DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in view of the amendment filed 05 November 2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as indicated below.
Applicant argues that the claims are in condition for allowance, however, no arguments have been made as to how or why the claims are in condition for allowance. Thus, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, 21-22, and 25-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112281417 A to Chen et al. (“Chen”) in view of US 2021/0285148 to Jang et al. (“Jang”) and KR 10-2013-0133135 to Chrestenzen et al. (“Chrestenzen”).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 5-9, Chen discloses a laundry machine lid comprising:
a frame (upper or cover body 32, or both together) having (i) a front beam, (ii) a rear beam, and (iii) a pair of side beams, wherein (a) the side beams extend between the front and rear beams (see e.g. Figs. 5-6), (b) a top of the front beam defines a recess (322);
a control panel (34/341) having (i) an upper surface, (ii) a lower surface, (iii) user interface controls positioned along the upper surface, and (iv) circuitry positioned along the lower surface (inherent/implicitly for such electronic display control), wherein the control panel is secured to the front beam such that the circuitry is disposed within the recess; and
a cover panel (i) secured to a top of the frame, (ii) spanning the side beams, (iii) extending from the front beam to the rear beam (see glass cover 31 in Figs. 2-3 or lower cover body 32 in Fig. 6),
wherein a first of the side beams defines a channel extending between the recess of the front beam and the rear beam (see Figs. 5-6),
wherein the channel includes an opening along a top of the first of the side beams and (ii) the cover panel is disposed on along the top of the first of the side beams and over the opening (see Figs. 5-6),
wherein (i) the front beam includes a first wall extending upward from an outer periphery of recess, (ii) the control panel includes a second wall extend downward from an outer periphery of the lower surface, (iii) the first wall engages the second wall to secure the control panel to the frame, and (iv) the second wall forms a portion of an outer periphery of the lid (see Figs. 2-3 and 5-6),
wherein the front beam includes a third wall, and wherein the third wall (i) is positioned internally relative to the first wall and within the recess, (ii) extends upward from the front beam, (iii) extends about an outer periphery of the circuitry (see Figs. 3 and 5-6),
wherein the control panel (i) spans the side beams and (ii) extends from a forward edge toward a rearward edge of the front beam such that the control panel overlaps the front beam between the forward edge and a middle region of the front beam (see Figs. 5-6),
wherein the cover panel overlaps the front beam between the middle region and the rearward edge of the front beam (see Figs. 1-3).
Chen discloses the claimed invention including a frame, but Chen does not expressly disclose a bottom surface of the frame defines at least one drain orifice. Jang teaches that it is known to provide a washing machine door with drain holes in order to discharge any water leaked into the door (see Fig. 8 and ¶ [0146]).
Therefore, the position is taken that it would have been obvious at the time of effective filing to provide the washing machine lid of Chen with drain holes, such as those taught in Jang, to yield the same and predictable results of draining unwater water from the lid.
Chen also discloses a cover panel and control panel combined to form an upper exterior surface of the lid. Chen does not expressly disclose the upper exterior surfaces being separate in the form of a cover panel and control panel. However, this could readily be achieved by merely separating the full cover panel into a portion covering the control panel and a portion covering the remainder of the lid. Chrestenzen teaches an art-related washer lid having such configuration wherein the control panel (10) and element (12a) forming a covered control panel, and the element (12b) forming the remaining external surface of the lid in the manner claimed (see Chrestenzen at Figs. 2-4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the control panel and cover panel configuration of Chen in the manner taught by Chrestenzen to yield the same and predictable results of forming a covered lid, since it has been held that making integral structures separate or removable for their intended purpose involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(C) regarding Obviousness and Making Separable.
Regarding claim 21, Chen further discloses a laundry machine lid comprising:
a frame having a front beam, a rear beam, and side beams, wherein the side beams extend between the front and rear beams, and a top of the front beam defines a recess (see claim 1 above);
a control panel having an upper surface, a lower surface, user interface controls positioned along the upper surface. and circuitry positioned along the lower surface, wherein the control panel is secured to the front beam such that the circuitry is disposed within the recess (see claim 1 above); and
a cover panel secured to a top of the frame, extending from the rear beam to the front beam and positioned adjacent to the control panel such that the upper surface of the control panel and an upper surface of the cover panel are each exterior surfaces of the lid (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 22, see claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 25, see claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 26, see claim 6 above and further that the second wall of Chen forms a portion of an outer periphery of the lid in Figs. 1 and 5-6.
Regarding claim 27, see claim 7 above and further that Chen teaches wherein the third wall is positioned internally relative to the first wall and within the recess, extends upward from the front beam, and extends about an outer periphery (note internal wall forming the control panel recess in Figs. 3 and 5-6).
Regarding claim 28, see claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 29, see claim 1 above and the combination of Chen with Jang.
Regarding claims 30-31, the combination of Chen with Jang for providing drain holes in the frame does not expressly disclose the location of the drain holes. However, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the drain holes in the frame as desired to achieve the desired draining effect, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C) regarding Obviousness and Rearrangement of Parts.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Jang and Chrestenzen, as applied to claims 1-2 and 21-22 above, and further in view of US 2020/0270794 to Li et al. (“Li”).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 23-24, Chen discloses the claimed invention including a control panel and a lid hinge but Chen does expressly disclose a wire harness routed through the lid hinge. Li teaches that it is known to provide a washing machine door (3) having a control panel (2) electrically connected with a wire harness in the hinge (see ¶ [0049]).
The position is taken that it would have been obvious at the time of effective filing to connect the electrically control panel of Chen with a wire harness through the lid hinge, such as that taught in Li, to yield the predictable results of electrically connecting the control panel of a washing machine lid.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711