This office action is in response to claims filed 11/14/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because:
Regarding Claim 8, it recites “one or more computer-readable storage media” on Line 1. Although [0020] of the specification limits a computer readable storage medium to non-transitory forms by stating it “is not to be construed as storage in the form of transitory signals per se,” the specification is silent regarding one or more computer-readable media as recited in the Claim as being limited to non-transitory forms. As currently written, the claim encompasses transitory propagating signals, such as carrier waves, which are ineligible subject matter. “For example, the BRI of machine-readable media can encompass non-statutory transitory forms of signal transmission, such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal per se.” (In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007)). See MPEP 2106.03 (Eligibility Step 1).
Applicant may overcome this rejection by amending claims 8-14 to recite “a computer-readable storage medium” or equivalent language that expressly excludes transitory forms.
Claims 9-14 are rejected due to dependency on rejected Claim 1, each respectively referencing “at least one of the one or more storage media” on Line 1 of each Claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 20, it recites the limitation “the AI chatbot component” on Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination, the examiner interprets this limitation of the Claim as “an AI chatbot component”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins et al. (US 20070067373 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20230108180 A1), hereinafter referred to as Higgins and Lee, respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Higgins discloses A computer-implemented method ([0109] In general, the routines executed to implement the embodiments of the invention may be implemented as part of an operating system or a specific application, component, program, object, module or sequence of instructions referred to as "programs." An application program typically includes one or more instructions set at various times in various memory and storage devices in a computer. Please note that the computer implementing the embodiments of the invention corresponds to Applicant’s computer-implemented method.) comprising:
receiving a request during a process stream ([0179] The model manages the behavior and data of the application domain, responds to requests for information about its state (usually from the view), and responds to instructions to change state (usually from the controller). Please note that the model responding to instructions to change state corresponds to Applicant’s receiving a request during a process stream.);
determining the request is indicative of a reversal of progress of the process stream or indicative of a data change being utilized for the process stream ([0209] During the execution, the method processor dynamically and selectively loads applications components as part of the running process of the method processor. Thus, the capability of the method processor to process different workflows can change dynamically during the execution, through loading and unloading the application components. Please note that the dynamically loading application components as part of the running process during execution corresponds to Applicant’s determining the request is indicative of a data change being utilized for the process stream, as in responding to instructions to change state, the system would be able to carry out a data change being utilized for the process stream, i.e., change the capability to process the workflow dynamically.);
Higgins does not explicitly disclose analyzing a context for the reversal of progress of the process stream or the data change being utilized for the process stream;
responsive to determining a modification is required to at least one workflow step from a plurality of workflow steps of the process stream based on the analyzing of the context, determining the modification performable on the at least one workflow step from the process stream;
and performing the modification on the at least one workflow step from the process stream.
However, Lee discloses analyzing a context for the reversal of progress of the process stream or the data change being utilized for the process stream ([0073] At step 525, first microservice 520 may process the transaction objects it retrieved from the SDP according to processing logic associated with first microservice 520. Processing a transaction object may include: reviewing, assessing, analyzing, updating, adding to, removing, and/or any other suitable processing of the transaction data, addenda data, and/or transaction metadata associated with the transaction object. Please note that processing transaction objects according to processing logic including analyzing the associated transaction data and metadata corresponds to Applicant’s analyzing a context for the data change being utilized for the process stream.);
responsive to determining a modification is required to at least one workflow step from a plurality of workflow steps of the process stream based on the analyzing of the context, determining the modification performable on the at least one workflow step from the process stream ([0074] At step 527, first microservice 520 may update a current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate completion of the processing corresponding to first microservice 520. In some embodiments, the current workflow stage may be updated to different next step values depending on the processing by first microservice 520. For example, as discussed with respect to workflow 400 in FIG. 4, a microservice may update the current workflow stage of a transaction object to route it to different next microservices depending on whether it meets certain criteria. [0075] At step 529, first microservice 520 may put the updated transaction object back to the SDP. The updated transaction object may have one or more changed values [...], in addition to the updated current workflow stage. Please note that the determination whether the current workflow stage of a transaction object meets certain criteria prior to updating it to route it to different next microservices corresponds to Applicant’s determining the modification performable on the workflow step from the process stream responsive to determining a modification is required to the workflow step from a plurality of workflow steps of the process stream based on the analyzing of the context.);
and performing the modification on the at least one workflow step from the process stream ([0074] At step 527, first microservice 520 may update a current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate completion of the processing corresponding to first microservice 520. In some embodiments, the current workflow stage may be updated to different next step values depending on the processing by first microservice 520. For example, as discussed with respect to workflow 400 in FIG. 4, a microservice may update the current workflow stage of a transaction object to route it to different next microservices depending on whether it meets certain criteria. [0075] At step 529, first microservice 520 may put the updated transaction object back to the SDP. The updated transaction object may have one or more changed values [...], in addition to the updated current workflow stage. Please note that putting the updated transaction object back to the SDP in addition to the updated current workflow stage corresponds to Applicant’s performing the modification on the workflow step from the process stream.).
Higgins and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer workflow request processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Higgins to incorporate the teachings of Lee to modify the system receiving a request during a process stream indicative of a data change to analyze a context for the data change, determine the modification performable on the workflow step, and perform the modification on the workflow step, allowing for improved system flexibility via dynamic changing of the workflow step in the process stream, as described in Lee.
Regarding Claim 2, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 1, Higgins further discloses initializing the process stream based on a trigger event, where the process stream includes the plurality of workflow steps performable across a plurality of applications ([0166] Further, in one embodiment, the method processor may lunch or start workflow applications in response to external events, such as […] the start or end of an event, such as the start or end of a module or a workflow application. Please note that starting the workflow application in response to a start event corresponds to Applicant’s initializing the process stream including the plurality of workflow steps performable across a plurality of applications based on a trigger event.).
Regarding Claim 3, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 2, Lee further discloses reversing from a current workflow step to a previous workflow step in the process stream, wherein the previous workflow step is the at least one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required ([0230] In step 1816, pause microservice 1810 may update the paused transaction object based on the response. For example, pause microservice 1810 may write additional information to the transaction object, for example, as addenda data. In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that re-executing the workflow by the prior microservice corresponds to Applicant’s reversing from a current workflow step to a previous workflow step in the process stream, wherein the previous workflow step is the at least one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required, because in this process the prior microservice is inherently the previous workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required, i.e., the point at which the addenda data writing is required.);
storing data associated with the process stream between the current workflow step and the previous workflow step ([0230] In step 1816, pause microservice 1810 may update the paused transaction object based on the response. For example, pause microservice 1810 may write additional information to the transaction object, for example, as addenda data. In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that writing additional data to the transaction object by the pause microservice corresponds to Applicant’s storing data associated with the process stream between the current workflow step and the previous workflow step);
and re-initializing a new process stream from the previous workflow step based on the request ([0230] In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that re-executing the workflow by the prior microservice corresponds to Applicant’s re-initializing a new process stream from the previous workflow step based on the request.).
Regarding Claim 4, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 2, Lee further discloses reversing from a current workflow step to a first workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps in the process stream based on the data change being utilized for the process stream ([0230] In step 1816, pause microservice 1810 may update the paused transaction object based on the response. For example, pause microservice 1810 may write additional information to the transaction object, for example, as addenda data. In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that setting the workflow stage to INIT after additional data is written to the transaction object corresponds to Applicant’s reversing from a current workflow step to a first workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps in the process stream based on the data change being utilized for the process stream);
and re-initializing a new process stream from the first workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps based on the request ([0230] In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that restarting the workflow by setting the workflow stage to INIT corresponds to Applicant’s re-initializing a new process stream from the first workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps based on the request.).
Regarding Claim 5, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 2, Lee further discloses altering a future workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps in the process stream, wherein the future workflow step is the at least one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required ([0230] In step 1816, pause microservice 1810 may update the paused transaction object based on the response. For example, pause microservice 1810 may write additional information to the transaction object, for example, as addenda data. In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that updating the paused transaction object prior to resuming processing by advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow corresponds to Applicant’s altering a future workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps in the process stream, wherein the future workflow step is the at least one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required, because in this process the future workflow step that the processing is advanced to is inherently one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required, i.e., the point at which the addenda data writing is required.);
and initializing a new process stream from the future workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps based on the request ([0230] In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow corresponds to Applicant’s initializing a new process stream from the future workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps based on the request.).
Regarding Claim 8, Higgins discloses A computer program product comprising: one or more computer-readable storage media; program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media ([0109] In general, the routines executed to implement the embodiments of the invention may be implemented as part of an operating system or a specific application, component, program, object, module or sequence of instructions referred to as "programs." An application program typically includes one or more instructions set at various times in various memory and storage devices in a computer. Please note that the sequence of instructions referred to as programs stored in storage devices in a computer corresponds to Applicant’s computer program product comprising computer-readable storage media and program instructions stored on the storage media.),
to receive a request during a process stream([0179] The model manages the behavior and data of the application domain, responds to requests for information about its state (usually from the view), and responds to instructions to change state (usually from the controller). Please note that the model responding to instructions to change state corresponds to Applicant’s receiving a request during a process stream.);
program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to determine the request is indicative of a reversal of progress of the process stream or indicative of a data change being utilized for the process stream ([0209] During the execution, the method processor dynamically and selectively loads applications components as part of the running process of the method processor. Thus, the capability of the method processor to process different workflows can change dynamically during the execution, through loading and unloading the application components. Please note that the dynamically loading application components as part of the running process during execution corresponds to Applicant’s determining the request is indicative of a data change being utilized for the process stream, as in responding to instructions to change state, the system would be able to carry out a data change being utilized for the process stream, i.e., change the capability to process the workflow dynamically.);
Higgins does not explicitly disclose program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media to analyze a context for the reversal of progress of the process stream or the data change being utilized for the process stream;
program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, responsive to determining a modification is required to at least one workflow step from a plurality of workflow steps of the process stream based on the analyzing of the context, to determine the modification performable on the at least one workflow step from the process stream;
and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to perform the modification on the at least one workflow step from the process stream.
However, Lee discloses program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media to analyze a context for the reversal of progress of the process stream or the data change being utilized for the process stream ([0073] At step 525, first microservice 520 may process the transaction objects it retrieved from the SDP according to processing logic associated with first microservice 520. Processing a transaction object may include: reviewing, assessing, analyzing, updating, adding to, removing, and/or any other suitable processing of the transaction data, addenda data, and/or transaction metadata associated with the transaction object. Please note that processing transaction objects according to processing logic including analyzing the associated transaction data and metadata corresponds to Applicant’s analyzing a context for the data change being utilized for the process stream.);
program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, responsive to determining a modification is required to at least one workflow step from a plurality of workflow steps of the process stream based on the analyzing of the context, to determine the modification performable on the at least one workflow step from the process stream ([0074] At step 527, first microservice 520 may update a current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate completion of the processing corresponding to first microservice 520. In some embodiments, the current workflow stage may be updated to different next step values depending on the processing by first microservice 520. For example, as discussed with respect to workflow 400 in FIG. 4, a microservice may update the current workflow stage of a transaction object to route it to different next microservices depending on whether it meets certain criteria. [0075] At step 529, first microservice 520 may put the updated transaction object back to the SDP. The updated transaction object may have one or more changed values [...], in addition to the updated current workflow stage. Please note that the determination whether the current workflow stage of a transaction object meets certain criteria prior to updating it to route it to different next microservices corresponds to Applicant’s determining the modification performable on the workflow step from the process stream responsive to determining a modification is required to the workflow step from a plurality of workflow steps of the process stream based on the analyzing of the context.);
and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to perform the modification on the at least one workflow step from the process stream ([0074] At step 527, first microservice 520 may update a current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate completion of the processing corresponding to first microservice 520. In some embodiments, the current workflow stage may be updated to different next step values depending on the processing by first microservice 520. For example, as discussed with respect to workflow 400 in FIG. 4, a microservice may update the current workflow stage of a transaction object to route it to different next microservices depending on whether it meets certain criteria. [0075] At step 529, first microservice 520 may put the updated transaction object back to the SDP. The updated transaction object may have one or more changed values [...], in addition to the updated current workflow stage. Please note that putting the updated transaction object back to the SDP in addition to the updated current workflow stage corresponds to Applicant’s performing the modification on the workflow step from the process stream.).
Higgins and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer workflow request processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Higgins to incorporate the teachings of Lee to modify the system receiving a request during a process stream indicative of a data change to analyze a context for the data change, determine the modification performable on the workflow step, and perform the modification on the workflow step, allowing for improved system flexibility via dynamic changing of the workflow step in the process stream, as described in Lee.
Regarding Claim 9, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 8, Higgins further discloses to initialize the process stream based on a trigger event, where the process stream includes the plurality of workflow steps performable across a plurality of applications ([0166] Further, in one embodiment, the method processor may lunch or start workflow applications in response to external events, such as […] the start or end of an event, such as the start or end of a module or a workflow application. Please note that starting the workflow application in response to a start event corresponds to Applicant’s initializing the process stream including the plurality of workflow steps performable across a plurality of applications based on a trigger event.).
Regarding Claim 10, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 9, Lee further discloses to reverse from a current workflow step to a previous workflow step in the process stream, wherein the previous workflow step is the at least one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required ([0230] In step 1816, pause microservice 1810 may update the paused transaction object based on the response. For example, pause microservice 1810 may write additional information to the transaction object, for example, as addenda data. In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that re-executing the workflow by the prior microservice corresponds to Applicant’s reversing from a current workflow step to a previous workflow step in the process stream, wherein the previous workflow step is the at least one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required, because in this process the prior microservice is inherently the previous workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required, i.e., the point at which the addenda data writing is required.);
program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to store data associated with the process stream between the current workflow step and the previous workflow step ([0230] In step 1816, pause microservice 1810 may update the paused transaction object based on the response. For example, pause microservice 1810 may write additional information to the transaction object, for example, as addenda data. In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that writing additional data to the transaction object by the pause microservice corresponds to Applicant’s storing data associated with the process stream between the current workflow step and the previous workflow step);
and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to re-initialize a new process stream from the previous workflow step based on the request ([0230] In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that re-executing the workflow by the prior microservice corresponds to Applicant’s re-initializing a new process stream from the previous workflow step based on the request.).
Regarding Claim 11, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 9, Lee further discloses to reverse from a current workflow step to a first workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps in the process stream based on the data change being utilized for the process stream([0230] In step 1816, pause microservice 1810 may update the paused transaction object based on the response. For example, pause microservice 1810 may write additional information to the transaction object, for example, as addenda data. In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that setting the workflow stage to INIT after additional data is written to the transaction object corresponds to Applicant’s reversing from a current workflow step to a first workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps in the process stream based on the data change being utilized for the process stream);
and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to re-initialize a new process stream from the first workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps based on the request ([0230] In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that restarting the workflow by setting the workflow stage to INIT corresponds to Applicant’s re-initializing a new process stream from the first workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps based on the request.).
Regarding Claim 12, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 9, Lee further discloses to alter a future workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps in the process stream, wherein the future workflow step is the at least one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required([0230] In step 1816, pause microservice 1810 may update the paused transaction object based on the response. For example, pause microservice 1810 may write additional information to the transaction object, for example, as addenda data. In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that updating the paused transaction object prior to resuming processing by advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow corresponds to Applicant’s altering a future workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps in the process stream, wherein the future workflow step is the at least one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required, because in this process the future workflow step that the processing is advanced to is inherently one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required, i.e., the point at which the addenda data writing is required.);
and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to initialize new process stream from the future workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps based on the request ([0230] In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow corresponds to Applicant’s initializing a new process stream from the future workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps based on the request.).
Regarding Claim 15, Higgins discloses A computer system comprising: one or more processors, one or more computer-readable memories and one or more computer-readable storage media; program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories ([0109] In general, the routines executed to implement the embodiments of the invention may be implemented as part of an operating system or a specific application, component, program, object, module or sequence of instructions referred to as "programs." An application program typically includes one or more instructions set at various times in various memory and storage devices in a computer, and that, when read and executed by one or more processors in a computer, cause the computer to perform operations necessary to execute elements involving the various aspects of the invention. Please note that the sequence of instructions referred to as programs stored in memory and storage devices in a computer to be executed by processors in the computer corresponds to Applicant’s computer system comprising processors, computer-readable memories and computer-readable storage media as well as program instructions stored on the storage media for execution by the processors via the memories.),
to receive a request during a process stream ([0179] The model manages the behavior and data of the application domain, responds to requests for information about its state (usually from the view), and responds to instructions to change state (usually from the controller). Please note that the model responding to instructions to change state corresponds to Applicant’s receiving a request during a process stream.);
program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to determine the request is indicative of a reversal of progress of the process stream or indicative of a data change being utilized for the process stream ([0209] During the execution, the method processor dynamically and selectively loads applications components as part of the running process of the method processor. Thus, the capability of the method processor to process different workflows can change dynamically during the execution, through loading and unloading the application components. Please note that the dynamically loading application components as part of the running process during execution corresponds to Applicant’s determining the request is indicative of a data change being utilized for the process stream, as in responding to instructions to change state, the system would be able to carry out a data change being utilized for the process stream, i.e., change the capability to process the workflow dynamically.);
Higgins does not explicitly disclose program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to analyze a context for the reversal of progress of the process stream or the data change being utilized for the process stream;
program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, responsive to determining a modification is required to at least one workflow step from a plurality of workflow steps of the process stream based on the analyzing of the context, to determine the modification performable on the at least one workflow step from the process stream;
and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to perform the modification on the at least one workflow step from the process stream.
However, Lee discloses program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to analyze a context for the reversal of progress of the process stream or the data change being utilized for the process stream ([0073] At step 525, first microservice 520 may process the transaction objects it retrieved from the SDP according to processing logic associated with first microservice 520. Processing a transaction object may include: reviewing, assessing, analyzing, updating, adding to, removing, and/or any other suitable processing of the transaction data, addenda data, and/or transaction metadata associated with the transaction object. Please note that processing transaction objects according to processing logic including analyzing the associated transaction data and metadata corresponds to Applicant’s analyzing a context for the data change being utilized for the process stream.);
program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, responsive to determining a modification is required to at least one workflow step from a plurality of workflow steps of the process stream based on the analyzing of the context, to determine the modification performable on the at least one workflow step from the process stream ([0074] At step 527, first microservice 520 may update a current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate completion of the processing corresponding to first microservice 520. In some embodiments, the current workflow stage may be updated to different next step values depending on the processing by first microservice 520. For example, as discussed with respect to workflow 400 in FIG. 4, a microservice may update the current workflow stage of a transaction object to route it to different next microservices depending on whether it meets certain criteria. [0075] At step 529, first microservice 520 may put the updated transaction object back to the SDP. The updated transaction object may have one or more changed values [...], in addition to the updated current workflow stage. Please note that the determination whether the current workflow stage of a transaction object meets certain criteria prior to updating it to route it to different next microservices corresponds to Applicant’s determining the modification performable on the workflow step from the process stream responsive to determining a modification is required to the workflow step from a plurality of workflow steps of the process stream based on the analyzing of the context.);
and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to perform the modification on the at least one workflow step from the process stream ([0074] At step 527, first microservice 520 may update a current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate completion of the processing corresponding to first microservice 520. In some embodiments, the current workflow stage may be updated to different next step values depending on the processing by first microservice 520. For example, as discussed with respect to workflow 400 in FIG. 4, a microservice may update the current workflow stage of a transaction object to route it to different next microservices depending on whether it meets certain criteria. [0075] At step 529, first microservice 520 may put the updated transaction object back to the SDP. The updated transaction object may have one or more changed values [...], in addition to the updated current workflow stage. Please note that putting the updated transaction object back to the SDP in addition to the updated current workflow stage corresponds to Applicant’s performing the modification on the workflow step from the process stream.).
Higgins and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer workflow request processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Higgins to incorporate the teachings of Lee to modify the system receiving a request during a process stream indicative of a data change to analyze a context for the data change, determine the modification performable on the workflow step, and perform the modification on the workflow step, allowing for improved system flexibility via dynamic changing of the workflow step in the process stream, as described in Lee.
Regarding Claim 16, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 15, Higgins further discloses to initialize the process stream based on a trigger event, where the process stream includes the plurality of workflow steps performable across a plurality of applications ([0166] Further, in one embodiment, the method processor may lunch or start workflow applications in response to external events, such as […] the start or end of an event, such as the start or end of a module or a workflow application. Please note that starting the workflow application in response to a start event corresponds to Applicant’s initializing the process stream including the plurality of workflow steps performable across a plurality of applications based on a trigger event.).
Regarding Claim 17, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 16, Lee further discloses to reverse from a current workflow step to a previous workflow step in the process stream, wherein the previous workflow step is the at least one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required ([0230] In step 1816, pause microservice 1810 may update the paused transaction object based on the response. For example, pause microservice 1810 may write additional information to the transaction object, for example, as addenda data. In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that re-executing the workflow by the prior microservice corresponds to Applicant’s reversing from a current workflow step to a previous workflow step in the process stream, wherein the previous workflow step is the at least one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required, because in this process the prior microservice is inherently the previous workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required, i.e., the point at which the addenda data writing is required.);
program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to store data associated with the process stream between the current workflow step and the previous workflow step ([0230] In step 1816, pause microservice 1810 may update the paused transaction object based on the response. For example, pause microservice 1810 may write additional information to the transaction object, for example, as addenda data. In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that writing additional data to the transaction object by the pause microservice corresponds to Applicant’s storing data associated with the process stream between the current workflow step and the previous workflow step);
and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to re-initialize a new process stream from the previous workflow step based on the request ([0230] In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that re-executing the workflow by the prior microservice corresponds to Applicant’s re-initializing a new process stream from the previous workflow step based on the request.).
Regarding Claim 18, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 16, Lee further discloses to reverse from a current workflow step to a first workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps in the process stream based on the data change being utilized for the process stream ([0230] In step 1816, pause microservice 1810 may update the paused transaction object based on the response. For example, pause microservice 1810 may write additional information to the transaction object, for example, as addenda data. In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that setting the workflow stage to INIT after additional data is written to the transaction object corresponds to Applicant’s reversing from a current workflow step to a first workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps in the process stream based on the data change being utilized for the process stream);
and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to re-initialize a new process stream from the first workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps based on the request ([0230] In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that restarting the workflow by setting the workflow stage to INIT corresponds to Applicant’s re-initializing a new process stream from the first workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps based on the request.).
Regarding Claim 19, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 16, Lee further discloses to alter a future workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps in the process stream, wherein the future workflow step is the at least one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required ([0230] In step 1816, pause microservice 1810 may update the paused transaction object based on the response. For example, pause microservice 1810 may write additional information to the transaction object, for example, as addenda data. In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that updating the paused transaction object prior to resuming processing by advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow corresponds to Applicant’s altering a future workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps in the process stream, wherein the future workflow step is the at least one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required, because in this process the future workflow step that the processing is advanced to is inherently one workflow step from the process stream where the modification is required, i.e., the point at which the addenda data writing is required.);
and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to initialize new process stream from the future workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps based on the request ([0230] In step 1817, pause microservice may update the current workflow stage of the transaction object to indicate that the transaction object may resume processing. As discussed above, this indication may include restarting the workflow (e.g., setting the workflow stage to “INIT”), re-executing by the prior microservice, and/or advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow. Please note that advancing the processing to the next microservice in the workflow corresponds to Applicant’s initializing a new process stream from the future workflow step from the plurality of workflow steps based on the request.).
Claims 6-7, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins et al. (US 20070067373 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20230108180 A1) as applied to Claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Nagaraja et al. (US 20200244605 A1), hereinafter referred to as Higgins, Lee, and Nagaraja, respectively.
Regarding Claim 6, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 1 does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the request during the process stream is via an AI chatbot component.
However, Nagaraja discloses wherein receiving the request during the process stream is via an AI chatbot component ([0009] receiving an input sequence from a user in relation to a request for a service; processing the input sequence to determine a service type; associating a workflow with the request based at least in part on the service type and a profile of the user, the workflow including a set of one or more steps […] the workflow being performed by at least one of: a chatbot, an AI assistant. Please note that the receiving an input sequence related to a request with an associated workflow being performed by a chatbot/AI assistant corresponds to Applicant’s receiving the request during the process stream being via an AI chatbot component.).
Higgins-Lee and Nagaraja are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer workflow request processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Higgins-Lee to incorporate the teachings of Nagaraja to modify the system as disclosed in Claim 8 to receive the request during the process stream via an AI chatbot component, allowing for improved system efficiency via automation, as described in Nagaraja.
Regarding Claim 7, Higgins-Lee-Nagaraja as described in Claim 6, Higgins further discloses to reverse or discard one or more workflow steps from the process stream based on the request ([0209] During the execution, the method processor dynamically and selectively loads applications components as part of the running process of the method processor. Thus, the capability of the method processor to process different workflows can change dynamically during the execution, through loading and unloading the application components. Please note that unloading the application components as part of the running process associated with the workflow corresponds to Applicant’s discarding workflow steps from the process stream based on the request.),
wherein the one or more user inputs flag, a start point or a stop point for the at least one workflow step in the process stream, or code script in the process stream ([0166] Further, in one embodiment, the method processor may lunch or start workflow applications in response to external events, such as […] the start or end of an event, such as the start or end of a module or a workflow application. Please note that starting the workflow application in response to a start event corresponds to Applicant’s user input flagging a start point for the workflow step in the process stream.)
Nagaraja further discloses training, the AI chatbot component, via one or more user inputs ([0030] the afore-described artificial intelligence models are created, trained, updated, and retrained using the communication between the user and/or other users, in relation to the delivering services of the same service type, and/or delivering services other than the service type, at the service platform. Please note that training the artificial intelligence models using the communication between the user in relation to delivering services corresponds to Applicant’s training the AI chatbot component via user inputs.).
Regarding Claim 13, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 8 does not explicitly disclose to receive the request during the process stream is via an AI chatbot component.
However, Nagaraja discloses to receive the request during the process stream is via an AI chatbot component ([0009] receiving an input sequence from a user in relation to a request for a service; processing the input sequence to determine a service type; associating a workflow with the request based at least in part on the service type and a profile of the user, the workflow including a set of one or more steps […] the workflow being performed by at least one of: a chatbot, an AI assistant. Please note that the receiving an input sequence related to a request with an associated workflow being performed by a chatbot/AI assistant corresponds to Applicant’s receiving the request during the process stream being via an AI chatbot component.).
Higgins-Lee and Nagaraja are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer workflow request processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Higgins-Lee to incorporate the teachings of Nagaraja to modify the system as disclosed in Claim 8 to receive the request during the process stream via an AI chatbot component, allowing for improved system efficiency via automation, as described in Nagaraja.
Regarding Claim 14, Higgins-Lee-Nagaraja as described in Claim 13, Higgins further discloses to reverse or discard one or more workflow steps from the process stream based on the request ([0209] During the execution, the method processor dynamically and selectively loads applications components as part of the running process of the method processor. Thus, the capability of the method processor to process different workflows can change dynamically during the execution, through loading and unloading the application components. Please note that unloading the application components as part of the running process associated with the workflow corresponds to Applicant’s discarding workflow steps from the process stream based on the request.),
wherein the one or more user inputs flag, a start point or a stop point for the at least one workflow step in the process stream, or code script in the process stream ([0166] Further, in one embodiment, the method processor may lunch or start workflow applications in response to external events, such as […] the start or end of an event, such as the start or end of a module or a workflow application. Please note that starting the workflow application in response to a start event corresponds to Applicant’s user input flagging a start point for the workflow step in the process stream.)
Nagaraja further discloses to train, the AI chatbot component, via one or more user inputs ([0030] the afore-described artificial intelligence models are created, trained, updated, and retrained using the communication between the user and/or other users, in relation to the delivering services of the same service type, and/or delivering services other than the service type, at the service platform. Please note that training the artificial intelligence models using the communication between the user in relation to delivering services corresponds to Applicant’s training the AI chatbot component via user inputs.).
Regarding Claim 20, Higgins-Lee as described in Claim 15 further discloses from Higgins to reverse or discard one or more workflow steps from the process stream based on the request ([0209] During the execution, the method processor dynamically and selectively loads applications components as part of the running process of the method processor. Thus, the capability of the method processor to process different workflows can change dynamically during the execution, through loading and unloading the application components. Please note that unloading the application components as part of the running process associated with the workflow corresponds to Applicant’s discarding workflow steps from the process stream based on the request.),
wherein the one or more user inputs flag, a start point or a stop point for the at least one workflow step in the process stream, or code script in the process stream ([0166] Further, in one embodiment, the method processor may lunch or start workflow applications in response to external events, such as […] the start or end of an event, such as the start or end of a module or a workflow application. Please note that starting the workflow application in response to a start event corresponds to Applicant’s user input flagging a start point for the workflow step in the process stream.).
Higgins-Lee does not explicitly disclose to train, the AI chatbot component to receive the request, via one or more user inputs
However, Nagaraja discloses to train, the AI chatbot component to receive the request, via one or more user inputs ([0030] the afore-described artificial intelligence models are created, trained, updated, and retrained using the communication between the user and/or other users, in relation to the delivering services of the same service type, and/or delivering services other than the service type, at the service platform. Please note that training the artificial intelligence models using the communication between the user in relation to delivering services corresponds to Applicant’s training the AI chatbot component via user inputs.)
Higgins-Lee and Nagaraja are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of computer workflow request processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Higgins-Lee to incorporate the teachings of Nagaraja to modify the system as disclosed in Claim 15 to train an AI chatbot component to receive the request via user inputs to discard workflow steps based on a flag for a start point, allowing for improved system efficiency via automation, as described in Nagaraja.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US20230106852) discloses pausing the processing of workflows via a request, updating the current workflow stage, analyzing associated data of a transaction object, and changing the transaction data in addition to the updated current workflow stage (see [0010, 0058, 0073]).
/FARAZ T AKBARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2196
/APRIL Y BLAIR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2196