DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim 18 has been withdrawn without traverse in Applicant’s response filed 2/6/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “one end of the elastic finger is connected to an opening wall of the opening.” It is unclear what limitations are associated with “an opening wall of the opening” or how an opening may include an opening wall. For purposes of examination, it will be understood to mean that the elastic finger is connected to a peripheral wall which forms the opening in the hollow cavity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 13-15, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (WO 2022117867) (“Zhao”). Zhao discloses a locking mechanism, comprising: a fixing seat (fig. 15: 32) having a receiving hole (fig. 20: opening facing outwards) and a first locking part (fig. 20 interior flange onto which 1231 clasps); and an installing seat (fig. 18: 912) having an inserting portion (fig. 18: 921, 923) and a second locking part (fig. 18: 9231) connected to the inserting portion, the inserting portion being configured to be inserted into the receiving hole; wherein, the first locking part and the second locking part are configured to engage when the inserting portion is inserted into the receiving hole (as shown in fig. 20).
As concerns claim 2, Zhao discloses wherein the fixing seat comprises a fixing seat body (shown in annotate figure below); the receiving hole is formed inside the fixing body along a length direction thereof (it is formed inward, as shown in fig. 20); and the length direction of the fixing body is substantially parallel to an insertion direction of the inserting portion of the installing seat.
As concerns claim 3, Zhao discloses wherein the receiving hole is a through hole; the fixing body comprises a first segment and a second segment communicating with each other through the receiving hole in the length direction (as shown above the leftmost first segment holds the fixing cover and the second rightmost segment includes the first locking part); the fixing seat further comprises a detachably connected fixing cover (fig. 19: 914), and the fixing cover is arranged on an end of the first segment of the fixing body.
As concerns claim 13, as best understood, Zhao discloses wherein the inserting portion has a hollow cavity (the space between 923, 921, 9231), and an opening is formed in a cavity wall of the hollow cavity (fig. 18: 923 is a cavity wall and includes a wall opening extending around the front and rear of the inserting portion/hollow cavity); the second locking part is an elastic finger (fig. 18: 9231); and one end of the elastic finger is connected to a peripheral wall of the hollow cavity (fig. 18: upper wall 922).
As concerns claim 14, Zhao discloses wherein the fixing seat further comprises: a closing cover (fig. 19: 914) movably arranged in the receiving hole; and a restoring member (fig. 19: 916) arranged between the closing cover and a hole bottom of the receiving hole (fig. 20).
As concerns claim 15, Zhao discloses wherein an opening edge of the receiving hole is provided with a first limiting part (fig. 20: the flange opposite the side that locks 1231 acts as a first limiting part), and the closing cover is provided with a second limiting part (figs. 19, 20: 143) abutting against the first limiting part.
As concerns claim 17, Zhao discloses wherein the inserting portion is a cylinder or a cylindrical tube, and the receiving hole is a cylindrical hole that allows an insertion of the inserting portion and engages with the inserting portion (as shown in figs. 18-20).
As concerns claim 19, Zhao discloses a baby carrier (fig. 16), comprising: a carrier body (fig. 16: 30); a canopy assembly (fig. 16: 50); and the locking mechanism of claim 1; wherein the fixing seat is connected to the carrier body; the installing seat is connected to the canopy assembly; and the canopy assembly is detachably connected to the carrier body through the locking mechanism (as shown in figs. 16 and 20).
As concerns claim 20, Zhao discloses wherein the canopy assembly comprises: a first pivot seat; a first canopy strip connected to the first pivot seat; a second pivot seat pivotally connected to the first pivot seat; and a second canopy strip connected to the second pivot seat; wherein one of the first pivot seat and the second pivot seat is connected to the installing seat (fig. 17 shows the two canopy strips and respective two pivot seats which intersect/connect to the installing seat @ 922).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art reference of Zhao teaches wherein the second locking part is an elastic finger; the elastic finger comprises an elastic body; the elastic body has a connecting end and a free end, but does not teach wherein the first locking part is a locking groove formed in a side wall of the receiving hole; and the fixing seat further comprises a pushing face, and the pushing face is configured to, in a process of inserting the inserting portion into the receiving hole, push the elastic finger to force the free end to deviate in a direction from a groove bottom to a groove opening of the locking groove.
Additionally, Zhao fails to teach wherein one of an inner wall of the receiving hole and the closing cover has a guiding rib; another of the inner wall of the receiving hole and the closing cover has a guiding groove; and the guiding rib is slidingly arranged in the guiding groove. There is no teaching, suggestion or motivation to modify the prior art absent hindsight.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J BRINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636