DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s 02/05/2026 amendment or response in the application of ZHANG et al. for “METHODS, DEVICES, AND SYSTEMS FOR UCI MULTIPLEXING WITH PUSCH” filed 11/14/2023. The amendment or response to the claims have been entered. Claims 3, 23 have been canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-2, 4-12, 21-22, 24-28 are now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 21-22, 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GUO et al. (2023/0422242 A1), hereinafter GUO.
Regarding claim 1, GUO discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising:
in response to a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with a set of uplink control informations (UCIs) overlapping with a PUSCH with a configured grant UCI (CG-UCI), multiplexing, by a user equipment (UE), the set of UCIs in the PUCCH with the CG-UCI in the PUSCH by (a UE may receive a UCI transmission schedule in a time period that partially or fully overlaps with an uplink CG resource for a CG-PUSCH transmission including CG-UCI, see ¶ 0037; the term “UCI” can refer to UCI scheduled by a BS via a dynamic scheduling grant (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)) and/or UCI (e.g., CSI) configured by a BS via RRC or MAC CE for transmission in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). As used herein, the term “CG-UCI” can refer to control information include in a CG-PUSCH transmission for providing information related to CG UL data (unscheduled data) in the CG-PUSCH transmission, see ¶ 0036):
in response to a UCI in the set of UCIs having a same physical priority as the CG-UCI (a low-priority UCI message and/or a low-priority CG-UCI communication based on the configured threshold number of bits, see ¶ 0038; or HP CG-UCI 502 and HP HARQ-ACK 504, see figure 5):
combining the UCI and the CG-UCI to obtain a new UCI, assigning, the new UCI with a type being same as that of the UCI (the compressed low-priority UCI and/or CG-UCI may be appended, see ¶ 0038; appending HP CG-UCI 502 and HP HARQ-ACK 504, see figure 5, where the HARQ-ACK is transmit on UCI, see ¶ 0038), and
multiplexing the new UCI on the PUSCH according to a pre-defined multiplexing rule (multiplexed with a high-priority UCI and/or high-priority CG-UCI and transmitted to the BS. In some aspects, the UE may be configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038);
wherein the UCI and the CG-UCI are combined to obtain the new UCI according to one of a localized concatenation method or a distributed concatenation method (compression may include truncating low-priority CSI and/or low-priority CG-UCI. For instance, low-priority CSI may include multiple information parts. Similarly, low-priority CG-UCI may include multiple information parts. The truncation may include excluding one or more information parts for the multiplexing. In some aspects, the truncation or compression may be based on certain configured rules, see ¶ 0038; figure 5 show HP-CG-UCI 502 is combined with HP- HARQ-ACK 504 (HP -UCI) to obtain the block 514 or new UCI… This appending or combination of CG-UCI and HP UCI is interpreted as a localized concatenation method. This interpretation is consistent with the applicant’s disclosure see figures 5A-5B).
Regarding claim 2, GUO discloses in response to the UCI in the set of UCIs having a different physical priority than the CG-UCI: assigning, the CG-UCI with a type being same as that of the UCI, assigning, the CG-UCI with a physical priority being same as that of the PUSCH; and multiplexing the UCI and the CG-UCI on the PUSCH according to the pre-defined multiplexing rule (the BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a dynamically scheduled HARQ-PUCCH via DCI signaling. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a SPS PDSCH via an RRC configuration. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a CG-PUSCH via an RRC configuration, see ¶ 0075… the UE performs the multiplexing for the assigned UCI message and other CG-UCI message and configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 4, GUO discloses according to the localized concatenation: the new UCI comprises a first portion and a second portion; the first portion comprises the UCI continuously without interruption; and the second portion comprises the CG-UCI continuously without interruption (compression may include truncating low-priority CSI and/or low-priority CG-UCI. For instance, low-priority CSI may include multiple information parts. Similarly, low-priority CG-UCI may include multiple information parts. The truncation may include excluding one or more information parts for the multiplexing. In some aspects, the truncation or compression may be based on certain configured rules, see ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 5, GUO discloses the new UCI comprises a first portion and a second portion; the first portion comprises M segments, each segment comprising N bits of the UCI and N bits of the CG-UCI alternately until a shorter one between the UCI and the CG-UCTL is distributed completely, each of M and N being a positive integer; and the second portion comprises a remainder of a longer one between the UCI and the CG-UCI (based on a threshold number of bits, a number of bits of a low-priority uplink control information (UCI) for multiplexing with at least one of a high-priority CG-PUSCH transmission, a low-priority CG-PUSCH transmission, or a high-priority UCI; and multiplex the number of bits of the low-priority UCI with the at least one of the high-priority CG-PUSCH transmission, the low-priority CG-PUSCH transmission, or the high-priority UCI to generate a multiplexed uplink transmission, see ¶ 0007).
Regarding claim 6, GUO discloses in response to a first UCI being a HP HARQ-ACK and the PUSCH with the CG-UCI being a HP PUSCH: the first UCI and the CG-UCI are concatenated to obtain the new UCI; the new UCI is assigned as a HP HARQ-ACK; and the new UCI is multiplexed on the PUSCH according to the pre-defined multiplexing rule (the UE determines whether multiplexing is enabled for high-priority CG-UCI and HARQ-ACK when high-priority HARQ-ACK is present …, The multiplexing configuration may include a parameter indicating whether high-priority CG-UCI and high-priority HARQ-ACK may be multiplexed for transmission to the BS. In some aspects, the multiplexing configuration may include a CG-UCI/HARQ-ACK multiplexing indicator when the high-priority CG-UCI and high-priority HARQ-ACK multiplexing is allowed, and may exclude the CG-UCI/HARQ-ACK multiplexing indicator otherwise. The multiplexing configuration may also indicate the number of low-priority UCI bits that can be multiplexed with high-priority UCI or high-priority CG-PUSCH, see ¶ 0081).
Regarding claim 7, GUO discloses in response to a first UCI being a LP HARQ-ACK and the PUSCH with the CG-UCI being a LP PUSCH: the first UCI and the CG-UCI are concatenated to obtain the new UCI; the new UCI is assigned as a LP HARQ-ACK; and the new UCI is multiplexed on the PUSCH according to the pre-defined multiplexing rule (the UE may resolve the collision by multiplexing a low-priority UCI message (e.g., HARQ-ACK information) with at least one of a high-priority UCI message, low-priority CG-UCI, and/or high-priority CG-UCI... compression may include truncating low-priority CSI and/or low-priority CG-UCI… the UE may be configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 8, GUO discloses in response to a first UCI being a HARQ-ACK and the PUSCH with the CG-UCI being a PUSCH with the same priority, a second UCI being a CSI with any priority: the first UCI and the CG-UCI are concatenated to obtain the new UCI; the new UCI is assigned as HARQ-ACK with same priority of first UCI; and the new UCI, second UCI are multiplexed on the PUSCH according to the pre-defined multiplexing rule (the BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a dynamically scheduled HARQ-PUCCH via DCI signaling. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a SPS PDSCH via an RRC configuration. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a CG-PUSCH via an RRC configuration, see ¶ 0075… the CSI may be assigned priority by the BS 105, see ¶ 0035, 0038… the UE performs the multiplexing for the assigned UCI message and other CG-UCI message and configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 9, GUO discloses in response to a first UCI being a LP HARQ-ACK and the PUSCH with the CG-UCI being a HP PUSCH: the CG-UCI is assigned as a HP HARQ-ACK; and the first UCI and the CG-UCI are multiplexed on the PUSCH according to the pre-defined multiplexing rule (the UE may resolve the collision by multiplexing a low-priority UCI message (e.g., HARQ-ACK information) with at least one of a high-priority UCI message, low-priority CG-UCI, and/or high-priority CG-UCI... the UE may be configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 10, GUO discloses in response to a first UCI being a HP HARQ-ACK, a second UCI being a LP HARQ-ACK, and the PUSCH with the CG-UCI being a HP PUSCH: the first UCI and the CG-UCI are concatenated to obtain the new UCI; the new UCI is assigned as a HP HARQ-ACK; and the new UCI and the second UCI are multiplexed on the PUSCH according to the pre-defined multiplexing rule (the BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a dynamically scheduled HARQ-PUCCH via DCI signaling. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a SPS PDSCH via an RRC configuration. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a CG-PUSCH via an RRC configuration, see ¶ 0075… the UE performs the multiplexing for the assigned UCI message and other CG-UCI message and configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038)..
Regarding claim 11, GUO discloses in response to a first UCI being a HP HARQ-ACK and the PUSCH with the CG-UCI being a LP PUSCH: the CG-UCI is assigned as a LP HARQ-ACK; and the first UCI and the CG-UCI are multiplexed on the PUSCH according to the pre-defined multiplexing rule (the BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a dynamically scheduled HARQ-PUCCH via DCI signaling. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a SPS PDSCH via an RRC configuration. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a CG-PUSCH via an RRC configuration, see ¶ 0075… the UE performs the multiplexing for the assigned UCI message and other CG-UCI message and configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 12, GUO discloses in response to a first UCI being a HP HARQ-ACK, a second UCI being a LP HARQ-ACK, and the PUSCH with the CG-UCI being a LP PUSCH: the second UCI and the CG-UCI are concatenated to obtain the new UCI; the new UCI is assigned as a LP HARQ-ACK; and the new UCI and the first UCI are multiplexed on the PUSCH according to the pre-defined multiplexing rule (the BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a dynamically scheduled HARQ-PUCCH via DCI signaling. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a SPS PDSCH via an RRC configuration. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a CG-PUSCH via an RRC configuration, see ¶ 0075… the UE performs the multiplexing for the assigned UCI message and other CG-UCI message and configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 21, GUO discloses an apparatus comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the instructions, the processor is configured to
cause the apparatus to perform, in response to a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with a set of uplink control informations (UCIs) overlapping with a PUSCH with a configured grant UCI (CG UCI), multiplexing the set of UCIs in the PUCCH with the CG UCI in the PUSCH by (a UE may receive a UCI transmission schedule in a time period that partially or fully overlaps with an uplink CG resource for a CG-PUSCH transmission including CG-UCI, see ¶ 0037; the term “UCI” can refer to UCI scheduled by a BS via a dynamic scheduling grant (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)) and/or UCI (e.g., CSI) configured by a BS via RRC or MAC CE for transmission in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). As used herein, the term “CG-UCI” can refer to control information include in a CG-PUSCH transmission for providing information related to CG UL data (unscheduled data) in the CG-PUSCH transmission, see ¶ 0036):
in response to a UCI in the set of UCIs having a same physical priority as the CG-UCI (a low-priority UCI message and/or a low-priority CG-UCI communication based on the configured threshold number of bits, see ¶ 0038):
combining the UCI and the CG-UCI to obtain a new UCI, assigning, the new UCI with a type being same as that of the UCI (the compressed low-priority UCI and/or CG-UCI may be appended, see ¶ 0038; the combination (the block 514) of HP CG-UCI 502 and HP HARQ-ACK 504, see figure 5, where the HARQ-ACK is transmit on UCI, see ¶ 0038)and
multiplexing the new UCI on the PUSCH according to a pre-defined multiplexing rule (multiplexed with a high-priority UCI and/or high-priority CG-UCI and transmitted to the BS. In some aspects, the UE may be configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038);
wherein the UCI and the CG-UCI are combined to obtain the new UCI according to one of a localized concatenation method or a distributed concatenation method (compression may include truncating low-priority CSI and/or low-priority CG-UCI. For instance, low-priority CSI may include multiple information parts. Similarly, low-priority CG-UCI may include multiple information parts. The truncation may include excluding one or more information parts for the multiplexing. In some aspects, the truncation or compression may be based on certain configured rules, see ¶ 0038; figure 5 show HP-CG-UCI 502 is combined with HP- HARQ-ACK 504 (HP -UCI) to obtain the block 514 or new UCI… This appending or combination of CG-UCI and HP UCI is interpreted as a localized concatenation method. This interpretation is consistent with the applicant’s disclosure see figures 5A-5B).
Regarding claim 22, GUO discloses in response to the UCI in the set of UCIs having a different physical priority than the CG UCI: assigning, the CG UCI with a type being same as that of the UCI, assigning, the CG UCI with a physical priority being same as that of the PUSCH; and multiplexing the UCI and the CG UCI on the PUSCH according to the pre-defined multiplexing rule (the BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a dynamically scheduled HARQ-PUCCH via DCI signaling. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a SPS PDSCH via an RRC configuration. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a CG-PUSCH via an RRC configuration, see ¶ 0075… the UE performs the multiplexing for the assigned UCI message and other CG-UCI message and configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 24, GUO discloses in response to a first UCI being a HP HARQ-ACK and the PUSCH with the CG UCI being a HP PUSCH: the first UCI and the CG UCI are concatenated to obtain the new UCI; the new UCI is assigned as a HP HARQ-ACK; and the new UCI is multiplexed on the PUSCH according to the pre-defined multiplexing rule (the BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a dynamically scheduled HARQ-PUCCH via DCI signaling. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a SPS PDSCH via an RRC configuration. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a CG-PUSCH via an RRC configuration, see ¶ 0075… the UE performs the multiplexing for the assigned UCI message and other CG-UCI message and configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 25, GUO discloses in response to a first UCI being a LP HARQ-ACK and the PUSCH with the CG UCI being a LP PUSCH: the first UCI and the CG UCI are concatenated to obtain the new UCI; the new UCI is assigned as a LP HARQ-ACK; and the new UCI is multiplexed on the PUSCH according to the pre-defined multiplexing rule (the UE may resolve the collision by multiplexing a low-priority UCI message (e.g., HARQ-ACK information) with at least one of a high-priority UCI message, low-priority CG-UCI, and/or high-priority CG-UCI... compression may include truncating low-priority CSI and/or low-priority CG-UCI… the UE may be configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 26, GUO discloses in response to a first UCI being a LP HARQ-ACK and the PUSCH with the CG UCI being a HP PUSCH: the CG UCI is assigned as a HP HARQ-ACK; and the first UCI and the CG UCI are multiplexed on the PUSCH according to the pre-defined multiplexing rule (the UE may resolve the collision by multiplexing a low-priority UCI message (e.g., HARQ-ACK information) with at least one of a high-priority UCI message, low-priority CG-UCI, and/or high-priority CG-UCI... the UE may be configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 27, GUO discloses a non-transitory computer program product comprising a computer-readable program medium storing instructions, wherein, the instructions, when executed by a processor, are configured to cause the processor to perform:
in response to a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with a set of uplink control informations (UCIs) overlapping with a PUSCH with a configured grant UCI (CG-UCI), multiplexing the set of UCIs in the PUCCH with the CG-UCI in the PUSCH by (a UE may receive a UCI transmission schedule in a time period that partially or fully overlaps with an uplink CG resource for a CG-PUSCH transmission including CG-UCI, see ¶ 0037; the term “UCI” can refer to UCI scheduled by a BS via a dynamic scheduling grant (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)) and/or UCI (e.g., CSI) configured by a BS via RRC or MAC CE for transmission in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). As used herein, the term “CG-UCI” can refer to control information include in a CG-PUSCH transmission for providing information related to CG UL data (unscheduled data) in the CG-PUSCH transmission, see ¶ 0036):
in response to a UCI in the set of UCIs having a same physical priority as the CG-UCI (a low-priority UCI message and/or a low-priority CG-UCI communication based on the configured threshold number of bits, see ¶ 0038):
combining the UCI and the CG-UCI to obtain a new UCI, assigning, the new UCI with a type being same as that of the UCI (the compressed low-priority UCI and/or CG-UCI may be appended, see ¶ 0038; the combination of HP CG-UCI 502 and HP HARQ-ACK 504 or block 514, see figure 5, where the HARQ-ACK is transmit on UCI, see ¶ 0038)and
multiplexing the new UCI on the PUSCH according to a pre-defined multiplexing rule (multiplexed with a high-priority UCI and/or high-priority CG-UCI and transmitted to the BS. In some aspects, the UE may be configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038);
wherein the UCI and the CG-UCI are combined to obtain the new UCI according to one of a localized concatenation method or a distributed concatenation method (compression may include truncating low-priority CSI and/or low-priority CG-UCI. For instance, low-priority CSI may include multiple information parts. Similarly, low-priority CG-UCI may include multiple information parts. The truncation may include excluding one or more information parts for the multiplexing. In some aspects, the truncation or compression may be based on certain configured rules, see ¶ 0038; figure 5 show HP-CG-UCI 502 is combined with HP- HARQ-ACK 504 (HP -UCI) to obtain the block 514 or new UCI… This appending or combination of CG-UCI and HP UCI is interpreted as a localized concatenation method. This interpretation is consistent with the applicant’s disclosure see figures 5A-5B).
Regarding claim 28, GUO discloses in response to the UCI in the set of UCIs having a different physical priority than the CG-UCI: assigning, the CG-UCI with a type being same as that of the UCI, assigning, the CG-UCI with a physical priority being same as that of the PUSCH; and multiplexing the UCI and the CG-UCI on the PUSCH according to the pre-defined multiplexing rule (the BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a dynamically scheduled HARQ-PUCCH via DCI signaling. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a SPS PDSCH via an RRC configuration. The BS 105 may assign a high-priority or a low-priority for a CG-PUSCH via an RRC configuration, see ¶ 0075… the UE perform the multiplexing for the assigned UCI message and other CG-UCI message and configured to transmit the multiplexed UCI and CG communications in a CG-PUSCH or in a PUCCH based on determining whether multiplexing of HARQ-ACK with CG-UCI is enabled when HARQ-ACK is scheduled for transmission in the overlapping time period, see ¶ 0038).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner especially disagrees with the applicant’s argument of the cited reference GUO discloses compression by truncating of the of high or low-priority CSI and/or low priority CG-UCI.” This argument is irrelevant for the following reason the instant claim call for combining having the same priorities UCI and the CG-UCI to obtain the new UCI. It does not matter whether the UCI or CG-UCI perform other function such as compression by truncating the bits before appending step, but the result is still combining the same priorities UCI and CG-UCI to obtain the new UCI. GUO discloses the both combining HP CG-UCI 502 and the HP HARQ-ACK 504 to obtain a new UCI block 514 without compression (see figure 5) and combining low priority CG-UCI and low priority UCI into obtain a new UCI with compression (see ¶ 0038). Therefore, GUO discloses the claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412