DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/16/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-15, 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Regan (US 2016/0316422 A1) in view of Stezskal et al (US 2023/0292135 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Regan et al disclose a wireless receiver or receiver module in a sound recording system (Regan et al; Fig 13; Para [0069]), comprising: at least one antenna that receives RF signals over a wide frequency range and outputs an antenna signal (Regan et al; Fig 13; antenna 1305; Para [0069]); a display screen (Regan et al; Fig 13; display 1301); and a real-time spectrum analyzer (RTSA) in the wireless receiver or receiver module that generates an RTSA trace from the antenna signal (Regan et al; Fig 13; RTSA 1303); wherein the RTSA trace is displayed dynamically in real time on the display screen for the user to view when configuring the wireless receiver or receiver module and the paired microphone transmitter to the selected channel frequency band (Regan et al; Fig 13; trace 1311); but do not expressly disclose means for configuring the wireless receiver or receiver module and a paired microphone transmitter to a selected channel frequency band within the wide frequency band such that the wireless receiver or receiver module receives modulated digital audio data transmitted from the paired microphone transmitter in the selected channel frequency band via the at least one antenna and outputs demodulated digital audio data for use by the sound recording system. However, in the same field of endeavor, Stezskal et al disclose a wireless receiver comprising means for configuring the wireless receiver or receiver module and a paired microphone transmitter (Stezskal et al; Para [0021]) to a selected channel frequency band within the wide frequency band such that the wireless receiver or receiver module receives modulated digital audio data transmitted from the paired microphone transmitter in the selected channel frequency band via the at least one antenna and outputs demodulated digital audio data for use by the sound recording system (Stezskal et al; Para [0021][0029]-[0030]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the channel allocation taught by Stezskal et al as channel selection in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to eliminate interference from adjacent signals (Stezskal et al; Para [0035]).
Regarding claim 6, Regan in view of Stezskal et al disclose the wireless receiver or receiver module according to claim 1, wherein the portion of the RTSA trace corresponding to the selected channel frequency band is displayed to be distinct from a remainder of the RTSA trace (Regan; Para [0057]; [0059] [0084] [0088]).
Regarding claim 7, Regan in view of Stezskal et al disclose the wireless receiver or receiver module according to claim 1, wherein the portion of the RTSA trace corresponding to the selected channel frequency band is displayed in a color distinct from the color of a remainder of the RTSA trace (Regan; Para [0057]; [0059] [0084] [0088]).
Regarding claim 8, Regan in view of Stezskal et al disclose the wireless receiver or receiver module according to claim 6, comprising means to name the portion of the RTSA trace corresponding to the selected channel frequency band and label the portion of the RTSA trace corresponding to the selected channel frequency band with the name when displayed (Regan; Para [0057]; [0059] [0084] [0088]).
Regarding claim 10, Regan in view of Stezskal et al disclose the wireless receiver or receiver module according to claim 1, wherein the RTSA trace for either or both antenna is displayed (Regan; Para [0044]; [0052][0088]; display the RTSA analysis overlaid for multiple antennas).
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Regan (US 2016/0316422 A1) in view of Stezskal et al (US 2023/0292135 A1) and further in view of Barsumian et al (US 2016/0013875 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Regan in view of Stezskal et al disclose the wireless receiver or receiver module according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the wireless receiver or receiver module further comprises a touch screen and the RTSA trace is displayed on the touch screen. However, in the same field of endeavor, Barsumian et al disclose a wireless receiver wherein the wireless receiver or receiver module further comprises a touch screen and the RTSA trace is displayed on the touch screen (Barsumian et al; Para [0010][0032][0029]; displayed spectral data interpreted as RTSA trace). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the signal processing taught by Barsumian et al as signal processing in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance viewing of densely populated areas of the spectrum (Barsumian et al; Para [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Regan in view of Stezskal et al disclose the wireless receiver or receiver module according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the RTSA comprises an analog circuit that receives the antenna signal and filters, amplifies and down converts an analog signal, an analog-to-digital converter that receives the analog signal from the analog circuit and outputs a digital input signal, and a processor that receives the digital input signal and outputs values representing decibels for a given frequency. However, in the same field of endeavor, Barsumian et al disclose a wireless receiver wherein the RTSA comprises an analog circuit that receives the antenna signal and filters, amplifies and down converts an analog signal (Barsumian et al; Para [0029][0033]; Rf frequency spectrum trace is interpreted as RTSA trace), an analog-to-digital converter that receives the analog signal from the analog circuit and outputs a digital input signal (Barsumian et al; Para [0029]), and a processor that receives the digital input signal and outputs values representing decibels for a given frequency (Barsumian et al; Para [0029]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the signal processing taught by Barsumian et al as signal processing in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance viewing of densely populated areas of the spectrum (Barsumian et al; Para [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, Regan in view of Stezskal et al and further in view of Barsumian et al disclose the wireless receiver or receiver module according to claim 3, but do not expressly disclose wherein the processor comprises one or more field programmable gate arrays. However, in the same field of endeavor, Barsumian et al disclose a wireless receiver wherein the processor comprises one or more field programmable gate arrays (Barsumian et al; Para [0027]-[0028]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the signal processing taught by Barsumian et al as signal processing in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance viewing of densely populated areas of the spectrum (Barsumian et al; Para [0029]).
Regarding claim 5, Regan in view of Stezskal et al and further in view of Barsumian et al disclose the wireless receiver or receiver module according to claim 4, but do not expressly disclose wherein one or more field programmable gate arrays are programmed to comprise a sample buffer, a Fast Fourier Transform, and means for calculating decibel levels from an output of the Fast Fourier Transform. However, in the same field of endeavor, Barsumian et al disclose a wireless receiver wherein one or more field programmable gate arrays are programmed to comprise a sample buffer, a Fast Fourier Transform, and means for calculating decibel levels from an output of the Fast Fourier Transform (Barsumian et al; Para [0027]-[0029]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the signal processing taught by Barsumian et al as signal processing in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance viewing of densely populated areas of the spectrum (Barsumian et al; Para [0029]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Regan (US 2016/0316422 A1) in view of Stezskal et al (US 2023/0292135 A1) and further in view of Bergamann et al (EP 3101915A1).
Regarding claim 9, Regan in view of Stezskal et al disclose the wireless receiver or receiver module according to claim 1, and signal is used to determine an SNR for the selected channel frequency band by comparing RF energy levels when the paired microphone transmitter is off to when the paired microphone transmitter is on (Bryant; Fig 1; Para [0023]) but do not expressly disclose the RTSA and further comprising a backlink communication connection to a paired microphone transmitter, wherein the paired microphone transmitter receives a command from the wireless receiver or receiver module over the backlink communication connection to turn off the paired microphone transmitter for a preselected period of time. However, in the same field of endeavor, Barsumian et al disclose a wireless receiver comprising an RTSA trace from the antenna signal (Barsumian et al; Para [0024][0043][0011];[0033] spectrum trace of the Rf signal is interpreted as RTSA; displayed spectral data also interpreted as RTSA). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the signal processing taught by Barsumian et al as signal processing in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance viewing of densely populated areas of the spectrum (Barsumian et al; Para [0029]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Bergamann et al discloses a wireless receiver further comprising a backlink communication connection to a paired microphone transmitter, wherein the paired microphone transmitter receives a command from the wireless receiver or receiver module over the backlink communication connection to turn off the paired microphone transmitter for a preselected period of time (Bergamann et al; Para [0032]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the backling taught by Bergamann et al as control channel in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce system complexity (Bergamann et al; Para [0006]).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Regan (US 2016/0316422 A1) in view of Stezskal et al (US 2023/0292135 A1) and further in view of Woodings et al (US 2013/0100154 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Regan in view of Stezskal et al disclose the wireless receiver or receiver module according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose further comprising several additional antennas and several addition RTSAs, wherein the RTSA trace for any and all of the antennas can be displayed. However, in the same field of endeavor, Woodings et al discloses a wireless receiver further comprising several additional antennas and several addition RTSAs, wherein the RTSA trace for any and all of the antennas can be displayed (Woodings et al; Fig 10; Para [0073][0027]-[0029] spectrum analyzer interpreted as RTSA; display the RTSA analysis multiple antennas). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the signal processing taught by Woodings et al as signal analyzer in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to allow for spectral view scrolling (Woodings et al; Para [0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Regan in view of Stezskal et al disclose the wireless receiver or receiver module according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the wireless receiver or receiver module also includes an audio output port to enable a user to listen to a given channel while viewing an RTSA trace. However, in the same field of endeavor, Barsumian et al disclose a wireless receiver wherein the wireless receiver or receiver module also includes an audio output port to enable a user to listen to a given channel while viewing an RTSA trace (Barsumian et al; Para [0027]-[0029]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the signal processing taught by Barsumian et al as signal processing in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance viewing of densely populated areas of the spectrum (Barsumian et al; Para [0029]).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Regan (US 2016/0316422 A1) in view of Stezskal et al (US 2023/0292135 A1) and further in view of Bryant (US 2021/0195321 A1) and further in view of Abe (US 2009/0052713 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Regan in view of Stezskal et al disclose the wireless receiver or receiver module according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the audio level is displayed simultaneously with the RTSA trace for the user view; wherein the wireless receiver or receiver module also includes means for receiving audio level input from an audio meter. However, in the same field of endeavor, Bryant discloses the wireless receiver or receiver wherein the audio level is displayed simultaneously with the RTSA trace for the user view (Bryant; Fig 3; Para [0029] audio meter 312 display simultaneously with RF meter). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio level display taught by Bryant to display audio level in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the user experience. Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Abe discloses the wireless receiver or receiver wherein the wireless receiver or receiver module also includes means for receiving audio level input from an audio meter (Abe; Fig 1; Para [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio level extraction taught by Abe as audio level in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to instantaneously recognize abnormality (Abe; Para [0087]).
Regarding claim 14, Regan in view of Stezskal et al disclose the wireless receiver or receiver module according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the audio level is displayed simultaneously with the RTSA trace for the user view; wherein the wireless receiver or receiver module also includes means for determining audio level from the antenna signal. However, in the same field of endeavor, Bryant discloses the wireless receiver or receiver wherein the audio level is displayed simultaneously with the RTSA trace for the user view (Bryant; Fig 3; Para [0029] audio meter 312 display simultaneously with RF meter). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio level display taught by Bryant to display audio level in the device taught by Regan. Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Abe discloses a wireless receiver wherein the wireless receiver or receiver module also includes means for determining audio level from the antenna signal (Abe; Fig 1; Para [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio level extraction taught by Abe as audio level in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to instantaneously recognize abnormality (Abe; Para [0087]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Regan (US 2016/0316422 A1) in view of Stezskal et al (US 2023/0292135 A1) and further in view of Statham et al (US 2010/0189273 A1) and further in view of Prothero et al (US 2022/0077941 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Regan in view of Stezskal et al disclose a system including multiple wireless receivers or receiver modules according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose and each wireless receiver or receiver module is connected to the other receivers or receiver modules or to a hub or a computer via an Ethernet connection, thereby enabling the RTSA traces generated by one of the wireless receivers or receiver modules to viewed on another device. However, in the same field of endeavor, Statham et al discloses a wireless receiver further comprising and each wireless receiver or receiver module is connected to the other receivers or receiver modules or to a hub or a computer via an Ethernet connection (Statham et al; Fig 6; Para [0011]; connection 608 and master receiver interpreted as hub). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the receiver taught by Statham et al as signal analyzer in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to use robust web-based technologies to monitor and control the plurality of enumerated functions of the wireless audio system in real time (Statham et al; Para [0027]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Prothero et al disclose a wireless receiver further comprising thereby enabling the RTSA traces generated by one of the wireless receivers or receiver modules to viewed on another device (Prothero et al; Para [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the spectrum analyzer taught by Prothero et al as signal analyzer in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to detect and identify the properties of a signal (Prothero et al; Para [0005]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Regan (US 2016/0316422 A1) in view of Stezskal et al (US 2023/0292135 A1) and further in view of Jost et al (US 2012/0288128 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Regan in view of Stezskal et al disclose the wireless receiver or receiver module according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the modulation used for transmitting the modulated wireless audio data from the microphone transmitter comprises one of phase shift keying (PSK), quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), frequency modulation (FM), frequency shift keying (FSK) and amplitude shift keying (ASK). However, in the same field of endeavor, Jost et al disclose a wireless receiver wherein the modulation used for transmitting the modulated wireless audio data from the microphone transmitter comprises one of phase shift keying (PSK), quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), frequency modulation (FM), frequency shift keying (FSK) and amplitude shift keying (ASK) (Jost et al; Para [0024]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the modulation scheme taught by Jost et al as modulation scheme in the device taught by Regan. The motivation to do so would have been to increase signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) (Jost et al; Para [0004]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUASSI A GANMAVO/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692