DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on November 14, 2023, December 11, 2023, May 9, 2024, July 2, 2024 and December 16, 2025 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The extensive drawings have not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the drawings.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20, 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogata et al. US Patent Application Publication 2012/0019931.
Regarding claim 1 Ogata discloses a zoom lens (title e.g. figure 11 example 2-2) comprising a plurality of lens units (e.g. see figure 11), the plurality of lens units consisting of, in order from an object side to an image side, a first lens unit having negative refractive power (e.g. first lens group G1 paragraph [0289] “G1 of negative refracting power”), a second lens unit having positive refractive power (e.g. second lens group G2 paragraph [0289] “G2 of positive refracting power”), a third lens unit having negative refractive power (e.g. third lens group G3 paragraph [0289] “G3 of negative refracting power”), and a fourth lens unit having positive refractive power (e.g. fourth lens group G4 paragraph [0289] “G3 of positive refracting power”), wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes during zooming from a wide-angle end to a telephoto end (e.g. see figure 2-2), wherein the first lens unit (e.g. G1) includes three or more lenses (e.g. paragraph [0290] “G1 is made up of … a negative lens, a negative meniscus lens … and a positive meniscus lens” see figure 11), wherein the first lens unit (e.g. G1) is fixed relative to an image plane during zooming (e.g. paragraph [0294] “first lens group G1 … remain fixed in the position relative to the image plane” see figure 11), and wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: 0.85 < (-f1)/f2 < 2.00 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] -f1/f2=0.94), 0.00 < (-f1)/f4 < 0.55 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] -f1/f4=0.30), and 0.00 < LD1/TTL < 0.27 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] LD1/TTL=0.15).
Regarding claim 2 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.30 < BFw/(-f1) < 1.50 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] BFw/(-f1)=0.59).
Regarding claim 3 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.07 < BFw/TTL < 0.30 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] BFw/TTL=0.14).
Regarding claim 4 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 2.0 < TTL/(-f1) < 6.0 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] TTL/(-f1)=4.1).
Regarding claim 5 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 3.0 < TTL/fw < 7.5 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] TTL/fw=7.3).
Regarding claim 6 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.1 < f2/(-f3) < 1.5 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] f2/(-f3)=0.6) where f3 is a focal length of the third lens unit.
Regarding claim 7 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.05 < f2/f4 < 0.80 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] -f2/f4=0.32).
Regarding claim 8 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.1 < (-f3)/f4 < 2.0 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] -f3/f4=0.6).
Regarding claim 9 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 < (-f1)/fw < 2.5 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] -f1/fw=1.8).
Regarding claim 10 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.2 < (-f1)/ft < 1.4 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] -f1/ft=0.6).
Regarding claim 11 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 <β2t/β2w < 3.0 where β2t is lateral magnification of the second lens unit at the telephoto end, and β2w is lateral magnification of the second lens unit at the wide-angle end (inherent given structure and function).
Regarding claim 12 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 <β3t/β3w < 2.0 where β3t is lateral magnification of the third lens unit at the telephoto end, and β3w is lateral magnification of the third lens unit at the wide-angle end (inherent given structure and function).
Regarding claim 13 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the first lens unit includes a first negative lens, and the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 < fn1/f1 < 2.0 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] fn1/f1=0.9).
Regarding claim 14 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the first lens unit includes a second negative lens, and the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 < fn2/f1 < 10.0 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] fn2/f1=2.5).
Regarding claim 15 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the first lens unit includes a first positive lens, and the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 < fp1/(-f1) < 5.0 (e.g. using the values in paragraph [0322] fp1/(-f1)=2.3).
Regarding claim 16 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the first lens unit (e.g. G1) consists of lenses having refractive powers (e.g. see figure 11).
Regarding claim 17 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the fourth lens unit (e.g. G4) is fixed relative to the image plane during zooming from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end (e.g. paragraph [0294] “G4 remain fixed in the position relative to the image plane” see figure 11).
Regarding claim 18 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the second lens unit (e.g. G2) includes an aperture stop (e.g. stop S paragraph [0291] “G2 is made up of … stop S” see figure 11).
Regarding claim 19 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the fourth lens unit (e.g. G4) consists of a single positive fixed focal length lens (e.g. paragraph [0293] “G4 is made up of a positive lens” see figure 11).
Regarding claim 20 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the first lens unit (e.g. G1) consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a negative lens, a negative lens, and a positive lens (e.g. paragraph [0290] “G1 is made up of … a negative lens, a negative meniscus lens … and a positive meniscus lens” see figure 11).
Regarding claim 23 Ogata discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ogata further discloses wherein the third lens unit (e.g. G3) is a focus lens unit that moves during focusing (paragraph [0294] “The focusing operation, and the wobbling operation is implemented by the third lens group G3. Upon focusing from infinity to a near distance, the third lens group G3 moves to the image side.”)
Regarding claim 26 further discloses an image pickup apparatus (title e.g. figure 22 camera 1) comprising: a zoom lens (e.g. lens system 2); and an image sensor configured (e.g. imaging device plane 4 paragraph [0328] “CCD, CMOS or the like as an imaging device”) to receive image light formed by the zoom lens (e.g. see figure 22), the zoom lens according to claim 1 (as set forth above).
Claims 1-4, 6-16, 18-20, 23-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ohtake et al. US Patent Application Publication 2024/0248288.
Regarding claim 1 Ohtake discloses a zoom lens zoom lens (title e.g. example 3 see figure 5 zoom optical system ZL(3)) comprising a plurality of lens units (e.g. see figure 5), the plurality of lens units consisting of, in order from an object side to an image side, a first lens unit having negative refractive power (e.g. first lens group G1 paragraph [0174] “G1 having negative refractive power”), a second lens unit having positive refractive power (e.g. second lens group G2 paragraph [0174] “G2 having positive refractive power”), a third lens unit having negative refractive power (e.g. third lens group G3 paragraph [0174] “G3 having negative refractive power”), and a fourth lens unit having positive refractive power (e.g. fourth lens group G4 paragraph [0174] “G4 having positive refractive power”), wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes during zooming from a wide-angle end to a telephoto end (e.g. paragraph [0174] “distances between the lens groups adjacent to each other change” see figure 5), wherein the first lens unit (e.g. G1) includes three or more lenses (e.g. lenses L12, L12 & L13), wherein the first lens unit (e.g. G1) is fixed relative to an image plane during zooming (e.g. paragraph [0174] “G1 is fixed relative to the image surface” see figure 5), and wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: 0.85 < (-f1)/f2 < 2.00 (e.g. using the values in Table 3 -f1/f2=1.44), 0.00 < (-f1)/f4 < 0.55 (e.g. using the values in Table 3 -f1/f4=0.32) 0.00 < LD1/TTL < 0.27 (e.g. using the values in Table 3 LD1/TTL=0.11).
Regarding claim 2 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.30 < BFw/(-f1) < 1.50 (e.g. using the values in Table 3 BFw/(-f1)=0.43).
Regarding claim 3 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.07 < BFw/TTL < 0.30 (e.g. using the values in Table 3 BFw/TTL =0.17).
Regarding claim 4 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 2.0 < TTL/(-f1) < 6.0 (e.g. using the values in Table 3 TTL/(-f1)=2.44).
Regarding claim 6 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.1 < f2/(-f3) < 1.5 (e.g. using the values in Table 3 f2/(-f3)=0.43).
Regarding claim 7 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.05 < f2/f4 < 0.80 (e.g. using the values in Table 3 f2/f4=0.23).
Regarding claim 8 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.1 < (-f3)/f4 < 2.0 (e.g. using the values in Table 3 -f3/f4=0.51).
Regarding claim 9 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 < (-f1)/fw < 2.5 (e.g. using the values in Table 3 -f1/fw=1.1).
Regarding claim 10 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.2 < (-f1)/ft < 1.4 (e.g. using the values in Table 3 -f1/ft=0.9).
Regarding claim 11 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 <β2t/β2w < 3.0 where β2t is lateral magnification of the second lens unit at the telephoto end, and β2w is lateral magnification of the second lens unit at the wide-angle end (inherent given structure and function).
Regarding claim 12 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 <β3t/β3w < 2.0 where β3t is lateral magnification of the third lens unit at the telephoto end, and β3w is lateral magnification of the third lens unit at the wide-angle end (inherent given structure and function).
Regarding claim 13 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the first lens unit includes a first negative lens, and the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 < fn1/f1 < 2.0 (e.g. using the values in Table 3 fn1/f1=0.52).
Regarding claim 14 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the first lens unit includes a second negative lens, and the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 < fn2/f1 < 10.0 (e.g. using the values in Table 3 fn2/f1=2.1).
Regarding claim 15 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the first lens unit includes a first positive lens, and the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 < fp1/(-f1) < 5.0 (e.g. using the values in Table 3 fp1/(-f1)=0.7).
Regarding claim 16 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the first lens unit consists of lenses having refractive powers (e.g. figure 5 shows G1 with only lenses L11, L12 & L13 having refractive powers, e.g. fn1, fn2 & fp1, respectively).
Regarding claim 18 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the second lens unit (e.g. G2) includes an aperture stop (e.g. aperture stop S).
Regarding claim 19 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the fourth lens unit (e.g. G4) consists (e.g. see figure 5) of a single positive fixed focal length lens (e.g. “biconvex positive lens L41”).
Regarding claim 20 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the first lens unit (e.g. G1) consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a negative lens, a negative lens, and a positive lens (e.g. figure 5 shows G1 with only lenses L11, L12 & L13 paragraph [0175] “negative meniscus lens L11 … negative meniscus lens L12 … positive meniscus lens L13”).
Regarding claim 23 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the third lens unit is a focus lens unit (e.g. G3) that moves during focusing (e.g. paragraph [0179] see figure 5).
Regarding claim 24 Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ohtake further discloses wherein the third lens unit (e.g. G3) consists of a single negative fixed focal length lens (e.g. figure 5 shows G3 with only lens L31 paragraph [0177] “negative meniscus lens L31”).
Regarding claim 26 Ohtake further discloses an image pickup apparatus (title e.g. figure 11 camera 1) comprising: a zoom lens (e.g. zoom optical system ZL); and an image sensor (e.g. image capturing element 4) configured to receive image light formed by the zoom lens (paragraph [0044] “Light from an object is collected by the zoom optical system ZL of the photographing lens 3 and incident on an image surface I of the image capturing element 4”), the zoom lens according to claim 1 (as set forth above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-22 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claim 21 none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed zoom lens specifically including, as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations, wherein the first lens unit consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a negative lens, a negative lens, a positive lens, and a negative lens. For example, both Ogata and Ohtake have the first lens unit consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a negative lens, a negative lens, and a positive lens, as required by claim 20.
Specifically, with respect to claim 22 none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed zoom lens specifically including, as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations, wherein the first lens unit consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a negative lens, a negative lens, a negative lens, a positive lens, and a negative lens. For example, both Ogata and Ohtake have the first lens unit consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a negative lens, a negative lens, and a positive lens, as required by claim 20.
Specifically, with respect to claim 25 none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed zoom lens specifically including, as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations, wherein the third lens unit consists of two negative fixed focal length lenses. For example, both Ogata and Ohtake have the third lens unit consists of a single negative fixed focal length lens, as required by claim 24.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shashima et al. US Patent Application Publication 2025/0199275; in regards to a similar zoom lens, see examples 3-4 in figures 5 and 7, that similarly fails to teach the limitations of claims 21-22 and 25.
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 December 22, 2025