DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 7/10/2026 has been entered. Further previously given rejection related 35 USC 101 is withdrawn now. In response to amendment filed on 6/8/2026, claims 1, 17- 19 are amended, claim 20 is cancelled. Claims 1- 19 and 21 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 6/8/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pals et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0329369 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 9, 11- 12, 14, 17- 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0100003 A1) in view of Pals et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0329369 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches an information transmission method (see [0006].. cause the apparatus to transmit a UE capability message to a base station, the UE capability message including an indication of a UE type, the UE type associated with at least one of a reduced bandwidth, or a reduced number of antennas, or a combination thereof, for the UE, monitor, based on a control resource set that is based on the UE type, a control channel for a downlink grant for downlink resources, receive, based on the monitoring, a grant identifying the downlink resources for communicating with the base station, and communicate with the base station using the identified downlink resources…;further see [0062]), comprising:
reporting, by a terminal, first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate (already stated above see [0006] indication) at least one of the following:
whether being a reduced capability terminal; or
type identifier information of a terminal (already stated in [0006] about …the UE capability message including an indication of a UE type, the UE type associated with at least one of a reduced bandwidth, or a reduced number of antennas, or a combination thereof, for the UE, monitor, based on a control resource set that is based on the UE type, a control channel for a downlink grant for downlink resources, receive, based on the monitoring, a grant identifying the downlink resources for communicating with the base station, and communicate with the base station using the identified downlink resources…;further see [0102- 0104, 0135, 0149]);
But fails to state about wherein the first reporting manner comprises at least one of the following:
reporting the first indication information based on per-band;
reporting the first indication information based on per-band combination;
reporting the first indication information based on per-carrier;
reporting the first indication information based on per-bandwidth part; or
reporting the first indication information based on an per-uplink or a per-downlink; however Pals teaches
at least one of the following:
reporting the first indication information based on per-band (see [0006].. capability information message reported by the UE also indicates the supported downlink (DL)-multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) capability for each component carrier or band. For example, the UE may report 1A(4)-3C(4-4) as one supported band combination where bands 1 and 3 both support four layers of DL-MIMO for use in spatial multiplexing in the component carriers of each band (e.g. four layers in one CC for band 1, bandwidth class A, and four layers in two CCs for band 3, bandwidth class C));
reporting the first indication information based on per-band combination (see [0051].. a CA bandwidth class (e.g. A, B, C, D, etc.) may be used to indicate a number of aggregated resource blocks and component carriers within the aggregated channel bandwidth. For example, a CA configuration 1A-3C may be used to indicate inter-band, carrier aggregation capability on operating band 1 (e.g. 2100 MHz) with bandwidth class A and operating band 3 (e.g. 1800 MHz) with bandwidth class C. Alternatively, a CA configuration 1A-3A-7C may be used to indicate inter-band, carrier aggregation capability on operating band 1 (e.g. 2100 MHz) with bandwidth class A, operating band 3 (e.g. 1800 MHz) with bandwidth class A, and operating band 7 (e.g. 2600 MHz) with bandwidth class C. A UE may support multiple CA configurations.);
reporting the first indication information based on per-carrier (see [0006].. capability information message reported by the UE also indicates the supported downlink (DL)-multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) capability for each component carrier or band. For example, the UE may report 1A(4)-3C(4-4) as one supported band combination where bands 1 and 3 both support four layers of DL-MIMO for use in spatial multiplexing in the component carriers of each band (e.g. four layers in one CC for band 1, bandwidth class A, and four layers in two CCs for band 3, bandwidth class C));
reporting the first indication information based on per-bandwidth part; or
reporting the first indication information based on an per-uplink or a per-downlink.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Pals with the teachings of Liu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first reporting manner comprises at least one of the following:
reporting the first indication information based on per-band;
reporting the first indication information based on per-band combination;
reporting the first indication information based on per-carrier;
reporting the first indication information based on per-bandwidth part; or
reporting the first indication information based on an per-uplink or a per-downlink; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 1,
Wherein Liu teaches
the first reporting manner further comprises at least one of the following:
reporting the first indication information based on per-terminal;
reporting the first indication information based on per-feature;
reporting the first indication information based on per-feature set;
reporting the first indication information based on per-subcarrier spacing;
reporting the first indication information based on per-numerology; and
; see [0062]... The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type. The UE capability message may be transmitted to a base station in general, although it is to be understood that the UE capability message may be provided to a network entity in some situations (e.g., when the UE is operating in an idle mode); further see [0085].. the UE 115 may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality, or an otherwise acceptable signal quality. Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115), or transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device).
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 1, wherein Liu teaches the first indication information is comprised in at least one of the following messages:
message 1 in a random access process;
message 3 in a random access process;
message 5 in a random access process;
a capability reporting message of the terminal; or
a type reporting message of the terminal; already discussed above in context with [0027] refer to see [0062].. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type (i.e. the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life, and the like). The UE capability message may be transmitted to a base station in general, although it is to be understood that the UE capability message may be provided to a network entity in some situations (e.g., when the UE is operating in an idle mode).
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 1, wherein Liu teaches before the reporting, by a terminal, first indication information, the method further comprises:
determining, by the terminal, the first indication information according to target information, wherein the target information comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal; see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type.
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 1, wherein Liu teaches the reporting, by a terminal, first indication information comprises:
reporting, by the terminal, the first indication information according to target information, wherein the target information comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal; see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type.
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 4, wherein Liu teaches the target information further comprises:
first information, wherein the first information is used to indicate a capability and/or an attribute parameter of the terminal; or,
wherein the target information is information corresponding to an uplink and/or a downlink; see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target information comprises first information), and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type.
Regarding claim 7, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 6, wherein Liu teaches the first information comprises at least one of the following:
bandwidth or maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal;
the number of receive/transmit antennas or the maximum number of receive/transmit antennas supported by the terminal;
the number of multiple input multiple output MIMO layers or the maximum number of MIMO layers supported by the terminal;
a maximum rate supported by the terminal;
a modulation order or a maximum modulation order supported by the terminal;
half-duplex frequency division duplex Half Duplex FDD supported by the terminal;
a processing time supported by the terminal;
a layer 2 buffer or soft buffer size supported by the terminal;
a packet data convergence protocol PDCP sequence number or a radio link control sequence number supported by the terminal;
the number of data radio bearers DRBs or the maximum number of DRBs supported by the terminal; and
a radio resource control RRC processing delay supported by the terminal; see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type.
Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 4, wherein Liu teaches the system configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
band information supported by a system;
band combination information supported by the system;
carrier information supported by the system;
system bandwidth;
channel bandwidth;
transmission bandwidth;
system frequency band information;
BWP configuration information; and
numerology related information; see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type.
Regarding claim 9, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 4, wherein Liu teaches the second information comprises at least one of the following:
an application scene of the terminal;
a network type of the terminal;
a network environment in which the terminal is located; and
a channel condition of the terminal; see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type.
Regarding claim 11, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 4, wherein Liu teaches the determining the first indication information comprises:
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type of the terminal is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type of the terminal is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information of the terminal is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal (see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type); or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information is a common terminal or a second type, determining that a type of the terminal is a common terminal or a second type, and/or determining that capability information of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a common terminal, wherein
the first system configuration information is one piece of system configuration information in the system configuration information, the first type is a type corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, and the second type is a type corresponding to a common terminal; or,
wherein the determining the first indication information comprises:
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of second system configuration information within a band combination is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of second system configuration information within a band combination is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of second system configuration information within a band combination is a common terminal or a second type, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is a common terminal or a second type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is capability information corresponding to a common terminal, wherein
the second system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a carrier, a band, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerology; or,
wherein the determining the first indication information comprises:
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of third system configuration information within a frequency domain unit is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of third system configuration information within a frequency domain unit is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of third system configuration information within a frequency domain unit is a common terminal or a second type, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is a common terminal or a second type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is capability information corresponding to a common terminal, wherein
the frequency domain unit is a band or a carrier, and when the frequency domain unit is a band, the third system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a carrier, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerical configuration; and when the frequency domain unit is a carrier, the third system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a band, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerology.
Regarding claim 12, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 4, wherein Liu teaches the determining the first indication information comprises:
if a terminal type of the terminal in an uplink or a downlink is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type of the terminal is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that a capability of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal (see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type); or
if neither a terminal type of the terminal in an uplink nor a terminal type of the terminal in a downlink is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type of the terminal is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information of the terminal is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if neither a terminal type of the terminal in an uplink nor a terminal type of the terminal in a downlink is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type of the terminal is a common terminal or a second type, and/or determining that capability information of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a common terminal.
Regarding claim 14, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 5, wherein Liu teaches the reporting the first indication information comprises:
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type of the terminal is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal (see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type); or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type of the terminal is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information of the terminal is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information is a common terminal or a second type, reporting that a type of the terminal is a common terminal or a second type, and/or reporting that capability information of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a common terminal, wherein
the first system configuration information is one piece of system configuration information in the system configuration information, the first type is a type corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, and the second type is a type corresponding to a common terminal; or,
wherein the reporting the first indication information comprises:
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of second system configuration information within a band combination is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of second system configuration information within a band combination is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of second system configuration information within a band combination is a common terminal or a second type, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is a common terminal or a second type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is capability information corresponding to a common terminal, wherein
the second system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a carrier, a band, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerology; or,
wherein the reporting the first indication information comprises:
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of third system configuration information within a frequency domain unit is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of third system configuration information within a frequency domain unit is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of third system configuration information within a frequency domain unit is a common terminal or a second type, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is a common terminal or a second type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is capability information corresponding to a common terminal, wherein
the frequency domain unit is a band or a carrier, and when the frequency domain unit is a band, the third system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a carrier, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerical configuration; and when the frequency domain unit is a carrier, the third system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a band, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerology.
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches an information transmission method (see [0006].. cause the apparatus to transmit a UE capability message to a base station, the UE capability message including an indication of a UE type, the UE type associated with at least one of a reduced bandwidth, or a reduced number of antennas, or a combination thereof, for the UE, monitor, based on a control resource set that is based on the UE type, a control channel for a downlink grant for downlink resources, receive, based on the monitoring, a grant identifying the downlink resources for communicating with the base station, and communicate with the base station using the identified downlink resources…;further see [0062]), comprising:
obtaining, by a network side device, first indication information from a terminal in a first obtaining manner, wherein the first indication information (already stated above see [0006] indication) is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether being a reduced capability terminal; or
type identifier information of a terminal;
But fails to state about wherein the first obtaining manner comprises at least one of the following:
obtaining the first indication information based on per-band;
obtaining the first indication information based on per-band combination;
obtaining the first indication information based on per-carrier;
obtaining the first indication information based on per-bandwidth part; or
obtaining the first indication information based on an per-uplink or a per-downlink; however Pals teaches
at least one of the following:
reporting the first indication information based on per-band (see [0006].. capability information message reported by the UE also indicates the supported downlink (DL)-multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) capability for each component carrier or band. For example, the UE may report 1A(4)-3C(4-4) as one supported band combination where bands 1 and 3 both support four layers of DL-MIMO for use in spatial multiplexing in the component carriers of each band (e.g. four layers in one CC for band 1, bandwidth class A, and four layers in two CCs for band 3, bandwidth class C));
reporting the first indication information based on per-band combination (see [0051].. a CA bandwidth class (e.g. A, B, C, D, etc.) may be used to indicate a number of aggregated resource blocks and component carriers within the aggregated channel bandwidth. For example, a CA configuration 1A-3C may be used to indicate inter-band, carrier aggregation capability on operating band 1 (e.g. 2100 MHz) with bandwidth class A and operating band 3 (e.g. 1800 MHz) with bandwidth class C. Alternatively, a CA configuration 1A-3A-7C may be used to indicate inter-band, carrier aggregation capability on operating band 1 (e.g. 2100 MHz) with bandwidth class A, operating band 3 (e.g. 1800 MHz) with bandwidth class A, and operating band 7 (e.g. 2600 MHz) with bandwidth class C. A UE may support multiple CA configurations.);
reporting the first indication information based on per-carrier (see [0006].. capability information message reported by the UE also indicates the supported downlink (DL)-multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) capability for each component carrier or band. For example, the UE may report 1A(4)-3C(4-4) as one supported band combination where bands 1 and 3 both support four layers of DL-MIMO for use in spatial multiplexing in the component carriers of each band (e.g. four layers in one CC for band 1, bandwidth class A, and four layers in two CCs for band 3, bandwidth class C));
reporting the first indication information based on per-bandwidth part; or
reporting the first indication information based on an per-uplink or a per-downlink.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Pals with the teachings of Liu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first reporting manner comprises at least one of the following:
reporting the first indication information based on per-band;
reporting the first indication information based on per-band combination;
reporting the first indication information based on per-carrier;
reporting the first indication information based on per-bandwidth part; or
reporting the first indication information based on an per-uplink or a per-downlink; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 18, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 17,
Wherein Liu teaches
the first obtaining manner further comprises at least one of the following:
obtaining the first indication information based on per-terminal;
obtaining the first indication information based on per-feature;
obtaining the first indication information based on per-feature set;
obtaining the first indication information based on per-subcarrier spacing;
obtaining the first indication information based on per-numerology;
or,
wherein the first indication information is comprised in at least one of the following messages:
message 1 in a random access process;
message 3 in a random access process;
message 5 in a random access process;
a capability reporting message of the terminal;or
a type reporting message of the terminal; see [0062]... The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type. The UE capability message may be transmitted to a base station in general, although it is to be understood that the UE capability message may be provided to a network entity in some situations (e.g., when the UE is operating in an idle mode); further see [0085].. the UE 115 may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality, or an otherwise acceptable signal quality. Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115), or transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device).
Regarding claim 19, Liu in view of Pals teaches terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein Liu teaches about the program or the instruction is executed by the processor to implement the following steps (see [0062]):
reporting first indication information, in a first reporting manner to a network side, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether being a reduced capability terminal; or
type identifier information of a terminal;
wherein the first reporting manner comprises at least one of the following: reporting the first indication information based on per-band;
reporting the first indication information based on per-band combination;
reporting the first indication information based on per-carrier;
reporting the first indication information based on per-bandwidth part; or
reporting the first indication information based on an uplink or a downlink; see in context with [0027] refer to see [0062].. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type (i.e. the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life, and the like). The UE capability message may be transmitted to a base station in general, although it is to be understood that the UE capability message may be provided to a network entity in some situations (e.g., when the UE is operating in an idle mode). Further UE is transmitting to the network side can be identified as a base don uplink (see [0068.. Communication links 125 shown in wireless communication system 100 may include uplink transmissions from a UE 115 to a base station 105, or downlink transmissions from a base station 105 to a UE 115. Downlink transmissions may also be called forward link transmissions while uplink transmissions may also be called reverse link transmissions.).
Regarding claim 21, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 1, wherein Liu teaches the first indication information is further used to indicate capability information of a reduced capability terminal; see in context with [0027] refer to see [0062].. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type (i.e. the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life, and the like). The UE capability message may be transmitted to a base station in general, although it is to be understood that the UE capability message may be provided to a network entity in some situations (e.g., when the UE is operating in an idle mode).
Claim(s) 10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0100003 A1) in view of Pals et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0329369 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0274846 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 6, but Liu fails to state about wherein the determining the first indication information comprises:
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is less than bandwidth corresponding to first system configuration information in the system configuration information, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is less than bandwidth corresponding to at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, wherein
the first system configuration information is one piece of system configuration information in the system configuration information, and the first type is a type corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or,
wherein the determining the first indication information comprises:
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to first system configuration information in the system configuration information, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is a common terminal or a second type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a common terminal; or
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to first system configuration information in the system configuration information, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is a common terminal or a second type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a common terminal; or
if first bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, wherein
the first type is a type corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, and the second type is a type corresponding to a common terminal; and the first system configuration information is one piece of system configuration information in the system configuration information; however Kim states in [0330] regarding UE max bandwidth (i.e., bandwidth capability of the RedCap UE) may be determined as a minimum bandwidth satisfying a bit rate required in a target use case. A UE max bandwidth reduction can reduce RF element and/or baseband processing cost and expect an effect of reducing power consumption. Herein, the required bit rate may mean a peak rate or the supported max data rate considering that the device manufacturing cost is determined by the peak rate or the supported max data rate not an average bit rate and a reference bit rate; further see [0331- 0336] and also refer to [0338]… Considering that a bandwidth capability of a RedCap UE is determined by a required bit rate of respective use cases, a RedCap device type may be classified based on a UE bandwidth capability. …..Classification method 4-1) The RedCap device type is classified by a max bandwidth and is used by being configured with an actual data transmission/reception bandwidth (<=max bandwidth); see [0039]; further see [0341- 0342]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Liu in view of Pals to make system more standardized.
Regarding claim 13, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 6, but Liu fails to state about wherein the reporting the first indication information comprises:
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is less than bandwidth corresponding to first system configuration information in the system configuration information, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is less than bandwidth corresponding to at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, wherein
the first system configuration information is one piece of system configuration information in the system configuration information, and the first type is a type corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or,
wherein the reporting the first indication information comprises:
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to first system configuration information in the system configuration information, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is a common terminal or a second type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a common terminal; or
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to first system configuration information in the system configuration information, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal to the first system configuration information is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is a common terminal or a second type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a common terminal; or
if first bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, wherein
the first type is a type corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, and the second type is a type corresponding to a common terminal; and the first system configuration information is one piece of system configuration information in the system configuration information; however Kim states in [0330] regarding UE max bandwidth (i.e., bandwidth capability of the RedCap UE) may be determined as a minimum bandwidth satisfying a bit rate required in a target use case. A UE max bandwidth reduction can reduce RF element and/or baseband processing cost and expect an effect of reducing power consumption. Herein, the required bit rate may mean a peak rate or the supported max data rate considering that the device manufacturing cost is determined by the peak rate or the supported max data rate not an average bit rate and a reference bit rate; further see [0331- 0336] and also refer to [0338]… Considering that a bandwidth capability of a RedCap UE is determined by a required bit rate of respective use cases, a RedCap device type may be classified based on a UE bandwidth capability. …..Classification method 4-1) The RedCap device type is classified by a max bandwidth and is used by being configured with an actual data transmission/reception bandwidth (<=max bandwidth); see [0039]; further see [0341- 0342]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Liu in view of Pals to make system more standardized.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0100003 A1) in view of Pals et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0329369 A1) and further in view of Zheng et al. WO 2021/228256 A1, see machine translated copy.
Regarding claim 15, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 5, but Liu fails to state about wherein the reporting the first indication information comprises:
if a terminal type of the terminal in an uplink or a downlink is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type of the terminal is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that a capability of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if neither a terminal type of the terminal in an uplink nor a terminal type of the terminal in a downlink is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type of the terminal is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information of the terminal is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if neither a terminal type of the terminal in an uplink nor a terminal type of the terminal in a downlink is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type of the terminal is a common terminal or a second type, and/or reporting that capability information of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a common terminal; however Zhang states about .. the terminal equipment supporting 64QAM in the uplink and the terminal equipment supporting 16QAM in the uplink can be regarded as a type of terminal equipment (for example, REDCAP terminal equipment), and the network equipment reports different fifth information through the two, for example, the terminal supporting 64QAM in the uplink The device reports 0.06 or 0.07, and the uplink terminal device that supports 16QAM reports 0.10, which can distinguish the uplink maximum modulation mode of the REDCAP terminal device, for example, 16QAM or 64QAM…; see pages 100- 101. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zheng with the teachings of Liu in view of Pals to make system more standardized.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0100003 A1) in view of Pals et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0329369 A1) in view of Liu (RU 2807676 C1), hereafter Liu 1 pls see translated copy.
Regarding claim 16, Liu in view of Pals teaches as per claim 6, but Liu fails to state about further comprising:
if a first condition is met, not reporting a reduced capability terminal type and/or not reporting capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, wherein
the first condition comprises at least one of the following:
bandwidth corresponding to the first information is less than bandwidth corresponding to first system configuration information in the system configuration information;
bandwidth corresponding to the first information is less than bandwidth corresponding to at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information;
a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of first system configuration information is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type;
a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of second system configuration information within a band combination is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type;
a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of third system configuration information within a frequency domain unit is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type;
neither a terminal type of the terminal in an uplink nor a terminal type of the terminal in a downlink is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, wherein
the first system configuration information is one piece of system configuration information in the system configuration information, the second system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a carrier, a band, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerology, the frequency domain unit is a band or a carrier, and the third system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a carrier, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerology, or the third system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a band, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerology; however in context with [0035] refer to [0048]... random access of the UE of the first type is not different from the random access of the UE of the second type, in order to reduce the capacity of the UE of the second type, the UEs of the second type may be configured to access a larger frequency band. In this case, if UEs of the first type supporting a small bandwidth and UEs of the second type share the same access configuration, a situation may arise where the bandwidth of the access configuration is larger than the maximum bandwidth supported by the UE of the first type, which causes UE access failure of the first type. However, if the access configuration of the second type UE is configured to match the access configuration of the first type UE in consideration of the small supported bandwidth characteristic of the first type UE, the capacity of the second type UE cannot be fully utilized, or even a situation may arise where the second type UE types have low access efficiency and low transmission speed (i.e. hence here reporting is not being done). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Liu1 with the teachings of Liu in view of Pals to make system more standardized.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference He et al. (US Pat. No. 10757566 B2) teaches in abstract about .. UE capability reporting in mobile communication systems. UE capability reporting in LTE with high number of CCs (32) creates a great signaling overhead. An enhanced network enquiry message (UECapabilityEnquiry) is proposed which includes indications (e.g. maximum aggregated CC number or bandwidth class, MIMO/CSI-process capabilities) that indicate to a UE that the UE is to exclude, from its capability report (UECapabilityInformation), information related to functions that the network either does not support or is not interested in. The enhanced network enquiry message may include indications of a max. number of DL/UL CCs for which the UE is requested to provide supported CA band combinations and non-CA bands. The UE selects a subset of CA capabilities based on these indicator and generates a UE capability response (UECapabilityInformation) including information related to the selected subset of CA capabilities.
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479