DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 24, 2026 and March 3, 2026 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed April 17, 2026, with respect to prior art rejections based on Ogata and Ohtake have been fully considered and in combination with the amendments are persuasive. The prior art rejections based on Ogata and Ohtake have been withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowable subject matter of claims 21 and 25 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference to Nagami. Rejections based on the newly cited reference follow. The examiner apologizes for any inconvenience, and since the scope of amended claims exactly matches the scope of previously noted as being allowable subject matter the current rejection is a non-final rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13 “the first lens unit includes a first negative lens” raises clarity issues including antecedent issues. Claim 1 recites: “wherein the first lens unit consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a negative lens, a negative lens, a positive lens, and a negative lens”. Regarding the antecedent – it is unclear if “a first negative lens” is a new element or one of the negative lenses introduced in claim 1. Since claim 1 uses “consists of” it is interpreted to be one of the negative lenses introduced in claim 1. Further, it is unclear which negative lens introduced in claim 1 is the “first” since it has been held that reference to "first," "second," and "third" does not show a serial order or numerical limitation but instead distinguishes or identifies the various elements, see MPEP 2111. The examiner suggests and for purposes of examination will use “wherein the first lens unit consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a first negative lens, a second negative lens, a first positive lens, and a third negative lens” in claim 1 and “
Regarding claim 14 “the first lens unit includes a second negative lens” has substantially the same issues as claim 13. Using the same reasoning the examiner suggests and for purposes of examination will use “wherein the first lens unit consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a first negative lens, a second negative lens, a first positive lens, and a third negative lens” in claim 1 and “
Regarding claim 15 “the first lens unit includes a first positive lens” has substantially the same issues as claims 13-14. Using the same reasoning the examiner suggests and for purposes of examination will use “wherein the first lens unit consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a first negative lens, a second negative lens, a first positive lens, and a third negative lens” in claim 1 and “
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Regarding claim 16 “wherein the first lens unit consists of lenses having refractive powers” fails to further limit the invention. Particularly, claim 1 already (more narrowly) requires “wherein the first lens unit consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a negative lens, a negative lens, a positive lens, and a negative lens”. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19, 23 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 & 2) as being anticipated by Nagami US Patent Application Publication 2022/0236544.
Regarding claim 1 Nagami discloses a zoom lens (title e.g. example 3 see figure 10) comprising a plurality of lens units, the plurality of lens units consisting of, in order from an object side to an image side, a first lens unit (e.g. first lens group G1) having negative refractive power (paragraph [0155] ”G1 having a negative refractive power”), a second lens unit (e.g. second lens group G2) having positive refractive power (paragraph [0155] “G2 having a positive refractive power”), a third lens unit (e.g. third lens group G3) having negative refractive power (paragraph [0155] “G3 having a negative refractive power”), and a fourth lens unit (e.g. fourth lens group G4) having positive refractive power (paragraph [0155] “G4 having a positive refractive power”), wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes during zooming from a wide-angle end to a telephoto end (paragraph [0157] e.g. see figure 10), wherein the first lens unit is fixed relative to an image plane during zooming (paragraph [0157] e.g. see figure 10), wherein the first lens unit consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a first negative lens (e.g. L11 using the values in Table 7 f11=-34.1), a second negative lens (e.g. L12 using the values in Table 7 f12=-45.4), a first positive lens (e.g. L13 using the values in Table 7 f13=30.3), and a third negative lens (e.g. L14 using the values in Table 7 f14=-166.8), and wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: 0.85 < (-f1)/f2 < 2.00 (using the values in Table 7 (-f1)/f2=1.69), 0.00 < (-f1)/f4 < 0.55 (using the values in Table 7 (-f1)/f4=0.27), and 0.00 < LD1/TTL < 0.27 (using the values in Table 7 LD1/TTL=0.167).
Regarding claim 2 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.30 < BFw/(-f1) < 1.50 (using the values in Tables 7-8 BFw/(-f1)=0.53)
Regarding claim 3 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.07 < BFw/TTL < 0.30 (using the values in Tables 7-8 BFw/TTL=0.22).
Regarding claim 4 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 2.0 < TTL/(-f1) < 6.0 (using the values in Table 7 TTL/(-f1)=2.4).
Regarding claim 5 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 3.0 < TTL/fw < 7.5 (using the values in Tables 7-8 TTL/fw=3.2).
Regarding claim 6 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.1 < f2/(-f3) < 1.5 (using the values in Table 7 f2/(-f3)=0.9).
Regarding claim 7 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.05 < f2/f4 < 0.80 (using the values in Table 7 f2/f4=0.16).
Regarding claim 8 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.1 < (-f3)/f4 < 2.0 (using the values in Table 7 (-f3)/f4=0.2).
Regarding claim 9 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 < (-f1)/fw < 2.5 (using the values in Table 7 (-f1)/fw=1.3).
Regarding claim 10 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.2 < (-f1)/ft < 1.4 (using the values in Table 7 (-f1)/ft=0.7).
Regarding claim 11 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 <β2t/β2w < 3.0 where β2t is lateral magnification of the second lens unit at the telephoto end, and β2w is lateral magnification of the second lens unit at the wide-angle end (inherent given structure and function).
Regarding claim 12 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 <β3t/β3w < 2.0 where β3t is lateral magnification of the third lens unit at the telephoto end, and β3w is lateral magnification of the third lens unit at the wide-angle end (inherent given structure and function).
Regarding claim 13 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 < fn1/f1 < 2.0 (using the values in Table 7 fn1/f1=0.8).
Regarding claim 14 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 < fn2/f1 < 10.0 (using the values in Table 7 fn2/f1=1.1).
Regarding claim 15 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5 < fp1/(-f1) < 5.0 (using the values in Table 7 fp1/(-f1)=0.7).
Regarding claim 16 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1 including the first lens unit consists of lenses having refractive powers (see 112(d) rejection above), as set forth above.
Regarding claim 17 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the fourth lens unit is fixed relative to the image plane during zooming from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end (paragraph [0157] e.g. see figure 10).
Regarding claim 18 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the second lens unit (e.g. G2) includes an aperture stop (paragraph [0156] e.g. see figure 10 aperture stop St).
Regarding claim 19 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the fourth lens unit (e.g. G4) consists of a single positive fixed focal length lens (paragraph [0156] e.g. see figure 10 lens L41).
Regarding claim 23 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the third lens unit (e.g. G3) is a focus lens unit that moves during focusing (paragraph [0157] e.g. see figure 10).
Regarding claim 25 Nagami discloses the zoom lens according to claim 23, as set forth above. Nagami further discloses wherein the third lens unit (e.g. G3) consists of two negative fixed focal length lenses (paragraph [0156] e.g. lenses L31 & L32 using the values in Table 7 f31=-76.3 & f32=-47.9).
Regarding claim 26 Nagami further discloses an image pickup apparatus (title e.g. figure 27 camera 30) comprising: a zoom lens (e.g. lens 20); and an image sensor configured to receive image light formed by the zoom lens (paragraph [0193] “imaging element such as a charge coupled device (CCD) or a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) outputs a captured image signal based on a subject image which is formed through the interchangeable lens 20”), the zoom lens according to claim 1 (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 27 Nagami discloses a zoom lens (title e.g. example 3 see figure 10) comprising a plurality of lens units, the plurality of lens units consisting of, in order from an object side to an image side, a first lens unit (e.g. G1) having negative refractive power (paragraph [0155]), a second lens unit (e.g. G2) having positive refractive power (paragraph [0155]), a third lens unit (e.g. G3) having negative refractive power (paragraph [0155]), and a fourth lens unit (e.g. G4) having positive refractive power (paragraph [0155]), wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes during zooming from a wide-angle end to a telephoto end (paragraph [0157] see figure 10), wherein the first lens unit includes three or more lenses (e.g. L11, L12, L13 & L14)), wherein the first lens unit is fixed relative to an image plane during zooming (paragraph [0157] see figure 10), wherein the third lens unit consists of two negative fixed focal length lenses (e.g. L31 & L32), and wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: 0.85 < (-f1)/f2 < 2.00 (using the values in Table 7 (-f1)/f2=1.69), 0.00 < (-f1)/f4 < 0.55 (using the values in Table 7 (-f1)/f4=0.27), and 0.00 < LD1/TTL < 0.27 (using the values in Table 7 LD1/TTL=0.167).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is allowed.
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to independent claim 22 none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed zoom lens specifically including, as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations, the first lens unit consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a negative lens, a negative lens, a negative lens, a positive lens, and a negative lens. For example, near art Nagami example 3 has a first lens unit consisting of, in order, a first negative lens, a second negative lens, a first positive lens, and a third negative lens. Further, both near art Ogata and Ohtake have the first lens unit consists of, in order, a negative lens, a negative lens, and a positive lens.
Specifically, with respect to claim 24 none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed zoom lens specifically including, as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations, having the third lens unit consists of a single negative fixed focal length lens. For example, near art Nagami example 3 has a third lens unit consisting of two negative lenses (as required by claim 25). Further, while Ohtake example 3 has a third lens unit consisting of one negative lens Ohtake fails to meet claim 1’s requirement for a first lens unit consisting of, in order, a first negative lens, a second negative lens, a first positive lens, and a third negative lens. Further, a combination of these two references would require extensive redesign and considering the combination of all of the limitations required would be nonobvious.
Conclusion
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 May 1, 2026