DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guntzer et al. (US. 9,649,079 B1; hereinafter “GUNTZER”) in view of De Man et a. (US 2007/0147579 A1; hereinafter “De Man”).
Regarding claim 21, GUNTZER teaches a method implemented on a computing device including a processor and a storage medium for determining a dose of modulation (DOM) profile (see GUNTZER, fig. 1), the method comprising:
obtaining a topogram image of an object (see GUNTZER, fig. 2, 210, acquire scout image 215, col. 5, lines 55-65), wherein the topogram image comprises attenuation data of the object, wherein the attenuation data of the object in the topogram image is used to estimate attenuation characteristics of the object (see GUNTZER, col. 3, lines 30-40; “attenuation of ionizing radiation”; subject 110);
segmenting the topogram image into a plurality of regions (see GUNTZER, fig. 2, identify anatomical stage 255, col. 7, lines 20-40, fig. 3);
determining a regional DOM profile for each of the plurality of regions based on the topogram image (see GUNTZER, fig. 2, calculate local dose 290, col. 9, 15-35, DLP, dose length produce as DOM profile);
determining a plurality of regional DOM profiles, wherein each of the plurality of regional DOM profiles corresponds to one of the plurality of regions of the topogram image (see GUNTZER, fig. 3, plural stages 262,271,281, DLP); and
generating a DOM profile related to a computed tomography (CT) scan of the object based on the plurality of regional DOM profiles (see GUNTZER, fig. 2, 295, combined DLP for display fig. 4, col. 9, lines 30-35).
GUNTZER is silent to teaching that wherein the regional DOM profile is a continuous curve indicating a continuous change of a radiation dose.
In the same field of endeavor, De Man teaches a method wherein the regional DOM profile is a continuous curve indicating a continuous change of a radiation dose (see De Man, para. 0007, current curve as a function of time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of GUNTZER with the teaching of De Man in order to provide optimal radiation profile and reduce image noise (see De Man, para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 40, GUNTZER teaches a system for determining a dose of modulation (DOM) profile (see GUNTZER, fig. 1), comprising:
at least one storage device storing a set of instructions (see GUNTZER, fig. 1, memory 140); and
at least one processor in communication with the at least one storage device (see GUNTZER, fig. 1, proc 145), when executing the stored set of instructions, the at least one processor causes the system to perform operations including:
obtaining a topogram image of an object (see GUNTZER, fig. 2, 210, acquire scout image 215, col. 5, lines 55-65), wherein the topogram image comprises attenuation data of the object, wherein the attenuation data of the object in the topogram image is used to estimate attenuation characteristics of the object (see GUNTZER, col. 3, lines 30-40; “attenuation of ionizing radiation”; subject 110);
segmenting the topogram image into a plurality of regions (see GUNTZER, fig. 2, identify anatomical stage 255, col. 7, lines 20-40, fig. 3);
determining a regional DOM profile for each of the plurality of regions based on the topogram image (see GUNTZER, fig. 2, calculate local dose 290, col. 9, 15-35, DLP, dose length produce as DOM profile);
determining a plurality of regional DOM profiles, wherein each of the plurality of regional DOM profiles corresponds to one of the plurality of regions of the topogram image (see GUNTZER, fig. 3, plural stages 262,271,281, DLP); and
generating a DOM profile related to a computed tomography (CT) scan of the object based on the plurality of regional DOM profiles (see GUNTZER, fig. 2, 295, combined DLP for display fig. 4, col. 9, lines 30-35).
GUNTZER is silent to teaching that wherein the regional DOM profile is a continuous curve indicating a continuous change of a radiation dose.
In the same field of endeavor, De Man teaches a system wherein the regional DOM profile is a continuous curve indicating a continuous change of a radiation dose (see De Man, para. 0007, current curve as a function of time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of GUNTZER with the teaching of De Man in order to provide optimal radiation profile and reduce image noise (see De Man, para. [0006]).
Claim(s) 22-26 and 33-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUNTZER and De Man as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Couch et al. (US. Pub. No. 2012/0150505 A1; hereinafter “COUCH”).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of GUNTZER and De Man teaches the method of claim 21.
The combination of GUNTZER and De Man is silent to teaching, wherein the determining the regional DOM profile for each of the plurality of regions based on the topogram image comprises:
determining a reference topogram image for the each of the plurality of regions based on the plurality of regions; and
determining the regional DOM profile for the each of the plurality of regions based on a plurality of reference topogram images of the plurality of regions.
In the same field of endeavor, COUCH teaches a method wherein the determining the regional DOM profile for each of the plurality of regions based on the topogram image comprises:
determining a reference topogram image for the each of the plurality of regions based on the plurality of regions (see COUCH, fig. 4, 405, 415, para. [0067]); and
determining the regional DOM profile for the each of the plurality of regions based on a plurality of reference topogram images of the plurality of regions (see COUCH, fig. 10, 1015, 1035, dose estimation, para. [0086-88]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of GUNTZER and De Man with the teaching of COUCH in order to improve medical imaging quality and accurate radiation exposure needed (see COUCH, para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man and COUCH teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the determining the reference topogram image for the each of the plurality of regions based on the plurality of regions comprises:
extracting features of the each of the plurality of regions (see GUNTZER, fig. 2, 245, identify anatomical landmark);
for each of the plurality of regions, determining the reference topogram image from a plurality of candidate topogram images based on the extracted features (see COUCH, fig. 5A, 5B, para. [0068-69]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man and COUCH teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the determining the regional DOM profile for the each of the plurality of regions based on the plurality of reference topogram images comprises:
for the each of the plurality of regions, obtaining a scan protocol associated with a corresponding reference topogram image (see COUCH, fig. 3, imaging protocol 334, para. [0060-61]); and
determining the regional DOM profile related to the each of the plurality of regions based on one or more parameters of the scan protocol associated with the corresponding reference topogram image (see COUCH, para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man and COUCH teaches the method of claim 24, wherein the determining the regional DOM profile related to the each of the plurality of regions based the on one or more parameters of the scan protocol associated with the corresponding reference topogram image comprises:
for the each of the plurality of regions, obtaining one or more image parameters of the region in the topogram image of the object (see COUCH, para. [0047]); and
determining the regional DOM profile related to the each of the plurality of regions based on the one or more image parameters of the region and the one or more parameters of the scan protocol associated with the corresponding reference topogram image (see COUCH, fig. 10, 1010, para. [0086-87]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man and COUCH teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the determining the regional DOM profile for the each of the plurality of regions based on the plurality of reference topogram images of the plurality of regions comprises:
for the each of the plurality of regions, obtaining a reference 3D image corresponding to a corresponding reference topogram image (see COUCH, para. [0025], fig. 5);
obtaining a DOM profile generation model (see COUCH, para. [0046]); and
executing the DOM profile generation model to generate the regional DOM profile based on the reference 3D image and the corresponding reference topogram image (see COUCH, fig. 6, para. [0072,78]).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man and COUCH teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
performing a localizer scan before the topogram image of the object is obtained (see GUNTZER, fig. 2, 215).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man and COUCH teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
adjusting a tube current of an X-ray tube based on the DOM profile (see COUCH, para. [0048]).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man and COUCH teaches the method of claim 1, the topogram image includes an anterior-posterior (AP) topogram image or a lateral topogram image (see COUCH, fig. 5, para. [0068]).
Claim(s) 27-32 and 41-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUNTZER, De Man and COUCH as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Hibbard (US PUB 2019/0192880 A1; hereinafter “HIBBARD”).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man and COUCH teaches the method of claim 26.
The combination of GUNTZER, De Man and COUCH is silent to teaching that wherein the DOM profile generation model includes a neural network model.
In the same field of endeavor, HIBBARD teaches a method wherein the DOM profile generation model includes a neural network model (see HIBBARD, fig. 1, neural network 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of GUNTZER, De Man and COUCH with the teaching of HIBBARD in order to optimize treatment plan and efficiently generate dose maps (see HIBBARD, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man and COUCH teaches the method of claim 26.
The combination of GUNTZER, De Man and COUCH is silent to teaching that wherein the DOM profile generation model is generated by a process comprising:
obtaining a preliminary model;
obtaining a set of training data; and
training the preliminary model based on the set of training data to generate the DOM profile generation model.
In the same field of endeavor, HIBBARD teaches a method wherein the DOM profile generation model is generated by a process comprising:
obtaining a preliminary model (see HIBBARD, fig. 7, initialization model 705, para. [0076]);
obtaining a set of training data (see HIBBARD, fig. 7, training data 720, para. [0076); and
training the preliminary model based on the set of training data to generate the DOM profile generation model (see HIBBARD, fig. 7, 726, para. [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of GUNTZER, De Man and COUCH with the teaching of HIBBARD in order to optimize treatment plan and efficiently generate dose maps (see HIBBARD, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man , COUCH and HIBBARD teaches the method of claim 28, wherein the set of training data comprises:
a plurality of sample CT images, a plurality of sample 3D images corresponding to the plurality of sample CT images, respectively, and a plurality of sample topogram images corresponding to the plurality of sample CT images, respectively (see HIBBARD, para. [0035,77,92]).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man , COUCH and HIBBARD teaches the method of claim 28, wherein the set of training data is associated with multiple regions of the object (see HIBBARD, para. [0039], anatomical region, segmentation) and the DOM profile generation model is a universal model (see HIBBARD, para. [0076], initial config).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man , COUCH and HIBBARD teaches the method of claim 28, wherein the set of training data is associated with a region of the object (see HIBBARD, para. [0078]) and the DOM profile generation model is a specialized model (see HIBBARD, para. [0077], specialized for 3D).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man , COUCH and HIBBARD teaches the method of claim 28, wherein the training the preliminary model based on the set of training data to generate the DOM profile generation model comprises:
determining a plurality of sample DOM profiles based on the plurality of sample CT images (see HIBBARD, fig. 7, select training data 730, para. [0079]);
executing the preliminary model based on the plurality of corresponding sample 3D images and the plurality of corresponding sample topogram images to generate a plurality of predicted DOM profiles (see HIBBARD, estimate result 735, para. [0079]); and
training the preliminary model by minimizing an average difference between the plurality of predicted DOM profiles and the plurality of sample DOM profiles (See HIBBARD, fig. 7, error, criteria 740,745, para. [0080]).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man , COUCH and HIBBARD teaches the method of claim 32, wherein differences between the plurality of predicted DOM profiles and the plurality of sample DOM profiles are assessed in terms of a loss function (see HIBBARD, para. [0134], loss function).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man , COUCH and HIBBARD teaches the method of claim 32, wherein the preliminary model is updated by different strategies, comprising:
in response to a difference between a sample DOM profile and a predicted DOM profile in a present iteration is less than a threshold, updating part or all parameters of the preliminary model; or in response to the difference between the sample DOM profile and the predicted DOM profile in the present iteration is greater than a difference in a preceding iteration, stopping updating the preliminary model in the present iteration (see HIBBARD, fig. 7, 745,750, para. [0079-80]).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of GUNTZER, De Man , COUCH and HIBBARD teaches the method of claim 32, further comprising:
generating the DOM profile generation model until all of the set of training data are traversed or a preset condition is satisfied, wherein the preset condition includes that a difference between a sample DOM profile and a corresponding predicted DOM profile is less than a threshold in one or more consecutive iterations (see HIBBARD, fig. 7, 745,755, para. [0079-80]).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-35 and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,813,103. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims 21-35 and 40 in the instant application is broader and is taught by the narrow scope of claims 1-18 of Patent 11,813,103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21 and 40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648