DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the adjustable portion 70 with independently operable left and right hand side portions as in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Overschelde, et al. US2009/0325659.
Regarding claim 1, Overschelde, et al. teaches a crop residue spreader arrangement (Figure 1) comprising a frame (outside supporting portion of 1), a pair of counter rotating (¶0030 “The spreader 10 comprises two contra-rotating generally horizontal rotor impellers 24 for spreading chopped crop residue”) residue spreader wheels 26 carried from the frame (wherein 26 is carried on 10), a residue chopper 12 comprising an inlet (top of 12), an outlet (leading to 10) and a plurality of chopping blades 14 between the inlet and the outlet, characterised in that the pair of counter rotating residue spreader wheels 26 are arranged at a downwardly inclined angle ¶0030 “FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate an active spreader 10 according to the present invention mounted directly behind the trajectory of the knives 14 of the chopper 12, and at an acute, downward angle relative to the outlet direction of the chopped residue”) with respect to the outlet of the residue chopper 12 and in that the outlet of the residue chopper 12 comprises an adjustable portion 70 adjustable between a lowered position (Figure 7) and a raised position (Figure 9) to set a feeding point of the crop residue from the residue chopper 12 to the counter rotating residue spreader wheels 26.
Regarding claim 2, Overschelde, et al. teaches the adjustable portion 70 comprises independently operable left- and right-hand side (Figure 3 shows left and right portions 70) portions to set feeding points (via rotation on 76 as described in ¶0040 “The rakes 70 preferably are mounted for angular adjustment about an upright axis, perpendicular to the straw guiding plate 72. A simple, though convenient solution implies the use of a shaft 76 that is welded or otherwise connected to the front of the rake 72 and loaded downwardly by a spring 78. This spring holds the front lower edge of the rake in a notched element 80 above the guiding plate 72”) of the crop residue from the residue chopper 12 to each of the counter rotating residue spreader wheels 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Overschelde, et al. in view of Ricketts, et al. US2014/0140171160.
Regarding claim 3, Overschelde, et al. teaches an agricultural harvester (¶0012 “According to a preferred aspect of the present invention there is provided an active crop residue spreader for an agricultural combine harvester, comprising a housing mountable to a rear end of the combine harvester”) comprising a crop residue spreader arrangement (Figure 1) according to claim 1.
Overschelde, et al. does not teach the harvester has a chassis, and the crop residue spreader is carried by said chassis at a rear of the agricultural harvester.
Ricketts, et al. teaches that it is known in the art for a agricultural harvester (Figure 1) to have a chassis 22 that carries the residue spreader 24, as a means to support the residue spreader on the harvester.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Overschelde, et al.’s agricultural harvester to include the chassis of Ricketts, et al. such that the chassis carries the residue spreader with a reasonable expectation of success in providing desired support for the spreader on the back of the harvester.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yde US20130263565 teaches a movable element 18, chopper 12, and spreader 14.
Schwinn, et al. US7473171 teaches Figure 3 has movable element 152 feeding to spreader 120
Dilts, et al. US2014/0066148 teaches movable element 140 directing chaff from chopper 126 to spreader 110.
Rittershofer et al. US2019/0090428 teaches a spreader can be pivoted downard to allow residue to be dumped ¶0017.
Missotten, et al. US2022/0394925 teaches a harvester (Figure 1) with chopper 72, downwardly angled spreader 74 at angle 96 to provide a tangential projection ¶0070.
/CATHLEEN R HUTCHINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672 12/18/2025