DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 11-16 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 12-16, 18-20, and 23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,819,698. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 10, 11, 17, and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demmer et al (US Publication 2016/0015984) in view of Funke et al (US Patent 4,284,082).
Referring to Claims 1 and 21, Demmer et al teaches a medical device system/ non-transitory computer readable medium comprising: sensing circuitry configured to: sense one or more cardiac signals (e.g. Figure 3, Element 204); sense atrial event signals from the one or more cardiac signals (e.g. Figure 3, Element 222 and Paragraph [0064] discloses sensing NF P waves); pulse generating circuitry configured to deliver atrial pacing pulses based on the sensed atrial event signals (e.g. Figure 3, Element 202 and Figure 1, Element 12 and Paragraph [0060] discloses RA pacemaker 12 start at a lower rate pacing escape interval in response to an intrinsic sensed P-wave); control circuitry (e.g. Figure 3, Element 206) configured to: control the pulse generating circuitry to deliver the atrial pacing pulses based on the sensed atrial event signals (e.g. Paragraph [0055] discloses when pacemaker 100 is a RA pacemaker 12, control module 206 is enabled to self-configure the solo and duo operating modes of the RA pacemaker); determine a ventricular activity metric from the one or more cardiac signals (e.g. Figure 3, Element 224 and Paragraph [0064] discloses FF R-waves); based on the ventricular activity metric, determine an atrioventricular synchrony metric that represents the performance of a ventricular pacemaker in maintaining synchrony between ventricular pacing pulses delivered by the ventricular pacemaker and at least one of the sensed atrial event signals or the delivered atrial pacing pulses (e.g. Paragraph [0092] discloses an absence or latency of FF R-waves is an indication of the development of AV); generate an output based on the atrioventricular synchrony metric (e.g. Paragraph [0092] discloses data relating to evidence of AV block based on FF R-wave sensing is stored); a memory configured to store data corresponding to the atrioventricular synchrony metric in response to the output generated by the control circuit (e.g. Paragraph [0092] discloses data relating to evidence of AV block based on FF R-wave sensing is stored). However, Demmer et al does not disclose generate an output based on the atrioventricular synchrony metric by at least adjusting an atrial pacing control parameter based on the atrioventricular synchrony metric; and control the pulse generating circuitry according to the adjusted atrial pacing control parameter.
Funke et al teaches that it is known to generate an output based on the atrioventricular synchrony metric by at least adjusting an atrial pacing control parameter based on the atrioventricular synchrony metric; and control the pulse generating circuitry according to the adjusted atrial pacing control parameter as set forth in Column 3 lines 51-66 and Column 12 lines 7-19 to provide improved patient quality of life by providing the patient the full cardiac output of their heart when it is needed the most (e.g. Column 4, lines 28-30). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Demmer et al, with generating an output based on the atrioventricular synchrony metric by at least adjusting an atrial pacing control parameter based on the atrioventricular synchrony metric; and control the pulse generating circuitry according to the adjusted atrial pacing control parameter as taught by Funke et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improved patient quality of life by providing the patient the full cardiac output of their heart when it is needed the most.
Referring to Claims 7 and 17, Demmer et al in view of Funke et al teaches the claimed invention further comprising: an atrial pacemaker (e.g. Figure 1, Element 12) comprising: a housing that encloses the sensing circuitry, the pulse generating circuitry and the control circuitry (e.g. Figure 2, housing 150 and Figure 3, Elements 204, 202, and 20 are within the housing 100 and Paragraph [0042] discloses electrodes are spaced apart along the housing); a first telemetry circuit configured to transmit data corresponding to the atrioventricular synchrony metric stored in the memory (e.g. Figure 3, telemetry 208); an external device (e.g. Figure 1, Element 20) comprising: a second telemetry circuit configured to receive the transmitted data (e.g. Paragraph [0078] discloses external device 20 includes telemetry to communicate with 208 of the pacemaker); a display unit configured to generate a display of at least a portion of the transmitted data in a user interface (e.g. Paragraph [0037] discloses external device 20 includes displays).
Referring to Claims 10 and 20, Demmer et al in view of Funke et al teaches the claimed invention further comprising: a first telemetry circuit configured to transmit data corresponding to the atrioventricular synchrony metric stored in the memory (e.g. Figure 3, telemetry 208); the ventricular pacemaker (e.g. Figure 1, element 14) configured to: receive the transmitted data (e.g. Paragraphs [0038] and [0092] discloses communicating when the other pacemaker is sensing cardiac events, evidence of AV block, is transmitted to the other pacemaker); adjust at least one of a sensing control parameter or a ventricular pacing control parameter in response to receiving the transmitted data (e.g. Paragraphs [0027], [0104], and [0105] discloses patients having AV conduction defects providing DDD(R) pacing).
Referring to Claim 11, Demmer et al teaches a method, comprising: sensing one or more cardiac signals (e.g. Figure 3, Element 204); sensing atrial event signals from the one or more cardiac signals (e.g. Figure 3, Element 222 and Paragraph [0064] discloses sensing NF P waves); generating atrial pacing pulses based on the sensed atrial event signals (e.g. Figure 3, Element 202 and Figure 1, Element 12 and Paragraph [0060] discloses RA pacemaker 12 start at a lower rate pacing escape interval in response to an intrinsic sensed P-wave); determining a ventricular activity metric from the one or more cardiac signals (e.g. Figure 3, Element 224 and Paragraph [0064] discloses FF R-waves); based on the ventricular activity metric, determining an atrioventricular synchrony metric that represents the performance of a ventricular pacemaker in maintaining synchrony between ventricular pacing pulses delivered by the ventricular pacemaker and at least one of the sensed atrial event signals or the delivered atrial pacing pulses (e.g. Paragraph [0092] discloses an absence or latency of FF R-waves is an indication of the development of AV); generating an output based on the atrioventricular synchrony metric (e.g. Paragraph [0092] discloses data relating to evidence of AV block based on FF R-wave sensing is stored); adjusting, by an implantable medical device, at least one of a sensing control parameter or a pacing control parameter in response to the generated output (e.g. Paragraphs [0093 and 0098] disclose inhibiting a scheduled atrial pacing pulse or adjusting atrial pacing pulse amplitude); storing data corresponding to the atrioventricular synchrony metric in response to the generated output (e.g. Paragraph [0092]). However, Demmer et al does not disclose generate an output by adjusting at least an atrial pacing control parameter based on the atrioventricular synchrony metric. Funke et al teaches that it is known to generate an output by adjusting at least an atrial pacing control parameter based on the atrioventricular synchrony metric as set forth in Column 3 lines 51-66 and Column 12 lines 7-19 to provide improved patient quality of life by providing the patient the full cardiac output of their heart when it is needed the most (e.g. Column 4, lines 28-30). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Demmer et al, with generating an output by adjusting at least an atrial pacing control parameter based on the atrioventricular synchrony metric as taught by Funke et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improved patient quality of life by providing the patient the full cardiac output of their heart when it is needed the most.
Referring to Claim 22, Demmer et al in view of Funke et al teaches the medical device of claim 1, except wherein the control circuitry is further configured to adjust the atrial pacing control parameter by adjusting a timing of the atrial pacing pulses delivered by the pulse generating circuitry.
Funke et al teaches that it is known to adjust the atrial pacing control parameter by adjusting a timing of the atrial pacing pulses delivered by the pulse generating circuitry as set forth in Column 3 lines 51-66 and Column 12 lines 7-19 (atrial pacing rate) to provide improved patient quality of life by providing the patient the full cardiac output of their heart when it is needed the most (e.g. Column 4, lines 28-30). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Demmer et al, with adjusting the atrial pacing control parameter by adjusting a timing of the atrial pacing pulses delivered by the pulse generating circuitry as taught by Funke et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improved patient quality of life by providing the patient the full cardiac output of their heart when it is needed the most.
Referring to Claim 23, Demmer et al in view of Funke et al teaches the method of claim 11, except further comprising adjusting the atrial pacing control parameter by adjusting a timing of the atrial pacing pulses. Funke et al teaches that it is known to adjust the atrial pacing control parameter by adjusting a timing of the atrial pacing pulses as set forth in Column 3 lines 51-66 and Column 12 lines 7-19 (atrial pacing rate) to provide improved patient quality of life by providing the patient the full cardiac output of their heart when it is needed the most (e.g. Column 4, lines 28-30). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Demmer et al, with adjusting the atrial pacing control parameter by adjusting a timing of the atrial pacing pulses as taught by Funke et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improved patient quality of life by providing the patient the full cardiac output of their heart when it is needed the most.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796