DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 2/17/2026, claims 1- 3, 17- 19 are amended, claim 20 is cancelled and claim 21 is added as a new claim. Claims 1- 19 and 21 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (i.e. related to 35 USC 101) filed in the remarks on 2/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 19, of the remarks applicant argues, “Claim 1, as amended, recites "reporting, by a terminal, first indication information in a first reporting manner to a network side". This feature reflects an interaction between a terminal and a network side, and such reporting cannot be performed by a human; obviously, such feature requires the terminal to have corresponding hardware to communicate with the network side. Therefore, claim 1 is not directed to an abstract idea.”
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that “reporting by a terminal first indication… to a network side” is till directed to the abstract idea. Since it involves data collection and representation . Furthermore, a first reporting manner (i.e. per-band, per-carrier, or per-bandwidth part) is a method of organizing an classifying information. Under USPTO established guidance and federal circuit precedent (Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350)), "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis" are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because they describe an abstract idea.
On page 19 of the remarks regarding practical application arguments, applicant disagrees and respectfully submits that claim still does not specify how the reporting manner changes the physical operation of the network/terminal to achieve a technical benefit (i.e. reduced signaling overhead or spectral efficiency), instead claim recites just act of reporting information in various categorized format, which is high-level functional result rather than a technical solution.
On page 20, of the remarks regarding 3) significantly more that the abstract idea related arguments, examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that claim does not have/providing inventive concept (i.e. significantly more”) that transforms the abstract idea into patent-eligible invention. The elements like a terminal and network side, reporting information and reporting manners are not suggesting a “non-conventional” or “non-routine” implementation.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim(s) (regarding 35 USC 102 & 103) filed in the remarks on 2/17/2026 have been have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Previously used prior art Liu still teaches the limitations regards to whether being a reduced capability terminal; type identifier information of a terminal; in context with [0027] refer to see [0062].. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type (i.e. the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life, and the like). The UE capability message may be transmitted to a base station in general, although it is to be understood that the UE capability message may be provided to a network entity in some situations (e.g., when the UE is operating in an idle mode). Further UE is transmitting to the network side can be identified as a base don uplink (see [0068.. Communication links 125 shown in wireless communication system 100 may include uplink transmissions from a UE 115 to a base station 105, or downlink transmissions from a base station 105 to a UE 115. Downlink transmissions may also be called forward link transmissions while uplink transmissions may also be called reverse link transmissions.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1- 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1- 20 are directed to an abstract idea. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Claim 1 is directed to “reporting, by a terminal, first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: whether being a reduced capability terminal; type identifier information of a terminal; and capability information of a reduced capability terminal” and claim 19 discloses “terminal” including generic components (e.g., processor and memory) configured to perform analogous obtaining functions recited in claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 1 — Directed to an abstract idea
The limitation “reporting … first indication information” constitutes communicating information, which is an abstract idea. A human could, without any computer or special hardware, perform the act of reporting such information (e.g., verbally or in writing), and the claim does not recite any non-abstract, unconventional manner of generating or using the reported information. Accordingly, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
The claim recites a generic “terminal” (claim 1) and “terminal including processor and memory” (claim 19) performing the reporting. The specification does not identify a particular unconventional terminal architecture, specialized hardware, specific data structure, novel signal format, or other technical implementation details that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide a technical improvement to the functioning of the terminal or network. Accordingly, the recited exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B
The additional elements (a terminal including a processor and memory) are conventional components used in their ordinary capacity to report information. The specification does not identify any unconventional hardware, specialized architecture, novel message formats, unique data structures, or particular processing that provides a technical improvement. Therefore, the additional elements, individually and in combination, amount to well understood, routine, and conventional activity and do not supply an inventive concept sufficient to transform the abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter. See Berkheimer v. HP Inc., 881 F.3d 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (noting the factual inquiry into whether additional elements are routine or conventional).
Claims 1 and 19 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter (an abstract idea) and lacking an inventive concept under the Alice/Mayo framework. Dependent claims can be rejected based on above rationale
Claim 17 recites “An information obtaining method, comprising: obtaining, by a network side device, first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: whether being a reduced capability terminal; type identifier information of a terminal; and capability information of a reduced capability terminal” and Claim 20 recites a “network side device” including generic components (e.g., processor and memory) configured to perform analogous obtaining functions recited in claim 17.
Step 2A Prong 1 — Directed to an abstract idea
The claims are directed to the abstract idea of obtaining or collecting information that represents attributes or status of an entity (i.e., reporting/collecting device capability/type information). Communicating, reporting, or obtaining information about an entity’s attributes is a fundamental human activity and a method of organizing human activity, which are recognized as abstract ideas. A person could perform the act of obtaining such information (e.g., by asking and recording a response). Accordingly, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
The claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The “network side device” is recited at a high level and performs conventional obtaining/receiving functions. The claimed obtaining step merely implements the abstract idea using generic, conventional computer/communication components, and the claims do not recite a specific technical solution or improvement in the functioning of the network, the device, or communication protocols. Thus, the claims amount to mere data-gathering/observation activity performed by a generic device and do not meaningfully integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (the claimed activity is essentially insignificant pre-solution activity use).
Step 2B
The additional elements (a network side device including a processor and memory) are conventional components used in their ordinary capacity to obtain information. The specification does not identify any unconventional hardware, specialized architecture, novel message formats, unique data structures, or particular processing that provides a technical improvement. Therefore, the additional elements, individually and in combination, amount to well understood, routine, and conventional activity and do not supply an inventive concept sufficient to transform the abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter. See Berkheimer v. HP Inc., 881 F.3d 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (noting the factual inquiry into whether additional elements are routine or conventional).
Claims 17 and 20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter (an abstract idea) and lacking an inventive concept under the Alice/Mayo framework. Dependent claims can be rejected based on above rationale.
Furthermore, dependent claims 2- 16 and 18- 19 do not further provide significantly more elements than the judicial exception that falls under the abstract idea.
Claims 2- 17 are analyzed and are directed to reporting indication. The claims fail to amount to significantly more by including the “additional elements” to determining flow control state using an equation. As such, dependent claims 2- 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 18 is analyzed and are directed to obtain indication. The claims fail to amount to significantly more by including the “additional elements” to determining egress queue congestion state using thresholds. As such, dependent claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 9, 11- 12, 14, 17- 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0100003 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches an information transmission method (see [0062]), comprising:
reporting, by a terminal, first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether being a reduced capability terminal; or
type identifier information of a terminal;
wherein the first reporting manner comprises at least one of the following:
reporting the first indication information based on per-band;
reporting the first indication information based on per-band combination;
reporting the first indication information based on per-carrier;
reporting the first indication information based on per-bandwidth part; or
reporting the first indication information based on an uplink or a downlink; see in context with [0027] refer to see [0062].. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type (i.e. the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life, and the like). The UE capability message may be transmitted to a base station in general, although it is to be understood that the UE capability message may be provided to a network entity in some situations (e.g., when the UE is operating in an idle mode). Further UE is transmitting to the network side can be identified as a base don uplink (see [0068.. Communication links 125 shown in wireless communication system 100 may include uplink transmissions from a UE 115 to a base station 105, or downlink transmissions from a base station 105 to a UE 115. Downlink transmissions may also be called forward link transmissions while uplink transmissions may also be called reverse link transmissions.).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches as per claim 1,
wherein
the first reporting manner further comprises at least one of the following:
reporting the first indication information based on per-terminal;
reporting the first indication information based on per-feature;
reporting the first indication information based on per-feature set;
reporting the first indication information based on per-subcarrier spacing;
reporting the first indication information based on per-numerology; and
; see [0062]... The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type. The UE capability message may be transmitted to a base station in general, although it is to be understood that the UE capability message may be provided to a network entity in some situations (e.g., when the UE is operating in an idle mode); further see [0085].. the UE 115 may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality, or an otherwise acceptable signal quality. Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115), or transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches as per claim 1, wherein the first indication information is comprised in at least one of the following messages:
message 1 in a random access process;
message 3 in a random access process;
message 5 in a random access process;
a capability reporting message of the terminal; or
a type reporting message of the terminal; already discussed above in context with [0027] refer to see [0062].. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type (i.e. the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life, and the like). The UE capability message may be transmitted to a base station in general, although it is to be understood that the UE capability message may be provided to a network entity in some situations (e.g., when the UE is operating in an idle mode).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches as per claim 1, wherein before the reporting, by a terminal, first indication information, the method further comprises:
determining, by the terminal, the first indication information according to target information, wherein the target information comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal; see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type.
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches as per claim 1, wherein the reporting, by a terminal, first indication information comprises:
reporting, by the terminal, the first indication information according to target information, wherein the target information comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal; see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type.
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches as per claim 4, wherein the target information further comprises:
first information, wherein the first information is used to indicate a capability and/or an attribute parameter of the terminal; or,
wherein the target information is information corresponding to an uplink and/or a downlink; see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target information comprises first information), and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type.
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches as per claim 6, wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following:
bandwidth or maximum bandwidth supported by the terminal;
the number of receive/transmit antennas or the maximum number of receive/transmit antennas supported by the terminal;
the number of multiple input multiple output MIMO layers or the maximum number of MIMO layers supported by the terminal;
a maximum rate supported by the terminal;
a modulation order or a maximum modulation order supported by the terminal;
half-duplex frequency division duplex Half Duplex FDD supported by the terminal;
a processing time supported by the terminal;
a layer 2 buffer or soft buffer size supported by the terminal;
a packet data convergence protocol PDCP sequence number or a radio link control sequence number supported by the terminal;
the number of data radio bearers DRBs or the maximum number of DRBs supported by the terminal; and
a radio resource control RRC processing delay supported by the terminal; see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type.
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches as per claim 4, wherein the system configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
band information supported by a system;
band combination information supported by the system;
carrier information supported by the system;
system bandwidth;
channel bandwidth;
transmission bandwidth;
system frequency band information;
BWP configuration information; and
numerology related information; see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type.
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches as per claim 4, wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following:
an application scene of the terminal;
a network type of the terminal;
a network environment in which the terminal is located; and
a channel condition of the terminal; see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type.
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches as per claim 4, wherein the determining the first indication information comprises:
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type of the terminal is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type of the terminal is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information of the terminal is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal (see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type); or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information is a common terminal or a second type, determining that a type of the terminal is a common terminal or a second type, and/or determining that capability information of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a common terminal, wherein
the first system configuration information is one piece of system configuration information in the system configuration information, the first type is a type corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, and the second type is a type corresponding to a common terminal; or,
wherein the determining the first indication information comprises:
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of second system configuration information within a band combination is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of second system configuration information within a band combination is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of second system configuration information within a band combination is a common terminal or a second type, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is a common terminal or a second type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is capability information corresponding to a common terminal, wherein
the second system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a carrier, a band, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerology; or,
wherein the determining the first indication information comprises:
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of third system configuration information within a frequency domain unit is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of third system configuration information within a frequency domain unit is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of third system configuration information within a frequency domain unit is a common terminal or a second type, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is a common terminal or a second type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is capability information corresponding to a common terminal, wherein
the frequency domain unit is a band or a carrier, and when the frequency domain unit is a band, the third system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a carrier, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerical configuration; and when the frequency domain unit is a carrier, the third system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a band, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerology.
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches as per claim 4, wherein the determining the first indication information comprises:
if a terminal type of the terminal in an uplink or a downlink is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type of the terminal is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that a capability of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal (see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type); or
if neither a terminal type of the terminal in an uplink nor a terminal type of the terminal in a downlink is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type of the terminal is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information of the terminal is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if neither a terminal type of the terminal in an uplink nor a terminal type of the terminal in a downlink is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, determining that a type of the terminal is a common terminal or a second type, and/or determining that capability information of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a common terminal.
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches as per claim 5, wherein the reporting the first indication information comprises:
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type of the terminal is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal (see [0062]... For example, the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life (i.e. all can be target info comprises at least system configuration information and/or second information, and the second information is used to indicate a state and/or a scene of the terminal , and the like. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type); or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type of the terminal is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information of the terminal is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information is a common terminal or a second type, reporting that a type of the terminal is a common terminal or a second type, and/or reporting that capability information of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a common terminal, wherein
the first system configuration information is one piece of system configuration information in the system configuration information, the first type is a type corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, and the second type is a type corresponding to a common terminal; or,
wherein the reporting the first indication information comprises:
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of second system configuration information within a band combination is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of second system configuration information within a band combination is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of second system configuration information within a band combination is a common terminal or a second type, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is a common terminal or a second type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the band combination is capability information corresponding to a common terminal, wherein
the second system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a carrier, a band, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerology; or,
wherein the reporting the first indication information comprises:
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of third system configuration information within a frequency domain unit is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of third system configuration information within a frequency domain unit is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of third system configuration information within a frequency domain unit is a common terminal or a second type, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is a common terminal or a second type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the frequency domain unit is capability information corresponding to a common terminal, wherein
the frequency domain unit is a band or a carrier, and when the frequency domain unit is a band, the third system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a carrier, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerical configuration; and when the frequency domain unit is a carrier, the third system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a band, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerology.
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches an information transmission method (see [0062]), comprising:
obtaining, by a network side device, first indication information from a terminal in a first obtaining manner, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether being a reduced capability terminal; or
type identifier information of a terminal;
wherein the first obtaining manner comprises at least one of the following:
obtaining the first indication information based on per-band;
obtaining the first indication information based on per-band combination;
obtaining the first indication information based on per-carrier;
obtaining the first indication information based on per-bandwidth part; or
obtaining the first indication information based on an uplink or a downlink; see in context with [0027] refer to see [0062].. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type (i.e. the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life, and the like). The UE capability message may be transmitted to a base station in general, although it is to be understood that the UE capability message may be provided to a network entity in some situations (e.g., when the UE is operating in an idle mode). Further UE is transmitting to the network side can be identified as a base don uplink (see [0068.. Communication links 125 shown in wireless communication system 100 may include uplink transmissions from a UE 115 to a base station 105, or downlink transmissions from a base station 105 to a UE 115. Downlink transmissions may also be called forward link transmissions while uplink transmissions may also be called reverse link transmissions.).
Regarding claim 18, Liu teaches as per claim 17,
wherein
the first obtaining manner further comprises at least one of the following:
obtaining the first indication information based on per-terminal;
obtaining the first indication information based on per-feature;
obtaining the first indication information based on per-feature set;
obtaining the first indication information based on per-subcarrier spacing;
obtaining the first indication information based on per-numerology;
or,
wherein the first indication information is comprised in at least one of the following messages:
message 1 in a random access process;
message 3 in a random access process;
message 5 in a random access process;
a capability reporting message of the terminal;or
a type reporting message of the terminal; see [0062]... The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type. The UE capability message may be transmitted to a base station in general, although it is to be understood that the UE capability message may be provided to a network entity in some situations (e.g., when the UE is operating in an idle mode); further see [0085].. the UE 115 may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality, or an otherwise acceptable signal quality. Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115), or transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device).
Regarding claim 19, Liu teaches terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction is executed by the processor to implement the following steps (see [0062]):
reporting first indication information, in a first reporting manner to a network side, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether being a reduced capability terminal; or
type identifier information of a terminal;
wherein the first reporting manner comprises at least one of the following: reporting the first indication information based on per-band;
reporting the first indication information based on per-band combination;
reporting the first indication information based on per-carrier;
reporting the first indication information based on per-bandwidth part; or
reporting the first indication information based on an uplink or a downlink; see in context with [0027] refer to see [0062].. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type (i.e. the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life, and the like). The UE capability message may be transmitted to a base station in general, although it is to be understood that the UE capability message may be provided to a network entity in some situations (e.g., when the UE is operating in an idle mode). Further UE is transmitting to the network side can be identified as a base don uplink (see [0068.. Communication links 125 shown in wireless communication system 100 may include uplink transmissions from a UE 115 to a base station 105, or downlink transmissions from a base station 105 to a UE 115. Downlink transmissions may also be called forward link transmissions while uplink transmissions may also be called reverse link transmissions.).
Regarding claim 21, Liu teaches as per claim 1, wherein the first indication information is further used to indicate capability information of a reduced capability terminal; see in context with [0027] refer to see [0062].. The UE may transmit or otherwise provide a UE capability message carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the UE type (i.e. the UE type may be associated with a limited bandwidth, low complexity, low transmit power levels, a fewer number of receive antennas, an extended battery life, and the like). The UE capability message may be transmitted to a base station in general, although it is to be understood that the UE capability message may be provided to a network entity in some situations (e.g., when the UE is operating in an idle mode).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0100003 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0274846 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches as per claim 6, but fails to state about wherein the determining the first indication information comprises:
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is less than bandwidth corresponding to first system configuration information in the system configuration information, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is less than bandwidth corresponding to at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, wherein
the first system configuration information is one piece of system configuration information in the system configuration information, and the first type is a type corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or,
wherein the determining the first indication information comprises:
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to first system configuration information in the system configuration information, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is a common terminal or a second type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a common terminal; or
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to first system configuration information in the system configuration information, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is a common terminal or a second type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a common terminal; or
if first bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information, determining that a type corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or determining that capability information corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, wherein
the first type is a type corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, and the second type is a type corresponding to a common terminal; and the first system configuration information is one piece of system configuration information in the system configuration information; however Kim states in [0330] regarding UE max bandwidth (i.e., bandwidth capability of the RedCap UE) may be determined as a minimum bandwidth satisfying a bit rate required in a target use case. A UE max bandwidth reduction can reduce RF element and/or baseband processing cost and expect an effect of reducing power consumption. Herein, the required bit rate may mean a peak rate or the supported max data rate considering that the device manufacturing cost is determined by the peak rate or the supported max data rate not an average bit rate and a reference bit rate; further see [0331- 0336] and also refer to [0338]… Considering that a bandwidth capability of a RedCap UE is determined by a required bit rate of respective use cases, a RedCap device type may be classified based on a UE bandwidth capability. …..Classification method 4-1) The RedCap device type is classified by a max bandwidth and is used by being configured with an actual data transmission/reception bandwidth (<=max bandwidth); see [0039]; further see [0341- 0342]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Liu to make system more standardized.
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches as per claim 6, but fails to state about wherein the reporting the first indication information comprises:
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is less than bandwidth corresponding to first system configuration information in the system configuration information, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is less than bandwidth corresponding to at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, wherein
the first system configuration information is one piece of system configuration information in the system configuration information, and the first type is a type corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or,
wherein the reporting the first indication information comprises:
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to first system configuration information in the system configuration information, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is a common terminal or a second type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a common terminal; or
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to first system configuration information in the system configuration information, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in the first system configuration information is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal to the first system configuration information is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is a common terminal or a second type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is capability information corresponding to a common terminal; or
if first bandwidth corresponding to the first information is greater than or equal to bandwidth corresponding to at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information, reporting that a type corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information corresponding to the terminal in all or a part of the system configuration information is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, wherein
the first type is a type corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, and the second type is a type corresponding to a common terminal; and the first system configuration information is one piece of system configuration information in the system configuration information; however Kim states in [0330] regarding UE max bandwidth (i.e., bandwidth capability of the RedCap UE) may be determined as a minimum bandwidth satisfying a bit rate required in a target use case. A UE max bandwidth reduction can reduce RF element and/or baseband processing cost and expect an effect of reducing power consumption. Herein, the required bit rate may mean a peak rate or the supported max data rate considering that the device manufacturing cost is determined by the peak rate or the supported max data rate not an average bit rate and a reference bit rate; further see [0331- 0336] and also refer to [0338]… Considering that a bandwidth capability of a RedCap UE is determined by a required bit rate of respective use cases, a RedCap device type may be classified based on a UE bandwidth capability. …..Classification method 4-1) The RedCap device type is classified by a max bandwidth and is used by being configured with an actual data transmission/reception bandwidth (<=max bandwidth); see [0039]; further see [0341- 0342]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Liu to make system more standardized.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0100003 A1) in view of Zheng et al. WO 2021/228256 A1, see machine translated copy.
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches as per claim 5, but fails to state about wherein the reporting the first indication information comprises:
if a terminal type of the terminal in an uplink or a downlink is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type of the terminal is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that a capability of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if neither a terminal type of the terminal in an uplink nor a terminal type of the terminal in a downlink is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type of the terminal is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type, and/or reporting that capability information of the terminal is not capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal; or
if neither a terminal type of the terminal in an uplink nor a terminal type of the terminal in a downlink is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, reporting that a type of the terminal is a common terminal or a second type, and/or reporting that capability information of the terminal is capability information corresponding to a common terminal; however Zhang states about .. the terminal equipment supporting 64QAM in the uplink and the terminal equipment supporting 16QAM in the uplink can be regarded as a type of terminal equipment (for example, REDCAP terminal equipment), and the network equipment reports different fifth information through the two, for example, the terminal supporting 64QAM in the uplink The device reports 0.06 or 0.07, and the uplink terminal device that supports 16QAM reports 0.10, which can distinguish the uplink maximum modulation mode of the REDCAP terminal device, for example, 16QAM or 64QAM…; see pages 100- 101. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zheng with the teachings of Liu to make system more standardized.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0100003 A1) in view of Liu (RU 2807676 C1), hereafter Liu 1 pls see translated copy.
Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches as per claim 6, but fails to state about further comprising:
if a first condition is met, not reporting a reduced capability terminal type and/or not reporting capability information corresponding to a reduced capability terminal, wherein
the first condition comprises at least one of the following:
bandwidth corresponding to the first information is less than bandwidth corresponding to first system configuration information in the system configuration information;
bandwidth corresponding to the first information is less than bandwidth corresponding to at least one piece of first system configuration information in the system configuration information;
a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of first system configuration information is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type;
a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of second system configuration information within a band combination is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type;
a corresponding terminal type in at least one piece of third system configuration information within a frequency domain unit is not a reduced capability terminal or a first type;
neither a terminal type of the terminal in an uplink nor a terminal type of the terminal in a downlink is a reduced capability terminal or a first type, wherein
the first system configuration information is one piece of system configuration information in the system configuration information, the second system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a carrier, a band, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerology, the frequency domain unit is a band or a carrier, and the third system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a carrier, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerology, or the third system configuration information comprises a bandwidth part, a band, a frequency, a subcarrier spacing, or a numerology; however in context with [0035] refer to [0048]... random access of the UE of the first type is not different from the random access of the UE of the second type, in order to reduce the capacity of the UE of the second type, the UEs of the second type may be configured to access a larger frequency band. In this case, if UEs of the first type supporting a small bandwidth and UEs of the second type share the same access configuration, a situation may arise where the bandwidth of the access configuration is larger than the maximum bandwidth supported by the UE of the first type, which causes UE access failure of the first type. However, if the access configuration of the second type UE is configured to match the access configuration of the first type UE in consideration of the small supported bandwidth characteristic of the first type UE, the capacity of the second type UE cannot be fully utilized, or even a situation may arise where the second type UE types have low access efficiency and low transmission speed (i.e. hence here reporting is not being done). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Liu1 with the teachings of Liu to make system more standardized.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479