Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0078936 to Doi et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0076485 to Yakulis, Jr. et al. (Cited on IDS).
As to claims 1 and 9-10, Doi discloses a display device including a first surface on which an image is displayed, a second surface located oppositely to the first surface, a resin member including an inner wall surface at least partially opposed to the side of the display surface, and a transparent cover layer including a second surface in contact with the first surface of the display and the first surface of the resin member, and a first surface located oppositely to the second surface wherein the transparent layer contains a polyurea (0009-0011).
Doi does not expressly disclose the reactants in the preparation of the polyurea.
Yakulis discloses substrates coating with transparent polyurea film-forming compositions wherein the polyurea comprises the reaction product of a polyamine component including polyether functional polyamine, an aspartic ester functional amine, and an aliphatic polyamine and a second reactive package comprising an aliphatic polyisocyanate (Abstract, 0032).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the transparent polyurea of Doi with the transparent polyurea of Yakulis to provide improved mechanical and protective properties to substrates such as abrasion, chip, corrosion, wind, UV light, and blast resistance (0003).
As to claims 2-4 and 11-12, Doi in view of Yakulis disclose aliphatic diisocyanate and oligomers thereof including trimers such as the biuret or isocyanurate of hexamethylene diisocyanate (0034) including Desmodur XP2410, XP2580, N3400 that have NCO contents within the claimed ranges (0034).
As to claims 5-6 and 13-14, Doi in view Yakulis discloses cyclic aspartic ester functional polyamines such as Desmophen NH1420 (maleic acid diethyl ester with 4,4′-diaminodicyclohexylmethane) and 1520 (0024) that has amine value of 199-203 mg KOH/g (see datasheet provided herein).
As to claim 7, Doi teaches transparent layer thickness of 0.1 mm or more, resin member thickness of 0.5 mm to 20 mm (0056, 0058).
As to claim 8, regarding the dimensional limitations, although Doi in view of Yakulis fail to disclose such parameters, it would have been obvious to arrive at the claimed values based on the fact that the prior art teaches the same composition being used in identical applications, and where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having claimed relative dimensions would not perform different than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2107.03.
As to claim 14, Doi discloses additional layers including adhesive layers and layers that would have been obvious to use an anti-fingerprint layers (0042-0055).
As to claims 15-17, Doi in view of Yakulis disclose methods for manufacturing a transparent cover film comprising a polyurea wherein the polyurea is prepared by coating in a 1:1 mix ratio (0051) a solution of polyamine in methylethyl ketone or acetone (0049) with a solution of polyisocyanate onto the substrate and curing the coating solution (Abstract, 0023 and 0054).
As to claims 18-19, Doi discloses a spin coating process for the polyurea and curing at suitable temperatures and pressures (0069, 0073).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763