DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 states “a second light scattering layer”, which raises the issue of ambiguity, since it implies the presence of a first light scattering layer.
Claims 12-20 are indefinite due to their dependency status from claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sung et al. (US 2018/0040854 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sung discloses a display panel comprising: a light-emitting layer (212), comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements; an encapsulation layer (305), located on a light emitting side of the light-emitting layer (212); a first light scattering layer (315), disposed between the light-emitting layer (212) and the encapsulation layer (305), and overlapping with the plurality of the light-emitting elements (Fig. 8); and a second light scattering layer (336), disposed on a side of the encapsulation layer (305) away from the light-emitting layer, and located between the plurality of light-emitting elements (Fig. 8).
Claim(s) 11, 16-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seong et al. (WO 2021/251556 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Seong discloses a display panel (Figs. 3 & 7a) comprising: a light-emitting layer (320), comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements; an encapsulation layer (400), located on a light emitting side of the light-emitting layer; a light scattering layer (720, Fig. 7a), disposed on a side of the encapsulation layer (400) away from the light-emitting layer, and located between the plurality of light-emitting elements; and a quantum dot color conversion layer (QD1), located on a side of the second light scattering layer (720) away from the encapsulation layer.
Regarding claim 16, Seong discloses a display panel wherein each of the light-emitting elements comprises a blue organic light-emitting layer (¶[87]), and the quantum dot color conversion layer comprises: a first color conversion unit (QD1), overlapping one of the light-emitting elements, for converting light emitted by the light-emitting element into red light (¶[141]); and a second color conversion unit (QD2), overlapping one of the light-emitting elements, for converting light emitted by the light-emitting element into green light (¶[141]).
Regarding claim 17, Seong discloses a display panel wherein the quantum dot color conversion layer further comprises a light transmission scattering unit (TW) overlapping the one of the light-emitting elements, and the light transmission scattering unit, the first color conversion unit, and the second color conversion unit constitute a repeating unit (Figs. 3 & 7a).
Regarding claim 19, Seong discloses a display panel further comprising a filter layer (CF1), located on a side of the quantum dot color conversion layer (QD1) far from the .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al. (US 2018/0040854 A1) in view of Seong et al. (WO 2021/251556 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Sung fails to exemplify a quantum dot color conversion layer, located on a side of the second light scattering layer away from the encapsulation layer.
Seong discloses a display panel (Figs. 3 & 7a) comprising: a light-emitting layer (320), comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements; an encapsulation layer (400), located on a light emitting side of the light-emitting layer; a light scattering layer (720, Fig. 7a), disposed on a side of the encapsulation layer (400) away from the light-emitting layer, and located between the plurality of light-emitting elements; and a quantum dot color conversion layer (QD1), located on a side of the second light scattering layer (720) away from the encapsulation layer in order to convert incident light into predetermined color light. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the quantum dot color conversion layer disclosed by Seong in the display device of Sung in order to convert incident light into predetermined color light.
Regarding claim 6, Sung fails to disclose wherein each of the light-emitting elements comprises a blue organic light-emitting layer, and the quantum dot color conversion layer comprises: a first color conversion unit, overlapping one of the light-emitting elements, for converting light emitted by the light-emitting element into red light; and a second color conversion unit, overlapping one of the light-emitting elements, for converting light emitted by the light-emitting element into green light.
Seong discloses a display panel wherein each of the light-emitting elements comprises a blue organic light-emitting layer (¶[87]), and the quantum dot color conversion layer comprises: a first color conversion unit (QD1), overlapping one of the light-emitting elements, for converting light emitted by the light-emitting element into red light (¶[141]); and a second color conversion unit (QD2), overlapping one of the light-emitting elements, for converting light emitted by the light-emitting element into green light (¶[141]). Same reasons for combining stated in claim 6 applies.
Regarding claim 7, Sung fails to disclose wherein the quantum dot color conversion layer further comprises a light transmission scattering unit overlapping the one of the light-emitting elements, and the light transmission scattering unit, the first color conversion unit, and the second color conversion unit constitute a repeating unit.
Seong discloses a display panel wherein the quantum dot color conversion layer further comprises a light transmission scattering unit (TW) overlapping the one of the light-emitting elements, and the light transmission scattering unit, the first color conversion unit, and the second color conversion unit constitute a repeating unit (Figs. 3 & 7a). Same reasons for combining stated in claim 6 applies.
Regarding claim 9, Sung fails to disclose a filter layer, located on a side of the quantum dot color conversion layer far from the light scattering layer.
Seong discloses a display panel further comprising a filter layer (CF1), located on a side of the quantum dot color conversion layer (QD1) far from the light scattering layer in order to increasing the color purity of the emitted light. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the filter layer disclosed by Seong in the display panel of Sung in order to increase the color purity of the emitted light.
Regarding claim 11, Sung discloses a display panel comprising: a light-emitting layer (212), comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements; an encapsulation layer (320), located on a light emitting side of the light-emitting layer; a light scattering layer (336), disposed on a side of the encapsulation layer (320) away from the light-emitting layer, and located between the plurality of light-emitting elements. Sung fails to state a quant um dot color conversion layer, located on a side of the second light scattering layer away from the encapsulation layer.
Seong discloses a display panel (Figs. 3 & 7a) comprising: a light-emitting layer (320), comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements; an encapsulation layer (400), located on a light emitting side of the light-emitting layer; a light scattering layer (720, Fig. 7a), disposed on a side of the encapsulation layer (400) away from the light-emitting layer, and located between the plurality of light-emitting elements; and a quantum dot color conversion layer (QD1), located on a side of the second light scattering layer (720) away from the encapsulation layer in order to convert incident light into predetermined color light. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the quantum dot color conversion layer disclosed by Seong in the display device of Sung in order to convert incident light into predetermined color light.
Regarding claim 12, Sung discloses a display panel further comprising a first light scattering layer (315), disposed between the light-emitting layer (212) and the encapsulation layer (320), and overlapping with the plurality of the light-emitting elements (Fig. 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-15, 18 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim(s) 2 and 13, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 2 and 13, and specifically comprising the limitation of the first light scattering layer and the second light scattering layer both comprise a light-transmitting substrate and scattering particles dispersed in the light-transmitting substrate.
Regarding claim(s) 3-4, claims(s) 3-4 is/are allowable for the reasons given in claim(s) 2 because of its/their dependency status from claim(s) 2.
Regarding claim(s) 14-15, claims(s) 14-15 is/are allowable for the reasons given in claim(s) 13 because of its/their dependency status from claim(s) 13.
Regarding claim(s) 8, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 8, and specifically comprising the limitation of each of the light-emitting elements further comprises a green organic light-emitting layer, and wherein for each light-emitting element, a number of green organic light-emitting layers is less than a number of the blue-light organic light-emitting layer.
Regarding claim(s) 10 and 20, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 10 and 20, and specifically comprising the limitation the encapsulation layer comprises a glass-encapsulated substrate.
Regarding claim(s) 18, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 18, and specifically comprising the limitation of each of the light-emitting elements further comprises a green organic light-emitting layer, and wherein for each light-emitting element, a number of green organic light-emitting layers is less than a number of the blue-light organic light-emitting layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suzuki et al. (US 2018/0024404 A1) discloses a display panel comprising: a plurality of light-emitting elements; a light scattering layer, and a quantum dot color conversion layer.
Lee et al. (US 2011/0042697 A1) discloses an organic light emitting diode display includes a display substrate including a plurality of organic light emitting diodes, a plurality of color filters on the plurality of organic light emitting diodes respectively corresponding thereto, and a plurality of light scattering particles dispersed in the plurality of color filters.
Zheng et al. (CN 120512998 A) discloses a display device comprising: a first light emitting region for emitting the first light, a second light emitting region for emitting the second light and a third light emitting region for emitting the third light, which are respectively limited on the substrate; an insulating layer overlapping the first light emitting region and the second light emitting region in plan view and including scattering particles; and a colour filter layer.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879