DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitations are: “media replacement means” in Claim 31. Examiner reviewed the specification and page 33, lines 12-13 describe a media replacement storage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The written description does not recite “media replacement means” as required in Claim 31 and thus this is considered new matter. Correction is required.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The written description does not have support for the “sampling space is not a multi microwell plate” as required by the claim limitation in Claim 33. Correction is required.
Claims 22-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 22, while the device could be configured to collect samples, it is unclear which part of the claimed microfluidic device is capable and configured for collecting samples from the living organism. Further clarification and correction are required.
Claims 23-33 are further rejected as they depend on Claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludlam et al. (WO2018213357A1) in view of Li et al. (CN106145187A).
Regarding Claim 22, Ludlam teaches the following:
A cell culture system comprising… a microfluidic enabled multiwell plate (para 36)(a microfluidics device)
The microfluidic layer may itself comprise a plurality of sublayers including a well layer 302 (sampling chambers layer), a fluid routing layer 304 (payload plumbing layer), pneumatic membrane layer 306 (flexible membrane), and pneumatic layer 308 (control valves layer, where the well layer 302 may comprise the plurality of wells themselves, while fluid routing layer 304 may comprise microfluidic channels through which fluid may flow to and/or from the channels, pneumatic membrane layer 306 and pneumatic layer 308 may work together to use pneumatic force to cause the opening and/or closing of microvalves and/or the actuation of micropumps to control the flow of fluid through the microfluidic channels of layer 304 and into and/or out of the wells of layers 302 (para 77 and 78) and the layers included in microfluidics layer 300 may be stacked with well layer 302 on one side (e.g., the bottom of microfluidics layer 300), followed by fluid routing layer 304, then pneumatic membrane layer 306, then pneumatic layer 308 on the opposite side (e.g., the top of microfluidics layer 300) as well layer 302 (para 79) and the pneumatic layers discussed herein may be used in order to enable each of a large number of wells (e.g., 48 wells, 96 wells, or more) to be individually addressable (para 234)(a control valves layer, a flexible membrane beneath the control valve layer, a payload plumbing layer with configurable addressable ports beneath the flexible membrane, and a sampling chamber lay beneath the payload plumbing layer)(also see
Fig. 3A above)
A middle tier of the device comprises a multiplexer associated with signal processing (para 385). The multiplexer being used for fluid control is an intended use of the device. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (see MPEP 2114). The multiplexer of Ludlam would be capable of fluid control and therefore meets the claim.
Ludlam does not teach an integrated analysis chip for sample analysis.
Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a microfluidic chip for gene detection (Abstract). Li further teaches the cell screening, capture, identification step (analysis) is integrated on a micro-fluidic chip (integrated analysis chip)(para 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an integrated analysis chip to the device of Ludlam as taught by Li. One would have been motivated to make this modification as it greatly reduces the number of operation steps thereby improving the success rate and reliability of experiments (para 34).
The device configured and dimensioned to be inserted or implanted into a living organism for collecting samples from the living organism in vivo is an intended use of the device. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (see MPEP 2114). Since there are no limitations to the specific size of the device other than being implanted into a living organism and a living organism is broad and has a large range of sizes, the device of Ludlam in view of Li would be capable of being implanted into an unspecified living organism absent clear evidence otherwise and therefore meets the claim.
Regarding Claim 23, Ludlam in view of Li teaches all the limitations of Claim 22 (see above). Ludlam further teaches one or more of the layers 304, 306, 308 may be permanently bonded to one another, such as pressed, and/or heated and melted together (para 80). This would require the layers to be independently prepared and the joined together with the flexible membrane.
Regarding Claim 24, Ludlam in view of Li teaches all the limitations of Claim 23 (see above). The limitations of Claim 24 are product-by-process. The patentability of a product is independent of how it was made. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The burden is on applicants to show product differences in product by process claims.
Regarding Claim 25, Ludlam in view of Li teaches all the limitations of Claim 22 (see above). Ludlam further teaches one or more of the layers 304, 306, 308 may be permanently bonded to one another, such as pressed, and/or heated and melted together and layer 302 may be bonded by adhesives (para 80)(the control valves layer, the payload plumbing layer, the sampling chambers layer, and the flexible membrane are joined together by a bonding method selected from a group consisting of chemical bonding, thermal bonding, pressure bonding, and combinations thereof).
Regarding Claim 26, Ludlam in view of Li teaches all the limitations of Claim 22 (see above). The limitations of Claim 26 are product-by-process. The patentability of a product is independent of how it was made. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The burden is on applicants to show product differences in product by process claims.
Regarding Claim 27, Ludlam in view of Li teaches all the limitations of Claim 22 (see above). Ludlam further teaches a computer 1300 as a component of the microfluidics system as system 100 and any of its subcomponents. Computer 1300 is configured to execute live cell culture, assay and is configured to control, monitor, or otherwise send and/or receive electronic signals to and/or from any one or more of the devices described (para 248)(data processing unit configured to analyze data obtained from collected samples and a communication means for transmitting data to the data processing unit).
Regarding Claims 28 and 29, Ludlam in view of Li teaches all the limitations of Claim 22 (see above). Ludlam further teaches the system is a tabletop system configured to manipulate and monitor live cells for.. assays (para 36)(a plurality of chemical assays). The chemical assays for analyzing samples gather in vivo and for analyzing cranial bone defect-related properties is an intended use of the device. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (see MPEP 2114). The assays of Ludlam would be capable of being used in the manner claimed and therefore meet the claim.
Regarding Claim 30, Ludlam in view of Li teaches all the limitations of Claim 22 (see above). Ludlam further teaches the multiwell plate device may have a footprint that enables the device to be inserted into docking stations or other laboratory or field equipment (para 54)(the layers are integrated into a single portable system).
Regarding Claim 31, Ludlam in view of Li teaches all the limitations of Claim 22 (see above). Ludlam further teaches multiwell device 104 may comprise one or more reservoirs (media replacement storage) configured to be filled with reagent and/or other fluid by docking portion 109 such that multi well device 104 may be removed from docking station 102 (for example to be transported to another piece of laboratory equipment) without interrupting the continuous availability of media supply (para 43)(configured to provide replenishment media to the microfluidics device to maintain a substantially constant net amount of fluid in the microfluidics device).
Regarding Claim 32, Ludlam in view of Li teaches all the limitations of Claim 22 (see above). Ludlam further teaches fluid routing layer 304 (payload plumbing layer with configurable addressable ports) may comprise microfluidic channels through which fluid may flow to and/or from the channels and pneumatic membrane layer 306 and pneumatic layer 308 may work together to use pneumatic force to cause the opening and/or closing of microvalves and/or the actuation of micropumps to control the flow of fluid through the microfluidic channels of layer 304 and into and/or out of the wells of layers 302 (para 78)(the configurable addressable ports include a plurality of inlet ports that serve as access opening that allow fluid flow to and from different locations associated with a single sampling space).
Regarding Claim 33, Ludlam in view of Li teach all the limitations of Claim 32 (see above). Ludlam further teaches well layer 302 may comprise the plurality of wells themselves (para 78) and wells of well layer 302 may each have an input channel (e.g., inlet) and/or an output channel (e.g., outlet), which may open to a layer adjacent to well layer 302 (para 88)(the microfluidics device includes the single sampling space beneath the sampling chambers layer and is in fluid communication with at least two of the plurality of inlet ports of the configurable addressable ports included in the payload plumbing layer). Note: the output channel of Ludlam is capable of being used as an inlet and therefore meets the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the device is open and directly interfaces with the implant site) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that the device of Ludlam is not configured to be inserted or implanted into a living organism, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Since there are no limitations to the specific size of the device other than being implanted into a living organism and a living organism is broad and has a large range of sizes, the device of Ludlam in view of Li would be capable of being implanted into an unspecified living organism absent clear evidence otherwise and therefore meets the claim.
The remainder of the applicants arguments are towards new or amended claims and have been addressed above.
The amendments to address the 112(b) rejections form the 03/20/2026 Office Action have been accepted and the 112(b) Rejections form the 03/20/2026 Office Action have been withdrawn, however, new 112(a) and (b) rejections have been made (see above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/MICHAEL A MARCHESCHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1799