DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 11/14/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending for prosecution below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)(s) file on have been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,4-6,10-13,15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GOTO et al, (USNO.2020/0076206).
As for claim 1, GOTO discloses and shows in Fig. 1 an electrical module configured for connection with a first battery having a first output voltage, a second battery having a second output voltage that is different than the first output voltage (base on the change of voltage over time for SOC), and an external electrical device, the electrical module comprising: a first switch; a second switch; and a controller (ref’s control unit) electrically connected to the first switch and the second switch and configured to: determine at least one of a power requirement of, or an electrical load drawn by, the external electrical device; in response to determining the at least one of the power requirement of, or the electrical load drawn by, the external electrical device, determine (i) a first power loss associated with the first battery and (ii) a second power loss associated with the second battery (ref’s compares SOC); and automatically select the first battery to supply electrical current to the external electrical device based on the first power loss being less than the second power loss (par.[0005, 0093-0095]).
As for claim 2, GOTO discloses and shows in Figs. 1,5-10 a third switch electrically connected with the controller, wherein: the controller is configured to control the third switch, the electrical module is configured for connection with a third battery, the third battery includes a third output voltage, the third output voltage is greater than the first output voltage, the third output voltage is less than the second output voltage, and the third battery is configured to supply electrical current to the external electrical device in accordance with the third switch being in a closed state, the first switch being in an open state, and the second switch being in an open state.
As for claim 4, GOTO discloses and shows in Figs. 1 a first diode electrically connected with the first switch; and a second diode electrically connected with the second switch, wherein: the first diode is disposed between the first battery and the first switch, and the second diode is disposed between the second battery and the second switch
As for claim 5, GOTO discloses and shows in Figs. 1 a battery protection circuit electrically connected with the first battery, the second battery, the first switch, the second switch, and the external electrical device, wherein the battery protection circuit is configured to protect at least one of the first battery, the second battery, or the external electrical device from an overcurrent condition (via overcharged) (par.[0079])
As for claim 6, GOTO discloses and shows in Figs. 1 the electrical module is configured for connection with a plurality of external electrical devices (within ref’s electrical vehicle); and the first battery and the second battery are configured to supply electrical current to the plurality of external electrical devices.
As for claim 10, GOTO discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a vehicle comprising: the electrical module of claim 1; the first battery; the second battery; and a third battery (par.[0005, 0093-0095])
As for claim 11, GOTO discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a method of operating an electric module configured for connection with a first battery having a first output voltage, a second battery having a second output voltage that is different than the first output voltage (base on the change of voltage over time for SOC), and an external electrical device, the electrical module including a first switch, a second switch, and a controller electrically (ref’s control unit) connected to the first switch and the second switch, the method comprising: determining, via the controller, at least one of a power requirement of, or an electrical load drawn by, an external electrical device connected to the electric module; in response to determining the at least one of a power requirement of, or an electrical load drawn by, the external electrical device, determining, via the controller, (i) a first power loss associated with the first battery and (ii) a second power loss associated with the second battery (ref’s compares SOC); and automatically selecting, via the controller, the first battery to supply electrical current to the external electrical device based on the first power loss being less than the second power loss (par.[0005, 0093-0095])
As for claim 12, GOTO discloses and shows in Fig. 1 supplying, via the first battery, electrical current to the external electrical device based on the first power loss being less than the second power loss.
As for claim 13, GOTO discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the electrical module includes a third switch electrically connected to the controller; and the electric module is configured for connection with a third battery having a third output voltage that is greater than the first output voltage and less than the second output voltage.
As for claim 15, GOTO discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the electrical module includes a first diode electrically connected with the first switch and disposed between the first battery and the first switch; and the electrical module includes a second diode electrically connected with the second switch and disposed between the second battery and the second switch
As for claim 16, GOTO discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the electrical module includes a battery protection circuit electrically connected with the first battery, the second battery, the first switch, the second switch, and the external electrical device, and wherein the method further comprises protecting, with the battery protection circuit, at least one of the first battery, the second battery, or the external electrical device from an overcurrent condition.
As for claim 17, GOTO discloses and shows in Fig. 1 supplying electrical current to a plurality of external electrical devices connected to the electrical module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,7-9,14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOTO et al, (USNO.2020/0076206) in view of STANFIELD et al, (Stanfield), (USNO.2022/0371443)
As for claims 7 and 18, Goto discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose electrical module is associated with a universal serial bus (USB) module.
Stanfield discloses and shows in Fig. 4 electrical module is associated with a universal serial bus (USB) module (via ref’s EV power port panel) (par.[0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of GOTO by using electrical module is associated with a universal serial bus (USB) module for advantages such as providing convenient power distribution (abstract), as taught by Stanfield.
As for claims 8 and 19, Goto in combination with Stanfield discloses and shows a USB port electrically connected with the controller, the first switch, the second switch, the first battery, and the second battery, wherein the external electrical device is configured for detachable connection with the USB port.
As for claims 9 and 20, Goto in combination with Stanfield discloses and shows an additional USB port electrically connected with the controller, the first switch, the second switch, the first battery, and the second battery, wherein an additional external electrical device is configured for detachable connection with the additional USB port.
As for claims 3 and 14, Goto in combination with Stanfield discloses and shows discloses the claimed invention except for a first output voltage includes 12 V; the second output voltage includes 48 V; and the third output voltage includes 24 V. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a first output voltage includes 12 V; the second output voltage includes 48 V; and the third output voltage includes 24 V since it was known in the art that and would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859