DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 5 and 8-10 in the reply filed on 2/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claims 2-10, at line 1 of each claim, “where” is objected to because it is the incorrect word used, therefore it is suggested to change “where” to - -wherein- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the lamella layers" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lehto et al. (US 2019/0084047 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lehto discloses a cutting tool (1; Fig. 1) comprising a tool body (105; Figs. 2 and 3) having a proximal end (103) for mounting to a drive unit and a distal end for engaging a workpiece for cutting using cutting inserts (200), with the tool body (104) extending longitudinally along a central axis of the tool body and defining an interior space (not labeled; see Figs. 2 and 3) therein; and one or more additively manufactured passive dampers (107, 108; [0050]) disposed in the interior space of the tool body (105).
Regarding claim 2, Lehto discloses where the tool body (105) and the one or more dampers (107) are formed ([0050], lines 3-5) as a unitary body.
Regarding claim 3, Lehto discloses where the tool body (105) and the one or more dampers (107) are formed from the same material (i.e., tool steel; [0046], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Lehto discloses where the tool body (105) and the one or more dampers (108) are formed from different materials (i.e., ceramic or rubber; [0046], lines 4-7).
Regarding claim 6, Lehto discloses where the tool body (105) is a cylindrical elongate tool body (see Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Lehto discloses where the distal end is formed for attachment to a cutting element (200).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed on the attached PTO-892 are cited to show damper members in cutting tools.
/JERMIE E COZART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
March 27, 2026