DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2025/0015258).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses an anode for a lithium secondary battery ([0010]-[0012], [0093], negative electrode, discussed throughout), comprising:
an anode current collector ([0012], negative electrode current collector, discussed throughout); and
a first anode active material layer and a second anode active material layer sequentially stacked on at least one surface of the anode current collector ([0012], first negative electrode active material layer and second negative electrode active material layer, discussed throughout), the first anode active material layer and the second anode active material layer comprising a first silicon-based active material and a second silicon-based active material ([0012], first silicon active material and second silicon active material, discussed throughout), respectively,
wherein Formulae 1 to 3 are satisfied:
30<R 1<50 [Formula 1] ([0054], [0082] and [0088], discussed throughout)
50<R 2<70 [Formula 2] ([0054], [0082] and [0088], discussed throughout)
2.0≤(S 2 R 2 /S 1 R 1)≤8.0 [Formula 3] ([0043], [0054], [0071], [0082] and [0088], discussed throughout)
wherein, in Formulae 1 to 3, R1 is a numerical percentage value of a thickness of the first anode active material layer relative to a total thickness of the first anode active material layer and the second anode active material layer ([0054], [0082] and [0088], discussed throughout),
R2 is a numerical percentage value of a thickness of the second anode active material layer relative to the total thickness of the first anode active material layer and the second anode active material layer ([0054], [0082] and [0088], discussed throughout),
S1 is a weight percent value of the first silicon-based active material based on a total weight of the first negative active material layer ([0043], discussed throughout), and
S2 is a weight percent value of the second silicon-based active material based on a total weight of the second negative active material layer ([0071], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 2, Kim discloses wherein, each of the first silicon-based active material and the second silicon-based active material includes at least one selected from the group consisting of silicon, a silicon alloy, a silicon oxide, a metal-doped silicon oxide, a silicon carbide (Si—C) and a silicon-containing core-shell structure particle ([0035]-[0037], [0063]-[0065], discussed throughout).
As to claim 3, Kim discloses wherein, the silicon oxide includes SiOx (0<x<2) ([0035]-[0037], [0063]-[0065], discussed throughout).
As to claim 4, Kim discloses wherein, the metal-doped silicon oxide includes SiOx (0<x<2) containing at least one doping metal selected from the group consisting of Mg, Li, N, B, P, Al, Cu, Mn, Ca and Zn ([0035]-[0037], [0063]-[0065], discussed throughout).
As to claim 5, Kim discloses wherein, the first silicon-based active material and the second silicon-based active material include SiOx (0<x<2) containing different doping metals ([0035]-[0037], [0063]-[0065], discussed throughout).
As to claim 6, Kim discloses wherein, the doping metal of the first silicon-based active material includes Li, and the doping metal of the second silicon-based active material includes Mg ([0035]-[0037], [0063]-[0065], discussed throughout).
As to claim 7, Kim discloses wherein, a sum of the thickness of the first anode active material layer and the thickness of the second anode active material layer is in a range from 50 μm to 300 μm ([0054], [0082], [0088], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 8, Kim discloses wherein, S1 is in a range from 0.1 to 35, and S2 is in a range from 0.1 to 35 ([0043], [0071], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 9, Kim discloses wherein, S1 is in a range from 1 to 15, and S2 is in a range from 1 to 20 ([0043], [0071], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 10, Kim discloses wherein, Formula 4 is satisfied:
0.85≤(S 2 /S 1)≤8.0. [Formula 4] ([0043], [0071], discussed throughout)
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 11, Kim discloses wherein, each of the first anode active material layer and the second anode active material layer further comprises a carbon-based active material ([0012], first carbon based active material and second carbon based active material, discussed throughout).
As to claim 12, Kim discloses wherein, the carbon-based active material comprises artificial graphite ([0030], [0058] and discussed throughout).
As to claim 13, Kim discloses a lithium secondary battery, comprising: the anode for lithium secondary battery of claim 1; and a cathode facing the anode ([0093], discussed throughout).
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724