DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Request for Continued Examination filed on November 14, 2025.
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-19 are pending.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 13-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alex Dzyoba (“Configuring JMX exporter for Kafka and Zookeeper”, May 2018) in view of Kodama et al. (US 2016/0080243) in view of Zhao et al. (US 11,720,591) in view of Jackson et al. (US 2014/0026121) and in further view of Srivastava et al. (US 2020/0319935).
With respect to Claim 1, Alex Dzyoba discloses:
detecting an interaction with an application displayed on a user interface to perform a metric exporting function of the application by using an exporter configuration for an exporter; (running jmx-exporter (exporter) within Kafka and launching Kafka (detecting an interaction) as a Java agent and scraping JMX metrics and rewrite it according to configuration rules and expose it in Prometheus exposition format (perform a metric exporting function), Configuring Kafka with jmx-exporter, lines 1-33 and Recap, lines 1-3) the exporter configuration including instructions that inform the exporter how to [obtain] a value generated by a class of the application; (jmx-exporter is a Java application that uses JmX APis (instructions that inform the exporter how to [obtain] a value) to collect the app and JVM metrics for MBeans (value generated by a class of the application) for Prometheus to understand, What is jmx-exporter, lines 1-8)
identify one or more classes of the application, each of the one or more classes enabling an exporter to access metrics generated by the class. (jmx-exporter is a Java application that uses JmX APis to collect the app and JVM metrics for MBeans (metrics generated by one or more classes of the application) for Prometheus to understand, What is jmx-exporter, lines 1-8)
generating the exporter configuration for the exporter based on a set of configuration rules for each of the one or more classes responsive to the interaction with the application; (after launching Kafka (interaction), jmx-exporter uses a configuration file (exporter configuration) that contains rules (configuration rules) for rewriting JMX MBeans metrics (one or more classes) to the Prometheus exposition format, Installing jmx-exporter, lines 5-6)
and exporting by a processing device executing the exporter, the metrics generated by each of the one or more classes of the application to a monitoring program, (run jmx-exporter (exporter) within Kafka (application) to scrape metrics (metrics generated), Configuring Kafka with jmx-exporter, lines 1-33; jmx-exporter is a Java application that uses JmX APis to collect the app and JVM metrics for MBeans (one or more classes of the application) for Prometheus (monitoring program) to understand, What is jmx-exporter, lines 1-8) wherein the exporter uses the exporter configuration to export the metrics generated by each of the one or more classes. (jmx-exporter uses a configuration file (exporter configuration) that contains rules for rewriting JMX MBeans metrics (one or more classes) to the Prometheus exposition format, Installing jmx-exporter, lines 5-6)
Alex Dzyoba does not disclose:
the exporter configuration being inaccessible to a user and including instructions on how to read a numerical value generated by the application;
performing a scan of source code of the application to identify the one or more classes of the application
generating the exporter configuration for the exporter to prevent a crash of the application
However, Kodama et al. disclose:
the configuration being inaccessible to a user; (configuration file is inaccessible to end users, Paragraph 31)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kodama et al. into the exporter configuration as taught by Alex Dzyoba to include the configuration being inaccessible to a user in order to prevent unapproved or unauthorized changes to configuration files which can cause errors and/or unexpected results.
Alex Dzyoba and Kodama et al. do not disclose:
the exporter configuration including instructions on how to read a numerical value generated by the application;
performing a scan of source code of the application to identify the one or more classes of the application
generating the exporter configuration for the exporter to prevent a crash of the application
However, Zhao et al. disclose:
the configuration including instructions on how to read a numerical value generated by the application; (the “scalingFactor” field may define how data point values of the metrics 504a, 504b may be scaled to achieve normalized unit values for the virtual MTS 502. For example, a first scaling factor 508a for the first source may be “1.” This may be because the data point values retrieved from the first source are already normalized to scale. A second scaling factor 508b for the second source may be “100.” As a result, data point values retrieved from the second source may be multiplied by 100 in order to normalize the values to scale, Column 39, lines 50-61)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zhao et al. into the exporter as taught by Alex Dzyoba and Kodama et al. to include instructions on how to read a numerical value generated by the application in order to normalize data point values of metrics to scale. (Zhao et al., Column 39, lines 57-59)
Alex Dzyoba, Kodama et al. and Zhao et al. do not disclose:
performing a scan of source code of the application to identify the one or more classes of the application
generating the exporter configuration for the exporter to prevent a crash of the application
However, Jackson et al. disclose:
performing a scan of source code of the application to identify the one or more classes of the application, (the source code/byte code can be scanned for references to classes comprising the application, Paragraph 72)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jackson et al. into the teaching of Alex Dzyoba, Kodama et al. and Zhao et al. to include performing a scan of source code of an application to identify one or more classes of the application in order to help obtain a fingerprint of an application for analysis purposes.
Alex Dzyoba, Kodama et al., Zhao et al. d and Jackson et al. do not disclose:
generating the exporter configuration for the exporter to prevent a crash of the application
However, Srivastava et al. disclose:
generating the exporter configuration for the exporter to prevent a crash of the application (monitoring metrics data (exporter configuration) associated with a cluster in order to determine alerts on relevant metrics to trigger scaling of the cluster to prevent potential system crashes (prevent crash of the application), Paragraphs 19, 25 and 53)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Srivastava et al. into the teaching of Alex Dzyoba, Kodama et al., Zhao et al. d and Jackson et al. to include generating the exporter configuration for the exporter to prevent a crash of the application in order to automatically scaling a cluster based on metrics being monitored which can help avoid a potential system crash. (Srivastava et al., Paragraphs 3 and 7)
With respect to Claim 6, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Alex Dzyoba further disclose:
wherein the exporter is a Java Management Extension (JMX) exporter and the application is a Java Virtual Machine (JVM) application. (jmx-exporter is a program that reads JMX data from JVM based applications, What is jmx-exporter, lines 1-7)
With respect to Claim 7, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Alex Dzyoba, Kodama et al., Zhao et al. and Srivastava et al. do not disclose:
wherein the scan of the source code is a static scan performed at build time.
However, Jackson et al. disclose:
wherein the scan of the source code is a static scan performed at build time.
(see Figure 5 (build time); performing a static check (build time) of the application and the classes are discovered, Paragraph 72)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jackson et al. into the teaching of Alex Dzyoba, Kodama et al., Zhao et al. and Srivastava et al. to include wherein the scan of the source code is a static scan performed at build time in order to help obtain a fingerprint of an application for analysis purposes.
Claims 8 and 13-14 are system claims corresponding to the method claims above (Claims 1 and 6-7) and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 1 and 6-7.
Claims 15 and 18-19 are non-transitory computer-readable medium claims corresponding to the method claims above (Claims 1 and 6-7) and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 1 and 6-7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 10-12 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and as long as the double patenting rejection is overcome.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the §103 rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LANNY N UNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2197