DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 8, 13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 6, “a single channel”, should be changed to -the single channel-.
Claim 1, lines 7-8, “a central intersection”, should be changed to -the central intersection-.
The dependencies of the claims 7 and 8 are on the canceled claim 6. For the further examination the decency of both claims are considered on claim 1.
Claim 13, line 3, “a single channel”, should be changed to -the single channel-.
Claim 15, lines 1 and 4, “a central intersection”, should be changed to -the central intersection-.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gauthier et al. (US 10,297,942) hereafter Gauthier.
Regarding claim 1, Gauthier, discloses a split parallel connector 10 comprising: first and second body members 12, 14 configured to be interlocked around parallel conductors (parallel conductors are not positively claimed) to be electrically and mechanically coupled; channel cuts 18, 20 formed in the first and second body members 12, 14 to receive the parallel conductors, wherein the pairs of channel cuts 18, 20 are configured in a single channel 16 configuration in which the conductors are held in the single channel, and wherein a central intersection 40 of the pair of channel cuts 18, 20 formed in the first body member 12 is spaced from the central intersection 40 of the pair of channel cuts 18, 20 formed in the second body member 14; and
locking mechanisms 30, 32 formed in the first and second body members and configured to secure the first and second body members 12, 14 together before a compressive force is applied, wherein each of the locking mechanisms 30, 32 comprises a projection 34 formed on a tab 36 that projects into a vertically-aligned recess 30 formed in a groove 30to restrict relative motion between the first and second body members 12,14.
Regarding claim 2, Gauthier, discloses first and second locking mechanisms 30, 32 configured on opposing sides of the connector 10.
Regarding claim 3, Gauthier, discloses each of the first and second locking mechanisms 30, 32 comprises: the tab 34 formed on the second body member 14 that includes a descendant projection 36 that interlocks with a vertically-aligned ascendant recess 30 formed in the groove 30 in the first body member 12; and the tab 34 formed on the first body member 12 that includes an ascendant projection 36 that interlocks with a vertically-aligned descendant recess 30 formed in the groove 230 in the second body member 14 (see figs 1, 2).
Regarding claim 7, Gauthier, discloses a first shoulder (vertical portion of) 40 is formed at a central intersection of the channel cuts 16 formed in the first body member; a second shoulder (vertical portion of) 42 (see figs. 1-2) is formed at a central intersection of the channel cuts 20 formed in the second body member 14; and the first and second shoulders 40, 42 are in contact and separate the channel cuts into the separate channels( see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Gauthier, discloses a first locking tab 40 is formed at a central intersection 40 of the channel cuts 16 formed in the first body member 12; and a second locking tab 42 is formed at a central intersection of the channel cuts 20 formed in the second body member 14, wherein the first and second locking tabs abut to further restrict relative lateral motion between the first and second body members.
Regarding claim 9, Gauthier, discloses a split parallel connector comprising:
first and second body members 12, 14 configured to be interlocked around parallel conductors (parallel conductors are not positively claimed) to be electrically and mechanically coupled; first channel cuts 18 and a second channel cuts 20 formed in each of the first and second body members 12, 14 to receive the parallel conductors; a first intersection (40, see figs. 1,2) formed between the first channel cut 18 and the second channel cut 18 of the first body 12; a second intersection (42, see figs. 1 and 2) formed between the first channel cut 18 and the second channel cut 18 of the second body 14; and cut-outs C1 (30), C2 (32) formed in the first and second body members 26, 28 to eliminate excess material, the cut-outs being offset relative to a central vertical axis CVA (upon reorientation) of the connector 10 to efficiently direct swaging forces to the conductors, wherein the central vertical axis extends along an entire length of the first intersection and along an entire length of the second intersection.
Regarding claim 10, Gauthier, discloses a first cut-out (30) C1 is oriented above a first channel (bottom portion of) 18 defined by the channel cuts C1, C2 and a second cut-out C2 is oriented below a second channel (upper portion) 20 defined by the channel cuts 18, 20.
Regarding claim 11, Gauthier, discloses each of the cut-outs C1 (30), C2 (32) includes a narrow slot cut-out portion 16NS formed in an outer cylindrical surface of 18, 20 the connector that opens to a larger and radially inward cut-out portion that is spaced from the outer cylindrical surface (see annotated fig. and figs 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 12, Gauthier, discloses the radially inward cut-out portion has a circular configuration (see figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 13, Gauthier, discloses the first channel cuts C1 (30),and the second cuts C2 (32) are configured in a single channel 16 configuration (before assembly) in which the conductors are held in the single channel 16, and wherein the first intersection is spaced apart from the second intersection.
Regarding claim 14, Gauthier, discloses the first channel cuts C1 (30),and the second cuts C2 (32) are configured in a dual channel configuration 16 (figs. 1-2) in which the conductors are held in separate channels 16 (upon assembly), and wherein the first intersection 40 is spaced apart from the second intersection 42 (before assembly).
Regarding claim 15, Gauthier, discloses a first locking tab 42 is formed at the central intersection of the channel cuts 18 formed in the first body member 12 and a second locking tab 42 is formed at the central intersection of the channel cuts formed in the second body member 14, wherein the first and second locking tabs abut to restrict relative lateral motion between the first and second body members 12, 14.
Regarding claim 16, Gauthier, discloses a split parallel connector 10 comprising: first and second body members 12, 14 (capable to be) configured to be interlocked around parallel conductors (not shown) to be electrically and mechanically coupled; first and second channel cuts 18, 20 formed in both of the first and second body members 12, 14 to receive the parallel conductors; first and second locking
mechanisms 30, 32 formed in the first and second body members and configured to secure the first and second body members 12, 14 together before a compressive force is applied, wherein the first and second locking mechanisms 30, 32 each comprise a projection 36 formed on a tab 34 that projects into a vertically-aligned recess R (see annotated fig.) formed in a groove 30 to restrict relative motion between the first and second body members, the first and second locking mechanisms being offset relative to an axis extending through a center of the connector; and a first cut-out C1, (30) formed in the first body member and a second cut-out C2 (32) formed in the second body member members to eliminate excess material, the cut-outs being offset relative to the axis; and wherein the first locking mechanism, the first channel cuts, and the first cut-out are formed on a first side of the axis and the second locking member, the second channel cuts, and the second cut-out are formed on a second side of the axis (see figs. 1-2 and annotated figs.
Regarding claim 17, Gauthier, discloses each of the first and second locking mechanisms 30, 32 comprises: the tab 34 formed on the second body member 14 that includes a descendant projection 36 that interlocks with a vertically-aligned ascendant recess 30 formed in the groove 30 in the first body member 12; and the tab 34 formed on the first body member 12 that includes an ascendant projection 36that interlocks with a vertically-aligned descendant recess 30 formed in the groove 30 in the second body member 14 (see figs 1, 2).
Regarding claim 18, Gauthier, discloses cut-outs C1 (30), C2 (32) formed in the first and second body members 26, 28 to eliminate excess material, the cut-outs being offset relative to a central vertical axis CVA (upon reorientation) of the connector 10 to efficiently direct swaging forces to the conductors.
Regarding claim 19, Gauthier, discloses each of the cut-outs C1 (30), C2 (32) includes a narrow slot cut-out portion NS formed in an outer cylindrical surface of 18, 20 the connector that opens to a larger and radially inward cut-out portion that is spaced from the outer cylindrical surface (see annotated fig. and figs 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 20, Gauthier, discloses the first and second channel cuts 16, 18 are configured in a dual channel configuration in which the conductors are held in separate channels 16,upon assembly); discloses a first locking tab 40 is formed at a central intersection 40 of the first channel cuts and the second channel cuts 16 formed in the first body member 12; and a second locking tab 42 is formed at a central intersection of the first channel cuts and the second channel cuts 20 formed in the second body member 14, wherein the first and second locking tabs 40,42, and 34, 36 abut to further restrict relative lateral motion between the first and second body members.
Regarding claim 21, Gauthier, discloses the pair of channel cuts 18 on the first body member includes a first channel cut 18 having a first radius of curvature extending around a first center and a second channel cut (other of) 18 having a second radius of curvature extending around a second center (see figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 22, Gauthier, discloses the first radius of curvature is equal to the second radius of curvature (see figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 23, Gauthier, discloses an axis CVA (see annotated fig.) extends along the central intersection (formed by 40,42) of the pair of channel cuts 18 and the central intersection (formed by 40, 42) of the pair of channel 16, wherein the first center and the second center are spaced apart from the axis, and wherein the first center is disposed on an opposite side of the axis from the second center (see figs. 1-2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner has revised the rejection in order to address the recent amendment and arguments.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831