DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/508,038, dated on 11/13/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 16, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated or alternatively unpatentable over Wu et al. (WO 2019/144929 A1).
Claims 1, 29, 30, Wu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE; Fig. 1, el. 120a-d; Fig. 2, el. 120; Fig. 7, el. 120), comprising:
at least one memory (Fig. 2, el. 282); and
at least one processor (Fig. 2, el. 280) coupled to the at least one memory (Fig. 2, el. 282) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory (Fig. 2, el. 282), the at least one processor (Fig. 2, el. 280) (For example, controller/processor 240 of base station 110, controller/processor 280 of UE 120, and/or any other component (s) of Fig. 2 may perform or direct operations of, for example, process 800 of Fig. 8, process 900 of Fig. 9, and/or other processes as described herein. Memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120, respectively; ¶45), individually or in any combination, is configured to:
obtain channel information comprising at least one of:
a set of mutual information for each layer of a first number of layers associated with a channel between the UE and a network entity (BS; Figs. 2 & 7, el. 110), or rank reduction information for a rank reduction of the channel transmit, to the network entity, the channel information (obtaining and transmitting the channel information for each layer of the layers of the channel between the UE and BS such as RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, CQI, spatial channel information feedback, layer power feedback information, obtaining and providing information associated with the layer measurements; Various aspects of the present disclosure generally relate to wireless communication. In some aspects, a user equipment (UE) may receive, configuration information indicating that the UE is to compress a precoding matrix indicator in connection with channel state information reporting, wherein the precoding matrix indicator is to be compressed based at least in part on a quantization dependency between transmission layers or an orthogonality relationship between the transmission layers, and wherein the configuration information is associated with a type II, higher rank codebook for multiple input multiple output configuration. The UE may transmit, to a base station (BS), the compressed precoding matrix indicator to the base station based at least in part on receiving the configuration information. The UE and BS may use a communication configuration based at least in part on a precoding matrix indicator recovered from the compressed precoding matrix indicator. Numerous other aspects are provided; abstract; On the uplink, at UE 120, a transmit processor 264 may receive and process data from a data source 262 and control information (e.g., for reports comprising RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, CQI, and/or the like) from controller/processor 280. Transmit processor 264 may also generate reference symbols for one or more reference signals. The symbols from transmit processor 264 may be precoded by a TX MIMO processor 266 if applicable, further processed by modulators 254a through 254r (e.g., for DFT-s-OFDM, CP-OFDM, and/or the like) , and transmitted to base station 110; ¶44; Precoding may be used, in some communications systems, to enable multi-stream transmission in multi-antenna communications with reduced utilization of computing and/or memory resources to decode a transmission by a UE. A UE may provide a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) to provide spatial channel information feedback. The precoding matrix indicator may be associated with a precoding matrix for a particular rank; ¶79; As further shown in Fig. 7, and by reference number 710, UE 120 may transmit, and BS 110 may receive, layer power feedback information. For example, UE 120 may determine layer power feedback information identifying a relative power of one or more transmission layers, and UE 120 may transmit the layer power feedback information to BS 110. In some aspects, UE 120 may determine the layer power feedback information based at least in part on one or more measurements. For example, UE 120 may perform a measurement of a signal from BS 110 (e.g., a reference signal) and transmitted using a plurality of transmission layers, and may provide information associated with the measurement to BS 110 to enable precoding; ¶82) for an identification of a precoding scheme for communication between the UE and the network entity (BS; Figs. 2 & 7, el. 110) and communicate, based on the channel information and the precoding scheme, with the network entity (selecting/identifying the precoding scheme for the communication based on channel information; Various aspects of the present disclosure generally relate to wireless communication. In some aspects, a user equipment (UE) may receive, configuration information indicating that the UE is to compress a precoding matrix indicator in connection with channel state information reporting, wherein the precoding matrix indicator is to be compressed based at least in part on a quantization dependency between transmission layers or an orthogonality relationship between the transmission layers, and wherein the configuration information is associated with a type II, higher rank codebook for multiple input multiple output configuration. The UE may transmit, to a base station (BS), the compressed precoding matrix indicator to the base station based at least in part on receiving the configuration information. The UE and BS may use a communication configuration based at least in part on a precoding matrix indicator recovered from the compressed precoding matrix indicator. Numerous other aspects are provided; abstract; As further shown in Fig. 7, and by reference number 720, BS 110 may determine a communication configuration. For example, BS 110 may select one or more beam parameters for transmission of a communication using a plurality of transmission layers. In some aspects, BS 110 may select a beam parameter for precoding of data of the communication. For example, BS 110 may select a beam parameter relating to an amplitude for a transmission layer used for transmitting the data, a phase for the transmission layer, and/or the like. In some aspects, BS 110 may use a higher rank codebook. For example, BS 110 may use a type II rank three or higher codebook (e.g., a type II rank 3 codebook, a type II rank 4 codebook, and/or the like) . In this case, BS 110 may precode the data using the type II rank three or higher codebook and based at least in part on layer power feedback information; ¶83; Additionally, or alternatively, BS 110 may determine to use a reduced quantization of bits for sub-band amplitude scaling or sub-band phase configuration. For example, BS 110 may determine to use sub-band amplitude scaling for higher transmission layers (e.g., the third transmission layer, the fourth transmission layer, and/or the like) , but may determine to use a two-bit quantization rather than a three-bit quantization, thereby reducing overhead associated with transmission of the communication. Additionally, or alternatively, UE 120 and/or BS 110 may determine to omit one or more amplitude scaling parameters from a report identifying a set of amplitude scaling parameters. For example, UE 120 may omit one or more lowest wideband amplitude scaling parameters corresponding to one or more sub-band amplitude scaling parameters, and BS 110 may determine precoding based at least in part on one or more other sub-band amplitude scaling parameters that are provided; ¶85).
Claims 16, analyzed with respect to claim 1, the further limitation of claim 16 disclosed by Wu, an apparatus of wireless communication at a network entity (BS; Figs. 2 & 7, el. 110), comprising at least one memory (Fig. 2, el. 242); and at least one processor (Fig. 2, el.240) coupled to the at least one memory (coupling to memory; Fig. 2) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory (For example, controller/processor 240 of base station 110, controller/processor 280 of UE 120, and/or any other component (s) of Fig. 2 may perform or direct operations of, for example, process 800 of Fig. 8, process 900 of Fig. 9, and/or other processes as described herein. Memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120, respectively; ¶45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (WO 2019/144929 A1) in view of Kutz el. al. (US 2022/0360370 A1).
Claims 2, 17, Wu discloses further comprising a transceiver (Fig. 2, els. 252a-r, 254a-r) coupled to the at least one processor (Fig. 2, el. 280), wherein, to transmit the channel information (UE transmitting RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, CQI, spatial channel information feedback, layer power feedback information, obtaining and providing information associated with the layer measurements to the BS), the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to transmit the channel information via the transceiver (Fig. 2, els. 252a-r, 254a-r), and wherein to transmit the channel information, the at least one processor (Fig. 2, el. 280), individually or in any combination, is configured (UE configured to implement the UE processes; process 800 of Fig. 8, process 900 of Fig. 9, and/or other processes as described herein. Memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120, respectively; ¶45).
Kutz in the same filed of endeavor, retransmission technique with compressed feedback in a wireless communication system (title) discloses transmit the channel information via one of: uplink control information (UCI), a medium access control (MAC)- control element (MAC-CE), or a radio resource control (RRC) message (communication of RRC messages between the UE and BS to provide retransmission technique with compressed feedback; The controller/processor 240 of base station 102, the controller/processor 280 of UE 104, or any other component(s) of FIG. 2 may implement an RRC protocol between the base station 102 and the UE 104. In some implementations, the controller/processor 240 may output frequency information, measurement configuration, service mapping, frequency prioritization or other information for transmission to the UE 104. The controller/processor 280 may manage of the UE 104 in accordance with implementations described in more detail elsewhere herein. For example, the controller/processor 280 of UE 104, or any other component(s) (or combinations of components) of FIG. 2 may perform or direct operations of, for example, processes described herein. The memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 102 and UE 104, respectively. The stored program codes, when executed by the controller/processor 280 or other processors and modules at UE 104, may cause the UE 104 to perform operations described herein. A scheduler 246 may schedule UEs for data transmission on the downlink, the uplink, or a combination thereof; ¶55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to transmit the channel information via a radio resource control (RRC) message, as taught by Kutz to modify Wu’s method and system in order to provide a compressed feedback technique (abstract).
Claims 3, 18, Wu discloses wherein the at least one processor (UE processor; Fig. 2, el. 280), individually or in any combination, is further configured to: wherein to transmit the channel information (UE transmitting RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, CQI, spatial channel information feedback, layer power feedback information, obtaining and providing information associated with the layer measurements to the BS), the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: transmit, via the feedback transmission, the channel information (transmitting channel information via the feedback transmission; On the uplink, at UE 120, a transmit processor 264 may receive and process data from a data source 262 and control information (e.g., for reports comprising RSRP, RSSI, RSRQ, CQI, and/or the like) from controller/processor 280. Transmit processor 264 may also generate reference symbols for one or more reference signals. The symbols from transmit processor 264 may be precoded by a TX MIMO processor 266 if applicable, further processed by modulators 254a through 254r (e.g., for DFT-s-OFDM, CP-OFDM, and/or the like) , and transmitted to base station 110; ¶44; Precoding may be used, in some communications systems, to enable multi-stream transmission in multi-antenna communications with reduced utilization of computing and/or memory resources to decode a transmission by a UE. A UE may provide a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) to provide spatial channel information feedback. The precoding matrix indicator may be associated with a precoding matrix for a particular rank; ¶79; As further shown in Fig. 7, and by reference number 710, UE 120 may transmit, and BS 110 may receive, layer power feedback information. For example, UE 120 may determine layer power feedback information identifying a relative power of one or more transmission layers, and UE 120 may transmit the layer power feedback information to BS 110. In some aspects, UE 120 may determine the layer power feedback information based at least in part on one or more measurements. For example, UE 120 may perform a measurement of a signal from BS 110 (e.g., a reference signal) and transmitted using a plurality of transmission layers, and may provide information associated with the measurement to BS 110 to enable precoding; ¶82).
Kutz in the same filed of endeavor, retransmission technique with compressed feedback in a wireless communication system (title) discloses provide, for the network entity, a feedback transmission for adjusting a coding rate for the communication between the UE and the network entity, wherein the feedback transmission is associated with a multiple incremental redundancy scheme (MIRS) (communicating the MCS adjusting the code rate for the communication between the UE and the BS associated with a MIRS; The probability that a codeblock is successfully decoded may depend on a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) utilized for a HARQ transmission. The MCS may define a coding rate, a bit puncturing rate, a modulation type, or any combination thereof. Typically, a lower MCS is associated with less throughput and higher probability of decoding. In contrast, a higher MCS may be associated with higher throughput and a lower probability of decoding. In some systems, an optimal MCS may be one which results in the highest effective data rate. The effective data rate of a wireless communication medium may be based on the throughput associated with successfully decoded transmissions. Failed decoding and retransmissions may lower the effective data rate. As HARQ protocols are improved to utilize techniques such as multiple incremental redundancy scheme (MIRS) or other improvements, the airtime associated with retransmissions may decrease such that a threshold quantity of decoding failures is acceptable to increase overall throughput. Furthermore, some wireless communication systems may continue to evolve such that a large number of codeblocks are included with each HARQ transmission. Traditional HARQ feedback techniques are based on identifying particular codeblocks for retransmission. A traditional HARQ feedback may include a bitmap to indicate success or failure for each codeblock. There may be advantages to improving traditional HARQ protocols to reduce overhead associated with feedback and HARQ retransmissions; ¶30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide, for the network entity, a feedback transmission for adjusting a coding rate for the communication between the UE and the network entity, wherein the feedback transmission is associated with a multiple incremental redundancy scheme (MIRS), as taught by Kutz to modify Wu’s method and system in order to provide a compressed feedback technique (abstract) and to enhance the effective data rate and throughput of a wireless communication medium (¶30).
Claims 4, Kutz discloses wherein the channel information includes the set of mutual information for each layer (stream) of the first number of layers (a number NSS of spatial streams or a number NSTS of space-time stream) based on at least one of a time-domain granularity or a frequency-domain granularity, and wherein each mutual information of the set of mutual information is based on a set of log-likelihood ratio (LLR) values associated with each layer of the first number of layers (The modem 1502 can include an intelligent hardware block or device such as, for example, an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) among other possibilities. The modem 1502 is generally configured to implement a PHY layer. For example, the modem 1502 is configured to modulate packets and to output the modulated packets to the radio 1504 for transmission over the wireless medium. The modem 1502 is similarly configured to obtain modulated packets received by the radio 1504 and to demodulate the packets to provide demodulated packets. In addition to a modulator and a demodulator, the modem 1502 may further include digital signal processing (DSP) circuitry, automatic gain control (AGC), a coder, a decoder, a multiplexer and a demultiplexer. For example, while in a transmission mode, data obtained from the processing system 1506 is provided to a coder, which encodes the data to provide encoded bits. The encoded bits are mapped to points in a modulation constellation (using a selected MCS) to provide modulated symbols. The modulated symbols may be mapped to a number NSS of spatial streams or a number NSTS of space-time streams. The modulated symbols in the respective spatial or space-time streams may be multiplexed, transformed via an inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT) block, and subsequently provided to the DSP circuitry for Tx windowing and filtering. The digital signals may be provided to a digital-to-analog converter (DAC). The resultant analog signals may be provided to a frequency upconverter, and ultimately, the radio 1504. In implementations involving beamforming, the modulated symbols in the respective spatial streams are precoded via a steering matrix prior to their provision to the IFFT block; ¶114; While in a reception mode, digital signals received from the radio 1504 are provided to the DSP circuitry, which is configured to acquire a received signal, for example, by detecting the presence of the signal and estimating the initial timing and frequency offsets. The DSP circuitry is further configured to digitally condition the digital signals, for example, using channel (narrowband) filtering, analog impairment conditioning (such as correcting for I/Q imbalance), and applying digital gain to ultimately obtain a narrowband signal. The output of the DSP circuitry may be fed to the AGC, which is configured to use information extracted from the digital signals, for example, in one or more received training fields, to determine an appropriate gain. The output of the DSP circuitry also is coupled with the demodulator, which is configured to extract modulated symbols from the signal and, for example, compute the logarithm likelihood ratios (LLRs) for each bit position of each subcarrier in each spatial stream. The demodulator is coupled with the decoder, which may be configured to process the LLRs to provide decoded bits. The decoded bits from all of the spatial streams are fed to the demultiplexer for demultiplexing. The demultiplexed bits may be descrambled and provided to the MAC layer (the processing system 1506) for processing, evaluation, or interpretation; ¶115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide, the channel information including the set of mutual information for each layer (stream) of the first number of layers (a number NSS of spatial streams or a number NSTS of space-time stream) based on at least one of a time-domain granularity or a frequency-domain granularity, and wherein each mutual information of the set of mutual information is based on a set of log-likelihood ratio (LLR) values associated with each layer of the first number of layers, as taught by Kutz to modify Wu’s method and system in order to provide a compressed feedback technique (abstract) and to enhance the effective data rate and throughput of a wireless communication medium (¶30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-15 and 20-28 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471