Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s information disclosure statement (IDS) filed November 13, 2023 has been entered and the references cited therein have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 9 recite that the controller “provides the plasma” and “generates the plasma.” However, this is technically incorrect. The plasma is generated by passing a current between the electrodes. The controller does control the current to the electrodes but it technically does not provide or create plasma.
As claims 11-16 depend from claim 9, they are likewise rejected.
In addition, claim 12 recites “wherein the controller changes the number of discharge holes through a hole changing part” without affirmatively reciting the “hole changing part.” The claim also does not define how the controller changes the number of discharge holes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 10 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Keidar et al. (PCT Publication No. WO 2012/167089).
In regard to claims 9 and 14-16, Keidar et al. teach a cold plasma therapy system 100 comprised of a power supply 102, a controller 104, a gas source 106 and a delivery mechanism 120 (see Figs. 1-3 and para. 0019). Delivery mechanism 120 is an elongated syringe having a main body 121 with a discharge area 122 at the distal end having a narrowed neck 123 and a distal opening or nozzle 129 (see Fig. 2 and para. 0020). A central electrode 126 is located in the interior of the body 121 and the electrode 126 is entirely surrounded by insulation except at its distal end which is exposed and in contact with gas and plasma (see Fig. 2 and para. 0021). An annular outer ring electrode 128 is located about a portion of the narrow neck 123 at the outside of the syringe 120 (see Fig. 2 and para. 0022). The power supply 102 is electrically connected to the electrodes 126, 128 and provides a high voltage supply to the electrodes 126, 128 through cables 101, 103 (see Fig. 2 and para. 0022). The controller 140 regulates the voltage and frequency that is applied to the central electrode 126 and the ring electrode 128 (see para. 0022). The gas source 106 is in gas communication with the syringe 120 through a supply tube 108 that is connected to a port 107 on the side of the body 121 of syringe 120 (see Fig. 2). Gas flows through the syringe 120 and exits the syringe 120 through the neck 123 and nozzle 129 at the discharge end 122 as a jet or stream flow 150 (see Fig. 2 and para. 0023). As the gas enters the discharge area 122 and the neck 123 of the syringe 120, the electrodes 126, 128 excite the gas, thereby ionizing the gas to form a cold plasma that is then discharged out of the nozzle 129 as jet or stream flow 150 (see para. 0023). Keidar et al. teach that the syringe 120 allows the plasma to be targeted at desired cancer cells in the skin and can treat any type of cancer that is close to the skin (see para. 0024). Keidar et al. also teach an endoscopic delivery device 200 that would constitute a housing that is inserted into the skin (see Figs. 4-5 and para. 0027). Keidar et al. also teach that other suitable delivery device can be utilized other than a syringe or an endoscope (see para. 0034). In regard to claim 10, Keidar et al. teach that the body 121 is formed from glass or a rigid plastic, which are insulative (see para. 0020).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keidar et al. (PCT Publication No. WO 2012/167089).
In regard to claims 1-5 and 8, see the above rejection for claim 9. With further respect to claim 1, Keidar et al. do not specifically teach that the controller 104 controls power to the electrodes 126, 128 in a sequential fashion. However, since Keidar et al. teach that the controller 104 provides power to the electrodes 126, 128 individually (see para. 0022), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the controller 104 of Keidar et al. such that the electrodes 126, 128 are controlled in a sequential fashion in order to more precisely control the plasma jet or stream flow 150 that is created. In other words, sequential activation or control of the electrodes 126, 128 would allow for a precise plasma stream (higher or lower, more or less velocity) as the device is advanced and as the tumor is treated. It should be noted that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Also, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004). In regard to claims 6 and 11, Keidar et al. teach that the endoscope 210 may have a camera that facilities introduction of the tube 210 and delivery of the plasma beam 250 to the target tissue such that the controller 104 would not be activated to deliver the plasma beam 250 until the tube 210 had been inserted into the skin to a predetermined depth (otherwise the plasma beam 250 would be misplaced).
Claim(s) 7, 12, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keidar et al. (PCT Publication No. WO 2012/167089) in view of Choi (Korean Publication No. 10-20200136118).
In regard to claim 17, see the above rejection for claim 9. With further respect to claim 17 and in regard to claims 7, 12 and 13, Keidar et al. teach a singular syringe 120 with a singular nozzle 129. However, Choi teaches a similar plasma therapy device that has a housing with a plurality of openings for plasma jets (see Figs. 2 and 4). Choi thus demonstrates that it was well known in the art to provide a plasma therapy device with a plurality of openings for plasma jets in the interest of equipping the device with the ability to more precisely direct the plasma jets for the required therapy. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Keidar et al. with multiple openings in the syringe 120 allot for multiple plasma jets in order to equip the device with ability to more precisely direct the plasma jets for the required therapy. Similarly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide a housing with multiple syringes 120 on the device of Keidar et al. again in order to equip the device with ability to more precisely direct the plasma jets for the required therapy. Furthermore, it is well settled that the duplication of parts is a design choice well within the skill of the art. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). With further respect to claims 7, 12 and 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the controller 104 of Keidar et al. to switch among the different plasma jet outlets in order to more precisely direct the plasma jets for the required therapy.
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794