DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant’s Remarks dated February 27th, 2026 responding to the Office Action provided in the rejection of claims 1-20.
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15-16, and 18 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are remain pending in the application and which have been fully considered by the examiner.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are in independent form.
Claims 1-20 are finally rejected.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
REMARKS
Applicant's traversal of the claim rejections, with respect to prior art, primarily consists of the following arguments, which will be addressed below:
Argument #1: Prong One of Step 2A … Applicant submits that none of the above limitations which recite “receive” or “transmit” can be seen to fall under the Mental Process grouping, because none can be performed in the human mind, even with the aid of pen and paper. (See Remarks, page 12).
Argument #2: Prong Two of Step 2A … Applicant submits that the as-filed specification "provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement" in technology. For example, the Specification indicates that it can be difficult for a developer to determine which APIs and function calls of an application to use, and that systems are desired to facilitate the identification and usage of API function calls to achieve a desired result. Specification, paras. [0004]-[0005]. The specification further notes that that embodiments provide efficient identification and generation of function calls from a plurality of available function calls using a trained text generation model without requiring prompting of the text generation model with information describing the available function calls. This provides the technological improvement of identifying function calls from any number of currently-available function calls regardless of any input token restrictions of the text generation model. Specification, para. [0021]. Additionally, the claims include the components or steps that provide the improvement described in the specification. In this regard, the following claim limitations may identify and generate a function call based on stored metadata of any number of function calls regardless of any input token restrictions of the text generation model. (See pages 12-15).
Argument #3: Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Li et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0229832 in view of Byrne et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0197070). At the interview, Examiner Bui indicated that the above amendments appear to overcome the cited art, and that further search and consideration would be required. Applicant therefore requests withdrawal of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 and further search and consideration. (See Remarks, page 15).
Prior Art’s Arguments - Rejections
The Objection to claims 2-3, 5, 10, 12, 16, and 18 have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments of the claims.
Applicants’ arguments filed on February 27th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For example:
Regarding Argument #1: Examiner respectfully disagrees as shown below under 101 rejection, the claims can be performed in human mind or by using pen and paper (mental process). Further, the use of a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper, computer or processor) to help mental steps as shown under 101 rejection below does not negate the mental nature of the limitations.
Regarding Argument #2: Applicant’s arguments appear to be based on the specification rather than what the claims recite. Further, as shown under 101 rejection below, the claims are directed to abstract idea (mental steps) and the use of a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper, computer or processor) to help mental steps as shown under 101 rejection below does not negate the mental nature of the limitations.
Regarding Argument #3: Applicant contends, prior arts of record do not teach the newly added limitation, however, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of references being used in the current rejection. See Nitta (Pub. No.: US 2019/0213057 – hereinafter, Nitta – art made of record) in detail rejection below.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites a judicial exception, is directed to that judicial exception, an abstract idea, as it has not been integrated into practical application and the claims further do not recite significantly more than the judicial exception. Examiner has evaluated the claims under the framework provided in the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register 01/07/2019 and has provided such analysis below.
Step 1: Claims 1-7 are directed to system and fall within the statutory category of machines; Claims 8-15 are directed to methods and fall within the statutory category of processes; and Claims 15-20 are directed to non-transitory medium and fall within the statutory category of articles of manufacture. Therefore, “Are the claims to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?” Yes.
In order to evaluate the Step 2A inquiry “Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea?” we must determine, at Step 2A Prong 1, whether the claim recites a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea and further whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claims 1, 8, and 15: recite the limitations of
receive a user query in natural language from a user;
determine a system prompt including instructions to generate a search query;
transmit a user prompt based on the user query and the system prompt to a text generation model;
receive a generated function call search query from the text generation model;
transmit the generated function call search query to a repository of function call metadata;
receive first function call metadata comprising a first function name, first function parameters, and an endpoint supporting the first function call from the repository in response to the search query;
transmit the first function call metadata and the user prompt to the text generation model to generate a first function call;
transmit the first function call to the endpoint.
Step 2A Prong 1:
Steps (a), (b), and (e) as drafted, can be done in human mind with the aid of pen and paper (mental process).
Step 2A Prong 2:
Claims 1, 8, and 15: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the following additional elements - “a memory storing executable program code,” “at least one processing unit,” “system” “system prompt” “text generation model,” “function call search query,” “repository,” “function call metadata,” and “endpoint”, which are merely recitations of generic computing components and functions merely applying the abstract idea using (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Furthermore, steps (c), (d), (f), (g) and (h) are merely applying the abstract idea and field of use/technological environment.
Therefore, “Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
After having evaluating the inquires set forth in Steps 2A Prong 1 and 2, it has been concluded that claims 1, 8, and 15 not only recite a judicial exception but that the claim is directed to the judicial exception as the judicial exception has not been integrated into practical application.
Step 2B:
Claims 1, 8, and 15: The additional elements, considering them both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, “Do the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, these additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Having concluded analysis within the provided framework, claims 1, 8 and 15 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
With regard to claims 2 and 9, they recite additional element recitations of “wherein the transmission of the first function call metadata and the user prompt includes transmission of a second system prompt including instructions to generate a function call” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 2 and 9 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 2 and 9 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 2 and 9 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
With regard to claims 3, 10, and 16, they recite additional element recitations of “wherein the received first function call metadata comprises one or more numerical vectors, and wherein the transmission of the first function call metadata and the user prompt to the text generation model to generate the first function call comprises: transmission of the one or more numerical vectors to an embedding endpoint of the text generation model; and receipt of the first function call metadata from the embedding endpoint of the text generation model in response to the one or more numerical vectors” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 2, 10, and 16 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 3, 10, and 16 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 3, 10, and 16 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
With regard to claims 4, 11, and 17, they recite additional element recitations of “receive a response to the first function call from the endpoint; transmit the response to the text generation model; transmit the user prompt and a second system prompt including the response to the text generation model; receive a second generated function call search query from the text generation model in response to the user prompt and the second system prompt; transmit the second generated function call search query to the repository of function call metadata; receive second function call metadata from the repository in response to the second generated function call search query; transmit the second function call metadata and the user prompt to the text generation model to generate a second function call; and transmit the second function call to a second endpoint indicated by the second function call metadata” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 4, 11, and 17 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 4, 11, and 17 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 4, 11, and 17 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
With regard to claims 5, 12, and 18, they recite additional element recitations of “wherein the received first function call metadata comprises one or more numerical vectors, and wherein the transmission of the first function call metadata and the user prompt to the text generation model to generate the first function call comprises: transmission of the one or more numerical vectors to an embedding endpoint of the text generation model; and receipt of the first function call metadata from the embedding endpoint of the text generation model in response to the one or more numerical vectors” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 5, 12, and 18 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 5, 12, and 18 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 5, 12, and 18 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
With regard to claims 6, 13, and 19, they recite additional element recitations of “receive a second response from the second endpoint; transmit the user prompt and the second response to the text generation model; receive a query result from the text generation model in response to the user prompt and the second response; and present the query result to the user” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 6, 13, and 19 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 6, 13, and 19 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 6, 13, and 19 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
With regard to claims 7, 14, and 20, they recite additional element recitations of “receive a response from the endpoint; transmit the user prompt and the response to the text generation model; receive a query result from the text generation model in response to the user prompt and the response; and present the query result to the user” which is merely a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h) which does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Moreover, claims 7, 14, and 20 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 7, 14, and 20 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the judicial exception as they have not been integrated into practical application, and fail Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 7, 14, and 20 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
In conclusion, Claims 1-20 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0229832 – hereinafter, Li) in view of Byrne et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0197070 – hereinafter, Byrne) and further in view of Nitta (Pub. No.: US 2019/0213057 – hereinafter, Nitta).
Regarding claim 1:
Li discloses a system comprising:
a memory storing executable program code (FIG. 10 – 1005); and at least one processing unit to execute the program code (FIG. 10 – 1020) to cause the system to:
receive a user query in natural language from a user (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “The user query is fetched at step 202. The user query may be fetched using a user interface specific to the user system design components 135 or by a user interface of the content generation application 130” (See para. [0025]). FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “At step 305, a user query is received. For example, a user system design component user interface may be used to obtain the query from the user. In some embodiments, the content design application 130 user interface may be used to obtain the query from the user.” (See para. [0033]));
determine a system prompt including instructions to generate a search query (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “The query understanding component 140 may determine if the query is valid at step 206. For example, if the query is unintelligible, the query may be deemed invalid.” (See para [0025]). FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “A query understanding component (e.g., query understanding component 140) will filter out inappropriate user queries or otherwise route those user queries that are not for content or that will use a natural language action to the appropriate components. A user query that will use a natural language action is identified by the query understanding component, and at step 310 the natural language action is determined from an intent of the user query” (See para. [0033]));
transmit a user prompt based on the user query and the system prompt to a text generation model (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “If the query is valid, the bias detection component 145 may be used to determine if the user query has a bias potential at step 208. In other words, the bias detection component 145 may determine if the user query is likely to result in biased, toxic, irrelevant, or otherwise unwanted output... GPT-3 learned from unfiltered text data that had little cleaning or debiasing. The bias, toxicity, and other issues in the source data are then carried into the model” (para. [0026]). FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “The action category may be classified and the user query, action, and/or action category may be provided to a prompt design component (e.g., prompt design component 115). The prompt design component may generate a prompt at step 315 based on the determined action. At step 320, the prompt is provided to a natural language generation model (e.g., natural language generation model 125), such as GPT-3.” (See para. [0033]));
But Li does not explicitly teach:
receive a generated function call search query from the text generation model;
transmit the generated function call search query to a repository of function call metadata;
receive first function call metadata comprising a first function name, first function parameters, and an endpoint supporting the first function call from the repository in response to the search query;
transmit the first function call metadata and the user prompt to the text generation model to generate a first function call; and
transmit the first function call to [[an]] the endpoint [[indicated by the function call metadata]].
However, Byrne discloses:
receive a generated function call search query from the text generation model (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “Referring now to FIG. 2, in some implementations, the language prediction model 210, for each of one or more conversational turns 310, generates a prediction string 214. Each conversational turn 310 defines the language prediction model 210 receiving the conversational context 250 and generating a corresponding prediction string 214 based on the received conversational context 250. The prediction controller 220 receives the prediction string 214” (See para. [0037]));
transmit the generated function call search query to a repository of function call metadata (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “the prediction controller 220, for each respective prediction string 214 generated by the language prediction model 210, determines whether the respective prediction string 214 includes an API call 222 (or any other means for requesting/retrieving data external to the language prediction system 150 and/or language prediction model 210, such as function calls, process calls, and the like) to invoke a program 60, 60a-n via an API 62, 62a-n” (See para. [0030]));
receive first function call metadata [[comprising a first function name, first function parameters, and an endpoint supporting the first function call]] from the repository in response to the search query (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “the prediction controller 220, for each respective prediction string 214 generated by the language prediction model 210, determines whether the respective prediction string 214 includes an API call 222 (or any other means for requesting/retrieving data external to the language prediction system 150 and/or language prediction model 210, such as function calls, process calls, and the like) to invoke a program 60, 60a-n via an API 62, 62a-n” (See para. [0030]));
transmit the first function call metadata and the user prompt to the text generation model to generate a first function call (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “The prediction controller 220 accordingly calls a respective API 62, using the first API call 222a, to invoke a respective program 60. The program 60 responds with a first program result 224, 224a (i.e., an API response). In this example, the first program result 224 includes data pertaining to the current location of the user 10.” (See para. [0040])); and
transmit the first function call to [[an]] the endpoint (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “the prediction controller 220 updates a conversational context 250 with the first program result 224a and provides the updated conversational context 250 to the language prediction model 210 to establish a second conversational turn 310, 310b.” (See para. [0040])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Byrne into the teachings of Li because that would have provided language model prediction of API call invocations being capable of predicting both program invocations and user responses with high accuracy, thereby simplifying the architecture of the system and eliminating the need for hand-written rules as suggested by Byrne (See para. [0023]).
But Byrne and Li do not explicitly teach:
first function call metadata comprising a first function name, first function parameters, and an endpoint supporting the first function call.
However, Nitta discloses:
first function call metadata comprising a first function name, first function parameters, and an endpoint supporting the first function call (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “obtain descriptive metadata associated with a discovered API. For example, API search utility 206 may also obtain descriptive metadata associated with the APIs exposed by services 128 and 130 from API resources 210 and 212. Additionally or alternatively, API search utility 206 may obtain descriptive metadata associated with the discovered APIs by querying the APIs themselves (e.g., via a get request through a Uniform Resource Locator (URL)). In embodiments, the descriptive metadata may include a plaintext description of the service that exposes the API and/or the capabilities thereof. The descriptive metadata may also include one or more keywords associated with the service. Additionally, in embodiments, the descriptive metadata may comprise one or more of structured or unstructured data” (See paras. [0043] – [0046]). FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “obtain descriptive metadata associated with the API exposed by service 128 or service 130. As noted above, the descriptive metadata may comprise on or more of a plaintext description of the service or the capabilities thereof or one or more keywords associated with the service, although these examples are not intended to be limiting. As also noted above, the descriptive metadata may comprise one or more of structured or unstructured data.” (See para [0051])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nitta into the teachings of Li and Byrne because that would have enabled an intelligent agent to automatically discover an application programming interface (API) exposed by a service, to obtain descriptive metadata associated with the API, and to generate, based on the metadata, natural language processing information and/or function call building information associated with at least one functionality of the service as suggested by Nitta (See Abstract).
Regarding claim 2:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein the transmission of the first function call metadata and the user prompt includes transmission of a second system prompt including instructions to generate a function call.
However, Byrne discloses:
wherein the transmission of the first function call metadata and the user prompt includes transmission of a second system prompt including instructions to generate a function call (“Here, the first API call 222a is to a location service to retrieve data on the user's current location. The prediction controller 220 accordingly calls a respective API 62, using the first API call 222a, to invoke a respective program 60.” (See para. [0040])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Byrne into the teachings of Li because that would have provided language model prediction of API call invocations being capable of predicting both program invocations and user responses with high accuracy, thereby simplifying the architecture of the system and eliminating the need for hand-written rules as suggested by Byrne (See para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 3:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but Li does not explicitly teach: wherein the received first function call metadata comprises one or more numerical vectors, and wherein the transmission of the first function call metadata and the user prompt to the text generation model to generate [[a]] the first function call comprises:
transmission of the one or more numerical vectors to an embedding endpoint of the text generation model; and
receipt of the first function call metadata from the embedding endpoint of the text generation model in response to the one or more numerical vectors.
However, Byrne discloses:
wherein the received first function call metadata comprises one or more numerical vectors (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “The program 60 responds with a first program result 224, 224a (i.e., an API response). In this example, the first program result 224 includes data pertaining to the current location of the user 10. As described above with regards to FIGS. 1 and 2, the prediction controller 220 updates a conversational context 250 with the first program result 224a and provides the updated conversational context 250 to the language prediction model 210 to establish a second conversational turn 310, 310b.” (See para. [0040])), and wherein the transmission of the first function call metadata and the user prompt to the text generation model to generate [[a]] the first function call comprises:
transmission of the one or more numerical vectors to an embedding endpoint of the text generation model (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “As described above with regards to FIGS. 1 and 2, the prediction controller 220 updates a conversational context 250 with the first program result 224a and provides the updated conversational context 250 to the language prediction model 210 to establish a second conversational turn 310, 310b.” (See para. [0040])); and
receipt of the first function call metadata from the embedding endpoint of the text generation model in response to the one or more numerical vectors (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “As described above with regards to FIGS. 1 and 2, the prediction controller 220 updates a conversational context 250 with the first program result 224a and provides the updated conversational context 250 to the language prediction model 210 to establish a second conversational turn 310, 310b.” (See para. [0040])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Byrne into the teachings of Li because that would have provided language model prediction of API call invocations being capable of predicting both program invocations and user responses with high accuracy, thereby simplifying the architecture of the system and eliminating the need for hand-written rules as suggested by Byrne (See para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 4:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but Li does not explicitly teach: at least one processing unit to execute the program code to cause the system to:
receive a response to the first function call from the endpoint;
transmit the response to the text generation model;
transmit the user prompt and a second system prompt including the response to the text generation model;
receive a second generated function call search query from the text generation model in response to the user prompt and the second system prompt;
transmit the second generated function call search query to the repository of function call metadata;
receive second function call metadata from the repository in response to the second generated function call search query; transmit the second function call metadata and the user prompt to the text generation model to generate a second function call; and
transmit the second function call to a second endpoint indicated by the second function call metadata.
However, Byrne discloses:
receive a response to the first function call from the endpoint (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “In response to the input from the second conversational turn 310, 310b (i.e., the conversational context 250 including the first utterance 106a and the first program result 224a), the language prediction model 210 generates a second prediction string 214 (not shown).” (See para. [0041]));
transmit the response to the text generation model (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “In response to the input from the second conversational turn 310, 310b (i.e., the conversational context 250 including the first utterance 106a and the first program result 224a), the language prediction model 210 generates a second prediction string 214 (not shown).” (See para. [0041]));
transmit the user prompt and a second system prompt including the response to the text generation model (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “In response to the input from the second conversational turn 310, 310b (i.e., the conversational context 250 including the first utterance 106a and the first program result 224a), the language prediction model 210 generates a second prediction string 214 (not shown).” (See para. [0041]));
receive a second generated function call search query from the text generation model in response to the user prompt and the second system prompt (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “the prediction controller 220 determines that the second prediction string 214 includes a second API call 222, 222b. The second API call 222b is for a movie service (e.g., to retrieve data regarding a nearest location ‘Aliens Invade 3’ is playing relative to the current location of the user 10).” (See para. [0041]));
transmit the second generated function call search query to the repository of function call metadata (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “Accordingly, the prediction controller 220 calls an API 62 using the second API call 222b. The second API call 222b may call the same API 62 as the first API call 222a or a different API 62 altogether. The prediction controller 220 receives a second program result 224, 224b. In this example, the second program result 224b includes data conveying that the nearest theater playing the movie ‘Aliens Invade 3’ is the Surfside Theater.” (See para. [0041]));
receive second function call metadata from the repository in response to the second generated function call search query metadata (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “Here, the prediction controller 220 determines that the second prediction string 214 includes a second API call 222, 222b. The second API call 222b is for a movie service (e.g., to retrieve data regarding a nearest location ‘Aliens Invade 3’ is playing relative to the current location of the user 10). Accordingly, the prediction controller 220 calls an API 62 using the second API call 222b. The second API call 222b may call the same API 62 as the first API call 222a or a different API 62 altogether.” (See para. [0041]));
transmit the second function call metadata and the user prompt to the text generation model to generate a second function call (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “Accordingly, the prediction controller 220 calls an API 62 using the second API call 222b. The second API call 222b may call the same API 62 as the first API call 222a or a different API 62 altogether. The prediction controller 220 receives a second program result 224, 224b.” (See para. [0041])); and
transmit the second function call to a second endpoint indicated by the second function call metadata (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “In this example, the second program result 224b includes data conveying that the nearest theater playing the movie ‘Aliens Invade 3’ is the Surfside Theater.” (See para. [0041])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Byrne into the teachings of Li because that would have provided language model prediction of API call invocations being capable of predicting both program invocations and user responses with high accuracy, thereby simplifying the architecture of the system and eliminating the need for hand-written rules as suggested by Byrne (See para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 5:
The rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, but Li does not explicitly teach: wherein the received first function call metadata comprises one or more numerical vectors, and wherein the transmission of the first function call metadata and the user prompt to the text generation model to generate [[a]] the first function call comprises:
transmission of the one or more [[second]] numerical vectors to an embedding endpoint of the text generation model; and
receipt of the first function call metadata from the embedding endpoint of the text generation model in response to the one or more numerical vectors.
However, Byrne discloses:
transmission of the one or more second numerical vectors to an embedding endpoint of the text generation model (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “The prediction controller 220 receives a second program result 224, 224b. In this example, the second program result 224b includes data conveying that the nearest theater playing the movie ‘Aliens Invade 3’ is the Surfside Theater.” (See para. [0041]));
receipt of the first function call metadata from the embedding endpoint of the text generation model in response to the one or more numerical vectors (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “In this example, the second program result 224b includes data conveying that the nearest theater playing the movie ‘Aliens Invade 3’ is the Surfside Theater. The second program result 224b establishes a third conversational turn 310, 310c. The prediction controller 220 updates the conversational context 250 with the second program result 224b and provides the updated conversational context 250 back to the language prediction model 210” (See para. [0041])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Byrne into the teachings of Li because that would have provided language model prediction of API call invocations being capable of predicting both program invocations and user responses with high accuracy, thereby simplifying the architecture of the system and eliminating the need for hand-written rules as suggested by Byrne (See para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 6:
The rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, but Li does not explicitly teach: the at least one processing unit to execute the program code to cause the system to:
receive a second response from the second endpoint;
transmit the user prompt and the second response to the text generation model;
receive a query result from the text generation model in response to the user prompt and the second response; and
present the query result to the user.
However, Byrne discloses:
receive a second response from the second endpoint (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “Continuing with the example of FIG. 3, in response to the updated conversational context 250, the language prediction model 210 generates a third prediction string 214 (not shown) that the prediction controller 220 determines to include a third API call 222, 222c to a theater service.” (See para. [0042]));
transmit the user prompt and the second response to the text generation model (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “Continuing with the example of FIG. 3, in response to the updated conversational context 250, the language prediction model 210 generates a third prediction string 214 (not shown) that the prediction controller 220 determines to include a third API call 222, 222c to a theater service.” (See para. [0042]));
receive a query result from the text generation model in response to the user prompt and the second response (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “The theater service is capable of providing show times at a specific movie theater for a specific movie. The prediction controller 220 calls the theater service using the third API call 222c and receives a third program result 224, 224c that includes show times for the movie ‘Aliens Invade 3’ at the Surfside Theater.” (See para. [0042])); and
present the query result to the user (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “The prediction controller 220 calls the theater service using the third API call 222c and receives a third program result 224, 224c that includes show times for the movie “Aliens Invade 3” at the Surfside Theater. The third program result 224c concludes a fourth conversational turn 310, 310d” (See para. [0042])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Byrne into the teachings of Li because that would have provided language model prediction of API call invocations being capable of predicting both program invocations and user responses with high accuracy, thereby simplifying the architecture of the system and eliminating the need for hand-written rules as suggested by Byrne (See para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 7:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but Li does not explicitly teach: the at least one processing unit to execute the program code to cause the system to:
receive a response from the endpoint;
transmit the user prompt and the response to the text generation model;
receive a query result from the text generation model in response to the user prompt and the response; and
present the query result to the user.
However, Byrne discloses:
receive a response from the endpoint (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “The user 10, in reply to the first utterance response 226a, provides a second utterance 106, 106b directed toward the digital assistant application 50. In this example, the second utterance 106b includes ‘Yes please.’” (See para. [0044]));
transmit the user prompt and the response to the text generation model (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “The prediction controller 220 updates the conversational context 250 with the second utterance 106b to establish a fifth conversational turn 310, 310e. The updated conversational context 250, in this example, causes the language prediction model 210 to generate a fifth prediction string 214 (not shown) that includes a fourth API call 222, 222d to a booking service” (See para. [0044]));
receive a query result from the text generation model in response to the user prompt and the response (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “The updated conversational context 250, in this example, causes the language prediction model 210 to generate a fifth prediction string 214 (not shown) that includes a fourth API call 222, 222d to a booking service. The booking service returns a fourth program result 224, 224d. The prediction controller 220 updates the conversational context 250 to complete a sixth conversational turn 310, 31f.” (See para. [0044])); and
present the query result to the user (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “The prediction controller 220 provides the updated conversational context 250 to the language prediction model 210 which results in a second response utterance 225, 226b that includes ‘OK. Your tickets have been purchased.’” (See para. [0044])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Byrne into the teachings of Li because that would have provided language model prediction of API call invocations being capable of predicting both program invocations and user responses with high accuracy, thereby simplifying the architecture of the system and eliminating the need for hand-written rules as suggested by Byrne (See para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 8:
This is a method version of the rejected system claim 1 above, wherein all the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 9:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 10:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 11:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 12:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 13:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14:
The rejection of base claim 8 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 15:
This is a non-transitory medium version of the rejected system claim 1 above, wherein all the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 16:
The rejection of base claim 15 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17:
The rejection of base claim 15 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18:
The rejection of base claim 15 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19:
The rejection of base claim 15 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 20:
The rejection of base claim 15 is incorporated. All the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
/HANH THI-MINH BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192 May 14th, 2026