Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, 11, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (“SCADACore”, web page archived by Wayback Machine on 01/25/2021, see PTO-892 for full citation).
Regarding claim 1, SCADACore teaches a method comprising: obtaining, at a mobile device, an input image representing a pump card (met by Cellular Modem for Pump Controller Monitoring). This is read in (Page 6).
SCADACore further teaches mapping, based on the input image, the pump card to one of a plurality of possible pump operating conditions (met by dynamometer surveys can be analyzed to reveal a defective pump, tubing leaks, excessive vibration, or other problems). This is read in (Page 2).
SCADACore further teaches outputting, at the mobile device, the mapped pump operating condition (met by charting options and intelligent color-coding; further met by alarm callout and alarm history). This is read in (Page 3).
Regarding claim 2, SCADACore teaches wherein the mapping of the input pump card involves classifying the pump card based on known historical data (met by Current and historical
Card Viewer allows clients to view past and present surface cards and downhole cards). This is read in (Page 2).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is substantially reiterating the limitation of claim 1 pertaining to mapping the pump card image to one of a plurality of possible pump operating conditions. Therefore, the analysis of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is substantially identical to claim 1, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is substantially identical to claim 2, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is substantially identical to claim 9, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is substantially identical to claim 1, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCADACore in view of Duan et al. (CN108122075A, hereinafter referred to as “Duan”).
Regarding claim 3, SCADACore fails to teach wherein the mapping of the pump card comprises classifying the input image as one of a plurality of possible pump operating conditions using trained machine learning based image classification model. However, Duan amends this deficiency.
Duan teaches a convolutional neural network (CNN) to obtain operation data for training. The CNN is then used for practical application of sucker rod pump work condition monitoring. This meets the same intended function of the claimed invention’s trained machine learning based image classification model.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SCADACore to incorporated the teachings of Duan in order to provide a kind of sucker rod pump operating mode intelligent monitoring method based on convolutional neural networks intensified
Learning (Abstract).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is substantially identical to claim 3, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 10, 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact
/MATTHEW JAMES BODNARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2668
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668