Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/10/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments and Examiner’s response are provided below.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102:
Applicant argues: Li does not directly notify the device of a domain that includes AI servers, and the device does not know which service node executes the AI service or a corresponding resource to the service node.
Examiner’s response: In view of Applicant’s amended claim construction, the rejection continues to rely on LI, but cites different paragraphs to address the amended claims, which relies on LI’s routing information sent to the device as the configuration information.
LI discloses in Fig. 7, step 730, that the device receives configuration information of an AI service, that is in the form of an AI service registration response (See [0123]). LI also discloses that the AI service registration response includes routing information specifying how to reach a coordinator associated with the AI service, the coordinator corresponding to a location of the AI service (See [0036]). And in [0128] discloses that the device receives routing information/ updated routing information. Li also discloses in [0127] that the routing information specifies how to reach the coordinator associated with the AI service, and the routing information includes a port number, which is considered a resource for the AI service.
Applicant argues: In the present application, the network device first transmits configuration information, and the terminal device can later use this information to initiate a join request.
Examiner’s response: In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show
certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies
(i.e., the terminal device using the AI information to initiate a join request) are not recited in claim 1. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from
the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26
USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9-10, 12, 14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by LI et al. (US 20220060390).
Regarding claim 1,
LI discloses “A configuration method, applied in a terminal device, the method comprising: receiving configuration information from a network device, the configuration information comprising first domain information corresponding to a first Artificial Intelligence (Al) service” (See Fig. 7, [0123] At step 730, the platform controller 602 notifies the device 701 about availability of the AI service registered at step 710. If step 730 occurs in response to step 720, step 730 may be in the form of a registration response message (i.e. in the form of a response to the device registration request at step 720. [0036] the AI service registration response including routing information at least in part specifying how to reach a coordinator associated with the AI service, the coordinator corresponding to a location of the AI service), “wherein the first domain information corresponding to the first Al service is information related to a first domain for executing the first Al service, wherein the first domain for executing the first Al service comprises at least one of: at least one service node for executing the first Al service or a resource corresponding to each service node” (See [0127] The routing information may specify how to reach the coordinator 601 over data plane interface T2 (e.g. interface T2 402 in FIG. 4). The routing information may include one or more of coordinator network address, port number, protocol type, tunnel end point ID and tunnel ID. [0128] The device 701 then uses the received routing information for transmitting data, message or signal to the coordinator 601 over data plane interface T2 (e.g. interface T2 402 in FIG. 4). After step 770, the platform controller 602 can, at any time, provide updated routing information to the device 701 for the AI service, for example, when the coordinator 601 that the device is associated with is changed or relocated).
Regarding claim 3,
LI discloses “The method according to claim 1, wherein the resource corresponding to each service node comprises at least one of: a stored and/or used model, a data resource, a computing resource, or a communication resource” (See [0127] The routing information may specify how to reach the coordinator 601 over data plane interface T2 (e.g. interface T2 402 in FIG. 4). The routing information may include one or more of coordinator network address, port number, protocol type, tunnel end point ID and tunnel ID).
Regarding claim 5,
LI discloses “The method according to claim 1, further comprising, prior to receiving the
configuration information from the network device: transmitting first information to the
network device, the first information comprising at least one of: an identifier of a service
requested by the terminal device, an identifier of the terminal device, capability
information of the terminal device, or condition information of the terminal device” (See
Fig. 7, [0122] At step 720, the device 701 sends a registration request to the platform
controller 602 to be registered at the platform controller 602. The device registration
request includes information identifying the device 701. Note: The terminal device sends a
registration request including an identifier of the terminal device, before receiving the
configuration information).
Regarding claim 9,
LI discloses “The method according to claim 5, wherein the first information is carried in a
registration request transmitted by the terminal device to the network device; and the
configuration information is carried in a registration response transmitted by the network
device to the terminal device” (See Fig. 7, [0122] At step 720, the device 701 sends a
registration request to the platform controller 602 to be registered at the platform
controller 602. The device registration request includes information identifying the
device 701, [0123] At step 730, the platform controller 602 notifies the device 701 about
availability of the AI service registered at step 710. This notification may include information
identifying the AI service (e.g. an AI service identifier), step 730 may be in the form of a
registration response message (i.e. in the form of a response to the device registration
request at step 720), and the AI service availability may be provided to the device 701 in the
registration response message).
Regarding claim 10,
LI discloses “A terminal device, comprising a processor and a transceiver connected to the processor” (See Fig. 11, [0185] The electronic 1100 device may be a mobile device or a
device forming part of a cell or base station, a radio access node, control function,
infrastructure, or other device in a wireless communication access network or core
network), “wherein the transceiver is configured to receive configuration information from a network device, the configuration information comprising first domain information corresponding to a first Artificial Intelligence (AI) service” (See Fig. 7, [0123] At step 730, the platform controller 602 notifies the device 701 about availability of the AI service registered at step 710. If step 730 occurs in response to step 720, step 730 may be in the form of a registration response message (i.e. in the form of a response to the device registration request at step 720. [0036] the AI service registration response including routing information at least in part specifying how to reach a coordinator associated with the AI service, the coordinator corresponding to a location of the AI service), “wherein the first domain information corresponding to the first Al service is information related to a first domain for executing the first Al service, wherein the first domain for executing the first Al service comprises at least one of: at least one service node for executing the first Al service or a resource corresponding to each service node” (See [0127] The routing information may specify how to reach the coordinator 601 over data plane interface T2 (e.g. interface T2 402 in FIG. 4). The routing information may include one or more of coordinator network address, port number, protocol type, tunnel end point ID and tunnel ID. [0128] The device 701 then uses the received routing information for transmitting data, message or signal to the coordinator 601 over data plane interface T2 (e.g. interface T2 402 in FIG. 4). After step 770, the platform controller 602 can, at any time, provide updated routing information to the device 701 for the AI service, for example, when the coordinator 601 that the device is associated with is changed or relocated).
Regarding claim 12,
LI discloses “The terminal device according to claim 10, wherein the resource corresponding to each service node comprises at least one of: a stored and/or used model, a data resource, a computing resource, or a communication resource” (See [0127] The routing information may specify how to reach the coordinator 601 over data plane interface T2 (e.g. interface T2 402 in FIG. 4). The routing information may include one or more of coordinator network address, port number, protocol type, tunnel end point ID and tunnel ID).
Regarding claim 14,
LI discloses “The terminal device according to claim 10, wherein the transceiver is further
configured to, prior to receiving the configuration information from the network device:
transmit first information to the network device, the first information comprising at least
one of: an identifier of a service requested by the terminal device, an identifier of the
terminal device, capability information of the terminal device, or condition information of
the terminal device” (See Fig. 7, [0122] At step 720, the device 701 sends a registration
request to the platform controller 602 to be registered at the platform controller 602. The
device registration request includes information identifying the device 701. Note: The
terminal device sends a registration request including an identifier of the terminal device,
before receiving the configuration information).
Regarding claim 18,
LI discloses “The terminal device according to claim 14, wherein the first information is
carried in a registration request transmitted by the terminal device to the network device;
and the configuration information is carried in a registration response transmitted by the network device to the terminal device” (See Fig. 7, [0122] At step 720, the device 701 sends
a registration request to the platform controller 602 to be registered at the platform
controller 602. The device registration request includes information identifying the
device 701, [0123] At step 730, the platform controller 602 notifies the device 701 about
availability of the AI service registered at step 710. This notification may include information
identifying the AI service (e.g. an AI service identifier), step 730 may be in the form of a
registration response message (i.e. in the form of a response to the device registration
request at step 720), and the AI service availability may be provided to the device 701 in the
registration response message).
Regarding claim 19,
LI discloses “A network device, comprising a processor and a transceiver connected to the processor” (See Fig. 11, [0185] The electronic 1100 device may be a mobile device or a
device forming part of a cell or base station, a radio access node, control function,
infrastructure, or other device in a wireless communication access network or core
network), “wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit configuration information to a terminal device, the configuration information comprising first domain information corresponding to a first Artificial Intelligence (AI) service” (See Fig. 7, [0123] At step 730, the platform controller 602 notifies the device 701 about availability of the AI service registered at step 710. If step 730 occurs in response to step 720, step 730 may be in the form of a registration response message (i.e. in the form of a response to the device registration request at step 720. [0036] the AI service registration response including routing information at least in part specifying how to reach a coordinator associated with the AI service, the coordinator corresponding to a location of the AI service), “wherein the first domain information corresponding to the first Al service is information related to a first domain for executing the first Al service, wherein the first domain for executing the first Al service comprises at least one of: at least one service node for executing the first Al service or a resource corresponding to each service node” (See [0127] The routing information may specify how to reach the coordinator 601 over data plane interface T2 (e.g. interface T2 402 in FIG. 4). The routing information may include one or more of coordinator network address, port number, protocol type, tunnel end point ID and tunnel ID. [0128] The device 701 then uses the received routing information for transmitting data, message or signal to the coordinator 601 over data plane interface T2 (e.g. interface T2 402 in FIG. 4). After step 770, the platform controller 602 can, at any time, provide updated routing information to the device 701 for the AI service, for example, when the coordinator 601 that the device is associated with is changed or relocated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (US
20220060390) in view of WU (US 20230013010 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 13,
LI discloses claim 4 of “The method according to claim 1”, and claim 13 of “The terminal
device according to claim 10”, but does not explicitly disclose the configuration information including a temporary device identifier for the device to join the domain executing the AI service.
However, WU discloses “wherein the configuration information further comprises a
temporary device identifier used for the terminal device to join the first domain for
executing the first Al service” (See [0110] the proximity service network element sends the temporary identifier to the second terminal device in a registration process of the second terminal device. That it, the proximity service network element allocates the temporary identifier to the second terminal device when receiving a registration request sent by the second terminal device. The proximity service network
element sends the registration request response message including the temporary identifier to the second terminal device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of LI with the
teachings of WU, to include a temporary device identifier for the terminal in the configuration information, to use in a registration/ join request, and the motivation to do so would have been to avoid user privacy exposure (WU [0034]).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (US
20220060390) in view of KARAPANTELAKIS et al. (US 20220104079 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 15,
LI discloses claim 6 of “The method according to claim 5”, and claim 15 of “The terminal
device according to claim 14”. LI discloses that the terminal sends a registration request
including information identifying the terminal ([0122]), but does not explicitly disclose that
the type of the terminal identifier.
However, KARAPANTELAKIS discloses “wherein the identifier of the terminal device
comprises at least one of: an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), a Globally
Unique Temporary User Equipment Identity (GUTI), a Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI), or a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI) type of identifier” (See [0039] One example
of such computation services is a machine learning (ML) model, where the
UE 160 thus request execution of the ML model for a particular set of data. [0108] S319: The
control node 200 instructs the target compute node 150b to start execution of the stateless
computational service by sending a message “Start Execution [list(IMSI, input, modeIID)]”,
where the IMSI is the IMSI of the UE 160 that originated the execution request. Note: Since
the control node inserts the IMSI of the UE into the “Start Execution” instruction, it implies
that the execution request sent by the UE includes the IMSI of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of LI with the
teachings of KARAPANTELAKIS, and the motivation to do so would have been to uniquely
identify the UE imitating the request, enabling proper association of the request and the
returned results.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (US
20220060390) in view of HONG (US 20230232213 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 16,
LI discloses claim 7 of “The method according to claim 5”, and claim 16 of “The terminal
device according to claim 14”, but does not explicitly disclose transmitting capability
information of the terminal device.
However, HONG discloses “wherein the capability information of the terminal device
comprises at least one of: a computing capability of the terminal device, a power capacity
of the terminal device, a storage capability of the terminal device, or a data type of the
terminal device” (See [0039] At step 201, AI capability information indicating an AI
capability of the UE is reported to a base station. [0041] AI capability may be a capability
that the UE performs AI-related data computation or an AI function that the UE possesses.
The reported AI capability may include: whether the UE has an AI capability, and/or, AI data
processing rate of the UE such as a computing capability of a processor, and/or, an amount
of AI data processable by the UE, and/or, AI model supported by the UE, and/or,
a computing capability of the UE for a specific AI algorithm and the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of LI with the
teachings of HONG, to have included information about terminal capability in the
registration/ AI service request, and the motivation to do so would have been to coordinate
the allocation of the AI service based on the AI capability so as to improve an AI service
synergy capability between the UE and the base station, and realize resource optimization
and effective utilization of the AI capability of the UE (HONG [0047]).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (US
20220060390) in view of MU et al. (US 20240323099 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 17,
LI discloses claim 8 of “The method according to claim 5”, and claim 17 of “The terminal
device according to claim 14”, but does not explicitly disclose transmitting condition
information of the terminal.
However, MU discloses “wherein the condition information of the terminal device
comprises at least one of: a location of the terminal device, a speed of the terminal device,
time of the terminal device, or a movement trajectory of the terminal device” (See [0059]
In a scenario where the terminal has high-speed mobility, re-delivery of a wireless network
AI analysis task is carried out. Terminal access location information is added to analysis
request information. When a terminal access location changes, the access location
information in the analysis request information is globally maintained by re-initiating the
analysis request). Note: The location/ speed of the terminal is included in the AI service
request.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of LI with the
teachings of MU, to include location/ speed information of the terminal in the AI service
request, and the motivation to do so would have been to ensures continuity and accuracy of
an AI analysis service (MU [0059]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SALMA AYAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2462 /YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462