CTNF 18/508,504 CTNF 86565 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, line 4; claim 9, line 4 recites “less than about 2.5 nm”, the term “about” in is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Does “less than about 2.5 nm” mean that a deviation of 5, 10, 15 or 20% from 2.5 nm is acceptable? It is suggested to delete the phrase “about” or define the requisite degree in the claims. Claims 2-8 and 10-12 are also rejected as being dependent upon claims 1 and 9. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Veerasamy (US 2020/0039874) in view of Liu (CN113059269) and Pigeon (US 2021/0121983). With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Veerasamy teaches a method forming an ultrathin mixed surface layer by ultrafast irradiation (0028, ultra-fast laser, 0008, femtosecond lasers) of alternating film stacks (Figs 1, 2, layer 208b, 204b, 208a, 204a, 0052) comprising: providing a stack of alternating layers of a first material (208b, 208a) and a second material (204b, 204a), each layer being less than about 2.5 nm thick (208b, a [1-10 nm]; 204b [5-18 nm]; 204a [2-12 nm]); and irradiating a portion of the stack by directing an ultrafast laser pulse (Fig 1, pump pulse beam 102, 0033; 0037, Lase Mode: Pulsed, with widths no greater than picoseconds, more preferably on the order of 1s, 10s, or 100s of femtosecond) onto a top surface of the stack with a plurality of laser pulses within the stack at or below a melt temperature (0036) of the first material. Veerasamy discloses the claimed invention except for the plurality of laser pulses to form high spatial frequency LIPSS (HSFL) within the stack. However, Liu discloses the plurality of laser pulses to form high spatial frequency LIPSS (HSFL) within the stack (0030-0032, ultrafast laser fabrication of LIPSS, Fig 2a, 0023) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the method forming an ultrathin mixed surface layer by ultrafast irradiation of alternating film stacks of Veerasamy silent to forming high spatial frequency LIPSS (HSFL) with the plurality of laser pulses to form high spatial frequency LIPSS (HSFL) within the stack of Liu for the purpose of using femtosecond laser processing technology to prepare micro-nano structures on the surface of semiconductor compound materials that achieves a hydrophilic-to-hydrophobic transformation (0020) suitable for improvement in many areas of application (Pigeon, 0002, the wetting can be modified, which can be of interest in biomedical applications…It is also possible to create surfaces with improved friction properties, for example for sliding skids such as skis, or to limit the wear between parts in contact). With respect to the limitations of claims 4 and 6, Veerasamy teaches the step of providing a stack of alternating layers of a first material and a second material comprises depositing alternating layers of a first material (208b) and a second material (204b) upon a heat sink (Ag layer 204a acts as a heat sink) deposited on a substrate (glass substrate 202, 0052); the step of providing a stack of alternating layers of a first material and a second material comprises providing a stack of alternating layers of a first material (208b, 208a) and a second material (204b, 204a) having a buffer layer interposed within the alternating layers, the buffer layer being thicker than (206b, 0052) each of the alternating layers. With respect to the limitations of claims 2, 3 and 8, Veerasamy teaches the first material is made of Ni (0052, NiCrOx [208b; 208a]; providing a stack of alternating layers of 2.5 nm Ni (0052, 1-10 nm of NiCrOx). Veerasamy in view of Liu and Pigeon discloses the claimed invention except for the second material is made of W; 1.5 nm W films; and the first material has a melt temperature less than the second material. However, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have the second material is made of W; 1.5 nm W films; and the first material has a melt temperature less than the second material, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable material type involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Claims 5 and 7 are also rejected because they are dependent upon claim 1. Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Veerasamy (US 2020/0039874) in view of Zenou (US 2016/0233089). With respect to the limitations of claim 9, Veerasamy teaches a method forming an ultrathin mixed interfacial layer by ultrafast irradiation (0028, ultra-fast laser, 0008, femtosecond lasers) of alternating film stacks (Figs 1, 2, layer 208b, 204b, 208a, 204a, 0052) comprising: providing a stack of alternating layers of a first material (208b, 208a) and a second material (204b, 204a), each layer being less than about 2.5 nm thick (208b, a [1-10 nm]; 204b [5-18 nm]; 204a [2-12 nm]) and deposited on a transparent dielectric substrate (glass 202, 0052); and irradiating a portion of the stack by directing an ultrafast laser pulse (Fig 1, pump pulse beam 102, 0033; 0037, Lase Mode: Pulsed, with widths no greater than picoseconds, more preferably on the order of 1s, 10s, or 100s of femtosecond) onto the top surface of the stack with a plurality of laser pulses to form a mixed layer without forming high spatial frequency LIPSS (HSFL) within the stack (Veerasamy does not disclose forming high spatial frequency LIPSS (HSFL)) at or below a melt temperature (0036) of at least one of the first material and the second material. Veerasamy discloses the claimed invention except for irradiating a portion of the stack by directing a laser pulse through the transparent dielectric substrate onto the top surface of the stack. However, Zenou discloses irradiating a portion of the stack by directing a laser pulse (Fig 5, laser 50, 0092) through the transparent dielectric substrate (donor substrate 60 is transparent to a laser, 0086) onto the top surface of the stack (layers 74, 76, 0092) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the forming method of Veerasamy having a transparent dielectric substrate silent to directing a laser pulse through the transparent dielectric substrate with the irradiating a portion of the stack by directing a laser pulse through the transparent dielectric substrate onto the top surface of the stack of Zenou for the purpose of using a known backside irradiation method that is suitable for melting and intermixing of the alternating stack layers, thereby reducing splatter and debris at the laser processing site. With respect to the limitations of claims 10 and 11, Veerasamy in view of Zenou discloses the irradiating a portion of the stack by directing an ultrafast laser pulse (Veerasamy, Fig 1, pump pulse beam 102, 0033; 0037, Lase Mode: Pulsed, with widths no greater than picoseconds, more preferably on the order of 1s, 10s, or 100s of femtosecond) through the transparent dielectric substrate (Zenou, transparent substrate 60) onto the top surface of the stack (Veerasamy, layer 208b, 204b, 208a, 204a) with a plurality of laser pulses to form a mixed layer without forming high spatial frequency LIPSS (HSFL) within the stack (Veerasamy does not disclose forming high spatial frequency LIPSS (HSFL)) is performed at or below a melt temperature of both the first material and the second material (0036); the mixed layer extends through both the first material and the second material (Zenou, see figures 5A-5C). With respect to the limitations of claim 12, Veerasamy in view of Zenou discloses the claimed invention except for the mixed layer extends to 28 nm to 32 nm. However, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have the mixed layer extends to 28 nm to 32 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable mixed layer depth involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THIEN S TRAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7745. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday [8:00-4:00]. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Steven Crabb can be reached at 571-270-5095. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 6/15/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/508,504 Page 2 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/508,504 Page 3 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/508,504 Page 4 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/508,504 Page 5 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/508,504 Page 6 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/508,504 Page 7 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/508,504 Page 8 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/508,504 Page 9 Art Unit: 3761