Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/13/2023. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10, 47-53 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dasgupta et al. (US11556746, hereinafter “Dasgupta”)
Claim 1. (Original) Dasgupta teaches A method for verification and analysis of artificial intelligence (AI) models, (Abstract “perform iterative model experiments to develop machine learning (ML) media models… allows users to visually inspect media samples that were used during the model experiment to determine corrective actions to improve model performance for later iterations of experiments.”) the method comprising:
selecting (col22line65 “user may specify…providing production input data to the model”) a test data set of a plurality of images (col18line52 “input data 505 (e.g. production images)”) with each datapoint annotated with a unique identification; (Col38line59 “each datum or sample (an image, for example) may be annotated with one or more labels.”)
receiving ground truth annotation associated with each image in the test data set; (col26line25 “input data may be truth labeled” And col15line31“media samples from the production environment may be truth labeled so that performances of both the production model and the model under development may be viewed and compared.”)
receiving a fitted AI model (col18line49 “model under development (MUD) 522” is understood to be the same as the claimed fitted AI model in light of instant specifications [0112]) to be verified and analyzed; ( col18line49 “MDE may allow the user to perform a simulation of a model under development (MUD) 522, which allows the MUD to be tested against production input data 505 (e.g. production images)” and abstract “model development environment (MDE) that allows a team of users to perform iterative model experiments to develop machine learning (ML) media models.”
running the fitted AI model on the test data set using an AI server to receive output data regarding each image in the test data set; (col26line20 “compare the performance results of the two models after a period of simulating the model under development using production input data… to obtain the results shown on this interface,”)
for each image of the plurality of images in the test data set, featurizing the output data, (col59line65 “the feature vector may be an output generated by an intermediate layer in model's neural network”) the ground truth annotation,(col35line 51 “annotation”) and the image (col27line31 “feature vectors extracted from the images).”) to generate an output feature vector; (col35line52 “reduce all images in the image set to a feature vector… output the feature vector as an intermediate representation of an input image.”) and
reducing and clustering the plurality of output feature vectors together to generate a two- dimensional scatter plot and cluster information of a plurality of data points. (col36line14 “scatter plot 1430 displays the feature vector 1432 of each image as a point in the plot, and also a cluster indicator 1440 for each determined cluster of images in the set.” And fig.14)
Claim 2. (Original) Dasgupta teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: supporting an interactive user interface (UI) to explore, browse, (col35line41 “the user interface 1400 may also include a view button 1412 that allows users to visually inspect the images or other media samples to be loaded.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed interface to explore and browse in light of instant specifications [0163]) and analyze one or more of the data points in the two-dimensional scatter plot. (col35line64 “the user interface may include a button 1436 that allows users to configure which features should be used to make the scatter plot, or how the scatter plot should be displayed.” And Col35line60 “the scatter plot 1430 may be implemented as a user control that allows users to view feature vectors in two-dimensional space” and Fig. 14 shows the scatter plot is a two-dimensional scatter plot)
Claim 10. (Original) Dasgupta teaches The method of claim 1, wherein: the AI model is an image classification model, (col14line5 “(e.g., every pixel in an image) may be classified…neural networks”)
the ground truth annotation comprises a single class (col21line9 “annotations may be used to assign each sample to a class.”) of a plurality of classes; (col9line21“tags that classify media samples into different desired classes.”) and
the model output comprises prediction confidence scores for each of the plurality of classes. (col52 line39“probability score for each class.” And col32line47 “predicted class probability”)
Claim 47. (New) Dasgupta teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the featurization further comprises: a class-wise evaluation of divergence between ground truth class-labels and model prediction confidences in the case of image classification. (col72line66 “second saliency map indicates one or more other regions in the test sample that are salient to the ML model to classify the test sample to a different class from the prediction result.”)
Claim 48. (New) Dasgupta teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the featurization further comprises: a test dataset of images, with each data sample in the dataset assigned a ground truth class-label provided by expert annotators; (col19line63“The sample annotation interface 532 may be configured to allow a user to manually or programmatically annotate individual input samples (e.g. images).”) and
model predictions for the AI model being evaluated obtained by running inferences on the test data to obtain prediction confidences. (col51line44 “If a pixel change causes a large effect on the prediction result (e.g. the confidence level of the prediction), that pixel may be deemed “salient” for the prediction result. In some embodiments, the saliency level may be determined based on regions in the image, which may be determined via a semantic segmentation of the image, possibly produced by the model itself.”)
Claim 49. (New) Dasgupta teaches The method of claim 1, wherein: the AI model is an object detection model, (col9 line60“neural network…object detection,”)
the ground truth annotation (col39line36 “truth label value”) comprises zero (figure17b Shows zero which is understood to be the same as the claimed zero in light of instant specifications [0144]) or more object class (fig 17b “cow, horse giraffe”) and bounding boxes; (col52line65 “all of the images or maps displayed may indicate a bounding box”) and the model output (col39line36 “prediction label value determined by the classifier 1380.”) comprises a zero (figure17b Shows zero which is understood to be the same as the claimed zero in light of instant specifications [0144]) or more object class (fig 17b “cow, horse giraffe”) and bounding boxes, (col52line65 “all of the images or maps displayed may indicate a bounding box”) along with a prediction confidence score associated with each predicted box. (col52 line39“probability score for each class.” And col32line47 “predicted class probability”)
Claim 50. (New) Dasgupta teaches The method of claim 49, wherein the featurization further comprises:
a class-wise and a region-wise evaluation of divergence between ground truth object bounding boxes and model prediction bounding boxes.
(col72line66 “second saliency map indicates one or more other regions in the test sample that are salient to the ML model to classify the test sample to a different class from the prediction result.”)
Claim 51. (New) Dasgupta teaches The method of claim 50, wherein the featurization further comprises: a test dataset of images, with each data sample in the test dataset of images assigned ground truth labels (col39line36 “truth label value”) comprising zero (figure17b Shows zero which is understood to be the same as the claimed zero in light of instant specifications [0144]) or more annotations, each containing an object class (fig 17b “cow, horse giraffe”) and bounding box; (col52line65 “all of the images or maps displayed may indicate a bounding box”) and
model predictions for the AI model being evaluated obtained by running inferences on the test data (col39line36 “prediction label value determined by the classifier 1380.”) to obtain zero (figure17b Shows zero which is understood to be the same as the claimed zero in light of instant specifications [0144]) or more prediction annotations, each containing an object class, (fig 17b “cow, horse giraffe”) a bounding box, (col52line65 “all of the images or maps displayed may indicate a bounding box”)and an associated prediction confidence. (col52 line39“probability score for each class.” And col32line47 “predicted class probability”)
Claim 52. (New) Dasgupta teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the reducing and clustering (col33line49“clustering technique”) comprises: selecting a clustering algorithm to group data points together from the group comprising a hierarchical density-based spatial clustering (HDBSCAN) algorithm, a k-segmentation algorithm, a hierarchical k-means algorithm, and a gaussian mixture model algorithm;
selecting an embedding algorithm to plot and display the data points in two dimensions from the group comprising a uniform manifold approximation and projection for dimension reduction (UMAP) algorithm, a principal component analysis (PCA) algorithm, (col6line16 “MDE implements data visualization techniques such as PCA (principal component analysis)”) and a locally linear embedding algorithm; and
selecting an order of whether an embedding to plot and display data points occurs before a clustering of data points or the clustering of data points occurs before the embedding to plot and display data points. (col36line23 “the user interface 1400 may include a refresh plot button 1450, which allow the scatter plot 1430 to be refreshed, after configuration changes are made to the feature extraction method, the plot features, or the clustering method.”)
Claim 53. (New) Dasgupta teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the supporting of the interactive user interface (UI) further comprises: selecting one cluster of a plurality of data points; and
splitting the one cluster into two or more subclusters of a two or more plurality of data points. (col44line34 “the graphical user interface may allow the user to change the way that the feature vectors are extracted or the way that the feature vectors are clusters”)
Claim 56. (New) Dasgupta teaches The method of claim 1, wherein: the reducing and clustering operates on a subset of features of the output feature vector associated with each image. (col44line44“the clustering allows groups of images in the images set with similar feature sets.” )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dasgupta et al. (US11556746, hereinafter “Dasgupta”) and in view of Wu et al (US20230044233, hereinafter “Wu”)
Claim 54. (New) Dasgupta teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the supporting of the interactive user interface (UI) further comprises:
Dasgupta does not explicitly teach selecting one cluster of a plurality of data points; and
merging the one cluster into a parent cluster of a plurality of data points.
Wu teaches selecting one cluster of a plurality of data points; and
merging the one cluster into a parent cluster of a plurality of data points.(“ The user may then use the user interface… merge samples in the pushed cluster with a cluster that the user has already reviewed and is being used for enrollment, or merge samples in the pushed cluster with a cluster that the user has already reviewed… merge the fifteen new face images of user Z to the existing cluster of ten face images of user Z in the enrolled user data store 240 and form a combined cluster”)
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dasgupta to have selecting and merging that cluster into a parent cluster as taught by Wu to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to (Wu [0109] “reduce costs while providing access to significant levels of useful visual information.”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, and 55 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Yuan et al NPL “A survey of visual analytics techniques for machine learning” teaches a GUI showing clustering to verify the labeling of an AI system.
/OWAIS IQBAL MEMON/Examiner, Art Unit 2663
/GREGORY A MORSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2698