiwell cell culture platform which uses microchannel structure for the culture of cells while dynamically controlling the fluid transfer (Coppeta; Abstract). Coppeta discloses a pump assembly (115) which includes a plurality of fluid input valves (150a, 150b) which delivers fluid to the multiwell microchannel platform (Coppeta; Para. [0042, 0066]). The input valves allow for the ability for multiple different cells to be cultured within the multiwell system due to the flow control (Coppeta; Para. [0041]).
Coppeta supplies suggestions that the input valves, while not explicitly stated in Coppeta, can be understood to contain a port which receives buffer solution since the input valves have the ability to the deliver a buffer solution to the microchannels (Coppeta; Paras. [0096-0098]). Additionally, the input valves are able to deliver the desired solutions to microchannels (Coppeta; Paras. [0096-0098]) which thusly implies there is “a sensing channel connection port” which is being understood to be the delivery method of the valves to the microchannel leading to the waveguide fluidics assembly.
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the input valves of Modified Feldstein by including one valve per input channel as taught by Coppeta in order to provide: an injection valve array comprising a plurality of injection valves, wherein each of the plurality of injection valves comprises; a buffer solution injection port for receiving the buffer solution and a sensing channel connection port connected to a sensing channel input port on a waveguide fluidics assembly. Both Feldstein and Coppeta are directed to microfluidic cell culture. Coppeta teaches that having one input valve per well or microchannel allows for specific environment in each individual input area. This involves applying a known technique (plurality of input valves matched to the plurality of input locations) to a similar device (Microfluidic cell culture platform) to yield predictable results (plurality of input valves matched to a plurality of input locations allowing for more specific control).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Feldstein (Feldstein in view of Block) discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated with respect to claim 8.
Modified Feldstein discloses the parallel flow multichannel pathogen sensing system of claim 8 (Feldstein in view of Block; See claim 8 above), wherein there is a multichannel peristaltic pump (Feldstein in view of Block; See claim 8 above) (Feldstein; Fig. 9, Col. 4 line 65 - Col. 5 line 12) comprising a plurality of pump tubes (Modified Feldstein; See claim 8).
Modified Feldstein does not disclose:
wherein the multichannel peristaltic pump comprises:
a pump frame; and
a plurality of pump wheels secured to the pump frame, wherein a plurality of pump tubes is disposed on the plurality of pump wheels.
Block discloses a rotary planar peristaltic micropump for the use of within microfluidics systems such as those within biological research (Block; Abstract; Col. 2 lines 25-30). The peristaltic pump is stated to have
a pump frame (Block; Abstract; the bearing cage is the pump frame); and
a plurality of pump wheels (Block; Abstract; the plurality of rolling-members are the plurality of pump wheels) secured to the pump frame (Block; Abstract; the pump tube is the fluidic path), wherein a pump tube (Block; Abstract lines 11-16) is disposed on the plurality of pump wheel (Block; Abstract lines 11-16).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multichannel peristaltic pump of Feldstein by including a pump frame and a plurality of pump wheels as taught by Block in order to provide: a pump frame; and a plurality of pump wheels secured to the pump frame, wherein a pump tube is disposed on the plurality of pump wheels. Both Feldstein and Block are directed to microfluidic systems involving the movement of biological fluids. Block teaches that these components when included in a peristaltic pump allow it to satisfy its intended function of pumping. This involves applying a known technique (a peristaltic pump with a frame, wheels and the flow tubes placed on the wheels) to a similar device (a peristaltic pump) to yield predictable results (a tube within a peristaltic pump allowing for the flow tubes to be put between the pump wheels and frame allowing the pump to create pressure differences within the tube enabling the pump to function).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Feldstein (Feldstein in view of Block) discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated with respect to claim 8.
Modified Feldstein discloses:
The parallel flow multichannel pathogen sensing system (Feldstein; Col. 3 line 41 - Col. 4 line 23; the pathogen sensing is read on by the analyte sensing since pathogens are biological analytes) of claim 8 (See Feldstein in view of Block above), wherein the waveguide fluidics assembly (Feldstein; See annotated figure 9; Col. 4 line 65 - Col. 5 line 12; Col. 11 lines 24-34; The wave guide fluidics assembly is combination of the wave guide (WG) and the multi-channel flow cell (FC)) comprises:
a thermally controlled sensor base (Feldstein; See annotated figure 10 below; Col. 13 lines 7-21, Fig. 10, thermoelectrically cooled charge-coupled device (CCD) imaging array (402));
a multichannel waveguide sensor (Feldstein; See annotated figure 10; Col. 3 lines 40-59; Col. 4 lines 6-23; Col. 5 lines 47-56; The multichannel waveguide sensor is the combination of the multimodal waveguide, waveguide support, GRIN lens array, and emission filter)(Feldstein; The waveguide included within is said to be multimodal and is being used in the context of sensing for a multichannel sensing apparatus. Therefore, the multimodal waveguide of Feldstein is functionally a multichannel waveguide.) disposed on top of the thermally controlled sensor base (Feldstein; See annotated figure 10; The grouping that makes up the multichannel waveguide sensor (310, waveguide support, 404, 406) is on top of the thermally controlled sensor base (thermoelectrically cooled CCD imaging array (402))), wherein the parallel flow micro-fluidic cover (Feldstein; See annotated figure 9 below; Col. 4 line 65 - Col. 5 line 12; Col. 11 lines 24-34; The parallel flow micro-fluidic cover is read on by the multi-channel flow cell (FC)) is disposed on top of the multichannel waveguide sensor. (Feldstein; See annotated figure 10; flow chamber (300) on top of the waveguide (fig. 10, component 310)).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Feldstein (Feldstein in view of Block) discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated with respect to claim 11.
Modified Feldstein discloses:
The parallel flow multichannel pathogen sensing system (Feldstein; Col. 3 line 41 - Col. 4 line 23; the pathogen sensing is read on by the analyte sensing since pathogens are biological analytes) of claim 11 (See Feldstein in view of Block above), wherein the waveguide fluidics assembly (Feldstein; See annotated figures 9 and 10; Col. 4 line 65 - Col. 5 line 12; Col. 11 lines 24-34; The wave guide fluidics assembly is combination of the wave guide (WG), the multi-channel flow cell (FC), the thermoelectrically cooled CCD imaging array, and the multichannel waveguide sensor (Fig. 10 components 310, waveguide support, 404, 406)) comprises:
a cooler component (Feldstein; See annotated figure 10 below; Col. 13 lines 7-21, Fig. 10, thermoelectrically cooled CCD imaging array (402); The thermoelectric cooling of the CCD makes the CCD imaging array the cooler component).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Feldstein (Feldstein in view of Block) discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated with respect to claim 11.
Modified Feldstein discloses:
The parallel flow multichannel pathogen sensing system (Feldstein; Col. 3 line 41 - Col. 4 line 23; the pathogen sensing is read on by the analyte sensing since pathogens are biological analytes) of claim 12 (See Feldstein in view of Block above), wherein the waveguide fluidics assembly (Feldstein; See annotated figure 9 and 10; The waveguide fluidics assembly is combination of the wave guide (WG), the multi-channel flow cell (FC), the thermoelectrically cooled CCD imaging array, and the multichannel waveguide sensor (Fig. 10 components 310, waveguide support, 404, 406)) comprises:
a gasket (Feldstein; Col. 8 lines 43-51; The adhesive attaching the fluidics cell to the waveguide is functionally a gasket) secured to a bottom surface of the parallel flow micro-fluidic cover (Feldstein; See annotated figure 10, Shaded region on the flow chamber (300)), wherein the gasket is aligned with the multichannel waveguide sensor (Feldstein; See annotated figure 10; The adhesive (gasket) is aligned with the waveguide by the nature of the adhesive being the bottom of the flow chamber which is known to be aligned to the multichannel waveguide).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldstein (US612168B1, Published2001) in view of Block (US10119622B2, Published 2018) and further in view of Coppeta (US20180142196A1, Published 2018) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Corso (US20130266929A1, Published 2013).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Feldstein (Feldstein in view of Block) discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated with respect to claim 8.
Feldstein in view of Block discloses:
The parallel flow multichannel pathogen sensing system of claim 9 (Feldstein in view of Block; See claim 9 above).
Feldstein in view of Block fails to disclose:
The parallel flow multichannel pathogen sensing system of claim 9 further comprising:
a multichannel flow rate sensor array comprising a plurality of flow rate sensor input ports and a plurality of flow rate sensor output ports, wherein the plurality of pump tubes is connected to the plurality of flow rate sensor input ports.
Corso discloses a microfluidic device which includes a peristaltic pump and an in-line flow sensor to allow for consistent fluid flow for the use in 2D cell culture, 3D cell culture, lab-on-a-chip, and the like (Corso; Abstract; Paras. [0003-0010, 0014, 0020, 0022]). Additionally, the in-line flow sensor allows for accurate sensor readings which allows for the consistency needed for cell culture applications (Corso; Abstract; Paras. [0007-0010]).
Corso further discloses:
a flow rate sensor (Corso; Abstract; Paras. [0024, 0041], Fig. 1, pump and sensor (as labeled in figure 1))
comprising a flow rate sensor input port (Corso; Abstract; Fig. 1, pump and sensor (as labeled in figure 1); The fact that the sensor is "in-line" means that it contains a fluid input port.) and a flow rate sensor output port (Corso; Abstract; Fig. 1, pump and sensor (as labeled in figure 1); The fact that the sensor is "in-line" means that it contains a fluid outlet port.), wherein a pump tube is connected to the flow rate sensor input port (Corso; Figs. 1 & 2, pump and sensor (as labeled in figure 1); Para. [0043], for the fluid to flow from the pump tube into and through the in-line flow sensor implies that the pump tube is connected to the flow rate sensor input ports).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the peristaltic pump fluidic path of Feldstein with an in-line flow rate sensor as taught by Corso in order to provide: a flow rate sensor, a flow rate sensor input port, and a flow rate sensor output port, wherein a pump tube is connected to a flow rate sensor input port. Both Feldstein and Corso are directed to the use of a peristaltic pump and flow sensor in the application of a microfluidic bioapparatus. Corso teaches discloses that the in-line flow sensor allows for accurate sensor readings which allows for the consistency needed for cell culture applications. This involves applying a known technique (in-line flow sensor) to a similar device (a microfluidic apparatus for bioapplications) to yield predictable results (consistency in the flow rates of the bioapparatus).
Modified Feldstein (Feldstein in view of Block and further in view of Corso) discloses the claimed invention except for a multichannel flow rate sensor array comprising a plurality of flow rate sensor input ports and a plurality of flow rate sensor output ports, wherein the plurality of pump tubes is connected to the plurality of flow rate sensor input ports. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the in-line flow rate sensor into a multichannel flow sensor by adding a plurality of input ports and a plurality of output ports, such that there is an input and output port for each of the individual pump flow channels of the plurality of pump flow channels present (Feldstein in view of Block; See claim 9 above), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldstein (US612168B1, Published2001) in view of Block (US10119622B2, Published 2018) and further in view of Coppeta (US20180142196A1, Published 2018) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Shirai (US20040257579A1, Published 2004).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Feldstein (Feldstein in view of Block) discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated with respect to claim 13.
Modified Feldstein discloses:
The parallel flow multichannel pathogen sensing system (Feldstein; Col. 3 line 41 - Col. 4 line 23; the pathogen sensing is read on by the analyte sensing since pathogens are biological analytes) of claim 13 (See Feldstein in view of Block above), further comprising components used for optical imaging (Feldstein; Col. 12 line 54 – Col. 13 line 37; See annotated Fig. 10, diode laser, CCD imaging array, GRIN lens array).
Modified Feldstein fails to disclose:
The parallel flow multichannel pathogen sensing system of claim 13, further comprising: a fiber optical array comprising a plurality of array optical fibers, wherein the plurality of array optical fibers is aligned with a light input end of the multichannel waveguide sensor.
Shirai discloses an optical chemical sensor for the sensing of harmful chemical and harmful pathogenic bacteria in a commercial plant, at home, or in a hospital (Shirai; Abstract; Para. [0002]). The optical sensor disclosed comprises a fiber optical array (Sharai; Paras. [0089, 0095], Figs. 19 and 20, distributed laser feedback laser (10), optical fiber (601), arrayed fibers (20)) comprising a plurality of array optical fibers (Sharai; Paras. [0089, 0095], Figs. 19 and 20, distributed laser feedback laser (10), optical fiber (601), arrayed fibers (20)), wherein the plurality of array optical fibers is aligned with a light input end of the multichannel waveguide sensor (Sharai; Paras. [0089, 0095], Figs. 19 and 20, distributed laser feedback laser (10), optical fiber (601), arrayed fibers (20)).
Shirai additionally discloses that the protocol process for labeling proteins, organisms, and analytes requires time to achieve the fluorescent labeling which is not required using the optical detection setup disclosed (Shirai; Para. [0003]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the laser diode enabled fluorescent imaging and connection components of Feldstein for the fiber optical connection means as taught by Shirai in order to provide: a fiber optical array comprising a plurality of array optical fibers, wherein the plurality of array optical fibers is aligned with a light input end of the multichannel waveguide sensor. Both Feldstein and Shirai are directed to pathogen optical imaging. Shirai discloses an imaging technique that uses a laser diode fiber optic connection which allows for imaging without fluorescent dyeing which can be toxic and expensive (Shirai; Para. [0003]). This involves applying a known technique (fiber optic cable connections) to a similar device (pathogen optical imaging device) to yield predictable results (a simpler and less time consuming protocol process to allow for measurements).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Feldstein (Feldstein in view of Block and in further view of Shirai) discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated with respect to claim 14.
Modified Feldstein discloses:
The parallel flow multichannel pathogen sensing system (Feldstein; Col. 3 line 41 - Col. 4 line 23; the pathogen sensing is read on by the analyte sensing since pathogens are biological analytes) of claim 14 (See Feldstein in view of Block and in further view of Shirai above), further comprising: a tunable laser diode emitting laser light (Feldstein; See annotated figure 10; diode laser (400); Col. 12 line 54 - Col. 13 line 6)
Modified Feldstein does not disclose:
The parallel flow multichannel pathogen sensing system, further comprising: a fiber optical coupler receiving the laser light and providing the laser light to the fiber optical array via a coupler input optical fiber.
Shirai discloses:
a fiber optical coupler (Sharai; Paras. [0089, 0095], Figs. 19 and 20, distributed laser feedback laser (10), optical fiber (601), arrayed fibers (20); lens and fiber array coupling means) receiving the laser light (Sharai; Paras. [0067-00680089, 0095], Figs. 19- 21, distributed laser feedback laser (10), optical fiber (601), arrayed fibers (20); lens and fiber array coupling means; The laser is received by the lens connected to the fiber array.) and providing the laser light to the fiber optical array (Sharai; Paras. [0089, 0095], Figs. 19 and 20, distributed laser feedback laser (10), optical fiber (601), arrayed fibers (20); lens provides the laser light it receives to the fiber array coupled to the optical fiber) via a coupler input optical fiber (Sharai; Paras. [0089, 0095], Figs. 19 and 20, distributed laser feedback laser (10), optical fiber (601), arrayed fibers (20); lens provides the laser light it receives to the fiber array coupled to the optical fiber).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging apparatus and connections of Feldstein by including fiber optical coupling and fiber optical arrays as taught by Shirai in order to provide: a fiber optical coupler receiving the laser light and providing the laser light to the fiber optical array via a coupler input optical fiber. Both Feldstein and Shirai are directed to pathogen optical imaging. Shirai discloses an imaging technique that uses a laser diode fiber optic connection which allows for imaging without fluorescent dyeing which can be toxic and expensive (Shirai; Para. [0003]). This involves applying a known technique (fiber optic cable coupling) to a similar device (pathogen optical imaging device) to yield predictable results (a simpler and less time consuming protocol process to allow for measurements ).
Conclusion
/DONAVAN L. BRIDGES/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758